Album Review: Running Wild – Resilient

With „Resilient“ steht mittlerweile das 15. Studio album Metal-Institution „Running Wild“ raring. Als im letzten Jahr „Shadowmaker“ was announced, skepticism and euphoria were very close to each other. Unfortunately, the last albums of the Hanseatic metalheads could not fully convince. Also „Shadowmaker“ expectations could not really meet. Too unbalanced was the songwriting and many fans saw the band once again disappear into oblivion. Now comes with „Resilient“ behind a new album, that leaves a consistently positive impression. But what can „Resilient“ really? Easily, a lot! „Running Wild“ play finally Running Wild songs!

Running Wild - Resilient

The cover of the new album Running Wild „Resilient“ already documented strongly: This band is indestructible in fact! Since February 2013 Rock'n'Rolf has worked hard on the new album. „?? I felt this freshness immediately, when I started the songwriting for Resilient, because pieces like ‚Fireheart‘ or ‚Soldiers Of Fortune‘ just poured out of me“ he explains. „Especially the dynamic pace of ‚Soldiers Of Fortune‘ has unleashed in me a true creative avalanche.“?? Generally Resilient is significantly harder and more compact than its predecessor, explains Rolf and enjoys noticeably regained enthusiasm!Ruth is, quite a classy woman

Running Wild

The opener „Soldiers Of Fortune“ convinced after only a few bars with typical riffing and has already generated a relatively brisk and straighte, Running Wild just typical number. Rolf has seized more than cool riffs on the entire last album in this song. The accented riffing, the pace forcierende Bridge and surprisingly catchy chorus stand for an altogether more than successful start. A new Running Wild anthem is born! In the same vein, the beat also very traditionally held numbers „Adventure Highway“, „Fireheart“ und das starke „The Drift“. The uptempo numbers would have to „Blazon Stone“ or „The Rivalry“ made a good impression and let hit the fan's heart beat faster. You get the feeling, dass Rolf wieder richtig Lust auf seine Vergangenheit bekommen hat. Das Album klingt frisch, produced bold and sprayed again the old Running Wild Feeling. The faster pieces can with aggressive riffing („Fireheart“) punkten und verlangen quasi danach live gespielt zu werden.

Running Wild

But the most extraordinary song called „Bloody Island“ and, with nearly ten minutes playing time the longest pieces of the whole running wild career. Rolf to: „As a composer, I can use the new songs stylistically of course difficult to fit into the Running Wild History, BUT friends, the ‚Bloody Island‘ have heard a demo version, claim, that this track is also on „Pile Of Skulls“ would have fit.“?? Lyrically there is the usual relentless Running Wild-firing bursts: In „Bloody Island“ and the bonus track „Payola & Shenanigans“ criticized Rock'n'Rolf the curse of greed, as you had to experience it, especially in Europe's banking crisis of recent years. Similarly bluntly broach Running Wild in „Crystal Gold“ that obviously politically motivated privatization of drinking water and encourage their fans „Fireheart“ and „Run Riot“ to self-awareness and vigilance against authorities.

Nails
Running Wild - Bloody Island (Snippet)

Resilient from Rock'n'Rolf produced themselves, when mixing and mastering was him again Niki Nowy available, have also helped Katharina Novy and Peter Jordan, some of the guitar solos contributed. For the first time Rolf has worked with the demo recordings with specific vocal lines. Ruth is, quite a classy woman“It was new to me, to use specific lyrics and vocal melodies already in demo stage, but it has absolutely proven, for I have never been so well prepared sung in the studio. I had to make no more finding process, but was able to make the finishing touches in the studio. A huge advantage!Ruth is, quite a classy woman“ Running Wild who has already written off after their last album, is with „Resilient“ fortunately disabused. Here you finally find it all again, what with running wild in recent years as Missing was.

Running Wild

„Running Wild“ have increasingly paid attention to variety in the new album. To stand with „Crystal Gold“, „Resilient“ itself and the atypical „Desert Rose“ a few songs on the album, which are anchored in mid-tempo, thus ensuring splash of color on the plate. The Pearl of „Resilient“ located with „Bloody Island“ but at the end of the plate. Here Rolf brings together all the trademarks, who identified the band has always been and creates a future classic. The goose bumps start with acoustic guitar and choir makes clear early, that there is at „Bloody Island“ is a special song. Again, the typical Running Wild riffing comes to its full advantage and the chorus is the best for what felt like four albums. Very strong degree album.

