Nightwish: Wannabe Metal in St. Jakobshalle in Basel

The Finnish band Nightwish is currently with her new album „Endless Forms Most Beautiful“ on homonymous European tour and made it on Saturday, 28. November 2015 Halt in St. Jakobshalle in Basel. As support were high-caliber as the Swedish Metal-Band Arch Enemy and the Finns Amorphis With this, the audience with a mix of Death- have and Pagan Metal entertain. In Metal see hard guitar riffs, often elements of folk, Rock, Pop and even opera singing again, because the metal almost all varieties are possible. The Finnish band Nightwish uses this tolerance of up to the limits, ihr „Symphonic Metal“ blended so many styles, that one at the end of the show head is spinning off.

Nightwish: Wannabe Metal in St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Already at 17:30 AM opened the gates of St. Jakobshalle in Basel, to the mighty rush of fans to master. The hall was sold out, ie ca. 9000 Fans wanted to see Nightwish and their hits live. This is for symphonic metal, as the band itself categorized, incredible and therefore the band plays in Music-Business in the first division. 1996 gründeten Tuomas Holopainen, Emppu Vuorinen and vocalist Tarja Turunen, the Finnish symphonic metal band Nightwish. Shortly thereafter, drummer Jukka Nevalainen and bassist Sami Vänskä joined the Confederation. Until the year 2001 and three studio albums, the band remained in this occupation, bis Basser Vänskä, because of disagreements within the band, was replaced by Marco Hietala. Now we started with the albums „Century Child“ and „Once“ right through. After the end of the „Once“-Tour in October 2005, Then it came to Split with Tarja Turunen.

Nightwish: Wannabe Metal in St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Without singer the Finns moved in September 2006 the studio to record the successor of „Once“ to potter about. Meanwhile, the singer-search was intensified to finally end of May 2007 Anette Olzon, the Swede, from CA. 2000 selected submitted demos, imagine. That same month, you could already the first single „Eva“ download and in August they released the single „Amaranth“. Ende September 2007 then appeared the long-awaited by fans Album „Dark Passion Play“. The prophecies of doom album sold very well in spite of. In Finland you have already on the second day 60’000 Sold copies, which earned them a double platinum award. Elsewhere in Europe, the disc catapulted place 1, u.a. in Germany and the Switzerland. The subsequent tour was as successful as the album. Of course, the new singer not met everyone on cheers, which is often on their different interpretation of the „Tarja“-Songs was due, or simply because the DieHard fans Tarja wanted. The Swede worked hard (including. Collapse on stage) per se, with simultaneous support of the other members, and could just as new singer of Nightwish by boxing.

Nightwish: Wannabe Metal in St. Jakobshalle in Basel

at the 11. November 2011 released their highly anticipated seventh album entitled „Imaginaerum“. the 13 Songs form the soundtrack to the movie Nightwish. 2012 launched the Tour, Anette Olzon on which ill and in Denver, at the 28. September 2012 by Elize Ryd (Amaranthe) and Alissa White-Gluz (Kamelot, current singer of Arch Enemy) was replaced. This decision held Olzon wrong and it came to a rift. at the 1. October 2012 came the news, Olzon in agreement that the band Leave has. As an initial replacement the current Dutch singer Floor Jansen was (After forever, ReVamp) committed. It remained for the next record for the eighth album „Endless Forms Most Beautiful“ not the only change / new signing. So Uilleann Pipe player and former guest musician Troy Donockleyein was solid band member. Due to strong sleep drummer Jukka Nevalainen had to withdraw. In Finland Wintersun drummer Kai Hahto a worthy replacement was for the album and this tour found. at the 27. March 2015 It was far and it seemed the awaited eighth album with melodies, Choirs and music with epic bandwidth Metal robe and the tour for this album was on 28. November 2015 in die St. Jakobshalle in Basel loaded.

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish Basel live Ghost Love Score

Be Supportet „Nightwish“ on the tour and on this evening of the two bands „Arch Enemy“ from Sweden and originating from Finland to also „Amorphis“. Especially the latter band is a veteran of Heavy Metal and coined the early 1990s the Scandinavian Death Metal scene. Over the years, they continued to evolve and let the progressive influence free rein, as was the guttural singing over the years always more by a clear, replaced clear voice. Amorphis has made 25 Offer years of Schafens a lot of the partially astonished audience. Not everyone Nightwish fan is also a Heavy Metal fan, which is clearly seen in some (long) To read faces. But with evergreens such as „Sky Is Mine“ and „Hopeless Days“ it also catches people, who are not familiar with Amorphis. A very good performance, unfortunately too short fails.

