DevilDriver: Live at Wacken Open Air 2016 – Full Show

2016 brought DevilDriver Wacken quake and exactly this appearance at Wacken Open Air-Festival there now in full length online. In the one-hour performance by the band from Santa Barbara following song were played:

End of the Line
Dead to Rights
These Fighting Words
Not All Who Wander Are Lost
Pure Sincerity
Daybreak
I Could Care Less
Nothing’s Wrong
My Night Sky
Sail
Before The Hangman’s Noose
Clouds Over California
Ruthless
Meet The Wretched

Nails
DevilDriver - Full Show - Live at Wacken Open Air 2016

DBD: Trust No One – DevilDriver

Friends, see here the Video Devildriver to „Trust No One“ from the same, new album. The screen material, have used the DevilDriver for video recordings, was at this year's „Ozzfest“ in the US California. A very special place for the band, as stressed frontman Dez Fafara:

DevilDriver is a California band and we were honored to be part of the return of OZZFEST in California, where it all began. I’m Thankful to Sharon & Ozzy and everyone in the Osbourne Camp that DevilDriver was allowed to shoot a live video that day! The sun was blazing hot on a clear afternoon and the crowd went insane as soon as we took the stage. The pit was giant for us and it was killer to see such a Massive crowd participating in the madness!

Nails
DevilDriver - Trust No One (Official Video) | Napalm Records

DBD: My Night Sky – DevilDriver

Here the new Video to „My Night Sky“ from the current album „Trust No One“ Devildriver. The seventh album of the band appeared on 13. May and the band is currently on a European tour…

Nails
DevilDriver - My Night Sky (Official Video) | Napalm Records

DBD: Daybreak – DevilDriver

have recently „DevilDriver“ their seventh studio album „Trust No One“ veröffentlicht und daraus gibt es nun das brandneue Video for Single „Daybreak“…

Nails
DevilDriver - Daybreak (Official Video) | Napalm Records

DBD: Daybreak – DevilDriver

Here the new DevilDriver song „Daybreak“ from the upcoming album „Trust No One“, on which 13. May is published. „Trust No One“ ist das erste DevilDriver-Album mit Gitarrist Neal Tiemann und Schlagzeuger Austin D’Amond

Nails
DevilDriver - Daybreak (audio) | Napalm Records

DBD: The Appetite – DevilDriver

Nails
DevilDriver - The Appetite [Official Music Video]

Eyes on fire on you
Your presence in a violation!
Leave now or it’s annihilation!
It’s best for both parties
If we just part!
Eyes on fire on you!
Take it with a grain of salt
Take it to the Limit
Take the world by storm,
Keep your head in it!
Take the gloves off,
Take your life in your hands!
Eyes on fire on you!
Live for the day…
No one promised tomorrow anyway…
Gotta keep the dogs at bay!
Keep the dogs at bay!

Do you have the appetite!
The expectations to suffice!?
Your cups of sorrow filled with spite!
I’m begging, I’m Begging, I’m begging you!

Don’t dwell it’s my burden to bare!
Fall time season it’s in the air!
It’s best for both parties
If we just part!

Do you..
Do you have..
Do you have the appetite…!?
Do you have my eyes on fire on you!

Don’t wish your life away!
If you think I give a fuck!
Better think again, Good Luck!
Disconnected, disconnect you!
Eyes on fire on you!
If you think I give a Fuck you Better think again, Good Luck
Disconnected, disconnect you!

DBD: The Appetit – DevilDriver

The sixth album „Winter Kills“ Californians will be on 27. August veröffentlicht. Here the song „The Appetit“, sounds better than „Ruthless„, aber überzeugt mich auch nicht zu 100%. 'm Curious to Album…

Nails
DevilDriver - The Appetite (Official) | Napalm Records

DBD: Ruthless – DevilDriver

Friends, Today, there's a little song premiere, Devildriver my „Ruthless“ from the upcoming album „Winter Kills“! Unfortunately, no comparison with „Pray for villains“. Rumgeeiere too much on a single reef. Ballert still used heavily…

