Album Review: Northland – Downfall And Rebirth

It has taken five years, to the six Spaniards have recorded from sunny Barcelona a new album. 2010 released their successful debut „Northland“, after that was a long time of silence, in which we did not hear from the band. Now the folk Death has-Metal Band „Northland“, their second album „Downfall and Rebirth“ published and this album is from the first to the last song to prove, that good folk metal must not only come from the far north. The Catalans present good metal riffs, a clean, well-structured production and sophisticated content off of cheap clichés. Fans of good melodic folk metal should here necessarily sharpen their ears!

Northland - Downfall And Rebirth

Year 2004 did in Barcelona, ​​Spain, some Dark souls together and the Viking Folk Metal-Horde „Northland“ was founded. Since not unfortunately brought all the participants at the start of similar size Passions for this job, was founder of the band, However, do guitarist and lead vocalist Pau Murillo below their hands full, to obtain the pagan pile alive. The latter succeeded the outspoken idealist in spite of unusually rapid rotation of the carousel occupation. 2010 presented „Northland“ their self-titled debut album, which made it clear, that the Spaniards inferior to their Scandinavian counterparts in nothing. Five years later want the top Spanish-rounder again wissen. And the chances of success on a wide scale associated with „Downfall And Rebirth“ extremely well. The album deals, as the name implies, with the eternal cycle of life, Mother Nature and its often called into question civilization.

Northland Band

The new and second album „Downfall and Rebirth“ with the most remarkable Front Cover of Sallai Péter publish the Iberians unceremoniously on their own. „Downfall and Rebirth“ sounds more mature and more playful than its predecessor. They experimented with many instruments and the Fear stored thoroughly before long quiet passages. The listener can expect a well-mixed folk metal album, that quite a fresh wind brings the action. So has the second album a death metal sound, Although the peppy, but at the same time is also very melodic. Really hard it is never actually, make sure only the high importance of folklore share numerous objections from clear vocals. Although the brutal vocals focus is always on, but often emerges also the clean vocals, the polyphonic comes in part and the album is a hymn Sheet.

Video Thumbnail
Northland - Downfall and rebirth

The album begins with „When Nature Awakes“ dreamy, before Pau Murillo with his scream breaks the idyll and Vásquez takes over the reins, what the resulting impact dampens somewhat. Did the predecessor almost without cleanly sung passages from, so take this good a quarter of the new material. The first four pieces „When Nature Awakes“, „Bloodred Sunrise“, „Together we Die“ and the instrumental „The Rite“ draw a immediately under the spell. „Fury’s Unleashed“ bangs with a jagged reef off Melodeath, before a delightfully brutal verse (without Folk) passes over into a melodic power metal chorus. Only then follows a folk-break and something heaviere, second verse of the song slowed missed a pleasant diversity. A drauflegt „Duskriders“, which with its complexity, Dynamics, Drama and melody is a perfect blend. Same Level, However, far gloomier and more depressing, shows the title track.

Northland Logo

When you listen to this album I will always back to „Ensiferum“ recalls, on the one hand, in certain passages musically, on the other hand sounds the deep voice of Pau Murillo of this Petri Lindroos confusingly similar. The sound of Hispanic Viking is somewhere between „Ensiferum“ and „Eluveitie“ settled and shows the great talent, what's behind „Northland“ infected and will hopefully further elaborated on the following works. Mag sein, that presents a lot of well-known trademarks here and there, but align the ratio me so, this asset very few artists. For the folklore-share especially the violin from Pau Vázquez is responsible. This is almost always present and carries the melodies actively. Folklore is the sound of „Northland“ very present and will not take place only in the background. The Catalans put hardly on the keyboard, this is used only occasionally in the background as atmospheric mural. Towards the end there is then still a highlight: „Moonlight Spell“ a folk ballad with a beautiful female voice and phased support Men-Cleangesang.

Video Thumbnail
Northland - Downfall and rebirth (Full Album)

„Downfall And Rebirth“ is differentiated and varied. Each song has succeeded, even if not all quality tips like „Fury’s Unleashed“, „Duskfall“ or „Downfall And Rebirth“ reach. The sound of the band sounds very refreshing and „Northland“ is after such a long break due to the motorcycle accident, the drummer really a great all-round disc succeeded. In addition to the violin, As mentioned, the bearing load of the main component Folk, are also other instruments to carry and next flute and acoustic guitar can sometimes accordion and even a Jew's harps meet. This rich variety is one of the big pluses of the album and „Downfall and Rebirth“ is designed very versatile. Besides the numerous instruments, the game speed and mood is often varied and „Northland“ can convince with their good game skills and clean melody. The result is just as authentic as rousing and disturbing Viking Folk Metal bliss compositions, how may they enjoy only rare in this naturalness and authenticity. Pagan and Folk Metal fans out here quite bring something new to the collection, because the Spaniards irritate the elements very well and always parry with harsh Einfädelungen, so it does not sound to dudelnd. For fans of „Ensiferum“, „Eluveitie“ and melodic Power Metal definitely a must!

