Ubuntu Edge: Mobile phone with 128 GB of memory and 4 GB of RAM via Croudsourcing

Powerful and cheaper than iPhone 5 and Galaxy S4 to the new Ubuntu Be Edge. Ubuntu founder Shuttleworth engages an unconventional financing model: He wants to fund the smartphone by Croudsourcing, ie anyone can participate and it should also, because this smartphone and PC in one device. The Ubuntu Edge is dual-booting and can be used with Ubuntu Phone OS as well as Android be started, so can be by connecting to a monitor, the phone turn into a full-fledged PC.

Ubuntu Edge

The open source software Ubuntu wanted always be more than one operating system. Ubuntu is a vision: Users can decide on technical innovations. not Apple, which would prefer to enclose the high-security vault of a bank the source code of its iPhone and not Samsung with its Galaxy S4. no, the user should decide, what brings the smartphone and so is the first open-source smartphone „Ubuntu Edge“ be something very great and very different: twice as much memory (128 GB) such as the iPhone 5, twice as much RAM (4 GB) like the Galaxy S4, more powerful batteries, dual-booting, with sapphire crystal display and stereo headphones and all cheaper than the devices of the top dogs Samsung and Apple (see table below). The Ubuntu Edge can be started with Ubuntu Phone OS and Android and can be converted by connecting to a monitor in a full-fledged PC. „Ubuntu Edge is the ultimate Konvergenzegrät and provides the existing concepts for PCs and Smartphones to the test“, says Mark Shuttleworth, Founder of Canonical. to the smartphone and PC in one device 695 U.S. dollar cost, and in May 2014 come on the market.

Video Thumbnail
Ubuntu Edge Teaser Promo

In order to make the vision a reality, Shuttleworth is an increasingly popular financing model forming a: Crowdsourcing. The aim of the Crowdsourcing-Kampagne auf Indiegogo is, until 21. August 32 Million dollars for a limited production run of 40.000 Ubuntu Edge devices to collect. According to Canonical also the Bloomberg news agency has a contingent of equipment 80 involved copies and currently are staggering already met 11'201'500 Dollar. Nevertheless, the project needs all the support it can get, the day only a few are open until the end date, um weitere 20 Millionen Dollar zu sammeln. Wer also heute 695 Dollars using, gets in May 2014 sent a brand-new Ubuntu Edge. In the case, that 32 Not come together millions, get the crowdsourcing investors their use of 695 Dollar refunded, Canonical promises.

Ubuntu Edge Apple iPhone 5 Samsung Galaxy S4
Mobile OS Dual-boots Android and Ubuntu Mobile iOS Android
Desktop OS Ubuntu Desktop No No
RAM 4GB 1GB 2GB
Internal storage 128GB 64GB 16GB
Screen 720 x 1,280, 4.5 inches 640 x 1,136, 4 inches 1,080 x 1,920, 5 inches
Protection Sapphire Glass Corning Gorilla Glass Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Connectivity Dual-LTE, GSM LTE, GSM LTE, GSM
Speakers Stereo Mono Mono
Battery Silicon anode Li-ion Li-ion Li-ion
price $695 $849* $750**

So friends, Just go ahead and secure an Ubuntu Edge, because this would finally truly an innovation in the currently stagnant smartphone market! Who the project, in any kind always wants to co-finance, click on the following widget:

Ubuntu Edge: Handy mit 128 GByte Speicher und 4 GByte RAM via Croudsourcing

Leistungsfähiger und preiswerter als iPhone 5 und Galaxy S4 soll das neue Ubuntu Edge werden. Ubuntu-Gründer Shuttleworth greift dabei zu einem unkonventionellen Finanzierungsmodell: Er will das Smartphone per Croudsourcing finanzieren, sprich jeder kann sich beteiligen und sollte es auch, da dieses Smartphone und PC in einem Gerät vereint. Das Ubuntu Edge ist dual-boot-fähig und kann sowohl mit Ubuntu Phone OS als auch mit Android gestartet werden, so lässt sich durch den Anschluss an einen Monitor das Handy in einen vollwertigen PC verwandeln.