Setlist Amorphis

  1. Death of a King
  2. Sacrifice
  3. Hopeless Days
  4. Bad Blood
  5. Sky Is Mine
  6. Silver Bride
  7. The Four Wise Ones
  8. House of Sleep
Video Thumbnail
Nightwish Basel live The greatest Show on Earth

After Amorphis the stage is prepared in a very short time and „Arch Enemy“ join the boards, All the world. In the tape, there was 2014 a highly acclaimed in the metal scene replacement at the microphone. Alissa White-Gluz took over as the singer and also played the last album a. For connoisseurs a treat, to experience the new singer live. A true Power bundle with blue dyed hair leaves no doubt arise, that she is the right person. Something strange seems the costume, she wears and more like a membership „The X-Men“ recalls. The setlist is clearly dominated by the last two albums „War Eternal“ and „Khaos Legions“. Songs from the old days do not occur with two exceptions, what the appearance and its good quality but does not detract from.

Setlist Arch Enemy

  1. Yesterday Is Dead And Gone
  2. War Eternal
  3. Ravenous
  4. Stolen Life
  5. You Will Know My Name
  6. As the Pages Burn
  7. Under Black Flags We March
  8. Avalanche
  9. No Gods, No Masters
  10. Nemesis

Nightwish: Wannabe Metal in St. Jakobshalle in Basel

at 21:10 PM then drops the raised for the renovation break curtain and after a short intro pours with fat drumbeats and a famous Pyroshow a brilliant light, Video- and music installation to the eagerly waiting crowd. Nightwish singer Floor Jansen runs springy step on stage. What a presence of the pretty Dutch, pulling with her charisma, the audience immediately into their spell. As much as the previous separations of front women have split fans, Nightwish with Floor Jansen found the perfect replacement. Likewise, you can tell the rest of the band, vor allem Marco Hietala und Emppu Vuorinen, the joy of it, the audience into a mixture of dream- take and film world. This is supported by an insane video installation in the background and recurring pyrotechnics in the form of mini flamethrowers or smaller Bengali effects like fire gyros. The light show and sound do the rest, to frame the evening for most visitors memorable.

Nightwish: Wannabe Metal in St. Jakobshalle in Basel

The fans have fun, clap and sing joyfully with. But sometimes bordering the Sound of Finns for me so close to Kitsch, that one can imagine almost veräppelt – is all but Metal called and actually has nothing to do with Metal, besides the guitar riffs. Nightwish are formidable compositions, could have emerged from Hans Zimmer. But if only spherical keyboard sounds, Organ and panpipe to Floor Jansen pretty little voice resound, is nothing to feel truly of Metal – Unfortunately, nothing of irony, these pathos excesses might have been explicable. At least I do not see any hair mats trepidation except perhaps this itself by Floor. But the show is definitely great, otherwise as with other bands is tuned from the stage to the flamethrowers everything on the Sound, underlines this and puts him at the center. The video effects are almost spherical and act just great about this film music, already alone it could get brain flutter. Nightwish mingled with her Concert so many styles, that one at the end of the show head is spinning off. Nightwish connect past, Present and future into a flawless whole. Is it time for a new era? It is time for „Endless Forms Most Beautiful“.

Nightwish: Wannabe Metal in St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Setlist Nightwish

  1. Shudder Before the Beautiful
  2. Yours Is an Empty Hope
  3. Ever Dream
  4. She Is My Sin
  5. My Walden
  6. The Islander
  7. Momentum
  8. Weak Fantasy
  9. 7 Days to the Wolves
  10. Alpenglow
  11. Storytime
  12. Nemo
  13. Stargazers
  14. Sleeping Sun
  15. Ghost Love Score
  16. Last Ride of the Day
  17. The Greatest Show on Earth

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.

DBD: Metal Videos zu Halloween

Friends, Here in the context of „Death Bell of the Day“ a selection of metalloid Halloween-Videos, although not all necessarily directly related to Halloween, but definitely something creepy therefore come. Happy Halloween!

Video Thumbnail
Helloween - Halloween (1987)

ARVE Error: Oembed Call Failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Do3S7Iz6hUYg returned a 404 Error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
Misfits - Dig Up Her Bones
Video Thumbnail
Rammstein - My part (Official Music Video) - Full HD
Video Thumbnail
Nine Inch Nails Closer 1080p YouTube
Video Thumbnail
The Vision Bleak - The Wood Hag [Official Music Video]

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D0EMnFeFgIRE returned a 404 Error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
Behemoth - Ov Fire and the Void - (Official Music Video)
Video Thumbnail
In Flames "The Mirror's Truth" (Official)
Video Thumbnail
Evanescence - Going Under 「High Definition」 HQ

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D49ZJqqrr6jk returned a 404 Error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
Dimmu Borgir - The Serpentine Offering (Official Music Video)

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DiQE0pfBAYQ8 returned a 404 Error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish - Storytime (Official Music Video)

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DvSnY6zjeRN0 returned a 404 Error.
Details: Not Found

Finnish Fireworks Championships 2012

In this clip one stays away the spittle, unique Music-selection, spektakuläre Choreografie, amazing effects and a high-quality synchronization. Well done guys. Amazing!