Earshakerday: Neuer Running Order

Irgendwie erinnert mich der heutige Wechsel von ursprünglich 3 given on today 2 Bühnen an das Chaos des letztjährigen Sonisphere, which was held at the same place and the running order changed even until the last day…
This change only 2 Bühnen verkürzt selbstverständlich die Spielzeit der Bands recht massiv, e.g.. spielen Amon Amarth statt ursprünglich einer Stunde (16:30 – 17:30), new 45 Minutes and Machine Head have instead 90 Minutes (22:30 – 24:00) only get an hour. Da diese Änderung vermutlich nicht die Letzte sein wird, muss ich mir doch ernsthaft überlegen, if I look at the (again) antun will, denn die Preise für Getränke und Food Been last year unflätig hoch und ich gehe davon aus, that this will not be any different on Saturday. In addition, there is the fun in halls, where one does not Smoking can… well, as well as always, here the new Running Order des Earshakerday:

Mainstage:
12h30 – 13h50 The Treatment
13h10 – 13h40 Unearth
14h00 – 14h30 Sebastian Bach
14h50 – 15h30 Black Stone Cherry
15h50 – 16h30 August Burns Red
16h50 – 17h30 Devil Driver
18h00 – 18h45 Black Label Society
19h15 – 20h00 Amon Amarth
20h30 – 21h20 Children Of Bodom
21h50 – 22h40 Killswitch Engage
23h10 – 24h00 Lamb Of God
00h30 – 01h30 Machine Head

Stage 2:
12h30 – 13h00 I Killed The Promqueen
13h20 – 13h50 Your Demise
14h10 – 14h40 Cancer Bats
15h00 – 15h30 Vale Tudo
15h50 – 16h20 Eyes Set To Kill
16h40 – 17h15 Axe Wound
17h40 – 18h15 Lacuna Coil
18h40 – 19h20 Sick Of It All
19h45 – 20h25 Ugly Kid Joe
20h50 – 21h35 Soulfly
22h00 – 22h45 Paradise Lost
23h10 – 23h55 Skeletonwitch
00h20 – 01h20 Napalm Death

The Eighth Plague – Machine *Fucking* Head

Who at last Monday, the 21. November, pilgrimage to Zurich's Volkshaus, did this for a good reason: „Machine Head“, the highly successful Trash Metal Band from the USA Oakland delighted the Switzerland With „The Eighth Plague“ Tour. As support were three bands on stage, „Bring me the Horizon“, „Devil Driver“ and „Darkest Hour“, which have introduced the evening with knotless Metal and Concert Machine Head is anything but an enjoyable picnic. the Music is enormous, cuts its own without detours directly into the ear canals and can shrug their neck muscles so right. A great night, the (fast) all expectations fulfilled…

Machine Head can already look back on a long and successful career. After its founding in 1992 increased the Group always Next to the Rock Olymp. In September this year, the Americans published their seventh studio album „Unto The Lucost“, the, I think, Album of the Year! The sound of Machine Head is dominated by an extremely rude and screaming vocals and the guitar takes clear lead in the arrangements, changes while the pace within the songs often. The result is a thoughtful, even melancholic atmosphere in the songs, which can probably be brought over so convincingly by any other metal band, as by Robb Flynn and his men.

The evening was going on with „Darkest Hour“, the agreed still half-empty Volkshaus ever on a long metal and Beer night and possibly clogged ears ever with decent volume by cleaned. Americans have launched their 30 minute set, the lot numbers from the latest album contained. For me it was the first time, I've seen Darkest Hour, but I was very pleasantly surprised and the audience it seemed to please, although this was still idling on the road. From a few smaller circle pits and a few fists in the air was not very much movement to see. Sänger John Blakemore Henry chose a circle pit officer in some songs from, which should make the crowd sweat, what worked, despite the little present listeners. Darkest Hour showed great enthusiasm and were able to absolutely convince with their half-hour appearance.

Nails
DEVILDRIVER live Volkshaus Zürich Switzerland 2011 - I Could Care Less

„Devil Driver“ came after a short reconstruction break and long sound check on stage, deal with the first 120 To show their second sets, why many people consider metal as noise and noise. I personally know every album the band, but even with this knowledge I could with the noise, is he came off the stage, not do anything, Song structure let himself realize unfortunately no. very, Very sad, But as has been said to me many times and on this evening, , each „Devil Driver“ Occurs mixed so crappy. After a, two songs was the though fortunately a bit better, but even here there were moments, who were not even exciting to insiders. Although the band does what no one before, when it comes to show and enthusiasm, but musically it was my very greatest regrets most, Committee. In the mosh pit could still have his fun, yet left their „Devil Driver“ a mixed impression: A band, which ensures Entertainment, fantastic records rausbringt but it also can be extremely annoying, because you live the sound can not really enjoy. Here quite simply heard the sound engineer of the band fired and that in a high arc! The DevilDriver still able to heat a, was especially a restless Dez Fafara, the always animated the people to the movement and the People's House is now fully stocked with songs like „Dead to Rights“, „You Make Me Sick“ or „Head On To Heartache“ put in motion.

