Album Review: Suborned – From Space

In thrash we trust! And „Suborned“ represent Thrash Metal from the Switzerland. With their debut EP „Hazardous Substances“ they were 2011 for the first time in the public eye and on 21. November this year, their first full length album released „From Space“. The troupe is led by a lady named Lucie Werlen, Raymond Weibel on bass, Valentin Mössinger the guitar and Stefan Häberli pounding on the skins. The sound can easily toward „Destruction“, „Overkill“ or „Legion of the Damned“ are classified, but „Suborned“ not simply copy plump, but large numbers of their own ideas and arrangements into their sound.

Suborned – From Space

Suborned“ were 2010 launched and quickly took it off after a few successful local live shows in „Little Creek Studio“ (u.a. „Destruction“, „Fear My Thoughts“, „Pro-Pain“) back, the debut EP „Hazardous Substances“ einzuspielen, which was met with a very positive in the scene. In this first step further success in the live sector and so was the band followed by domestic and foreign stages with bands like „Destruction“, „Municipal Waste“ or „Father“ share. Following started 2013 preparations for their first full-length album „From Space“, which reproduces the „Little Creek Studio“ was recorded. After the departure of their former drummer Remo, the plate was recorded by multiple Swiss drum champion Alain Ackermann.

Video Thumbnail
Suborned - Sexolence

With „From Space“ pop Us „Suborned“ an album with a lot of potential around the ears. The boy Band dedicated to the Thrash Metal, Innovative much to do here than expected certainly, but the shamrock to frontwoman Lucie makes a lot of pressure and can concentrate fully on his craftsmanship and quite leave. The breaks are set by a well-discordant rhythm section perfectly in scene and the riffs have a totally international level. The vocals of Lucie positive impression and are vocally somewhere in the area of ​​Overkill's Bobby and Destruction's lubricating located. Nice aggressive, nevertheless set the overall sound relevant and well staged. Musically the four mistyped Thrash Metal of the old school and lay with „Hit It“ also equal to tidy los. The riffs sound pleasantly mangy and the production is in line with the musical direction. Unforgiven is raced forward, guitar technically adequate shredded by Valentin Mössinger.

Suborned – Band

The subsequent title track „From Space“ continues this way continued constant and complements the sound with a typical speed metal riffs of the 80s. Strong entry and the bullet par excellence! Initiated with a brilliant lead guitar, a melody, which is a few times downright celebrated in song, this song turns automatically to the highlight of the album. In the Tracks „Sexolence“ and „My Steps“ are even none other than Master lubricating personal honor. First song is called absolutely great and sounds even mature properly, while appearing even virtuosic passages make. What a composition! With „Under the Yoke“ have suborned equal even a fat Thrasher on the album, with which we feel may make any genre lovers tasty this long iron. You also hear the midtempo stomper „Bitch“ with glorious chorus gossenartigem. Dirty and disreputable - Human Lucie, as you can?! At „My Step“ missing some ideas. These seem „Suborned“ to be unfortunately assumed towards the end something.

Video Thumbnail
Suborned - From Space

The bottom line is this album unique speed and „Full in the face“, but something in between the foot is sometimes taken off the gas and worked with Slo-Mo riffs. „Suborned“ have with „From Space“ down a dance floor can. The mix of nice musical ideas and intransigence can convince fully, Bonds at Overkill, Destruction and every now and then Slayer the Swiss are relevant and fall absolutely not detracted. In comparison with the EP has strongly filed to the catchy qualities of the songs and, for example, „Bitch“ and „Under The Yoke“ two real live grenades in the repertoire. Otherwise, the song structures are fortunately still no way unimaginative, but peppered with lots of details. Unfortunately, the song can not always keep up with the strong Instrumental Group. In the chorus, this aspect may not be noticeable due to the use of transitional Shouts, but in the verses is to clearly notice. Especially in „Simply Darwin“ and „My Step“ falls to, that shouter Lucie must make an effort enormously to keep up with the rest can and sometimes something starts her breath.