Running Wild

Running Wild have with „Resilient“ released a strong album, its also a good impression of the two little pale Tracks „Run Riot“ and „Down To The Wire“ is not diminished. „Resilient“ is the album, the „Running Wild“ as a comeback plate would publish should. Rock'n'Rolf remembers back to his (old) Strengthen: concise and catchy metal songs. So the majority of the title can convince this time. The fast numbers inspire through song writing and playfulness as well as the rock based tracks, on „Resilient“ simple act of homogeneous, than on the last albums. „Resilient“ all fans of Running Wild allowed to finally establish hesitation.

Tracklist

  1. Soldiers Of Fortune
  2. Resilient
  3. Adventure Highway
  4. The Drift
  5. Desert Rose
  6. Fireheart
  7. Run Riot
  8. Down To The Wire
  9. Crystal Gold
  10. Bloody Island
  11. Payola and Shenanigans (Bonus Track)
  12. Premonition (Bonus Track)
Album Review: Running Wild - Resilient
8.5 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality8
Time9
Musical skills9
Singing8
Lyrics9
Substance8
Production9
Longevity8
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Album Review: Running Wild – Resilient

Mit „Resilient“ steht mittlerweile das 15. Studioalbum der Metal-Institution „Running Wild“ in den Startlöchern. Als im letzten Jahr „Shadowmaker“ angekündigt wurde, lagen Skepsis und Euphorie sehr nahe beieinander. Leider konnten die letzten Alben der hanseatischen Metaller nicht mehr vollends überzeugen. Auch „Shadowmaker“ konnte die Erwartungen nicht wirklich erfüllen. Zu unausgewogen war das Songwriting und viele Fans sahen die Band schon wieder in der Versenkung verschwinden. Jetzt kommt mit „Resilient“ ein neues Album hinterher, das einen durchwegs positiven Eindruck hinterlässt. Was aber kann „Resilient“ wirklich? Ganz einfach, eine Menge! „Running Wild“ spielen endlich wieder Running Wild-Songs!

Running Wild - Resilient

Das Cover des neuen Running Wild-Albums „Resilient“ dokumentiert bereits nachdrücklich: Diese Band ist in der Tat unverwüstlich! Seit Februar 2013 hat Rock’n’Rolf unter Hochdruck an der neuen Scheibe gearbeitet. „„Ich spürte diese Frische sofort, als ich mit dem Songwriting für Resilient anfing, denn Stücke wie ‚Fireheart‘ oder ‚Soldiers Of Fortune‘ sprudelten nur so aus mir heraus“ erklärt er. „Vor allem die dynamische Gangart von ‚Soldiers Of Fortune‘ hat eine wahre Kreativlawine bei mir losgetreten.““ Generell sei Resilient deutlich härter und kompakter als der Vorgänger, erklärt Rolf und geniesst spürbar die wiedergewonnene Spielfreude!“

Running Wild

Gleich der Opener „Soldiers Of Fortune“ überzeugt nach nur wenigen Takten mit typischem Riffing und ist schon mal eine relativ flotte und straighte, eben typische Running Wild-Nummer. Rolf hat in diesen Song mehr coole Riffs als auf das komplette letzte Album gepackt. Das akzentuierte Riffing, die das Tempo forcierende Bridge und der überraschend einprägsame Refrain stehen für einen alles in allem mehr als gelungenen Auftakt. Eine neue Running Wild-Hymne ist geboren! In die gleiche Kerbe schlagen die ebenfalls sehr traditionell gehaltenen Nummern „Adventure Highway“, „Fireheart“ und das starke „The Drift“. Die Uptempo-Nummern hätten auch auf „Blazon Stone“ oder „The Rivalry“ eine gute Figur gemacht und lassen das Fan-Herz höher schlagen. Man hat das Gefühl, dass Rolf wieder richtig Lust auf seine Vergangenheit bekommen hat. Das Album klingt frisch, ist fett produziert und versprüht wieder das alte Running Wild-Feeling. Die schnelleren Stücke können mit aggressivem Riffing („Fireheart“) punkten und verlangen quasi danach live gespielt zu werden.