Ubuntu Edge

Die Open-Source-Software Ubuntu wollte schon immer mehr sein als ein Betriebssystem. Ubuntu ist eine Vision: Nutzer entscheiden über technische Innovationen. Nicht Apple, welche den Sourcecode seines iPhone am liebsten im Hochsicherheitstresor einer Bank einschliessen möchte und auch nicht Samsung mit seinem Galaxy S4. Nein, der Nutzer soll entscheiden, was das Smartphone mitbringt und so soll das erste Open-Source Smartphone „Ubuntu Edge“ etwas ganz Grosses und ganz Anderes werden: Doppelt so viel Speicher (128 GByte) wie das iPhone 5, doppelt so viel RAM (4 GByte) wie das Galaxy S4, leistungsstärkere Batterien, dual-boot-fähig, mit Saphir-Kristall-Display und Stereo-Kopfhörern und das alles preiswerter als die Geräte der Platzhirschen Samsung und Apple (siehe Tabelle unten). Das Ubuntu Edge kann sowohl mit Ubuntu Phone OS als auch mit Android gestartet werden und lässt sich durch den Anschluss an einen Monitor in einen vollwertigen PC verwandeln. „Ubuntu Edge ist das ultimative Konvergenzegrät und stellt die bestehenden Konzepte für PCs und Smartphones auf den Prüfstand“, sagt Mark Shuttleworth, Gründer von Canonical. Das Smartphone und PC in einem Gerät soll 695 US-Dollar kosten und im Mai 2014 auf den Markt kommen.

Video Thumbnail
Ubuntu Edge Teaser Promo

Um die Vision Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen, setzt Shuttleworth ein immer beliebter werdendes Finanzierungsmodell ein: Crowdsourcing. Ziel der Crowdsourcing-Kampagne auf Indiegogo ist es, bis zum 21. August 32 Millionen US-Dollar für eine limitierte Produktionsserie von 40.000 Ubuntu-Edge-Geräten zu sammeln. Laut Canonical hat sich auch die Nachrichtenagentur Bloomberg mit einem Gerätekontingent von 80 Exemplaren beteiligt und aktuell sind sage und schreibe bereits 11’201’500 Dollar zusammengekommen. Dennoch braucht das Projekt jede Unterstützung die es kriegen kann, den nur noch wenige Tag sind bis zum Enddatum offen, um weitere 20 Millionen Dollar zu sammeln. Wer also heute 695 Dollar einsetzt, bekommt im Mai 2014 ein fabrikneues Ubuntu Edge zugesandt. Für den Fall, dass die 32 Millionen nicht zusammenkommen, erhalten die Crowdsourcing-Investoren ihren Einsatz von 695 Dollar rückerstattet, verspricht Canonical.

Ubuntu Edge Apple iPhone 5 Samsung Galaxy S4
Mobile OS Dual-boots Android and Ubuntu mobile iOS Android
Desktop OS Ubuntu Desktop No No
RAM 4GB 1GB 2GB
Internal storage 128GB 64GB 16GB
Screen 720 x 1,280, 4.5 inches 640 x 1,136, 4 inches 1,080 x 1,920, 5 inches
Protection Sapphire Glass Corning Gorilla Glass Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Connectivity Dual-LTE, GSM LTE, GSM LTE, GSM
Speakers Stereo Mono Mono
Battery Silicon-anode Li-ion Li-ion Li-ion
Price $695 $849* $750**

Also Freunde, nichts wie los und sich ein Ubuntu Edge sichern, denn dies wäre endlich wirklich eine Innovation auf dem aktuell stagnierenden Smartphone Markt! Wer das Projekt, in welcher Art auch immer mitfinanzieren möchte, klickt auf das folgende Widget: