Album Review: raven – Extermination

For more than 40 Years are John and Mark Gallagher for Metal on the way, most of that time with drummer Joe Hasselvander. Although the publication rate has declined significantly since the mid-90s, sets „raven“ With „Extermination“ as much before quality, which can be described as a real board with good reason. After her successful comeback with „Walk Through Fire“ comes the NWOBHM legend now with a new album around the corner, the (fast) in time for the 40th anniversary of the band appears. „raven“ also offer on their latest work, the perfect mix of Metal anthem, NWoBHM-Spirit, Speed ​​Metal and absolute chaos. „raven“ sound like no other band and no band sounds like „raven“.

Album Review: raven - Extermination

Like their Canadian counterparts from „Anvil“ were the British at the beginning of the 80s in the wings of the metallic race for glory, then at the end METALLICA or Megadeth pass to see and even one remained stuck somewhere Anvil. Neither commercial, nor health setbacks could „raven“ reside to date. Bravely, the band trudged on and now it actually looks pretty good again. „Extermination“ is overall a punchy, spielfreudiges Album geworden. „raven“ were already always as inspiration for dozens of other bands, without „raven“ today there would probably neither Thrash- noch Speed Metal. And somehow the Gallagher Brothers are together with their „Weird“-Drummer Joe Hasselvander unkaputtbar. The immigrated to the US English have with „Rock Until You Drop“ and „Wiped Out“ Classics forever released and also the last studio album „Walk Through Fire“ was really good.

Raven Band

The present output „Extermination“ was unceremoniously through a Kickstarter crowdfunding campaign, in one whopping 27’000 $ gained, finanziert, which meant, that equal a Kickstarter-only cover album called „Party Killers“ it put. The whopping recording budget is reflected especially in the really crunchy, but by no means overdone sound again, the recording engineer Kevin 131, with the band with the predecessor „Walk Through Fire“ had worked, responsible draws. The positive energy of their legendary live shows can also be found on „Extermination“ Back. Mark Gallagher delivers his hitherto most aggressive vocal performance and the characteristic screams are used less frequently than in the past. How had ruled no-frills heavy metal between stomping simplicity and impressive dynamics. That John Gallagher, the very high notes is no longer true so completely one hundred percent, can get over, while rousing uptempo knocker like „Destroy All Monsters“ or „Feeding The Monster“ – yes what for now, destroy or feed? – meet in classic early metal style the bull's-eye.

Video Thumbnail
raven "Destroy All Monsters" (OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO)

Right from the start is drauflosgeholzt with a playfulness and energy, that the listener will have no choice, to jump as grinning broadly through the apartment, either to swing the Luftklampfe or the hair and at each of the numerous Hitrefrains with tune. Easiest riffs are presented here with such fervor and wasted by the dozen, that you do not only comes up with the idea, to complain, that here innovation is written rather small. What hüftsteif or dusty in other bands sounds, drowned in „raven“ fresh and punchy, apart from the times slightly flabby bass drum. With „Fight“ and „Feeding The Monster“ have „raven“ two real contenders for the title „Heavy-Metal-Song des Jahres“ at the start. The wrecking ball „Battle March Tank Treads“ Calls with their bone-dry aggressiveness the inclined fan to nod-condition from, what the turnip hergibt. With „Fire Burns Within“ one takes the foot off the accelerator, then make it with „Scream“ fully push through again. However, too much, because the rest of the album does not contain any heavy Kracher more. „One More Day“ would be in the repertoire of „The Answer“ and made better „Thunder Down Under“ is more of a tribute to AC / DC than Iron Maiden or Def Leppard. „Golden Dawn“ is the perfect intro to „Silver Bullet“, for both are no more than filler. The album will be completed by the ballad „River Of No Return“ and the bonus track „Malice In Geordieland“ proves quite a bit of humor coupled with powerful steam in the boiler.

Raven Band

Of the songs here is located „raven“ course remained true, especially the guitar work of Mark Gallagher can set the tone and really bad songs on the present good hour actually not frittered. Nevertheless, „Extermination“ too long in my opinion, a trace(atmig) fancy, because here and there a certain weariness creeps but a. This is through the faster tracks such as. „Fight“ or „Feeding The Monster“ somehow weggebröselt, but a, two tracks of the disc would have less certainly done well. Had it really a double LP fill, just because you can? Anyway, the melodies are always unobtrusive, but mostly intoxicating yet. „Extermination“ Although leaves the hectic madness and the madness of the early albums, a good bit behind, but detracts not at all the quality of the tape. Stylistically and qualitatively can be the shekel somewhere between the 88s album „Nothing Exceeds Like Excess“ and the 97er „Everything Louder“ classify and who is on course crisp NWOBHM-inspired tunes, makes the purchase of „Extermination“ absolutely no errors. An absolute must for Raven fans and a worthwhile entry into the cosmos this sympathetic, chaotic troupe. The most important thing is, however,, that „Extermination“ the perfect base for a new track the band is live and the men are known to be a true power.

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Raven Band Logo

Tracklist:

  1. Destroy All Monsters
  2. Tomorrow
  3. It’s Not what you got
  4. Fight
  5. Battle March/Tank Treads (The Blood Runs Red)
  6. Feeding The Monster
  7. Fire Burns Within
  8. Scream
  9. One More Day
  10. Thunder Down Under
  11. No Surrender
  12. Golden Dawn
  13. Silver Bullet
  14. River Of No Return
  15. Malice In Geordieland (Bonus Track)
Album Review: raven - Extermination
8.1 Total
9.6 Visitor rating (1 vote)
originality7.5
Time8
Musical skills9.5
Singing8.5
Lyrics8
Substance8
Production8
Longevity7
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

DBD: Destroy All Monsters – raven

The NWOBHM Thrash Godfathers „raven“ publish on 22. April 2015 her new album „Extermination“ and from it there for you today „Destroy All Monsters“…

Video Thumbnail
raven "Destroy All Monsters" (OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO)

DBD: Battle March/Tank Treads (The Blood Runs Red) – Raven

Raven stellen ihr Video zum neuen Song „Battle March/Tank Treads (The Blood Runs Red)“ vor und rühren damit die Werbetrommel für ihre aktuelle Platte „ExtermiNation“ (das Album Review gibts hier), welches die britischen Metaller teilweise durch eine Crowdfunding-Aktion finanzierten, um ihre Plattenfirma SPV/Steamhammer zu entlasten…

Video Thumbnail
RAVEN: "Battle March/Tanks Treads (The Blood Runs Red) - (official video)

Album Review: Raven – ExtermiNation

Seit mehr als 40 Jahren sind John und Mark Gallagher für den Metal unterwegs, die meiste Zeit davon mit Drummer Joe Hasselvander. Auch wenn die Veröffentlichungsfrequenz seit Mitte der 90er Jahre deutlich abgenommen hat, legt „Raven“ mit „ExtermiNation“ so viel Qualität vor, das man mit Fug und Recht als richtiges Brett bezeichnen kann. Nach ihrem gelungenen Comeback mit „Walk Through Fire“ kommt die NWoBHM-Legende jetzt mit einem neuem Album um die Ecke, das (fast) pünktlich zum 40-jährigen Bandjubiläum erscheint. „Raven“ offerieren auch auf ihrem neuesten Werk die perfekte Mixtur aus Metalhymne, NWoBHM-Spirit, Speed Metal und absolutem Chaos. „Raven“ klingen wie keine zweite Band und keine Band klingt wie „Raven“.

Album Review: Raven - ExtermiNation

Ähnlich wie ihre kanadischen Kollegen von „Anvil“ standen die Briten zu Beginn der 80er in den Startlöchern des metallischen Rennens um Ruhm und Ehre, um dann am Ende Metallica oder Megadeth vorbeiziehen zu sehen und selbst blieb man mit Anvil irgendwo stecken. Weder kommerzielle, noch gesundheitliche Rückschläge konnten „Raven“ bis dato aufhalten. Tapfer schleppte sich die Band weiter und heute sieht es eigentlich wieder ganz gut aus. „ExtermiNation“ ist insgesamt ein druckvolles, spielfreudiges Album geworden. „Raven“ galten schon immer als Inspiration für zig andere Bands, ohne „Raven“ gäbe es heute wahrscheinlich weder Thrash- noch Speed Metal. Und irgendwie sind die Gallagher-Brothers samt ihrem „Weird“-Drummer Joe Hasselvander unkaputtbar. Die in die USA immigrierten Engländer haben mit „Rock Until You Drop“ und „Wiped Out“ Klassiker für die Ewigkeit veröffentlicht und auch das letzte Studioalbum „Walk Through Fire“ war wirklich gut.

Raven Band

Der vorliegende Output „ExtermiNation“ wurde kurzerhand über eine Kickstarter-Crowdfunding-Kampagne, bei der man satte 27’000 $ sammeln konnte, finanziert, was zur Folge hatte, dass man gleich ein Kickstarter-Only-Cover-Album namens „Party Killers“ drauflegte. Das satte Aufnahmebudget spiegelt sich vor allem im wirklich knackigen, aber keinesfalls überdrehten Sound wieder, für den Toningenieur Kevin 131, mit dem die Band schon beim Vorgänger „Walk Through Fire“ gearbeitet hatte, verantwortlich zeichnet. Die positive Energie ihrer legendären Liveshows findet sich auch auf „ExtermiNation“ wieder. Mark Gallagher liefert seine bis dato aggressivste Gesangsperformance ab und die charakteristischen Screams werden seltener eingesetzt als in der Vergangenheit. Wie gehabt regiert schnörkelloser Heavy Metal zwischen stampfender Schlichtheit und rasanter Dynamik. Dass John Gallagher die ganz hohen Töne nicht mehr so ganz hundertprozentig trifft, kann man verschmerzen, solange schmissige Uptempo-Klopfer wie „Destroy All Monsters“ oder „Feeding The Monster“ – ja was denn jetzt, zerstören oder füttern? – in klassischer Frühzeit-Metal-Manier direkt ins Schwarze treffen.

