Album Review: The Other – Fear Itself

The Other“ do not apply without reason as one of the most popular bands of the horror-Punks in Europa. The mix of Punk, Horror and Goth is fans of hard Music Yes since the Misfits or Danzig in the ears. to mix punk music with sounds of other subgenres and with a (Horror-)To garnish Image is flat per se times not a bad recipe. The similarly acting competition is „The Other“ rarely high advance and yet you have to soberly notice: For the great career it was enough „The Other“ yet. After the last disc and the withdrawal of some band members, is still life in the old corpse. In a horror movie series in the sixth part is usually deflated or she would have to reinvent. But movies are no plates.

The Other - Fear Itself

Fewer than three years have passed since the publication of the last „The Other“ Albums „The Devils You Know“ went into the country. a time, in which the cast carousel turned so violently, that the band for a while almost entirely of singer Rod Usher and drummer Dr. Caligari Bestand. But with Pat Laveau (Guitar), Ben Crowe (Guitar) and Aaron Torn (bass) one has found an adequate replacement and is even grown from quartet to quintet. In this line, the group released now with „Fear Itself“ their sixth album. But despite the occupation change the really big surprises in contained herein remain 14 Tracks from. You heard, Now that two guitarists are at the start, but otherwise are located „The Other“ remained faithful. The troops from NRW has now been 2002 road and despite constantly changing musicians, especially bassist, has not suffered their music.

The Other - Band

The Cologne Horror punk band is an integral part of the German scene, but you should at „The Other“ do not take the word punk too literally, because the sound is stylistically more on Metal oriented. So on „Fear Itself“, that again by Waldemar Sorychta (Grip Inc., Tiamat, Moonspell) was produced, already on „The Devils You Know“ Directed by and for „New Blood“ (2010) the final sound mix designed. Reliance on the new album „The Other“ again on a broad base of different style elements. What the record company as in its letter Promo „traditional Metal Opener“ is designated „No more“. And exactly this song makes it clear, what difficulties „The Other“ will have the Durchschnittsfan well, Because this song is as primarily „German Punk“ to understand, has nothing to do with the rest of the album. Me personally disturbs the musical variety wealth not, Critics might keep this wide range of style elements but for a lack of orientation.

Video Thumbnail
The Other - Dreaming of the Devil (Official Video)

The record company sees, for example, elements of „Thin Lizzy“, „Iron Maiden“, but also „The Cult“ and „Danzig“. And then there's just been the punk and in my opinion a shot „The Visiom Bleak“, which is probably due to the orientation of the dark subject. All in all, not bad, but unusual and possibly somewhat unpredictable. Right after the intro blares the addressed „No more“ from the speakers, wherein for the first time venturing Cologne mind, to present the opener in German. Just after the „Unholy-Skirt“, she for the song „Eternity“ suffered their last record, This was a courageous step. „The Other“ provide here a veritable punk track, both the fans „Toten Hosen“ as well as the „Böhse Onkelz“ will celebrate. The rage of the 80s penetrates from the line, manifested in the riffs of the guitars and the furious beats of the drums. Big movies at the beginning.

The Other - Logo

Then begins the descent into the darker realms. „Bloodsucker“ is one of the most expressive songs. Inspired by 12 Claudia years of Anne Rice „Interview with a Vampire“ playing the track with the fact, that not immortality always is desirable. To remain always twelve? It is similar to the following „Black Sails Against A Midnight Sky“ and „Dreaming of the Devil“ to. At „Black Sails Against A Midnight Sky“ convince the guitar melodies, but I can not really abgewinnen something and the chorus like only moderately singing Usher. Perhaps the schema, after the pieces are written, a little too predictable, or lacked the very large, brilliant idea. The chorus to „Dreaming of the Devil“ ie it then „Dreaming, Dreaming of the Devil / You know it’s gonna be alright“, what seems somehow half-baked. In itself a nice up-tempo number, which will look good on the dance floor.

the-other-band-02

„Doll Island – Island of the Dolls“ I find rather interesting, because „Island of the Dolls“ is an island in the channels prior to Mexico City, on which – to match the name – hanging hundreds of mutilated toy dolls in the trees. The story behind these dolls, that they were hung on the island to drive away the ghost of a girl who drowned near the island. But back to the music, because this is well done on the sixth title. The song begins with a quiet Part, the most part of Bass and rare, slightly distorted guitars supported, while Usher, the story of the drowned girl with half geflüstertem singing initiates. Then the title goes to a classic Heavy Metal Part, followed by shallow, successful melodies. Hammer Komposition! When a horror punk band with the atrocities of World War II sets apart, takes a look at the current situation and together count one and one, then a song comes as „German Fear“ out. When groups such as the Pegida you look at, one recognizes, how terrible is currently the subject still. „German Angst“ is a leaden metal number, the right Bock makes.

