DBD: Draining Veins – Nothgard

For Single „Draining Veins“ has Nothgard turned an elaborate music video, in which the main character is none other than the Evanescence guitarist Jen Majura. The new album is called the Melo Deather „The Sinner’s Sake“ and occurs most 23. September to stores…

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Draining Veins (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

Album Review: Nothgard – Age of Pandora

Angelehnt an die Geschichte aus der griechischen Mythologie vom gestohlenen Feuer, which was brought to humans by the demigod Prometheus to the earth, published the melodic death metallers „Nothgard“ Now their second album „Age of Pandora“. Today is the opening of the „Tin of Pandora“, through which came all the evil in the world, to get people to punish them for having stolen fire, a always recurring theme in News, Books and Music. „Nothgard“ lay with her second album, the chain mail, Shields and swords from, detach from their influenced by Norse mythology image and open to new inspirations. So the five Lower Bavaria reject its new plant to said Pandora's box and let it on the debut album still existing folk passages links lie.

Nothgard - Age of Pandora

Nothgard was end 2008 founded in Bavaria Deggendorf and brought 2009 their first demo recording to the people. 2010 they started with various shows in Germany, Austria and the Czech Republic in April 2011 was their debut album „Warhorns of Midgard“ published. Nothgard could equal her frischern style mix of authentic, anmutigem Viking-Metal, maintain rich Melo-Death-bonds and folkloric influence in the Pagan Metal scene. Now the brave Vikings return after the addition of a third division but unusual for this guitar and present us with pride her long iron „Age of Pandora“. After Midgard therefore follows Pandora.

Nothgard - Band

The shekel begins with the epic, sinfonischen Intro „Of Light And Shadow“, which the listener with approximate „Hans-room quality“ Although ideal match to the disc, had the a reduction but not necessarily hurt, the joy to get the long term by. After disem intro here we go with the title of the album donor „Age Of Pandora“. Here it is shown, what can be, without falling into technical Gefrickel and at the beginning it is clear, here is clearly the composition in the foreground. Dynamic and powerful show Nothgard, what they have to offer. The fact that they compete directly with three guitars, can expect quite a lot - and they will not go unfulfilled, because on „Age Of Pandora”“ is a kinds on offer.

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Age of Pandora (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

Here, everything is brought out, what's going on, both between the different instruments, and with the orchestra Einspielern, in harmony with the guitars. The songs have depth and speed, Fronter Dom knows how to convince and thanks to the clean his body forces, crystal clear production pushes the disc from the first to the last moment. In knapp 50 Minutes demonstrates us the band impressive and energetic, how epic has to sound Melo Viking Death. It is rapidly, it is wild, it sounded some acoustic parts, just to make it then continues with the usual fast pace. Although you can come up with some solos some time, but they are always good composed, so that they act in preparation for the next part. This definitely will not be bored, especially the vocals in the right places is doubled and thus holds a good catchy factor.

Nothgard - Logo

„Blackened Seed“, „Obey The King“ with help from Equilibrium shouter Robert Dahn and „Wings Of Dawn“ are great examples of the diverse soundscapes of Bavaria, the lift at every second of the Nothgard flag in the sky. Many of the titles, on „Age Of Pandora“ are found, are more melodic and catchy with a, provided powerful chorus. For the latter „In Blood Remained“ an ideal example. Apart from its main body of this track is a bit weak, but he seems to wild and uncoordinated. Looking at the rest of the songs, There is hardly anything in these but suspend. However, the total package for this Album, because quite quickly gives the impression, that the variety, the voltage somehow missing. Although title boundaries such as the extremely epic scale „No One Holds The Crown“ and from the Love to detail, for example, in the piece „Black Witch Venture“ by a noisy breathing, a broken music box and the singing of a child at the beginning of nightmares provides, makes the board more, but the characteristics of the individual tracks are similar but just too much, at „Age Of Pandora“ to run from morning to evening on and off.

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Blackened Seed

„Age Of Pandora“ has become a successful one album with lots of power and multi-faceted. The quintet convinced with virtuoso riffs and twin guitar solos. With the addition of guitar you have an ace in the hole, with which „Nothgard“ sound can be well ahead of the competition. None of the three guitarists have to hide here, because it is presented a high gaming skills in a tour and so it comes to no holes, there is always a solid foundation is presented by the number of guitarists. The songwriting is varied and pushes the genre in a fairly modern direction. The song of the album is very complex, because of growls over bishin screams to clean vocals, everything is represented. A well-composed album, what you listen good way, but also can analyze minutely. It may be speculated, whether another year would have made the process of composition for more variety on the plate? Thus, the voltage on the next work of Nothgard remains, in which desirably implemented the criticism mentioned and maintain the quality. Buy recommendation!

The album can you Buy in our shop.