Video Thumbnail
RAVEN "Destroy All Monsters" (Official Lyric Video)

Vom Start weg wird mit einer Spielfreude und Energie drauflosgeholzt, dass dem Hörer gar nichts anderes übrig bleibt, als breit grinsend durch die Wohnung zu springen, wahlweise die Luftklampfe oder das Haupthaar zu schwingen und bei jedem der zahlreichen Hitrefrains mit einzustimmen. Einfachste Riffs werden hier mit solcher Inbrunst vorgetragen und gleich im Dutzend verbraten, dass man gar nicht erst auf die Idee kommt, sich darüber zu beschweren, dass hier Innovationen eher klein geschrieben wird. Was bei anderen Bands hüftsteif oder angestaubt klingt, tönt bei „Raven“ frisch und druckvoll, mal von der leicht schlappen Bassdrum abgesehen. Mit „Fight“ und „Feeding The Monster“ haben „Raven“ zwei echte Anwärter auf den Titel „Heavy-Metal-Song des Jahres“ am Start. Die Abrissbirne „Battle March Tank Treads“ fordert mit ihrer knochentrockenen Aggressivität dem geneigten Fan alles an Kopfnick-Kondition ab, was die Rübe hergibt. Mit „Fire Burns Within“ nimmt man den Fuss vom Gaspedal, um es dann mit „Scream“ wieder voll durchzudrücken. Allerdings zu sehr, denn der Rest des Albums beinhaltet keine Heavy-Kracher mehr. „One More Day“ hätte sich im Repertoire von „The Answer“ besser gemacht und „Thunder Down Under“ ist eher eine Hommage an AC/DC als an Iron Maiden oder Def Leppard. „Golden Dawn“ ist das perfekte Intro zu „Silver Bullet“, denn beides ist nicht mehr als Füllmaterial. Das Album wird abgeschlossen von der Ballade „River Of No Return“ und der Bonus-Track „Malice In Geordieland“ beweist einiges an Humor gepaart mit mächtig Dampf im Kessel.

Raven Band

Von den Songs her ist sich „Raven“ natürlich treu geblieben, besonders die Gitarrenarbeit von Mark Gallagher kann Akzente setzen und so richtig schlechte Songs werden auf der vorliegenden guten Stunde eigentlich keine verbraten. Dennoch ist „ExtermiNation“ nach meinem Dafürhalten eine Spur zu lang(atmig) ausgefallen, denn hie und da schleicht sich doch eine gewisse Ermüdung ein. Diese wird zwar durch die schnelleren Tracks wie z.B. „Fight“ oder „Feeding The Monster“ irgendwie weggebröselt, aber ein, zwei Tracks weniger hätte der Scheibe sicherlich gut getan. Musste man wirklich eine Doppel-LP füllen, bloss weil man es kann? Wie auch immer sind die Melodien stets unaufdringlich, aber meist doch mitreissend. „ExtermiNation“ lässt zwar die hektische Verrücktheit und den Wahnsinn der frühen Alben ein gutes Stückchen hinter sich, doch schmälert das die Qualität der Band nicht im Geringsten. Stilistisch als auch qualitativ kann man den Silberling irgendwo zwischen dem 88er Album „Nothing Exceeds Like Excess“ und dem 97er „Everything Louder“ einordnen und wer auf knackig natürlich NWoBHM-angehauchte Tunes steht, macht mit der Anschaffung von „ExtermiNation“ absolut keinen Fehler. Ein absolutes Muss für Raven-Fans und ein lohnender Einstieg in den Kosmos dieser sympathischen, chaotischen Truppe. Das allerwichtigste ist jedoch, dass „ExtermiNation“ der perfekte Grund für eine neue Tour der Band ist und live sind die Herren bekanntermassen eine wahre Macht.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Raven Band Logo

Tracklist:

  1. Destroy All Monsters
  2. Tomorrow
  3. It’s Not What You Got
  4. Fight
  5. Battle March/Tank Treads (The Blood Runs Red)
  6. Feeding The Monster
  7. Fire Burns Within
  8. Scream
  9. One More Day
  10. Thunder Down Under
  11. No Surrender
  12. Golden Dawn
  13. Silver Bullet
  14. River Of No Return
  15. Malice In Geordieland (Bonus Track)
Album Review: Raven - ExtermiNation
8.1 Total
9.6 Besucherwertung (1 vote)
Originalität7.5
Tempo8
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9.5
Gesang8.5
Songtexte8
Substanz8
Produktion8
Langlebigkeit7
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

DBD: Destroy All Monsters – Raven

Die NWOBHM Thrash Godfathers „Raven“ veröffentlichen am 22. April 2015 ihr neues Album „ExtermiNation“ und daraus gibts für euch heute „Destroy All Monsters“…

Video Thumbnail
RAVEN "Destroy All Monsters" (Official Lyric Video)