Then we went Below and Above the Volkshaus. Four bands, three drumkits, „Bring me the Horizon“ had their own with, what pulled the break afterDevilDriver in the length. The most musically least the tour line-up matching belt, it was the turn. In view of some fans with BMTH-shirts, you could see a very motivated going to tape works. The British are probably one of the most controversial bands of the scene. It is probably a matter of taste whether you like the studio material, where the songs are quite different. I could live performance, unfortunately, nothing positive abgewinnen. The voice of Sykes was more like a croak, the guitarists jumped clichéd at the breakdowns up and down instead of BMTH would have what can be found more suitable for the tour. The fans of the band seemed only teenagers and would-be kick boxers to exist, after all there was to hear no Teeniegekreische so could this between songs 45 better use of minutes and get his nicotine level back on the amount, which apparently did at least half the people on the road home :)

Nails
Machine Head - This Is The End LIVE @ Volkshaus Zürich (2011) in HD

Continuing with the actual main attraction of the evening: Machine Head. Virtually throughout the restructuring the crowd agreed a „Machine *Fucking* Head“ Chorus after another. The reconstruction revealed quite a bit about the stage show, because there were a total of four projectors and many more lights than in the bands previously directed to the stage. The drum was not on a plane, because the kit by Dave McClain was on a podium by just one meter higher than where his bandmates were. When everything was settled stage techniques, you could hear the crowd again with the familiar songs and off we went! Machine Head came on stage and agreed the opener „I Am Hell (Sonata in C#)“ an. The projectors had then begun its work and showed during the show, the cover of each album the song that was just played, or other appropriate on images. The boxes were turned louder compared to the previous bands by one level and the amount celebrated Machine Head the first song the same pattern valid from.

Another new „Be Still and Know“ follows without large intermediate words, With „Empire“ then the first „elder“ yet released highly anticipated song of the night and does not compromise: Mosh or be moshed! The bearded Rob Flynn is very well placed and is dedicated „The Blood, the Sweat, the Tears“ Of course all beer drinkers. It was incredible what has gone off in the crowd: Jump, Pits, Headbanging and every song the crowd was singing along safely text. Dave McClain zermöbelt his drum set with the highest precision, Guitarist Phil Demmel is the permanent grin. Rob recalls the 20-year band anniversary, that would not exist without the fans, because on radio- and television support had always dispense and is visibly moved by the great support of metal fans. „Darkness Within“ He then devotes all, the music as they live and breathe. The song is definitely his contemplative beginning and the end of weighing tons an emotional highlight of the evening. All, very large! „Bulldozer“ is its title and some breaks sound barriers, before the „Ten Ton Hammer“ out of there, and everything once asked by fans.

Nails
Machine Head - Darkness Within (Live) @ Volkshaus Zurich

The setlist was amazing and knew with classics from previous albums as well as many works by completely new album „Unto the Locust“ to convince. Robb Flynn hinted several times, that a huge energy and intensity was in the room and he was absolutely right, The atmosphere was absolutely incredible. It was one and a half hours of firecrackers since left the Machine Head from the stack. Machine Head pulled out all the stops on this evening and the crowd was in high spirits and ticked completely made during the show. Here everything just right. The band also had then no effort, or to push the fans and played almost in ecstasy. Absolutely no one could resist the force of the songs and the energy of the band. Intensity and enthusiasm were all set on high, it was simply a major ass kicking metal show!

the „Goodies“-Calls sounded barely, that Machine Head stage Leave have and for good 2 Minute break and not ceasing „Machine „Fucking“ Head“-Chants the gentlemen not ran 2 times asking and started with the addition of block „Halo“. In this song it is worst of all departed in the crowd. The last song was „Davidian“ which of course was again eagerly sang along on the chorus and overall we came up with a playing time of 105 Minutes. Machine Head thanked and said goodbye with Plecks, Drum sticks and drum skins with audiences.