Video Thumbnail
The Other - No more (Lyric Video)

The second half of the album is basically a balancing act between mediocrity and upper class, as well as between metal and punk. While also really good songs like „In The Dark“ and „Screams In The Black House“ With this, sounds „Funeral March“ something too flashy for the title, although the vocals from Usher you might think, that Iggy Pop and Billy Idol in the stanza with standing in the room. In „The Price You Pay“ there is one of the best „The Other“-to hear choruses of all time. The vocals sound great and instrumental one has varied melodies, changing rhythms and great ideas in store. At „rise“ then comes the punk again more to train and sprayed content and visually Horror- und b-movie-aesthetics. Completed the album is the dramaturgical „Mephisto“, a very big hit, the selected toll as Rausschmeisser, because he makes Bock, reinzuhorchen again. Full removed recalls the „Mephisto“-Riff an „Subway to Sally“, although not at their eponymous song. The chorus, to excel in its simplicity hardly, Rods gloomy, langgezogenes „Mephisto“ with the cold, almost metallic acting line „call my name“ becomes a suspenseful whole, that can live very well implement.

the-other-band-03

„Fear Itself“ is a great album, that hide in no way behind his predecessor has. Because after the last album half the band members are drawn away to new regions, It was clear, that „Fear Itself“ would sound different. Just by the second guitar sound now comes voluminous and therefore more pressure. This can be seen especially on songs like „Funeral March“, with its strong bass track, is fanned out beautifully by the two guitars. Thanks Pat Laveau and Ben Crowe to Sechssaitern and Aaron Torn on bass and the powerful blows of Doc Caligari start the bouncer Mephisto with incredible force, which would not have been possible before. Hopefully, the five guys for a while remain together, given that cooperation can yearn for future plates. The tape shows, there is nothing to fear except fear itself. They in any case go fearlessly their way and can not slow down even the departure of band members. A little fresh air seems to have the band on the contrary, even well done. A few small surprises would „Fear Itself“ possibly can still tolerate, But „The Other“ Stay true to yourself and thereby. The 80s Punk Rock- Rock-, Horror mix runs through the whole album. In addition to a well dosed dash of salt are found indeed a well or two hairs in the soup, but they are to get over – the bottom line makes the wheel fun, Rods voice is still beautiful to listen, recorded the tracks with a lot of verve and good atmosphere. Overall, there are many beautiful, small experiments, which enrich the album, without the thread to cut. Who „The Other“ additions already found good, is also „Fear Itself“ be satisfied. A recommendation is sufficient because of the entertainment value of the plate all! thumb high the horror movie from more! „Fear Itself“ is gruftig, but not mieft!

Video Thumbnail
"Dreaming of the Devil" - Behind the scenes with The Other

Tracklist

  1. Fear Itself
  2. No more
  3. Bloodsucker
  4. Black Sails Against A Midnight Sky
  5. Dreaming of the Devil
  6. Doll Island - Island of the Dolls
  7. German Angst
  8. Screams In The Black House
  9. In The Dark
  10. The Price You Pay
  11. Funeral March
  12. Animal Instinct
  13. rise
  14. Mephisto
Album Review: The Other - Fear Itself
8.2 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality9
Time8.5
Musical skills8
Singing8
Lyrics8.5
Substance7.5
Production9
Longevity7
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

DBD: Dreaming of the Devil – The Other

The German horror-Rocker „The Otherveröffentlichen ein neues Video the song „Dreaming of the Devil“ vom kommenden Album „Fear Itself“. Die Band um Sänger Rod Usher sind seit Jahren das Flaggschiff der deutschen Horror-Szene und zählen zu den wichtigsten Horror-Acts in Europa. Dieses Jahr feiert die Skelett-Truppe ihr dreizehnjähriges Bestehen