Suborned – Band

Conclusion to „From Space“: Fabulous storm - the aliens have landed! The course is set, the concept fits and homework are also done. With a little more variety and a solid live performance should in the future much more from „Suborned“ to be listening. An interesting disc, which also leaves room for improvement, For example, if you work on vocals, is still some in there! Producer V.O. Powder (perhaps many of Poltergeist or GurD known) has forged an appropriate sound in his Little Creek Studios, the leaves for Thrash ratios absolutely no wishes. Thrasher, the band should definitely check check. Who Thrash Metal in the blood, is decent trashing the turnip here.

The album can you Buy in our shop.


  1. Hit It
  2. From Space
  3. Sexolence
  4. Bitch
  5. Under The Yoke
  6. Hazardous Substance
  7. Simply Darwin
  8. Demon
  9. My Step
Album Review: Suborned – From Space
8.9 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills10
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Suborned – From Space

In thrash we trust! Und „Suborned“ stehen für Thrash Metal aus der Schweiz. Mit ihrer Debüt-EP „Hazardous Substances“ traten sie 2011 zum ersten Mal in das Licht der Öffentlichkeit und am 21. November dieses Jahres erschien ihr erstes Full Length Album „From Space“. Die Truppe wird angeführt von einer Dame namens Lucie Werlen, Raymond Weibel zupft den Bass, Valentin Mössinger die Gitarre und Stefan Häberli hämmert auf die Felle. Der Sound kann ohne Weiteres in Richtung „Destruction“, „Overkill“ oder „Legion of the Damned“ eingeordnet werden, doch „Suborned“ kopieren nicht einfach plump, sondern bringen sehr viele eigene Ideen und Arrangements in ihren Sound ein.

Suborned – From Space

Suborned“ wurden 2010 ins Leben gerufen und schnell fand man sich nach einigen erfolgreichen lokalen Liveshows im „Little Creek Studio“ (u.a. „Destruction“, „Fear My Thoughts“, „Pro-Pain“) wieder, um die Debut-EP „Hazardous Substances“ einzuspielen, welche in der Szene äusserst positiv aufgenommen wurde. Auf diesen ersten Schritt folgten weitere Erfolge im Livesektor und so konnte die Band heimische und ausländische Bühnen mit Bands wie „Destruction“, „Municipal Waste“ oder „Vader“ teilen. Im Anschluss begannen 2013 die Vorbereitungen für ihr erstes Full-Length Album „From Space“, welches wieder im „Little Creek Studio“ aufgenommen wurde. Nach dem Ausstieg ihres damaligen Drummers Remo wurde die Platte vom mehrmaligen Schweizer Drum-Champion Alain Ackermann eingespielt.

Video Thumbnail
Suborned - Sexolence

Mit „From Space“ knallen uns „Suborned“ ein Album mit viel Potential um die Ohren. Die junge Band hat sich dem Thrash Metal verschrieben, viel Innovatives kann man hier sicherlich nicht erwarten, aber das Kleeblatt um Frontfrau Lucie macht mächtig Druck und kann sich auf seine handwerklichen Fähigkeiten voll und ganz verlassen. Die Breaks werden von einer gut harmonierenden Rhythmusfraktion perfekt in Szene gesetzt und die Riffs haben absolut internationales Niveau. Auch die Vocals von Lucie fallen positiv auf und sind stimmlich irgendwo in der Gegend von Overkill’s Bobby und Destruction’s Schmier angesiedelt. Schön aggressiv, trotzdem dem Gesamt-Sound dienlich und gut in Szene gesetzt. Musikalisch haben sich die Vier dem Thrash Metal der alten Schule verschrieben und legen mit „Hit It“ auch gleich ordentlich los. Die Riffs klingen dabei angenehm räudig und auch die Produktion ist ganz im Sinne der musikalischen Ausrichtung. Erbarmungslos wird nach vorne geprescht, gitarrentechnisch adäquat geschreddert von Valentin Mössinger.