Nails
Machine Head - Aesthetics of Hate LIVE @ Volkshaus Zürich (2011) in HD

the „The Eight Plague Tour“ had succeeded with the exception of Bring Me The very Horizion and Machine Head has proven, that they are one of the best live bands of the present. Anyone who likes this band should not be a live performance of them miss. Just as little as Darkest Hour and DevilDriver. Bring Me The Horizon, one should then view but in different circumstances, if something you like. Machine Head are a band, in which all have their own style, melted by the common music for a great and unique style that works for at least another 20 Years!

Here is the setlist of this great evening:

  1. I Am Hell (Sonata in C#)
  2. Be Still and Know
  3. Empire
  4. Beautiful Mourning
  5. The Blood, the Sweat, the Tears
  6. Locust
  7. This is the end
  8. Aesthetics of Hate
  9. Old
  10. Darkness Within
  11. Bulldozer
  12. Ten Ton Hammer
  13. Encore:

  14. Halo
  15. Davidian
The Eighth Plague - Machine *Fucking* Head
7.3 Total
0 User Rating (0 votes)
the atmosphere10
Performance10
Acoustics9
visibility9
Vor-Ort-Service5
Sanitary installations4
Parking situation4
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

In a week there ne hefty dose Metal

This day week, at the 21. November wird das Volkshaus Zürich in seinen Grundfesten erschüttert! Machine Head, Devil Driver, Bring me the Horizon and The Darkest Hour bring out the ultimate impact and who missed the, is your own fault! Bastards! Die Türöffnung ist bereits um 18.30 Start the clock and from concerts 19 Clock. The bands will play as follows:

Darkest Hour: 19.00 – 19.30 Clock
Devil Driver: 19.45 – 20.15 Clock
Bring me the Horizon: 20.30 – 21.10 Clock
Machine Head: 21.30 – 23.15 Clock

Hell yeah! Das wird ein Fest sondergleichen und wird bei den Fans ordentlich für Nacken- and other exercises provide. I can not wait… :Rock:

Nails
Machine Head - Locust [Official Video]
Page 1 Of 3123

DevilDriver: Live at Wacken Open Air 2016 – Full Show

2016 brachten DevilDriver Wacken zum Beben und genau diesen Auftritt am Wacken Open Air-Festival gibts jetzt in voller Länge online. Bei dem rund einstündigen Auftritt der Band aus Santa Barbara wurden folgende Song gespielt:

End Of The Line
Dead To Rights
These Fighting Words
Not All Who Wander Are Lost
Pure Sincerity
Daybreak
I Could Care Less
Nothing’s Wrong
My Night Sky
Sail
Before The Hangman’s Noose
Clouds Over California
Ruthless
Meet The Wretched

Vorschaubild
DevilDriver - Full Show - Live at Wacken Open Air 2016

DBD: Trust No One – Devildriver

Freunde, seht hier das Video von Devildriver zu „Trust No One“ aus dem gleichnamigen, aktuellen Album. Das Bild-Material, das Devildriver für die Video-Aufnahmen genutzt haben, entstand auf dem diesjährigen „Ozzfest“ im US-amerikanischen Kalifornien. Ein ganz besonderer Ort für die Band, wie Frontmann Dez Fafara betont:

DevilDriver is a California band and we were honored to be part of the return of OZZFEST in California, where it all began. I’m Thankful to Sharon & Ozzy and everyone in the Osbourne Camp that DevilDriver was allowed to shoot a live video that day! The sun was blazing hot on a clear afternoon and the crowd went insane as soon as we took the stage. The pit was giant for us and it was killer to see such a Massive crowd participating in the madness!

Vorschaubild
DEVILDRIVER - Trust No One (Official Video) | Napalm Records

DBD: My Night Sky – DevilDriver

Hier das neue Video zu „My Night Sky“ vom aktuellen Album „Trust No One“ von DevilDriver. Das siebte Album der Band erschien am 13. Mai und die Band befindet sich aktuell auf Europatour…

Vorschaubild
DEVILDRIVER - My Night Sky (Official Video) | Napalm Records

DBD: Daybreak – Devildriver

Vor kurzem haben „Devildriver“ ihr siebtes Studioalbum „Trust No One“ veröffentlicht und daraus gibt es nun das brandneue Video zur Single „Daybreak“…