Video Thumbnail
The Other - Dreaming of the Devil (Official Video)

Album Review: The Other – Fear Itself

The Other“ gelten nicht ohne Grund als eine der bekanntesten Bands des Horror-Punks in Europa. Die Mixtur aus Punk, Horror und Goth ist Fans härterer Musik ja seit den Misfits oder Danzig in den Ohren. Punkige Musik mit Klängen anderer Subgenres zu vermischen und mit einem (Horror-)Image zu garnieren ist eben per se mal kein schlechtes Rezept. Die ähnlich agierende Konkurrenz ist „The Other“ nur selten qualitativ voraus und dennoch muss man nüchtern feststellen: Für die grosse Karriere reichte es „The Other“ bislang nicht. Nach der letzten Scheibe und dem Ausstieg einiger Bandmitglieder, ist doch noch Leben in dem alten Leichnam. Bei einer Horrorfilm-Reihe ist beim sechsten Teil meistens die Luft raus oder sie müsste sich ganz neu erfinden. Aber Filme sind keine Platten.

The Other - Fear Itself

Ganze drei Jahre sind seit der Veröffentlichung des letzten „The Other“ Albums „The Devils You Know“ ins Land gegangen. Eine Zeit, in der sich das Besetzungskarussell dermassen heftig drehte, dass die Band eine Weile praktisch nur noch aus Sänger Rod Usher und Schlagzeuger Dr. Caligari bestand. Doch mit Pat Laveau (Gitarre), Ben Crowe (Gitarre) sowie Aaron Torn (Bass) hat man adäquaten Ersatz gefunden und ist gar vom Quartett zum Quintett angewachsen. In dieser Besetzung veröffentlicht die Gruppe nun mit „Fear Itself“ ihr sechstes Album. Doch trotz des Besetzungswechsels bleiben die wirklich grossen Überraschungen bei den hier enthaltenen 14 Tracks aus. Man hört, dass nun zwei Gitarristen am Start sind, aber ansonsten sind sich „The Other“ treu geblieben. Die Truppe aus NRW ist nun seit 2002 unterwegs und trotz ständig wechselnder Musiker, vor allem Bassisten, hat ihre Musik nicht gelitten.

The Other - Band

Die Kölner Horror Punk Band ist nicht mehr aus der deutschen Szene wegzudenken, doch sollte man bei „The Other“ das Wort Punk nicht allzu wörtlich nehmen, denn der Sound ist stilistisch eher am Metal orientiert. So auch auf „Fear Itself“, dass wieder von Waldemar Sorychta (Grip Inc., Tiamat, Moonspell) produziert wurde, der bereits auf „The Devils You Know“ Regie führte und für „New Blood“ (2010) den finalen Soundmix gestaltete. Auch auf dem neuen Album vertrauen „The Other“ abermals auf eine breite Basis an verschiedenen Stilelementen. Was die Plattenfirma in ihrem Promoschreiben als „traditioneller Metal-Opener“ bezeichnet ist „Nie mehr“. Und genau dieser Song macht deutlich, welche Schwierigkeiten „The Other“ beim Durchschnittsfan wohl haben werden, denn dieser Song ist in erster Linie als „Deutschpunk“ zu verstehen, der mit dem Rest des Albums nichts zu tun hat. Mich persönlich stört der musikalische Abwechslungsreichtum keineswegs, Kritiker könnten diese breite Palette an Stilelementen aber für eine Orientierungslosigkeit halten.

Video Thumbnail
The Other - Dreaming of the Devil (official video)

Die Plattenfirma sieht zum Beispiel auch Elemente von „Thin Lizzy“, „Iron Maiden“, aber auch von „The Cult“ und „Danzig“. Und dann gibt es eben noch den Punk und meiner Meinung nach einen Schuss „The Visiom Bleak“, was wohl auf die Orientierung an die düstere Thematik zurückzuführen ist. Alles in allem nicht schlecht, aber ungewöhnlich und eventuell etwas unberechenbar. Gleich nach dem Intro schmettert das angesprochene „Nie mehr“ aus den Boxen, bei welchem sich die Kölner zum ersten Mal daran wagen, den Opener auf Deutsch zu präsentieren. Gerade nach der „Unheilig-Häme“, die sie für den Song „Ewigkeit“ ihrer letzten Platte hinnehmen mussten, war dies ein mutiger Schritt. „The Other“ liefern hier einen veritablen Punktrack, den sowohl Fans der „Toten Hosen“ wie auch der „Böhsen Onkelz“ feiern werden. Die Wut der 80er Jahre dringt aus den Zeilen, manifestiert sich in den Riffs der Gitarren und den wütenden Beats des Schlagzeugs. Grosses Kino gleich zu Beginn.

