Today at 11 AM Greenpeace published Nederland parts of the secret TTIP negotiating texts, at the same time provide Greenpeace experts the contents of this re:publish before. The leaked documents show, that by TTIP massive environmental- and consumer standards could be undermined. This contract must never never come into force!

TTIPleaks: Secret TTIP documents for download

„Trade agreement with such far-reaching impact should be publicly discussed and negotiated transparent“, explains Jürgen crunch, Expert on trade for Greenpeace. „Everything else is undemocratic and a threat to the gains of the civil society.“ This crunch provides an explanation of the publication of previously secret TTIP negotiating papers. Although in Europe alone more than half a billion people will feel the effects, the negotiations between the US and the EU so far to the population a single black box. In Germany, for example, the negotiating text is two monitored reading rooms in the Ministry of Economy and the US Embassy. The public has no access. Only the members of the Bundestag, the Federal Council and selected staff of ministries may see the papers - two hours, under the supervision. And even that only since the beginning of this year in response to the massive protests of TTIP opponents. What does it say, may not have the room leave: Neither a copy nor a spoken word - there is absolute secrecy.

TTIPleaks: Secret TTIP documents for download

After all, is the world's largest with TTIP trade agreements are created. Now, finally, comes a piece of transparency in the negotiations - but not at the initiative of the negotiators. Greenpeace Netherlands published on hitherto secret negotiating texts. The 13 Chapter filters with almost 250 completed pages, about half of the entire Agreement is and show the state before the last week 13. round of negotiations. And indeed the texts confirm all fears: The trade agreement is making strong inroads in European regulations to protect the environment and consumers a - suspected more than before. An attempt to abolish the precautionary principle in force in Europe, the products allowed only, if they are not harmful to humans and the environment. Instead threatens the introduction of the methods employed in the United States risk principle. This works exactly the opposite: First of all must all be allowed - unless, the harmfulness of a product is clearly demonstrated. It is no surprise, that more than in the US 170 GM crops are approved for cultivation, in Europe only. The European precautionary principle is mentioned in the TTIP text at no point more. Fits to, that American agribusiness, the precautionary principle is increasingly castigates a barrier to trade. the US will prevail, could urge hitherto banned GM crops or other controversial products such as produced with growth accelerators meat on the local market with TTIP in Europe.

In addition, a preliminary analysis of the documents confirming a number of other critical points. Advanced EU environmental laws on food safety or chemicals threaten weakened or eliminate them altogether. Industry representatives say a key is given in important decisions, while the concerns of civil society not included. The proposed mutual adaptation of legislation between the US and the EU would be built according to the current state of the lowest common denominator. European laws about food labeling or cosmetics were threatened. „What so far came from these secret negotiations to the public, sounded like a nightmare. Now wissen we, it could very soon become a reality“, so crunch. „TTIP shakes the foundations of the European Environment- and consumer protection. The agreement threatens rights and laws, that have been hard won over decades. This Agreement shall not enter into force.“

Download the documents at TTIP Leaks or Pirate Party Switzerland.

Heute um 11 Uhr veröffentlichte Greenpeace Nederland Teile der geheimen TTIP-Verhandlungstexte, zeitgleich stellen Greenpeace-Experten die Inhalte auf der re:publica vor. Die geleakten Dokumente zeigen, dass durch TTIP massiv Umwelt- und Verbraucherstandards ausgehöhlt werden könnten. Dieser Vertrag darf niemals nie in Kraft treten!

TTIPleaks: Geheime TTIP Dokumente zum Download

„Handelsabkommen mit derart weitreichendem Einfluss müssen öffentlich diskutiert und transparent verhandelt werden“, erklärt Jürgen Knirsch, Experte für Handel bei Greenpeace. „Alles andere ist undemokratisch und eine Gefahr für die Errungenschaften der Zivilgesellschaft.“ Damit liefert Knirsch die Erklärung für die Veröffentlichung der bislang geheimen TTIP-Verhandlungspapiere. Denn obwohl alleine in Europa mehr als eine halbe Milliarde Menschen die Auswirkungen spüren werden, sind die Verhandlungen zwischen den USA und der EU bisher für die Bevölkerung eine einzige Black Box. In Deutschland zum Beispiel liegt der Verhandlungstext in zwei überwachten Lesesälen im Wirtschaftsministerium und in der US-Botschaft. Die Öffentlichkeit hat keinen Zutritt. Lediglich die Mitglieder des Bundestags, des Bundesrats und ausgewählte Mitarbeiter von Bundesministerien dürfen die Papiere einsehen – für zwei Stunden, unter Aufsicht. Und selbst das auch erst seit Anfang dieses Jahres als Reaktion auf die massiven Proteste der TTIP-Gegner. Was drin steht, darf den Raum nicht verlassen: Weder als Kopie noch als gesprochenes Wort – es besteht absolute Schweigepflicht.

TTIPleaks: Geheime TTIP Dokumente zum Download

Immerhin soll mit TTIP das weltgrösste Handelsabkommen geschaffen werden. Nun kommt endlich ein Stück Transparenz in die Verhandlungen – wenn auch nicht auf Initiative der Verhandlungsführer. Greenpeace Niederlande veröffentlicht die bislang weitgehend geheimen Verhandlungstexte. Die 13 Kapitel stellen mit knapp 250 Seiten etwa die Hälfte des gesamten Abkommens dar und zeigen den Stand vor der vergangene Woche abgeschlossenen 13. Verhandlungsrunde. Und tatsächlich bestätigen die Texte alle Befürchtungen: Das Handelsabkommen greift massiv in europäische Regelungen zum Schutz der Umwelt und Verbraucher ein – mehr als zuvor vermutet. Es versucht das in Europa geltende Vorsorgeprinzip abzuschaffen, das Produkte nur erlaubt, wenn sie für Mensch und Umwelt unschädlich sind. Stattdessen droht die Einführung des in den USA angewandten Risikoprinzips. Dieses funktioniert genau umgekehrt: Erst einmal darf alles zugelassen werden – es sei denn, die Schädlichkeit eines Produkts ist eindeutig bewiesen. So wundert es nicht, dass in den USA mehr als 170 Gen-Pflanzen für den Anbau zugelassen sind, in Europa nur eine. Das europäische Vorsorgeprinzip wird im TTIP-Text an keiner Stelle mehr erwähnt. Dazu passt, dass die amerikanische Agrarindustrie das Vorsorgeprinzip zunehmend als Handelshemmnis geisselt. Setzen sich die USA durch, könnten mit TTIP in Europa bislang verbotene Gen-Pflanzen oder andere umstrittene Produkte wie etwa mit Wachstumsbeschleunigern erzeugtes Fleisch auf den hiesigen Markt drängen.

Zudem bestätigt eine erste Analyse der Dokumente eine Reihe weiterer kritischer Punkte. Fortschrittliche EU-Umweltgesetze zu Lebensmittelsicherheit oder Chemikalien drohen geschwächt oder ganz abgeschafft zu werden. Industrievertretern wird bei wichtigen Entscheidungen eine zentrale Mitsprache eingeräumt, während die Belange der Zivilgesellschaft nicht berücksichtigt werden. Die geplante gegenseitige Anpassung der Gesetzgebung zwischen den USA und der EU würde sich nach jetzigem Stand am kleinsten gemeinsamen Nenner orientieren. Europäische Gesetze etwa zur Lebensmittelkennzeichnung oder zu Kosmetika würden bedroht. „Was bislang aus diesen Geheimverhandlungen an die Öffentlichkeit drang, klang wie ein Albtraum. Jetzt wissen wir, daraus könnte sehr bald Realität werden“, so Knirsch. „TTIP rüttelt an den Fundamenten des europäischen Umwelt- und Verbraucherschutzes. Das Abkommen bedroht Rechte und Gesetze, die über Jahrzehnte mühsam erkämpft wurden. Dieser Vertrag darf nicht in Kraft treten.“

Download der Dokumente bei TTIP Leaks oder der Piratenpartei Schweiz.