  1. Of Light and Shadow
  2. Age of Pandora
  3. Blackened Seed
  4. Black Witch Venture
  5. In Blood Remained
  6. Soul
  7. Obey the King
  8. Wings of Dawn
  9. Mossback Children
  10. No one holds the Crown
Nothgard - Age of Pandora
8.3 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Publish Nothgard „Blackened Seed“ Guitar Hero

The Bavarian Epic Melodic Death Metal-Virtuoso „Nothgard“ published on 12. September 2014 their album „Age of Pandora“ and now present the song „Blackened Seed“ für Guitar Hero/Frets On Fire. Guitarist Dom R. Crey can to wissen:

I had always been of Frets On Fire (PC) and Guitar Hero (Consoles) very impressed. I thought, so hard can that not be true and spent so many hours in front of the telly. So we finally came as a band, the idea, how cool it would be to be able to play his own songs for Frets On Fire. We have implemented and now there is 2 Songs of our last album „Age Of Pandora“ zum Download. Everyone may like to try his luck there - myself, the songs until now only in real life, but not in the game.

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Blackened Seed - Frets on Fire Version

The ZIP file to play the „Nothgard“ There songs as a free download.

DBD: Draining Veins – Nothgard

Die Epic Melodic Death Metaler von Nothgard haben im September ihr aktuelles Album „The Sinner’s Sake“ veröffentlicht und daraus gibt es nun für euch das Video zum Song „Draining Veins“…

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Draining Veins (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

DBD: Draining Veins – Nothgard

Zur Single „Draining Veins“ hat Nothgard ein aufwendiges Musikvideo gedreht, in welchem die Hauptdarstellerin niemand Geringeres als die Evanescence-Gitarristin Jen Majura ist. Das neue Album der Melo-Deather heisst „The Sinner’s Sake“ und kommt am 23. September in die Läden…

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Draining Veins (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

Album Review: Nothgard – Age of Pandora

Angelehnt an die Geschichte aus der griechischen Mythologie vom gestohlenen Feuer, welches den Menschen durch den Halbgott Prometheus auf die Erde gebracht wurde, veröffentlichten die Melodic-Death-Metaller „Nothgard“ nun ihr zweites Album „Age of Pandora“. Auch heute ist das Öffnen der „Büchse von Pandora“, durch welche alles Schlechte in die Welt kam, um die Menschen für den Raub des Feuers zu bestrafen, ein immer wiederkehrendes Thema in Nachrichten, Büchern und Musik. „Nothgard“ legen mit ihrem zweiten Album die Kettenhemden, Schilde und Schwerter ab, lösen sich von ihrem von der nordischen Mythologie beeinflussten Image und öffnen sich neuen Inspirationen. So lehnen die fünf Niederbayern ihr neues Werk zu besagter Büchse der Pandora an und lassen so die auf dem Debütalbum noch vorhandenen Folkpassagen links liegen.

Nothgard - Age of Pandora

Nothgard wurde Ende 2008 im niederbayerischen Deggendorf gegründet und brachten 2009 ihre ersten Demoaufnahme unter das Volk. 2010 starteten sie mit diversen Shows in Deutschland, Österreich und Tschechien und im April 2011 wurde ihr Debütalbum „Warhorns of Midgard“ veröffentlicht. Nothgard konnte sich gleich mit ihrem frischern Stilmix aus authentischem, anmutigem Viking-Metal, satten Melo-Death-Anleihen und folklorischen Einfluss in der Pagan-Metal-Szene behaupten. Nun kehren die tapferen Wikinger nach der Hinzunahme einer für diese Sparte doch ungewöhnlichen dritten Klampfe zurück und präsentieren uns voller Stolz ihr Langeisen „Age of Pandora“. Nach Midgard folgt also Pandora.

Nothgard - Band

Der Silberling startet mit dem epischen, sinfonischen Intro „Of Light And Shadow“, welches den Hörer mit annähernder „Hans-Zimmer-Qualität“ zwar ideal auf die Scheibe einstimmt, dem eine Kürzung jedoch nicht unbedingt geschadet hätte, um die Freude daran langfristig zu erhalten. Nach disem Intro geht es los mit dem Titelgeber des Albums „Age Of Pandora“. Hier wird gezeigt, was man kann, ohne in technisches Gefrickel zu verfallen und gleich zu Anfang wird klar, hier steht eindeutig die Komposition im Vordergrund. Dynamisch und kraftvoll beweisen Nothgard, was sie zu bieten haben. Dass sie direkt mit drei Gitarren antreten, lässt recht viel erwarten – und diese bleiben nicht unerfüllt, denn auf „Age Of Pandora”“ wird einem allerhand geboten.

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Age of Pandora (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

Dabei wird alles rausgeholt, was geht, sowohl zwischen den einzelnen Instrumenten, als auch mit den Orchester-Einspielern, die mit den Gitarren harmonieren. Die Songs haben Tiefgang und auch Schnelligkeit, Fronter Dom weiss mit seinem kräften Organ zu überzeugen und dank der sauberen, glasklaren Produktion drückt die Scheibe vom ersten bis zum letzten Augenblick. In knapp 50 Minuten demonstriert uns die Band eindrucksvoll und energisch, wie epischer Melo-Viking-Death zu klingen hat. Es wird rasant, es wird wild, es erklingen einige Akustikparts, nur damit es danach mit gewohnt schnellem Tempo weitergeht. Zwar lässt man sich mit einigen Soli etwas Zeit, die sind aber immer wieder gut komponiert, sodass sie vorbereitend für den nächsten Part fungieren. Hier kommt definitiv keine Langeweile auf, zumal der Gesang an den richtigen Stellen gedoppelt ist und somit einen guten Ohrwurm-Faktor bereithält.