The Other - Logo

Danach beginnt der Abstieg in die dunkleren Gefilde. „Bloodsucker“ ist einer der ausdrucksstärksten Songs. Inspiriert von der 12 jährigen Claudia aus Anne Rices „Interview with a Vampire“ spielt der Track mit dem Umstand, dass Unsterblichkeit nicht immer erstrebenswert ist. Wer will schon immer zwölf Jahre alt bleiben? Ähnlich geht es bei den folgenden „Black Sails Against A Midnight Sky“ und „Dreaming Of The Devil“ zu. Bei „Black Sails Against A Midnight Sky“ überzeugen die Gitarrenmelodien, doch kann ich dem Gesang Ushers nicht wirklich etwas abgewinnen und auch der Refrain gefällt nur mässig. Vielleicht ist das Schema, nach dem die Stücke geschrieben sind, ein wenig zu vorhersehbar, oder es fehlte die ganz grosse, zündende Idee. Im Refrain zu „Dreaming Of The Devil“ heisst es dann auch „Dreaming, dreaming of the devil / You know it’s gonna be alright“, was irgendwie unausgegoren wirkt. An sich eine schöne Up-Tempo-Nummer, die sich auch auf der Tanzfläche gut machen wird.

the-other-band-02

„Doll Island – Isla De Las Muñecas“ finde ich ziemlich interessant, denn die „Isla de las Muñecas“ ist eine Insel in den Kanälen vor Mexico City, auf welcher – passend zum Namen – hunderte verstümmelte Spielzeugpuppen in den Bäumen hängen. Die Geschichte hinter diesen Puppen ist, dass sie auf der Insel aufgehangen wurden um den Geist eines nahe der Insel ertrunkenen Mädchens zu vertreiben. Doch zurück zur Musik, denn diese ist auf dem sechsten Titel gut gelungen. Der Song beginnt mit einem ruhigen Part, der grösstenteils vom Bass und von seltenen, leicht verzerrten Gitarren getragen wird, während Usher die Geschichte um das ertrunkene Mädchen mit halb geflüstertem Gesang einleitet. Darauf geht der Titel in einen klassischen Heavy-Metal-Part über, gefolgt von seichten, gelungenen Melodien. Hammer Komposition! Wenn sich eine Horror Punkband mit den Gräueltaten des Zweiten Weltkriegs auseinander setzt, sich die aktuelle Lage anschaut und eins und eins zusammenzählt, dann kommt ein Song wie „German Angst“ heraus. Wenn man sich Gruppierungen wie die Pegida ansieht, erkennt man, wie fürchterlich aktuell die Thematik nach wie vor ist. „German Angst“ ist eine bleischwere Metal-Nummer, die richtig Bock macht.

Video Thumbnail
The Other - Nie Mehr (Lyric Video)

Die zweite Hälfte des Albums ist im Grunde ein Spagat zwischen Mittelmass und Oberklasse, wie auch zwischen Metal und Punk. Während auch hier richtig gute Songs wie „In The Dark“ und „Screams In The Black House“ mit dabei sind, klingt „Funeral March“ für den Titel etwas zu schrill, obwohl beim Gesang von Usher man meinen könnte, dass Iggy Pop und Billy Idol in der Strophe mit im Raum stehen. In „The Price You Pay“ gibt es einen der besten „The Other“-Refrains aller Zeiten zu hören. Der Gesang klingt grossartig und instrumental hat man abwechslungsreiche Melodien, wechselnde Rhythmen und tolle Ideen in petto. Bei „Rise“ kommt dann der Punk wieder mehr zum Zug und versprüht inhaltlich wie optisch Horror- und B-Movie-Ästhetik. Abgeschlossen wird das Album vom dramaturgischen „Mephisto“, ein ganz grosser Wurf, der als Rausschmeisser toll gewählt ist, weil er Bock macht, nochmal reinzuhorchen. Ganz entfernt erinnert das „Mephisto“-Riff an „Subway to Sally“, wenn auch nicht an deren gleichnamigem Song. Der Refrain, in seiner Einfachheit kaum zu übertreffen, Rods düsteres, langgezogenes „Mephisto“ mit der kalten, fast metallischen wirkenden Zeile „Call my name“ wird zu einem spannungsgeladenen Ganzen, dass sich live sehr gut umsetzen lässt.