Vorschaubild
DEVILDRIVER - Daybreak (Official Video) | Napalm Records

DBD: Daybreak – DevilDriver

Hier der neue DevilDriver Song „Daybreak“ aus dem kommenden Album „Trust No One“, welches am 13. Mai veröffentlicht wird. „Trust No One“ ist das erste DevilDriver-Album mit Gitarrist Neal Tiemann und Schlagzeuger Austin D’Amond…

Vorschaubild
DEVILDRIVER - Daybreak (Audio) | Napalm Records

DBD: The Appetite – DevilDriver

Vorschaubild
DevilDriver - The Appetite [Official Music Video]

Eyes on fire on you
Your presence in a violation!
Leave now or it’s annihilation!
It’s best for both parties
If we just part!
Eyes on fire on you!
Take it with a grain of salt
Take it to the limit
Take the world by storm,
Keep your head in it!
Take the gloves off,
Take your life in your hands!
Eyes on fire on you!
Live for the day…
No one promised tomorrow anyway…
Gotta keep the dogs at bay!
Keep the dogs at bay!

Do you have the appetite!
The expectations to suffice!?
Your cups of sorrow filled with spite!
I’m begging, I’m Begging, I’m begging you!

Don’t dwell it’s my burden to bare!
Fall time season it’s in the air!
It’s best for both parties
If we just part!

Do you..
Do you have..
Do you have the appetite…!?
Do you have my eyes on fire on you!

Don’t wish your life away!
If you think I give a fuck!
Better think again, good luck!
Disconnected, disconnect you!
Eyes on fire on you!
If you think I give a fuck you better think again, good luck
Disconnected, disconnect you!

DBD: The Appetit – Devildriver

Das sechste Album „Winter Kills“ der Kalifornier wird am 27. August veröffentlicht. Hier der Song „The Appetit“, klingt besser als „Ruthless„, aber überzeugt mich auch nicht zu 100%. Bin mal gespannt auf das Album…

Vorschaubild
DEVILDRIVER - The Appetite (Official) | Napalm Records

DBD: Ruthless – Devildriver

Freunde, heute gibts eine kleine Songpremiere, DevilDriver mit „Ruthless“ aus dem kommenden Album „Winter Kills“! Leider kein Vergleich zu „Pray for Villains“. Zu viel rumgeeiere auf einem einzigen Riff. Ballert dennoch gewohnt heftig…

Earshakerday: Neuer Running Order

Irgendwie erinnert mich der heutige Wechsel von ursprünglich 3 auf heute bekannt gegebene 2 Bühnen an das Chaos des letztjährigen Sonisphere, welches am gleiche Ort ausgetragen und der Running Order noch bis zum letzten Tag umgestellt wurde…
Dieser Wechsel auf nur 2 Bühnen verkürzt selbstverständlich die Spielzeit der Bands recht massiv, z.B. spielen Amon Amarth statt ursprünglich einer Stunde (16:30 – 17:30), neu 45 Minuten und Machine Head haben anstelle 90 Minuten (22:30 – 24:00) nur noch eine Stunde erhalten. Da diese Änderung vermutlich nicht die Letzte sein wird, muss ich mir doch ernsthaft überlegen, ob ich mir das (nochmals) antun will, denn die Preise für Getränke und Food waren bereits letztes Jahr unflätig hoch und ich gehe davon aus, dass dies am Samstag nicht anders sein wird. Zudem findet der Spass in Hallen statt, in denen man nicht Rauchen kann… Naja, wie auch immer, hier der neue Running Order des Earshakerday:

Mainstage:
12h30 – 13h50 The Treatment
13h10 – 13h40 Unearth
14h00 – 14h30 Sebastian Bach
14h50 – 15h30 Black Stone Cherry
15h50 – 16h30 August Burns Red
16h50 – 17h30 Devil Driver
18h00 – 18h45 Black Label Society
19h15 – 20h00 Amon Amarth
20h30 – 21h20 Children Of Bodom
21h50 – 22h40 Killswitch Engage
23h10 – 24h00 Lamb Of God
00h30 – 01h30 Machine Head

Stage 2:
12h30 – 13h00 I Killed The Promqueen
13h20 – 13h50 Your Demise
14h10 – 14h40 Cancer Bats
15h00 – 15h30 Vale Tudo
15h50 – 16h20 Eyes Set To Kill
16h40 – 17h15 Axe Wound
17h40 – 18h15 Lacuna Coil
18h40 – 19h20 Sick Of It All
19h45 – 20h25 Ugly Kid Joe
20h50 – 21h35 Soulfly
22h00 – 22h45 Paradise Lost
23h10 – 23h55 Skeletonwitch
00h20 – 01h20 Napalm Death

