Album Review: Nitrogods – Rats and Rumours

I like it!

The second album of a band is often a challenge, because the fans have high expectations and you stand as an artist happy times before deciding: want or surprise favor? In an age of increasing digital anonymity and supposedly aseptic perfection won the Hanoverian / Stuttgart Rock'n'Roll Trio Nitrogods a laborious indeed, but selected long term artistically satisfying way. Their songs do not meet any criteria of absolute sonic purity, playful integrity or clinical sterility. On the contrary,: Was aware their second studio album „Rats And Rumours“ recorded in a recording studio with analog technology, in which phenomena such as the spool is changed and steady Tonkopfsäuberungen daily business include. No question: Recording sessions and band philosophy „Rats And Rumours“ perfectly match the Nitrogods. And the album shoot something of follows through the ceiling, that it is a true delight!

Nitrogods – Rats and Rumours

The Debut Album „Nitrogods“ brought the three musicians already something on the market, which is not unique, although, hardly obtain. To keep up with the second disc, be had to the Nitrogods make significant gains over backwards so. Guitarist Henny Wolter to: „We are convinced Vintage-Freaks and really enjoyed every moment, take on a venerable 24-track tape machine. Of course, such a production far more costly and laborious, because you can not just copy whole passages by&Push the paste function back and forth, but must also have it really his songs completely. Once you have playful times, one begins halt every time all over again to. But that is precisely the exciting challenge of such production, when you will be rewarded at the end with a real rock'n'roll sound.“

Nitrogods – Band

More than a dozen new songs, the band of Henny Wolter, included singer / bassist and drummer Klaus Sperling Oimel Larcher, some of them know the fans of the band already from the concerts. Wolter tells us to: „Immediately after the release of our debut album two years ago we started immediately, writing new songs. Therefore we could pieces like ‚Back Home‘, ‚Nitrogods‘ or ‚Whiskey Supernova‘ also already check in our shows before an audience through their paces.“ Overall, we find on the new album 13 pieces, with which the stylistic directives of Erstwerks be continued, but which are thereby failed simultaneously varied and audible complex. Auch anno 2014 are the role models of Nitrogods by far not exclusively in Hard&To find Heavy-area, but extend over the entire scene of rock music. „We love all of Status Quo on Motörhead, Stray Cats, Clash of up to AC / DC“, Wolter is to, „and from precisely this mixture also our songs put together. We realize, that we will allow the wheel to reinvent, but at least we frosting it properly.“

Video Thumbnail
Nitrogods - "Rats And Rumours" (Official Video)

„Rats And Rumours“ begins with a typical Nitrogods number and is a tribute to the early 80 Motörhead. Hell yeah, something like! „Irish Honey“ vaguely reminiscent of „London Calling“ Of The Clash, because there is very successful homage to Nitrogods Type the Rockabilly. The song „Automobile“ explores the intersection between Metal Rockabilly and more obvious, and even the track „Nitrogods“ dictated by rough Rock'n'Rockabilly feeling. Here Henny lives in singing his passion for Sleeze and recognized with this variety, the engine noise of a, na let's say V8, After, of accelerated at high speed on the road. „Nothing But Trouble“ is also a typical Henny Wolter number, you can hear him sing again and the style is very dirty and pissed, but without the whiskey geschwängerte blackness of Oimels voice.

Nitrogods

The number „Ramblin` Broke“ referred to as Wolter Blues-Runaway: „The piece has basically with nothing to do Heavy Metal, but might have come in this form of John Fogerty and Creedence Clearwater Revival.“ Der Song erinnert entfernt an Tito & Tarantula and their appearance in the cult movie „From Dusk Till Dawn“. Short Sharp fall of Song „Dirty Old Man“ and with „Damn Right (The Call It Rock’n Roll)“ and „Back Home“ then takes the speed back vigorously ride on. A great Biker-Number is „BMW“, the only way of a real biker, as Oimel is a, can originate. The sound of the album sounds wonderful and you have to see the feeling the musicians play in front of him. In the CD cover has looked to the style of the first disc. Thus the skull must with helmet and glasses grace the front of the album again.

Nitrogods – Band

The Nitrogods show all skeptics of the first album of their six middle finger and go on the path consistently. With „Rats And Rumours“ proves the band stylistic range, the songs have catchy and you can tell the ‚Gods of the fun, to let the style elements from other faiths to grow and weave with their own unique style to it. Is generally „Rats And Rumours“ a bit more varied than the 2012 released CD. For example, the style and the voice at „Nothing But Trouble“ more closely related at the 70th Hard Rock, than the other rather rock'n'roll heavy residue. Thematically one uses all clichés, where „Irish Honey“ and „Whiskey Supernova“ a tribute to the „Water of Life“ is, it comes from other songs about cars, Honor and a lot of nitro! Nitrogods sound really nice snotty and who liked the debut disc wants to hear or again beautifully dirty Hard Rock with Rock'N'Roll-Attitude, will have his fun here. „Rats And Rumours“ is the perfect wheel for the drive and a nice evening with colleagues. So if what looks really rough rocks can confidently strike here.

