Album Review: The Mission – The Brightest Light

I like it!

After „The Mission“ 2011 ihr 25 celebrated anniversary, legen sie jetzt mit einem neuen Album nach. The cult musician sign in with „The Brightest light“ back and this appears whopping 27 Years after the release of their debut album. Unterschiedliche Musikergenerationen sind seither gekommen und gegangen, „The Mission“ there always more. Each, with „The Brightest Light“ expect a return to the familiar sound, will be surprised. Dies ist das Album einer Band, has a lot of fun and a newfound camaraderie maintains and the result is not less than the presumably strongest rock album of her life.

The Mission - The Brightest Light

Anyone interested in the previous years, is certainly in Internet sufficient material. „The Mission“ have since 1986 published numerous albums with a short interruption and, Concerts. More than four million copies of their previous twelve albums, the associated singles plus compilations and live discs sold the tape to date. 2011 fand man, After several internal disputes, resolutions, Semi solos by singer Wayne Hussey, the anniversary tour 2011 the original band together and celebrated the 25th anniversary with a sold-out European tour. Wayne Hussey, Craig Adams, Simon Hinkler and drummer Mike Kelly noticed, that they sound as fresh as stylistically back to their early days and wanted to capture this exciting sound on disc. Hussey as the main songwriter of the group withdrew for several months, to compose new pieces. at the 1. April then met the entire band with producer David M. Allen (The Cure, Depeche Mode, Human League) and began working in various studios, sometimes even high up in the Brazilian mountains or near the English city of Bath.

The Mission

Now it's finished: „The Brightest Light“, The new album. Rocking, it should be. As a composer and singer Hussey has delivered a performance, which inevitably catapulted him in the list of best British musicians. The new songs with grandiose melodies and lyrics over the devil, about pathos and heartbreak and written with his inimitable sense of humor are certainly among the most compelling, he has ever written. In addition, his voice has never been so Ehrlich sounded like today. With people in his environment, he trusts, he's obviously matured into a musician, in his skin feels comfortable. explained Hussey: „This is my rock album, My wife calls it my ‚Testosterone works'. It tightens the muscles and demonstrated sheer pride! I wanted the sound, we produce live, catch as much as possible and I think, us that this is the first time really succeeded.“

Video Thumbnail
The Mission - Black Cat Bone

Slink, So Simon Hinkler, may, after almost 20 Leave designate outside the music business every right again as a guitar god his generation years, his playing on the album is expressive and lyrical at the same time. For the first time Slink has stepped out and Hussey's shadow with his guitar playing has found his own true voice. Just listen and enjoy the title „From The Oyster Comes The Pearl“. The well-traveled and experienced bassist Craig Adams after many years found his spiritual home next to his old pals Hussey and Hinkler. Hussey again: „He has been 30 Years my friend, although at first everyone thought, that it does not go well with us long. This is probably the most successful Addo's musical contribution to The Mission album. He was surprised at most positive manner. amazing, so that it always succeeds.“

The Mission

And then there are „young“ Mike Kelly - young therefore, two decades less because he has under his belt than his bandmates. A fact, to which he always happily reminds the other. Young, because he the album brings energy and fresh air and the groove keeps running, both physical and spiritual way. Young, because he is holding up the flag of rock'n'roll excesses, are known and celebrated for The Mission. Young, but with a wise soul Geordie. Young, because he is. Once Hussey: „It is hard for me, to assess the new album, because as with any artist you always find his latest work best. Only time can show, whether I'm right or not. We will see it. But one thing I still want to hold: We had while recording an incredible amount of fun and I think, that you can feel it, when you hear the disc. We are adult, mature, wiser and now know better than ever the true strengths of The Mission. And I think, that we are very aware of just these strengths.“

The Mission

Each, expects a return to the familiar sound, will be surprised. Dies ist das Album einer Band, has the enormous fun and a newfound camaraderie maintains, to capture a timeless and classic in the truest sense of the word rock album with the help of modern studio techniques. It is rooted in the present, without coyly concealing the past. The Mission would never shy, to ask their influences on open display, but just to her newest album sounds unmistakably The Mission. Probably not, according to The Mission, as most have known. This band has never looked so good, fresh and truly sounded. Not a typical Gothic rock sound, simply honest dirty rock sound, with a raspy singing Wayne Hussey! I think it's very brave, some Missionaries are finally feel pushed certainly before the head. On the other hand, the boys have nothing to lose, making the honest, what they like. And their fantastic cover version of Neil Young's „Like A Hurricane“ is indeed all true fans eh mission well known!