Suborned – Band

Der anschliessende Titeltrack „From Space“ setzt diesen Weg konstant fort und ergänzt das Klangbild mit einem typischen Speed Metal Riffs der 80er Jahre. Starker Einstieg und das Geschoss schlecht hin! Eingeleitet mit einer genialen Leadgitarre, einer Melodie, die ein paarmal im Song regelrecht zelebriert wird, entpuppt sich dieser Song ganz automatisch zum Highlight des Albums. Bei den Tracks „Sexolence“ und „My Steps“ gibt sich sogar kein Geringerer als Meister Schmier persönlich die Ehre. Erst genannter Song ist absolut super und tönt schon richtig ausgereift, während er in machen Passagen gar virtuos erscheint. Was für eine Komposition! Mit „Under the Yoke“ haben Suborned gleich noch einen fetten Thrasher auf dem Album, mit dem man dieses Langeisen wohl jedem Genre-Liebhaber schmackhaft machen kann. Man höre auch den Midtempo-Stampfer „Bitch“ mit herrlich gossenartigem Refrain. Schmutzig und anrüchig – Mensch Lucie, wie kannst du nur?! Bei „My Step“ fehlen etwas die Ideen. Diese scheinen „Suborned“ leider zum Ende hin etwas ausgegangen zu sein.

Video Thumbnail
Suborned - From Space

Die Quintessenz liegt bei diesem Album eindeutig auf Schnelligkeit und „Voll auf die Fresse“, doch zwischendurch wird auch mal etwas der Fuss vom Gas genommen und mit Slo-Mo Riffs gearbeitet. „Suborned“ haben mit „From Space“ eine flotte Sohle aufs Parkett gelegt. Der Mix aus netten musikalischen Ideen und Kompromisslosigkeit kann voll und ganz überzeugen, Anleihen an Overkill, Destruction und ab und an auch Slayer sind den Schweizern dienlich und fallen absolut nicht negativ ins Gewicht. Im Vergleich zur EP hat man stark an den Ohrwurmqualitäten der Songs gefeilt und beispielsweise mit „Bitch“ und „Under The Yoke“ zwei echte Live Granaten im Repertoire. Ansonsten sind die Songstrukturen glücklicherweise weiterhin keinesfalls einfallslos, sondern mit vielen Details gespickt. Leider kann der Gesang nicht immer mit der starken Instrumentalfraktion mithalten. In den Refrains mag dieser Aspekt aufgrund des Einsatzes von Gangshouts nicht auffallen, aber in den Strophen ist es ganz deutlich zu merken. Speziell in „Simply Darwin“ und „My Step“ fällt auf, dass Shouterin Lucie sich enorm anstrengen muss um mit dem Rest mithalten zu können und ihr teilweise etwas die Puste ausgeht.

Suborned – Band

Fazit zu „From Space“: Fabelhaftes Gewitter – die Ausserirdischen sind gelandet! Die Weichen sind gestellt, das Konzept passt und die Hausaufgaben sind ebenfalls erledigt. Durch etwas mehr Abwechslung und eine solide Live-Performance sollte in Zukunft noch einiges mehr von „Suborned“ zu Hören sein. Eine interessante Scheibe, die auch noch Luft nach oben lässt, wenn man zum Beispiel an den Vocals arbeitet, ist noch Einiges drin! Produzent V.O. Pulver (manchem vielleicht noch von Poltergeist oder GurD bekannt) hat in seinen Little Creek Studios einen angemessenen Sound geschmiedet, der für Thrash-Verhältnisse absolut keine Wünsche offen lässt. Thrasher sollten die Band unbedingt mal checken. Wer Thrash Metal im Blut hat, wird hier anständig die Rübe trashen.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. Hit It
  2. From Space
  3. Sexolence
  4. Bitch
  5. Under The Yoke
  6. Hazardous Substance
  7. Simply Darwin
  8. Demon
  9. My Step

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.