the-other-band-03

„Fear Itself“ ist ein gelungenes Album, dass sich auf keinen Fall hinter seinem Vorgänger verstecken muss. Da nach dem letzten Album die Hälfte der Bandmitglieder in neue Gefilde fortgezogen sind, war klar, dass „Fear Itself“ anders klingen würde. Gerade durch die zweite Gitarre kommt der Sound nun voluminöser und mit noch mehr Druck daher. Das merkt man insbesondere bei Songs wie „Funeral March“, mit seinem starken Basstrack, der von den beiden Gitarren wunderbar aufgefächert wird. Dank Pat Laveau und Ben Crowe an den Sechssaitern und Aaron Torn am Bass sowie den wuchtigen Schlägen von Doc Caligari startet der Rausschmeisser Mephisto mit einer unglaublichen Wucht, die vorher nicht möglich gewesen wäre. Hoffentlich bleiben die fünf Jungs noch ein Weilchen zusammen, denn die Zusammenarbeit lässt auf zukünftige Platten lechzen. Die Band zeigt, es gibt nichts zu fürchten ausser die Furcht selbst. Sie jedenfalls gehen unerschrocken ihren Weg und lassen sich auch vom Weggang von Bandmitgliedern nicht bremsen. Ein wenig frischer Wind scheint der Band im Gegenteil sogar gut getan zu haben. Ein paar kleine Überraschungen hätte „Fear Itself“ eventuell noch vertragen können, aber „The Other“ bleiben sie selbst und sich dadurch treu. Der 80er Jahre Punkrock- Rock-, Horror-Mix zieht sich durch das ganze Album. Neben einer wohldosierten Prise Salz findet man zwar auch ein oder zwei Haare in der Suppe, aber die sind zu verschmerzen – unter dem Strich macht die Scheibe Spass, Rods Stimme ist nach wie vor schön anzuhören, die Tracks mit viel Verve und guter Atmosphäre eingespielt. Insgesamt finden sich viele schöne, kleine Experimente, die das Album bereichern, ohne den Roten Faden zu kappen. Wer „The Other“ bislang schon gut fand, wird auch mit „Fear Itself“ zufrieden sein. Für eine Empfehlung reicht es aufgrund der Unterhaltsamkeit der Platte allemal! Daumen hoch im Horrorfilm eher ab! „Fear Itself“ ist gruftig, mieft aber nicht!

Video Thumbnail
"Dreaming of the Devil" - Behind the scenes with The Other

Tracklist

  1. Fear Itself
  2. Nie mehr
  3. Bloodsucker
  4. Black Sails Against A Midnight Sky
  5. Dreaming Of The Devil
  6. Doll Island – Isla de las Muñecas
  7. German Angst
  8. Screams In The Black House
  9. In The Dark
  10. The Price You Pay
  11. Funeral March
  12. Animal Instinct
  13. Rise
  14. Mephisto
Album Review: The Other - Fear Itself
8.2 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität9
Tempo8.5
Musikalische Fähigkeiten8
Gesang8
Songtexte8.5
Substanz7.5
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit7
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

DBD: Dreaming of the Devil – The Other

Die deutschen Horror-Rocker „The Other“ veröffentlichen ein neues Video zum Song „Dreaming Of The Devil“ vom kommenden Album „Fear Itself“. Die Band um Sänger Rod Usher sind seit Jahren das Flaggschiff der deutschen Horror-Szene und zählen zu den wichtigsten Horror-Acts in Europa. Dieses Jahr feiert die Skelett-Truppe ihr dreizehnjähriges Bestehen…

Video Thumbnail
The Other - Dreaming of the Devil (official video)