Tracklist:

  1. Black Cat Bone
  2. Everything But The Squeal
  3. Sometimes The Brightest Light Comes From The Darkest Place
  4. drag
  5. Born Under A Good Sign
  6. The Girl In A Rug Furskin
  7. When The Trap clicks Shut Behind Us
  8. Ain’t No Prayer In The Bible Can Save Me Now
  9. Just Another Pawn In Your Game
  10. From The Oyster Comes The Pearl
  11. Swan Song
  12. Litany For The Faithful
Album Review: The Mission - The Brightest Light
8.3 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality8
Time5
Musical skills10
Singing9
Lyrics9
Substance9
Production9
Longevity7
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Album Review: The Mission – The Brightest Light

Nachdem „The Mission“ 2011 ihr 25 jähriges Bestehen gefeiert haben, legen sie jetzt mit einem neuen Album nach. Die Kultmusiker melden sich mit „The Brightest Light“ zurück und dieses erscheint satte 27 Jahre nach der Veröffentlichung ihres Debütalbums. Unterschiedliche Musikergenerationen sind seither gekommen und gegangen, „The Mission“ gibt es immer noch. Jeder, der mit „The Brightest Light“ eine Rückkehr zum altbekannten Sound erwartet, wird überrascht sein. Dies ist das Album einer Band, die riesigen Spass hat und eine neugewonnene Kameradschaft pflegt und das Ergebnis ist nicht weniger als das vermutlich stärkste Rockalbum ihres Lebens.

The Mission - The Brightest Light

Wer sich für die früheren Jahre interessiert, findet sicherlich im Internet genügend Material. „The Mission“ haben seit 1986 mit kurzer Unterbrechung zahlreiche Alben veröffentlicht und Konzerte gegeben. Mehr als vier Millionen Tonträger ihrer bisherigen zwölf Alben, der dazu gehörenden Singles plus Compilations und Live-Scheiben hat die Band bis dato verkauft. 2011 fand man, nach mehreren internen Auseinandersetzungen, Auflösungen, Semisolos von Sänger Wayne Hussey, zur Jubiläumstour 2011 in Originalbesetzung zusammen und feierte das 25jährige Bestehen mit einer ausverkauften Europatournee. Wayne Hussey, Craig Adams, Simon Hinkler und Schlagzeuger Mike Kelly bemerkten, dass sie stilistisch wieder so unverbraucht wie zu ihren Anfangstagen klingen und wollten diesen aufregenden Sound auch auf Scheibe festhalten. Hussey als Hauptsongschreiber der Gruppe zog sich für einige Monate zurück, um neue Stücke zu komponieren. Am 1. April traf sich dann die komplette Band mit Produzent David M. Allen (The Cure, Depeche Mode, Human League) und die Arbeit in diversen Studios begann, zum Teil sogar hoch oben in den brasilianischen Bergen oder in der Nähe der englischen Stadt Bath.

The Mission

Nun ist es fertig: „The Brightest Light“, das neue Album. Rockig soll es sein. Als Komponist und Sänger hat Hussey eine Performance angeliefert, die ihn zwangsläufig in die Liste der besten britischen Musiker katapultiert. Die neuen Songs mit grandiosen Melodien und Texten über den Teufel, über Pathos und Herzschmerz sowie verfasst mit seinem unnachahmlichen Sinn für Humor gehören sicherlich zu den überzeugendsten, die er je geschrieben hat. Zudem hat seine Stimme noch nie so ehrlich geklungen wie heute. Mit Leuten in seinem Umfeld, denen er vertraut, ist er offensichtlich zu einem Musiker gereift, der sich in seiner Haut wohl fühlt. Hussey erklärt: „Dies ist mein Rockalbum, meine Frau bezeichnet es als mein ‚Testosteron-Werk‘. Es spannt die Muskeln an und demonstriert puren Stolz! Ich wollte den Sound, den wir live erzeugen, so gut wie möglich einfangen und ich denke, dass uns dies zum ersten Mal wirklich gelungen ist.“