The album can you Buy in our shop.


  1. When Nature Awakes
  2. Bloodred Sunrise
  3. Together We Die
  4. The Rite
  5. Fury’s Unleashed
  6. Duskriders
  7. Spirit in Darkness
  8. Whispers in the Wind
  9. Downfall and Rebirth
  10. Moonlight Spell
  11. Newborn Star
Album Review: Northland - Downfall And Rebirth
8.9 Total
9.2 Visitor rating (2 votes)
Musical skills9.5
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Northland – Downfall And Rebirth

Fünf Jahre hat es gebraucht, bis die sechs Spanier aus dem sonnigen Barcelona ein neues Album eingespielt haben. 2010 erschien ihr gelungenes Debüt „Northland“, danach war lange Zeit Funkstille, in der man von der Band nichts hörte. Nun hat die Folk-Death-Metal Band „Northland“, ihr zweites Album „Downfall and Rebirth“ veröffentlicht und dieses Album stellt vom ersten bis zum letzten Song unter Beweis, dass guter Folk Metal nicht nur aus dem hohen Norden kommen muss. Die Katalonier präsentieren gute Metal Riffs, eine saubere, gut strukturierte Produktion und niveauvolle Inhalte abseits von billigen Klischees. Fans von gutem melodischen Folk Metal sollten hier unbedingt ihre Ohren spitzen!

Northland - Downfall And Rebirth

Im Jahr 2004 taten sich im spanischen Barcelona einige Düsterseelen zusammen und die Viking Folk Metal-Horde „Northland“ wurde gegründet. Da leider nicht alle der am Start Beteiligten ähnlich grosse Passionen für dieses Metier mitbrachten, hatte Bandgründer, Gitarrist und Lead-Vokalist Pau Murillo jedoch nachfolgend alle Hände voll tun, den heidnischen Haufen am Leben zu erhalten. Letzteres glückte dem ausgesprochenen Idealisten trotz aller ungewöhnlich schnellen Rotationen des Besetzungskarussells. 2010 präsentierten „Northland“ ihr selbstbetiteltes Debütalbum, welches klar machte, dass die Spanier ihren skandinavischen Kollegen in nichts nachstehen. Fünf Jahre später wollen es die spanischen Spitzenkönner jetzt wieder wissen. Und die Chancen für einen Erfolg auf breiter Ebene stehen mit „Downfall And Rebirth“ ausserordentlich gut. Das Album befasst sich, wie der Name schon sagt, mit dem ewigen Kreislauf des Lebens, Mutter Natur und seiner oft in Frage gestellten Zivilisation.

Northland Band

Das neue und zweite Album „Downfall and Rebirth“ mit dem überaus sehenswerten Frontcover von Sallai Péter veröffentlichen die Iberer kurzerhand in Eigenregie. „Downfall and Rebirth“ klingt reifer und verspielter als sein Vorgänger. Es wurde mit vielen Instrumenten experimentiert und die Angst vor langen ruhigen Passagen gänzlich abgelegt. Den Hörer erwartet hier ein gut gemischtes Folkmetal Album, dass durchaus einen frischen Wind ins Geschehen bringt. So bietet das zweite Album einen Death-Metal-Sound, der zwar schwungvoll, gleichzeitig aber auch sehr melodisch ist. Richtig hart wird es eigentlich nie, dafür sorgen neben dem hohen Stellenwert des Folklore-Anteils auch zahlreiche Einwürfe von Klargesang. Zwar steht der Growl-Gesang stets im Vordergrund, häufig tritt aber auch der Klargesang hervor, der zum Teil mehrstimmig daher kommt und dem Album eine hymnische Note gibt.