Video Thumbnail
Finnish Fireworks Championships 2012 , "THE SCORE" Channel Four's Fireworks.

Nightwish – The Concert Review

One thing first, I was never a fan of wannabe opera diva Tarja Turunen and a Die-Hard Nightwish Fan wird aus mir auch nicht mehr werden, But the Finnish reference, was bombastischen Orchester-Metal angeht, the symphonic metal band around keyboardist Tuomas Holopainen are known for their fancy special effects and brilliant stages- and light shows. The creation of Nightwish is bombastic, their sounds epic, passionate and breathtaking. How does their new album and is presented visually, I was allowed on 24. April at the „Imaginaerum“ Experience World Tour at Hallenstadion Zurich. And what can I say? The show was amazing and matched both as sound effects perfect for each other, so even an old Thrasher was like appearance on the Finns. How can something happen? Read for yourself…

Ein Nightwish-Concert without the skillets face Tarja? This was probably equal to my first question, when it came, whether one would like to come to the Nightwish concert. And, I like and that do not, and for me it was more than just important to be sure not Tarja, that they had not in the meantime making a comeback in the band, because this would definitely be a reason for me, stay away from the event, as the devil holy water. But that night there were some hardcore fans Tarja found, no goddesses tolerate beside her, this would have been wiser to home, because with Anette have made a far better choice Tuomas and his men than with any third-rate wannabe opera diva, populate the metal stages of the world and the people fully whine ears. Thus the way was paved for a small expansion of horizons and friends, I am glad, that I dared. Nightwish have delivered the Hallenstadion in Zurich a great show!

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish - 1 -Magic Winter & Story Time (Live) @ Hallenstadion Zurich 24.4.2012

Heat up as the Battle Beast had loaded, but since we rumlummelten little too long with beer and friends, we have completely missed their appearance. Battle Beast spielte aber Heavy Fuckin‘ Metal, what one has noticed Sun still out. Note: Worth a listen any time. „Imaginaerum“ the long awaited sequel to „Dark Passion Play“ Nightwish is the occasion of the tour and the album is also the soundtrack for a movie, whose protagonist is an old songwriter with an incredible imagination. „Imaginaerum“ appeals to our imagination and forgotten yearnings of a magic world.

The anticipation in the audience is huge and a quarter to nine to thunderous cheers of the main act begins with his appearance, Nightwish came on stage. At least it sounded afterwards, because a huge scrap-curtain blocked his view, this to „Taikatalvi“, the Marco sings on a rocking chair, also during the first half of „Storytime“ concealed a curtain stage, before it is dropped and provides a view. About Tuomas with hat and tails, Marco with even longer beard, Anette in elegant dress and with black hair and blond Emppu Jukka perched on a high pedestal Drum. A narrow, wide video screen, the colorful throughout the show Animated carousel, Woodlands and Dark Kitsch montages showed. A gigantic and atmospheric light show and massive effects like columns of flame, Smoke and red-colored fire, that even from the organ pipes by Tuomas‘ Keyboard beats up, offer a spectacular show for the eye.

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish I want my Tears back,live in Zurich,24.4.12

With „Wish I Had an Angel“ and „Amaranth“ Pull the Finns Zurich quickly under her spell, Anette before in „Scaretale“ their way of singing conveys so convincingly, ask only that you definitely can: „Who the fuck is Tarja?“. The crackling erotic „Slow, love, Slow“ she sings no less convincing. For „I Want My Tears Back“ and the following numbers is the Irish musician Troy Donockley on stage, of the band accompanied the entire tour. Through his uilleann pipes (Irish bagpipes) He provides not only live in the eagerly mitgeklatschten Instrumental „Last of the Wilds“ and „The Islander“, where viewers provide a sea of ​​lights, but also in „Come Cover Me“ for folk Feeling. Not only the „Wishmaster“-Number, also the first time since 2005 played live „Planet Hell“ and „Over the Hills and Far Away“, which were carefully rearranged for Anette and Marcos voice, as well as „Dead to the World“ proving once again, Anette that former Tarja standards can sing in their own way.