The Eighth Plague – Machine *FUCKING* Head

Wer am letzten Montag, den 21. November, ins Zürcher Volkshaus pilgerte, tat dies aus gutem Grund: „Machine Head“, die äusserst erfolgreiche Trash Metal Band aus den Oakland USA beglückte die Schweiz mit „The Eighth Plague“ Tour. Als Support traten drei Bands auf die Bühne, „Bring me the Horizon“, „Devil Driver“ und „Darkest Hour“, welche den Abend mit astreinem Metal eingeleitet haben und ein Konzert von Machine Head ist alles andere als ein vergnügliches Picknick. Die Musik ist gewaltig, fräst sich ohne Umwege direkt in die Gehörgänge und lässt die Nackenmuskeln so richtig zucken. Ein grossartiger Abend, der (fast) alle Erwartungen erfüllte…

Machine Head kann bereits auf eine lange und erfolgreiche Karriere zurückblicken. Nach der Gründung im Jahre 1992 stieg die Gruppe immer weiter auf den Rock-Olymp. Im September dieses Jahres veröffentlichten die Amerikaner ihr siebtes Studioalbum „Unto The Lucost“, das, wie ich finde, Album des Jahres! Der Sound von Machine Head wird dominiert durch einen äusserst rohen und schreienden Gesang und die Gitarre übernimmt klar die Führung in den Arrangements, während das Tempo innerhalb der Songs oftmals wechselt. Dadurch entsteht eine nachdenkliche, gar melancholische Atmosphäre in den Songs, welche wohl durch keine andere Metal Band so überzeugend rübergebracht werden kann, wie durch Robb Flynn und seinen Mannen.

Der Abend ging los mit „Darkest Hour“, die das noch halb leere Volkshaus schon mal auf einen langen Metal-und-Bier-Abend einstimmten und allenfalls verstopfte Gehörgänge schon mal mit ordentlicher Lautstärke durchputzten. So starteten die Amerikaner ihr 30 minütiges Set, das viele Nummern vom neuesten Album enthielt. Für mich war es das erste Mal, dass ich Darkest Hour gesehen habe, aber ich war sehr positiv überrascht und dem Publikum schien es auch zu gefallen, obwohl dieses noch im Leerlauf unterwegs war. Bis auf vereinzelte kleinere Circle-Pits und ein paar Fäuste in der Luft war nicht sehr viel Bewegung zu sehen. Sänger John Blakemore Henry wählte sich bei einigen Songs einen Circle-Pit-Beauftragten aus, der die Menge ins Schwitzen bringen sollte, was trotz der wenig anwesenden Hörer klappte. Darkest Hour zeigten eine grosse Spielfreude und vermochten mit ihrem halbstündigen Auftritt absolut zu überzeugen.

Vorschaubild
DEVILDRIVER live Volkshaus Zürich Switzerland 2011 - I Could Care Less

„Devil Driver“ kamen nach kurzer Umbaupause und langem Soundcheck auf die Bühne, um mit den ersten 120 Sekunden ihres Sets zu zeigen, warum viele Leute Metal als Lärm und Krach betrachten. Ich selbst kenne jedes Album der Band, doch selbst mit diesen Kenntnissen konnte ich mit dem Lärm, der da von der Bühne kam, nichts anfangen, Songstruktur liess sich leider gar keine erkennen. Sehr, sehr schade, aber wie mir schon oft und auch an diesem Abend gesagt wurde, ist jeder „Devil Driver“ Auftritt so beschissen abgemischt. Nach ein, zwei Songs wurde das zwar zum Glück etwas besser, doch auch hier gab es Momente, die nicht mal mehr für Eingeweihte spannend waren. Der Band macht zwar niemand was vor, wenn es um Show und Einsatzfreude geht, aber musikalisch war es zu meinem allergrössten Bedauern allerhöchstens Ausschuss. Im Moshpit konnte man trotzdem seinen Spass haben und dennoch hinterliessen „Devil Driver“ einen zwiespältigen Eindruck: Eine Band, die für Entertainment sorgt, grossartige Alben rausbringt aber gleichzeitig auch extrem nervig sein kann, da man Live den Sound nicht wirklich geniessen kann. Hier gehört schlicht und ergreifend der Ton Techniker der Band gefeuert und zwar in hohem Bogen! Das Devildriver trotzdem ein zu heizen vermochte, lag vorallem an einem ruhelosen Dez Fafara, der die Leute immer wieder zur Bewegung animierte und das nun gut gefüllte Volkshaus mit Songs wie „Dead to Rights“, „You Make Me Sick“ oder „Head On To Heartache“ in Fahrt brachte.