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Video Thumbnail
Nitrogods - "Rats And Rumours" (Official Album Trailer)

Tracklist:

  1. Rats & Rumours
  2. Got Pride
  3. Irish Honey
  4. Automobile
  5. Damn Right (They Call It Rock’n Roll)
  6. Nothing But Trouble
  7. Back Home
  8. Dirty Old Man
  9. Ramblin‘ Broke
  10. BMW
  11. Lite Bite
  12. Nitrogods
  13. Whiskey Supernova
  14. Black car DRIVING Man (Live) (Bonus Track)
  15. Whiskey Wonderland (Acoustic) (Bonus Track)

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.

Album Review: Nitrogods – Rats and Rumours

Das zweite Album einer Band ist oft eine Herausforderung, da die Fans hohe Erwartungen stellen und man als Künstler gerne mal vor der Entscheidung steht: Gefallen wollen oder überraschen? In Zeiten zunehmender digitaler Anonymität und vermeintlich keimfreier Perfektion hat das Hannoveraner/Stuttgarter Rock’n’Roll-Trio Nitrogods einen zwar mühsameren, aber auf lange Sicht künstlerisch befriedigenderen Weg gewählt. Ihre Songs erfüllen keine Kriterien von absoluter Klangreinheit, spielerischer Unversehrtheit oder klinischer Sterilität. Ganz im Gegenteil: Bewusst wurde ihr zweites Studioalbum „Rats And Rumours“ in einem Tonstudio mit analoger Technik aufgenommen, in dem Phänomene wie Spulenwechseln und regelmässiges Tonkopfsäuberungen zum Tagesgeschäft gehören. Keine Frage: Aufnahmeprocedere und Bandphilosophie auf „Rats And Rumours“ passen perfekt zu den Nitrogods. Und das Album schiesst sowas von dermassen durch die Decke, dass es eine wahre Freude ist!

Nitrogods – Rats and Rumours

Mit dem Debutalbum „Nitrogods“ brachten die drei Musiker bereits etwas auf den Markt, was zwar nicht einmalig ist, jedoch kaum einzuholen. Um mit der zweiten Scheibe mithalten zu können, mussten sich die Nitrogods also kräftig ins Zeug legen. Gitarrist Henny Wolter dazu: „Wir sind überzeugte Vintage-Freaks und haben wirklich jede Sekunde genossen, auf einer altehrwürdigen 24-Spur-Bandmaschine aufzunehmen. Natürlich ist eine solche Produktion weitaus aufwändiger und mühsamer, denn man kann nicht einfach ganze Passagen per Copy&Paste-Funktion hin und her schieben, sondern muss seine Songs auch wirklich komplett draufhaben. Wenn man sich mal verspielt hat, fängt man halt jedes Mal wieder ganz von vorne an. Aber genau das ist ja auch die spannende Herausforderung einer solchen Produktion, bei der man am Ende mit einem echten Rock’n’Roll Sound belohnt wird.“

Nitrogods – Band

Mehr als ein Dutzend neue Songs hat die Band von Henny Wolter, Sänger/Bassist Oimel Larcher und Schlagzeuger Klaus Sperling aufgenommen, einige davon kennen die Fans der Band bereits aus den Konzerten. Wolter erklärt uns dazu: „Direkt nach der Veröffentlichung unseres Debütalbums vor zweieinhalb Jahren haben wir sofort wieder angefangen, neue Songs zu schreiben. Deshalb konnten wir Stücke wie ‚Back Home‘, ‚Nitrogods‘ oder ‚Whiskey Supernova‘ auch bereits in unseren Shows vor Publikum auf Herz und Nieren prüfen.“ Insgesamt findet man auf dem neuen Album 13 Stücke, mit denen die stilistischen Direktiven des Erstwerks fortgesetzt werden, die dabei aber gleichzeitig variantenreicher und hörbar vielschichtiger ausgefallen sind. Auch anno 2014 sind die Vorbilder der Nitrogods bei weitem nicht ausschliesslich im Hard&Heavy-Bereich zu finden, sondern erstrecken sich über die gesamte Szenerie der Rockmusik. „Wir lieben alles von Status Quo über Motörhead, Stray Cats, Clash bis zu AC/DC“, gibt Wolter zu, „und aus genau dieser Mischung setzen sich auch unsere Songs zusammen. Uns ist klar, dass wir damit das Rad nicht neu erfinden werden, aber immerhin bereifen wir es ordentlich.“