Video Thumbnail
Northland - Downfall and rebirth

Das Album beginnt mit „When Nature Awakes“ träumerisch, bevor Pau Murillo mit seinem Schrei die Idylle durchbricht und Vásquez das Zepter übernimmt, was die entstandene Wucht wieder etwas abdämpft. Kam der Vorgänger fast ohne klar gesungene Passagen aus, so nehmen diese gut ein Viertel des neuen Materials ein. Die ersten vier Stücke „When Nature Awakes“, „Bloodred Sunrise“, „Together we Die“ und das Instrumental „The Rite“ ziehen einen sofort in den Bann. „Fury’s Unleashed“ brettert mit einem zackigen Melodeath-Riff los, bevor eine herrlich brachiale Strophe (ganz ohne Folk) in einen übermelodischen Powermetal-Refrain übergeht. Erst danach folgt ein Folk-Break und die etwas heaviere, verlangsamte zweite Strophe verpasst dem Song eine angenehme Diversität. Einen drauf legt „Duskriders“, welches mit seiner Vielschichtigkeit, Dynamik, Dramatik und Melodik eine perfekte Melange darstellt. Auf gleichem Level, allerdings ungleich düsterer und bedrückender, zeigt sich das Titelstück.

Northland Logo

Beim hören dieses Album werde ich immer wieder an „Ensiferum“ erinnert, einerseits in gewissen Passagen musikalisch, anderseits klingt die tiefe Stimme von Pau Murillo dieser von Petri Lindroos zum verwechseln ähnlich. Der Sound der hispanischen Wikinger ist irgendwo zwischen „Ensiferum“ und „Eluveitie“ angesiedelt und zeigt das grosse Talent, was hinter „Northland“ steckt und hoffentlich auf den nächsten Werken weiter herausgearbeitet wird. Mag sein, dass man hier und da sehr viele bekannte Trademarks vorlegt, doch das Michverhältnis so auszurichten, dies vermögen nur sehr wenige Künstler. Für den Folklore-Anteil zeichnet sich vor allem die Violine von Pau Vázquez verantwortlich. Diese ist fast ständig präsent und trägt die Melodien aktiv mit. Die Folklore ist im Klangbild von „Northland“ sehr präsent und findet keineswegs nur im Hintergrund statt. Auch setzen die Katalonier kaum auf das Keyboard, dieses dient nur ab und zu im Hintergrund als atmosphärische Ausmalung. Gegen Ende gibt es dann doch noch ein Highlight: „Moonlight Spell“ eine Folk-Ballade mit einer zauberhaften Frauenstimme und phasenweiser Unterstützung durch Männer-Cleangesang.

Video Thumbnail
Northland - Downfall and rebirth (Full Album)

„Downfall And Rebirth“ zeigt sich differenziert und abwechslungsreich. Jeder Song ist gelungen, auch wenn nicht alle Qualitätsspitzen wie „Fury’s Unleashed“, „Duskfall“ oder „Downfall And Rebirth“ erreichen. Der Sound der Truppe klingt sehr erfrischend und „Northland“ ist nach so langer Pause aufgrund des Motorradunfalles des Schlagzeugers eine wirklich rundum tolle Scheibe gelungen. Neben der Geige, die wie erwähnt die Hauptlast des Folk-Anteils trägt, kommen auch andere Instrumente zum tragen und neben Flöte und Akustikgitarre können einem auch mal Akkordeon und sogar Maultrommeln begegnen. Dieser Abwechslungsreichtum ist einer der grossen Pluspunkte des Albums und „Downfall and Rebirth“ ist sehr vielseitig gestaltet. Neben den zahlreichen Instrumenten wird auch die Spielgeschwindigkeit und Stimmung oft variiert und „Northland“ können auch mit ihrer guten Spielfertigkeiten und der sauberen Melodieführung überzeugen. So entstehen ebenso authentische wie mitreissende und aufwühlende Viking Folk Metal-Wonnekompositionen, wie man sie in dieser Natürlichkeit und Unverfälschtheit nur selten geniessen darf. Pagan und Folk Metal Fans sollten sich hier durchaus was Neues für die Sammlung holen, denn die Spanier reizen die Elemente sehr gut aus und parieren stets mit harschen Einfädelungen, sodass es nicht zu dudelnd klingt. Für Fans von „Ensiferum“, „Eluveitie“ und melodischem Power Metal definitiv ein Muss!

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. When Nature Awakes
  2. Bloodred Sunrise
  3. Together We Die
  4. The Rite
  5. Fury’s Unleashed
  6. Duskriders
  7. Spirit in Darkness
  8. Whispers in the Wind
  9. Downfall and Rebirth
  10. Moonlight Spell
  11. Newborn Star
Album Review: Northland - Downfall And Rebirth
8.9 Total
9.2 Besucherwertung (2 votes)
Originalität9.5
Tempo8.5
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9.5
Gesang9.5
Songtexte9
Substanz8.5
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit8
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one