Danach ging es Drunter und Drüber im Volkshaus. Vier Bands, drei Drumkits, „Bring me the Horizon“ hatten ihr eigenes mit, was die Pause nach Devildriver in die Länge zog. Die wohl musikalisch am wenigsten ins Tour-Line-Up passende Band, war an der Reihe. Angesichts einiger Fans mit BMTH-Shirts konnte man eine sehr motiviert zu Werke gehende Band sehen. Die Briten sind wohl einer der kontroversesten Bands der Szene. Es ist wohl reine Geschmackssache ob man das Studiomaterial mag, wo die Songs doch ganz anders wirken. Live konnte ich der Performance leider nichts positives abgewinnen. Die Stimme von Sykes ähnelte eher einem Krächzen, die Gitarristen hüpften klischeehaft bei den Breakdowns auf und ab und anstelle von BMTH hätte sich für die Tour auch was passenderes finden können. Die Fans der Band schienen nur aus Teenies und Möchtegern-Kickboxern zu bestehen, immerhin gab es zwischen den Songs kein Teeniegekreische zu hören und so konnte man diese 45 Minuten besser nutzen und seinen Nikotin Pegel wieder auf die Höhe bringen, was offensichtlich auch mindestens das halbe Volkshaus auf der Strasse tat :)

Vorschaubild
Machine Head - This Is The End LIVE @ Volkshaus Zürich (2011) in HD

Weiter gehts mit der eigentlichen Hauptattraktion des Abends: Machine Head. Praktisch während des gesamten Umbaus stimmte die Meute einen „Machine *Fucking* Head“ Chor nach dem anderen an. Der Umbau verriet schon ein bisschen was über die Bühnenshow, denn es waren insgesamt vier Projektoren und viel mehr Lichter als bei den Bands zuvor auf die Bühne gerichtet. Das Schlagzeug stand nicht auf einer Ebene, denn das Kit von Dave McClain war auf einem Podium um gut einen Meter höher als dort wo seine Bandkollegen standen. Als bühnentechnisch alles geregelt war, hörte man die Menge wieder mit den altbekannten Gesängen und los gings! Machine Head kam auf die Bühne und stimmte den Opener „I Am Hell (Sonata in C#)“ an. Die Projektoren hatten dann auch ihre Arbeit aufgenommen und zeigten während der Show die Cover des jeweiligen Albums des Songs der gerade gespielt wurde oder auch andere zum Thema passende Bilder. Die Boxen wurden im Vergleich zu den vorigen Bands um eine Stufe lauter gedreht und die Menge feierte Machine Head beim ersten Song gleich mustergültig ab.

Das ebenfalls neue „Be Still And Know“ folgt ohne grosse Zwischenworte, mit „Imperium“ wird dann der erste „ältere“ und zugleich heissersehnte Song des Abends losgelassen und macht keine Kompromisse: Mosh or be moshed! Der vollbärtige Rob Flynn ist sehr gut aufgelegt und widmet „The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears“ natürlich allen Biertrinkern. Es war unbeschreiblich was in der Menge abgegangen ist: Springen, Pits, Headbangen und bei jedem Song war die Menge textsicher beim Mitsingen. Dave McClain zermöbelt sein Drumset in höchster Präzision, Gitarrist Phil Demmel ist am Dauergrinsen. Rob erinnert an das 20-jährige Bandjubiläum, das es ohne die Fans nicht geben würde, da sie auf Radio- und Fernseh-Support stets verzichten mussten und ist sichtlich gerührt vom grossen Support der Metalfans. „Darkness Within“ widmet er anschliessend allen, die wie sie Musik leben und atmen. Der Song ist mit seinem besinnlichen Anfang und dem tonnenschwerem Ende definitiv ein emotionaler Höhepunkt des Abends. Ganz, ganz gross! „Bulldozer“ wird seinem Titel gerecht und durchbricht einige Schallmauern, bevor der „Ten Ton Hammer“ rausgeholt wird und noch mal alles von den Fans fordert.