Video Thumbnail
NITROGODS - "Rats and Rumours" (Official Video)

„Rats And Rumours“ beginnt mit einer typischen Nitrogods-Nummer und ist eine Verneigung vor Motörhead der frühen 80er. Hell yeah, sowas gefällt! „Irish Honey“ erinnert entfernt an „London Calling“ von The Clash, denn da wird äusserst gelungen auf Nitrogods-Art dem Rockabilly gehuldigt. Der Song „Automobile“ lotet die Schnittmenge zwischen Metal und Rockabilly noch offenkundiger aus und auch der Track „Nitrogods“ wird von rauem Rock’n’Rockabilly-Feeling diktiert. Hier lebt Henny im Gesang sein Leidenschaft zum Sleeze aus und ahmt mit dieser Spielart die Motorgeräusche eines, na sagen wir mal V8, nach, der hochtourig auf der Strasse beschleunigt. „Nothing But Trouble“ ist ebenfalls eine typische Henny Wolter-Nummer, hört man ihn doch abermals singen und der Stil ist schön dreckig und angepisst, aber ohne die whiskygeschwängerte Schwärze von Oimels Stimme.

Nitrogods

Die Nummer „Ramblin` Broke“ bezeichnet Wolter als Blues-Ausreisser: „Das Stück hat im Grunde genommen mit Heavy Metal nichts zu tun, sondern hätte in dieser Form auch von John Fogerty oder Creedence Clearwater Revival stammen können.“ Der Song erinnert entfernt an Tito & Tarantula und deren Auftritt im Kultmovie „From Dusk Till Dawn“. Kurz und schmerzlos fällt der Song „Dirty Old Man“ aus und mit „Damn Right (The Call It Rock’n Roll)“ und „Back Home“ nimmt dann die Geschwindigkeit wieder kräftig Fahrt auf. Eine grossartige Biker-Nummer ist „BMW“, der so nur von einem echten Biker, so wie Oimel einer ist, stammen kann. Der Sound des Albums klingt wunderbar und man hat das Gefühl die Musiker vor sich spielen zu sehen. Beim CD-Cover hat man sich am Stil der ersten Scheibe orientiert. So darf der Schädel wieder mit Helm und Helmbrille die Front des Albums zieren.

Nitrogods – Band

Die Nitrogods zeigen allen Skeptikern des ersten Albums ihre sechs Mittelfinger und gehen den eingeschlagenen Weg konsequent weiter. Mit „Rats And Rumours“ beweist die Band stilistische Bandbreite, die Songs haben Ohrwurmcharakter und man merkt den ‚Gods den Spass an, die Stilelemente anderer Richtungen mit einzuflechten und ihren eigenen unverwechselbaren Stil daran wachsen zu lassen. Allgemein ist „Rats And Rumours“ etwas abwechslungsreicher als die 2012 erschienene CD. So ist zum Beispiel der Stil und die Stimme bei „Nothing But Trouble“ eher beim 70th Hard Rock angelehnt, als beim sonstigen eher Rock’n’Roll lastigen Rest. Thematisch bedient man sich sämtlichen Klischees, wo „Irish Honey“ und „Whiskey Supernova“ eine Hommage an das „Wasser des Lebens“ ist, geht es bei anderen Songs um Autos, Ehre und jede Menge Nitro! Nitrogods klingen richtig schön rotzig und wer die Debütplatte mochte oder mal wieder schön dreckigen Hard Rock mit Rock’N’Roll-Allüren hören möchte, der wird hier seinen Spass haben. „Rats And Rumours“ ist die perfekte Scheibe für die Autofahrt und einen netten Abend mit Kollegen. Wer also was sucht das wirklich derbe rockt kann hier getrost zuschlagen.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Video Thumbnail
NITROGODS - "Rats and Rumours" (Official Album Trailer)

Tracklist:

  1. Rats & Rumours
  2. Got Pride
  3. Irish Honey
  4. Automobile
  5. Damn Right (They Call It Rock’n Roll)
  6. Nothing But Trouble
  7. Back Home
  8. Dirty Old Man
  9. Ramblin‘ Broke
  10. BMW
  11. Lite Bite
  12. Nitrogods
  13. Whiskey Supernova
  14. Black Car Driving Man (Live) (Bonus Track)
  15. Whiskey Wonderland (Acoustic) (Bonus Track)

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.