Nothgard - Logo

„Blackened Seed“, „Obey The King“ mit Hilfe vom Equilibrium-Shouter Robert Dahn und „Wings Of Dawn“ sind grossartige Beispiele für die facettenreiche Klangwelt der Bayern, die zu jeder Sekunde die Nothgard-Flagge in den Himmel heben. Viele der Titel, die auf „Age Of Pandora“ zu finden sind, sind eher melodisch und mit einem einprägsamen, mächtigen Refrain versehen. Für Letzteres ist „In Blood Remained“ ein ideales Beispiel. Abgesehen von seinem Hauptteil ist dieser Track allerdings etwas schwach, wirkt er doch zu wild und unkoordiniert. Betrachtet man die restlichen Songs, gibt es an diesen aber kaum etwas auszusetzen. Dafür jedoch am Gesamtpaket des Albums, denn recht schnell entsteht der Eindruck, dass die Abwechslung, die Spannung irgendwie fehlt. Zwar grenzen sich Titel wie das extrem episch angelegte „No One Holds The Crown“ ab und auch die Liebe zum Detail, die zum Beispiel im Stück „Black Witch Venture“ durch ein lautes Atmen, eine defekte Spieluhr und das Singen eines Kindes zu Beginn für Gänsehaut sorgt, macht die Platte besonders, aber die Charakterzüge der einzelnen Tracks ähneln sich eben doch zu sehr, um „Age Of Pandora“ von morgens bis abends auf und ab laufen zu lassen.

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Blackened Seed

„Age Of Pandora“ ist ein geglücktes Album mit viel Power und vielen Facetten geworden. Das Quintett überzeugt mit virtuosen Riffs und zweistimmigen Gitarrensoli. Dank der zusätzlichen Gitarre hat man einen Trumpf im Ärmel, mit dem sich „Nothgard“ klanglich gut von der Konkurrenz absetzen kann. Keiner der drei Gitarristen muss sich hier verstecken, denn es wird in einer Tour ein hohes spielerisches Können präsentiert und so kommt es auch zu keinen Löchern, da durch die Anzahl der Gitarristen immer ein solides Fundament präsentiert wird. Das Songwriting ist abwechslungsreich und drückt das Genre in eine recht moderne Richtung. Der Gesang des Albums ist sehr vielschichtig, denn von Growls über Screams bishin zu Clean Vocals ist alles vertreten. Ein gut komponiertes Album, was man sich gut nebenbei anhören, aber auch haarklein analysieren kann. Es darf spekuliert werden, ob ein weiteres Jahr Kompositionsprozess für mehr Abwechslung auf der Platte gesorgt hätte? So bleibt die Spannung auf das nächste Werk von Nothgard, in welchem die genannte Kritik wünschenswerterweise umgesetzt und die Qualität beibehalten wird. Kaufempfehlung!

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. Of Light and Shadow
  2. Age of Pandora
  3. Blackened Seed
  4. Black Witch Venture
  5. In Blood Remained
  6. Anima
  7. Obey the King
  8. Wings of Dawn
  9. Mossback Children
  10. No one holds the Crown
Nothgard - Age of Pandora
8.3 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität9
Tempo8.5
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8
Songtexte8
Substanz8
Produktion8.5
Langlebigkeit7
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Nothgard veröffentlichen „Blackened Seed“ für Guitar Hero

Die bayrischen Epic Melodic Death Metal-Virtuosen „Nothgard“ veröffentlichten am 12. September 2014 ihr Album „Age of Pandora“ und präsentieren nun den Song „Blackened Seed“ für Guitar Hero/Frets On Fire. Gitarrist Dom R. Crey lässt dazu wissen:

Ich war seit jeher von Frets On Fire (PC) und Guitar Hero (Konsole) sehr angetan. Ich dachte, so schwer kann das doch nicht sein und verbrachte deswegen oft Stunden vor der Glotze. So kam uns als Band schließlich auch der Gedanke, wie cool es doch wäre seine eigenen Songs bei Frets On Fire spielen zu können. Das haben wir umgesetzt und nun gibt es 2 Songs unseres letzten Albums „Age Of Pandora“ zum Download. Jeder darf dabei gerne sein Glück versuchen – ich selbst kann die Songs bis jetzt nur im wahren Leben, leider aber nicht im Game.

Video Thumbnail
Nothgard - Blackened Seed - Frets on Fire Version

Das ZIP-Files zum Spielen des „Nothgard“ Songs gibts als kostenlosen Download.