Album Review: Sedunum – XY von Samael

Sedunum“ is the Latin name of the city of Sion or customs and „Sound and lights“ Events are, which cover the whole of France in summer. In this framework, performances with design of light, by fire, Candles and illuminated objects is a poetic, sensual, offered evocative and powerful music productions. In this case, no castles or medieval cities are spared, everywhere are listed theater and verballert infinitely expensive fireworks, which then Music is combined. As such, it is almost clear, that „Sedunum“ in the French-speaking Switzerland takes place and the name is the same adapted to derive the pun „Zion lights“ to make.

Sedunum - XY von Samael

Until the 13. September, with „Sedunum“ offered a show of music and light, which in the Rue des Châteaux and on the Prélet de Valere
is shown. The two artists Valais, the musician Alexandre Locher and light artist Rodrigue Pellaud will have responsibility for the project. The event will take place on Wednesdays, Thursdays, held on Fridays and Saturdays in the historic city of Sion between Valere and Tourbillon. These two castles are included in the play of light and music, that here this album, acoustically complements. On these days, the soundtrack to the magnificent light show of Rodrigue Pellaud is synchronized, which relates the two castles in scene.

Video Thumbnail

„Sedunum“ is a Symphonic MetalProject with more than Symphonic Metal, you can see the disc as well „classical“ Denote plate. „Sedunum“ So actually the soundtrack to those same „Sound and light“-Anlässen And so we're on the issue of the album: Something is missing! The album sounds like a symphony, The music speaks for itself. Music, needs no images – the pictures make the audience itself – and exactly succeed „Sedunum“ only partially. Musically, it's orchestral work with enormous Instrumentation – a philharmonic orchestra, a choir, Percussion und Gitarre, Keyboards und Piano. The music center is but XY aka Alexandre Locher, responsible for percussion and piano programming. The Multi Instrumentalist kennt you als mastermind who Sittener Band Samael, quite a successful international Progmetaltruppe whose career already more than 20 Includes years. Here is his original pieces are characterized by medieval melodies and rhythms chanted. The pieces were about 80 Musicians and recorded in March 2014 included in the Prague Smecky Studios.

Video Thumbnail
Sedunum 1

„Sedunum“ takes the listener on a journey beyond time or physical limitations. The elements span from classic modern influences to experimental elements. Percussions and tribal rhythms are included from the orchestral instrumentation. Harpsichord, Accentuated guitars and full choir. But „Sedunum“ is probably completely and comprehensively only by supplementing with the visual realization. In itself it remains a relatively classic but also relatively unspectacular plant. So who has the opportunity, to Sion at travel and to view the entire spectacle, which should not miss the. The soundtrack can use on the way to set the mood and on the way back, to keep alive the memory of the event.


  1. Sedunum
  2. Ad Gloriam
  3. Elsewhere
  4. Dreams of Yore
  5. Celestial City
  6. Eternal Peace
  7. For Victory
  8. Through Ages
  9. In Aeternum
  10. In Memoriam
  11. Timeless
  12. Once
  13. Babylon
Album Review: Sedunum - XY von Samael
7.3 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Sedunum – XY von Samaêl

Sedunum“ ist die lateinische Bezeichnung der Stadt Sion oder Sitten und „Son et lumières“ sind Veranstaltungen, welche im Sommer ganz Frankreich überziehen. In diesem Rahmen werden Aufführungen mit Gestaltung des Lichts, durch Feuer, Kerzen und angestrahlte Objekte wird eine poetische, sinnliche, stimmungsvolle und kraftvolle Musikinszenierungen geboten. Dabei werden keine Schlösser oder mittelalterlichen Städte verschont, allerorten werden Theater aufgeführt und unendlich teure Feuerwerke verballert, welche dann mit Musik kombiniert wird. So gesehen ist es beinahe klar, dass „Sedunum“ in der französischsprachigen Schweiz stattfindet und die Bezeichnung gleich adaptiert wird um daraus das Wortspiel „Sion en lumières“ zu machen.

Sedunum - XY von Samaêl

Bis am 13. September wird mit „Sedunum“ eine Show aus Musik und Licht geboten, welche in der Rue des Châteaux und auf dem Prélet de Valère
gezeigt wird. Die zwei Walliser Künstler, der Musiker Alexandre Locher und der Lichtkünstler Rodrigue Pellaud zeigen sich verantwortlich für das Projekt. Der Event findet jeweils mittwochs, donnerstags, freitags und samstags in der historischen Altstadt von Sion zwischen Valère und Tourbillon statt. Diese beiden Schlösser werden in die Lichtspiele einbezogen und durch die Musik, dass hier vorliegende Album, akustisch ergänzt. An diesen Tagen wird der Soundtrack mit der grandiosen Lichtshow von Rodrigue Pellaud synchronisiert, welche die beiden Schlösser in Szene setzt.

Video Thumbnail
SEDUNUM 2014

„Sedunum“ ist ein Symphonic Metal–Projekt mit mehr Symphonic als Metal, man kann die Scheibe durchaus als „klassische“ Platte bezeichnen. „Sedunum“ ist also eigentlich der Soundtrack zu eben jenen „Son et lumiere“–Anlässen und damit sind wir schon beim Problem des Albums: Irgendetwas fehlt! Das Album hört sich an wie eine Symphonie, Musik die für sich selber spricht. Musik, die keine Bilder braucht – die Bilder machen sich die Zuhörer selber – und genau das gelingt „Sedunum“ nur teilweise. Musikalisch ist es klassisches Orchesterwerk mit enormer Instrumentierung – ein philharmonisches Orchester, ein Chor, Percussions und Gitarre, Keyboards und Piano. Das musikalische Zentrum ist aber XY aka Alexandre Locher, der für Percussions und Piano-Programmierung zuständig ist. Der Multiinstrumentalist kennt man als Mastermind der Sittener Band Samaêl, einer durchaus international erfolgreichen Progmetaltruppe deren Karriere bereits mehr als 20 Jahre umfasst. Hier zeichnen sich seine originellen Stücke durch mittelalterliche Melodien und skandierte Rhythmen aus. Die Stücke wurden mit über 80 Musikern eingespielt und im März 2014 in den Prager Smecky Studios aufgenommen.

Video Thumbnail
Sedunum 1

„Sedunum“ entführt den Hörer auf eine Reise jenseits von zeitlichen oder physischen Grenzen. Die Elemente spannen einen Bogen von klassischen über moderne Einflüsse bis hin zu experimentellen Elementen. Percussions und Tribal-Rhythmen werden von der orchestralen Instrumentierung inkl. Cembalo, Gitarren und komplettem Chor akzentuiert. Doch „Sedunum“ wird wohl nur durch die Ergänzung mit der visuellen Umsetzung vollständig und ganzheitlich. Für sich genommen bleibt es ein relativ klassisches aber auch relativ unspektakuläres Werk. Wer also Gelegenheit hat, nach Sitten zu reisen und sich das gesamte Spektakel anzusehen, der sollte sich das nicht entgehen lassen. Den Soundtrack kann man auf dem Hinweg zur Einstimmung nutzen und auf dem Rückweg, um die Erinnerung an den Event lebendig zu halten.

Trackliste:

  1. Sedunum
  2. Ad Gloriam
  3. Elsewhere
  4. Dreams of Yore
  5. Celestial City
  6. Eternal Peace
  7. For Victory
  8. Through Ages
  9. In Aeternum
  10. In Memoriam
  11. Timeless
  12. Once
  13. Babylon

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.