Video Thumbnail
The Mission - Black Cat Bone

Slink, also Simon Hinkler, kann sich nach fast 20 Jahren ausserhalb des Musikbusiness mit Fug und Recht wieder als Gitarrengott seiner Generation bezeichnen lassen, sein Spiel auf dem neuen Album ist ausdrucksstark und zugleich lyrisch. Zum allerersten Mal ist Slink aus Husseys Schatten herausgetreten und hat mit seinem Gitarrenspiel seine eigene wahre Stimme gefunden. Man höre und geniesse den Titel „From The Oyster Comes The Pearl“. Der weitgereiste und erfahrene Bassist Craig Adams hat nach vielen Jahren seine spirituelle Heimat neben seinen alten Kumpeln Hussey und Hinkler gefunden. Hussey noch einmal: „Er ist seit 30 Jahren mein Freund, obwohl anfangs alle dachten, dass es mit uns nicht lange gutgeht. Dies ist vermutlich Addos gelungenster musikalischer Beitrag zu einem The Mission-Album. Er hat mich auf positivste Weise überrascht. Erstaunlich, dass ihm dies immer wieder gelingt.“

The Mission

Und dann gibt es noch „Young“ Mike Kelly – jung deshalb, weil er zwei Dekaden weniger auf dem Buckel hat als seine Bandkollegen. Eine Tatsache, an die er die anderen auch immer wieder gerne erinnert. Jung, weil er dem Album Energie und frischen Wind bringt und den Groove am Laufen hält, sowohl auf physikalische als auch spirituelle Weise. Jung, weil er die Fahne der Rock’n’Roll-Exzesse hochhält, für die The Mission bekannt und gefeiert sind. Jung, aber mit einer weisen Geordie-Seele. Jung, weil er es ist. Noch einmal Hussey: „Für mich ist es schwierig, das neue Album zu beurteilen, denn wie bei jedem Künstler findet man immer seine neueste Arbeit am besten. Nur die Zeit kann zeigen, ob ich richtig liege oder nicht. Wir werden es erleben. Aber eines will ich dennoch festhalten: Wir hatten bei den Aufnahmen unglaublich viel Spass und ich denke, dass man dies spürt, wenn man die Scheibe hört. Wir sind erwachsener, reifer, weiser und kennen heute besser als jemals zuvor die wahren Stärken von The Mission. Und ich denke, dass wir uns gerade dieser Stärken sehr bewusst sind.“

The Mission

Jeder, der eine Rückkehr zum altbekannten Sound erwartet, wird überrascht sein. Dies ist das Album einer Band, die riesigen Spass hat und eine neugewonnene Kameraderie pflegt, um mit Hilfe modernster Studiotechnik ein zeitloses und im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes klassisches Rockalbum aufzunehmen. Es ist in der Gegenwart verwurzelt, ohne verschämt die Vergangenheit zu verschweigen. The Mission würden sich niemals scheuen, ihre Einflüsse offen zur Schau zu stellen, aber gerade ihr neuestes Album klingt unverkennbar nach The Mission. Vermutlich nicht nach The Mission, wie es die meisten gekannt haben. Diese Band hat noch nie so gut, frisch und wahrhaftig geklungen. Kein typischer Gothicrock-Sound, einfach ehrlicher dreckiger Rocksound, mit einem kratzig singenden Wayne Hussey! Ich finde das sehr mutig, schliesslich werden sich einige Missionaries sicherlich vor den Kopf gestossen fühlen. Auf der anderen Seite, die Jungs haben nichts zu verlieren, machen ehrlich das, was ihnen gefällt. Und ihre fantastische Coverversion von Neil Youngs „Like A Hurricane“ ist ja allen wahren Missionsfans eh gut bekannt!

Tracklist:

  1. Black Cat Bone
  2. Everything But The Squeal
  3. Sometimes The Brightest Light Comes From The Darkest Place
  4. Drag
  5. Born Under A Good Sign
  6. The Girl In A Furskin Rug
  7. When The Trap Clicks Shut Behind Us
  8. Ain’t No Prayer In The Bible Can Save Me Now
  9. Just Another Pawn In Your Game
  10. From The Oyster Comes The Pearl
  11. Swan Song
  12. Litany For The Faithful
Album Review: The Mission - The Brightest Light
8.3 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität8
Tempo5
Musikalische Fähigkeiten10
Gesang9
Songtexte9
Substanz9
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit7
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one