Vorschaubild
Machine Head - Darkness Within (live) @ Volkshaus Zürich

Die Setlist war atemberaubend und wusste mit Klassikern aus alten Alben sowie mit vielen Werken vom ganz neuen Album „Unto the Locust“ zu überzeugen. Robb Flynn deutete mehrmals an, dass eine riesige Energie und Intensität im Raum lag und er hatte vollkommen recht, die Stimmung war absolut unbeschreiblich. Es war ein einziger eineinhalbstündiger Kracher den Machine Head da vom Stapel liess. Machine Head zogen an diesem Abend alle Register und das Publikum war in bester Laune und tickte während der Show komplett aus. Hier stimmte einfach alles. Die Band hatte dann auch keine Mühe, sich oder die Fans zu pushen und spielten sich beinahe in Ekstase. Absolut niemand konnte sich der Wucht der Songs und der Energie der Band entziehen. Intensität und Einsatzfreude blieben den gesamten Set über hoch, es war einfach eine mächtig Arsch tretende Metal-Show!

Die „Zugaben“-Rufe erklingen kaum, dass Machine Head die Bühne verlassen haben und nach guten 2 Minuten Pause und nicht aufhörenden „Machine „Fucking“ Head“-Gesängen liesen sich die Herren nicht 2 mal bitten und starteten den Zugabeblock mit „Halo“. Bei diesem Lied ist es am ärgsten von allen in der Menge abgegangen. Das letzte Lied war „Davidian“ wo natürlich wieder eifrig beim Refrain mitgesungen wurde und insgesamt kam man dann auf eine Spielzeit von 105 Minuten. Machine Head bedankten und verabschiedeten sich mit Plecks, Drum-Sticks und Drum-Fellen beim Publikum.

Vorschaubild
Machine Head - Aesthetics of Hate LIVE @ Volkshaus Zürich (2011) in HD

Die „The Eight Plague Tour“ war mit der Ausnahme von Bring Me The Horizion sehr gelungen und Machine Head hat bewiesen, dass sie zu den besten Live-Bands der Gegenwart gehören. Jeder der diese Band mag sollte sich einen Live-Auftritt von ihnen nicht entgehen lassen. Genausowenig wie Darkest Hour oder Devildriver. Bring Me The Horizon sollte man sich dann doch unter anderen Gegebenheiten ansehen, sofern man sowas mag. Machine Head sind eine Band, in der alle einen eigenen Stil haben, der durch die gemeinsame Musik zu einem grossem eigenen Stil geschmolzen wird und das funktioniert noch mindestens weitere 20 Jahre!

Hier die Setlist dieses grossartigen Abends:

  1. I Am Hell (Sonata in C#)
  2. Be Still and Know
  3. Imperium
  4. Beautiful Mourning
  5. The Blood, the Sweat, the Tears
  6. Locust
  7. This Is the End
  8. Aesthetics of Hate
  9. Old
  10. Darkness Within
  11. Bulldozer
  12. Ten Ton Hammer
  13. Zugabe:

  14. Halo
  15. Davidian
The Eighth Plague - Machine *FUCKING* Head
7.3 Total
0 Nutzerwertung (0 votes)
Atmosphäre10
Performance10
Akustik9
Sichtverhältnisse9
Vor-Ort-Service5
Sanitäre Einrichtungen4
Parkplatzsituation4
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

In einer Woche gibts ne geballte Ladung Metal

Heute in einer Woche, am 21. November wird das Volkshaus Zürich in seinen Grundfesten erschüttert! Machine Head, Devil Driver, Bring me the Horizon und The Darkest Hour holen zum ultimativen Schlag aus und wer das verpasst, ist selber schuld! Bastards! Die Türöffnung ist bereits um 18.30 Uhr und Start der Konzerte ab 19 Uhr. Die Bands spielen wie folgt:

Darkest Hour: 19.00 – 19.30 Uhr
Devil Driver: 19.45 – 20.15 Uhr
Bring me the Horizon: 20.30 – 21.10 Uhr
Machine Head: 21.30 – 23.15 Uhr

Hell yeah! Das wird ein Fest sondergleichen und wird bei den Fans ordentlich für Nacken- und andere Gymnastik sorgen. Ich kanns kaum erwarten… :rock:

Vorschaubild
Machine Head - Locust [OFFICIAL VIDEO]
Seite 1 von 3123