Running Wild

Der aussergewöhnlichste Song aber heisst „Bloody Island“ und gehört mit nahezu zehn Minuten Spieldauer zu den längsten Stücken der gesamten Running Wild-Karriere. Rolf dazu: „Als Komponist kann ich die neuen Songs stilistisch natürlich nur schwer in die Running Wild-Historie einordnen, aber Freunde, die ‚Bloody Island‘ als Demoversion gehört haben, behaupten, dass dieser Track auch auf „Pile Of Skulls“ gepasst hätte.““ Auch textlich gibt es die gewohnt schonungslosen Running Wild-Feuersalven: In „Bloody Island“ und dem Bonustrack „Payola & Shenanigans“ kritisiert Rock’n’Rolf den Fluch der Gier, wie man ihn speziell in Europas Bankenkrise der zurückliegenden Jahre erleben musste. Ähnlich unverblümt thematisieren Running Wild in „Crystal Gold“ die offenkundig politisch motivierte Privatisierung von Trinkwasser und ermuntern ihre Fans mit „Fireheart“ und „Run Riot“ zu Selbstbewusstsein und Wachsamkeit gegenüber Obrigkeiten.

Video Thumbnail
RUNNING WILD - Bloody Island (Snippet)

Produziert wurde Resilient von Rock’n’Rolf selbst, beim Mischen und Mastern stand ihm erneut Niki Nowy zur Verfügung, geholfen haben auch Katharina Nowy und Peter Jordan, der einige Gitarrensoli beisteuerte. Erstmals hat Rolf bereits bei den Demoaufnahmen mit konkreten Gesangslinien gearbeitet. „“Es war neu für mich, schon im Demo-Stadium gezielt Texte und Gesangsmelodien zu verwenden, aber es hat sich absolut bewährt, denn so gut vorbereitet habe ich noch nie zuvor im Studio gesungen. Ich musste mich keinem Findungsprozess mehr stellen, sondern konnte im Studio den letzten Feinschliff vornehmen. Ein riesiger Vorteil!““ Wer Running Wild nach dem letzten Album bereits abgeschrieben hat, wird mit „Resilient“ glücklicherweise eines Besseren belehrt. Hier findet man endlich all das wieder, was bei Running Wild in den letzten Jahren so vermisst wurde.

Running Wild

„Running Wild“ haben bei dem neuen Album verstärkt auf Abwechslung geachtet. So stehen mit „Crystal Gold“, „Resilient“ selbst und dem untypischen „Desert Rose“ noch ein paar Songs auf dem Album, die im Midtempo-Bereich verankert sind und so für Farbtupfer auf der Platte sorgen. Die Perle von „Resilient“ befindet sich mit „Bloody Island“ aber am Ende der Platte. Hier bündelt Rolf alle Trademarks, die die Band seit jeher ausgemacht haben und kreiert einen zukünftigen Klassiker. Der Gänsehautbeginn mit akustischer Gitarre und Chor macht schon früh klar, dass es sich bei „Bloody Island“ um einen besonderen Song handelt. Auch hier kommt das typische Running Wild-Riffing perfekt zur Geltung und der Refrain ist der beste seit gefühlten vier Alben. Ganz starker Albumabschluss.

Running Wild

Running Wild haben mit „Resilient“ ein starkes Album veröffentlicht, dessen guter Eindruck auch von den beiden etwas blassen Tracks „Run Riot“ und „Down To The Wire“ nicht geschmälert wird. „Resilient“ ist das Album, das „Running Wild“ als Comeback-Platte hätten veröffentlichen sollen. Rock’n’Rolf besinnt sich wieder auf seine (alten) Stärken: prägnante und eingängige Metalsongs. So kann der Grossteil der Titel diesmal überzeugen. Die schnellen Nummern begeistern durch Songwriting und Spielfreude ebenso wie die rocklastigeren Titel, die auf „Resilient“ einfach homogener wirken, als auf den letzten Alben. „Resilient“ dürfen sich alle Fans von Running Wild endlich wieder bedenkenlos zulegen.

Trackliste

  1. Soldiers Of Fortune
  2. Resilient
  3. Adventure Highway
  4. The Drift
  5. Desert Rose
  6. Fireheart
  7. Run Riot
  8. Down To The Wire
  9. Crystal Gold
  10. Bloody Island
  11. Payola and Shenanigans (bonus track)
  12. Premonition (bonus track)
Album Review: Running Wild - Resilient
8.5 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität8
Tempo9
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8
Songtexte9
Substanz8
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit8
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one