In between, the audience can have a dreamy acoustic version of „Nemo“, the latest single „the crow, the Owl and the Dove“ and the threatening „Ghost River“ please, Before the instrumental „Finland“ initiates the addition of Jean Sibelius block. Makes clear again, Nightwish take full account of their latest album. The two encores „Song of Myself“ and the right „Last Ride of the Day“ with fireworks come from the new disc; counted the orchestral theme song as Outro, around ten new songs for the course. The work live very good by, even if the „Dark Passion Play“-Songs and older numbers are of course the most celebrated. Was also not spared pyro effects.

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish - Ghost River (Live @ Zurich 2012 - 5/6)

My conclusion of the evening: Nightwish understand, to deliver a great show! Die Jungs beherrschen ihr Handwerk und auch die art der Inszenierung. The secret frontman was Marco - not only in the pieces, in which he had a vocal part. The swirling Emppu, Jukka und Tuomas, at its Keyboard always again reaches for the bottle of wine, offer a very convincing appearance and act with a permanently grinning, fantastic dancing and singing Anette homogeneously. The fun is in any case clear to see the musicians on stage, Donockleys inserts make the sound even more diverse. The joy, a successful setlist and the opulent show it's definitely worth, Nightwish lead to mind!

Setlist:

  1. Taikatalvi
  2. Storytime
  3. Wish I Had an Angel
  4. Amaranth
  5. Scaretale
  6. Slow, love, Slow
  7. I Want My Tears Back
  8. Come Cover Me
  9. the crow, the Owl and the Dove
  10. The Islander
  11. Nemo
  12. Last of the Wilds
  13. Planet Hell
  14. Ghost River
  15. Dead to the World
  16. Over the Hills and Far Away (Gary Moore cover)
  17. Yet:

  18. Finland (Jean Sibelius cover)
  19. Song of Myself
  20. Last Ride of the Day
Video Thumbnail
Nightwish - Nemo - live @ Hallenstadion in Zurich 24.4.2012
Nightwish - The Concert Review
7.7 Total
0 User Rating (0 votes)
the atmosphere9
Performance9
Acoustics8
visibility8
Vor-Ort-Service7
Sanitary installations7
Parking situation6
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Nightwish: Möchtegern-Metal in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Die finnische Band Nightwish befindet sich aktuell mit ihrem neuem Album „Endless Forms Most Beautiful“ auf gleichnamiger Europa Tournee und machte dabei am Samstag, 28. November 2015 Halt in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel. Als Support waren Hochkaräter wie die Schwedische Metal-Band Arch Enemy und die Finnen von Amorphis mit dabei, die das Publikum mit einem Mix aus Death- und Pagan-Metal unterhalten haben. Im Metal finden unter harten Gitarrenriffs, oft Elemente aus Folk, Rock, Pop und sogar Operngesang wieder, denn im Metal sind fast alle Spielarten denkbar. Die finnische Band Nightwish nutzt diese Toleranz bis an die Grenzen aus, ihr „Symphonic Metal“ vermengt so viele Stile, dass einem am Ende der Show der Kopf schwirrt.

Nightwish: Möchtegern-Metal in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Schon um 17:30 Uhr öffneten sich die Tore der St. Jakobshalle in Basel, um dem gewaltigen Ansturm der Fans Herr zu werden. Die Halle war ausverkauft, das heisst ca. 9000 Fans wollten Nightwish und deren Hits live erleben. Das ist für Symphonic-Metal, wie sich die Band selbst kategorisiert, unglaublich und daher spielt die Band im Musik-Business auch in der ersten Liga. 1996 gründeten Tuomas Holopainen, Emppu Vuorinen und Sängerin Tarja Turunen die finnische Symphonic Metal Formation Nightwish. Kurz darauf stiessen Schlagzeuger Jukka Nevalainen und Basser Sami Vänskä dazu. Bis ins Jahre 2001 und drei Studioalben blieb die Band in dieser Besetzung, bis Basser Vänskä, wegen Unstimmigkeiten innerhalb der Band, durch Marco Hietala ersetzt wurde. Jetzt startete man mit den Alben „Century Child“ und „Once“ richtig durch. Nach Ende der „Once“-Tournee im Oktober 2005, kam es dann zum Split mit Tarja Turunen.

Nightwish: Möchtegern-Metal in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Ohne Sängerin verzogen sich die Finnen im September 2006 ins Studio um am Nachfolger von „Once“ zu werkeln. In der Zwischenzeit wurde die Sängerin-Suche intensiviert um schliesslich Ende Mai 2007 die Schwedin Anette Olzon, aus ca. 2000 eingesandten Demos ausgewählt, vorzustellen. Im selben Monat konnte man bereits die erste Single „Eva“ downloaden und im August veröffentlichten sie die Single „Amaranth“. Ende September 2007 erschien dann das von den Fans langersehnte Album „Dark Passion Play“. Das Album verkaufte sich Unkenrufen zum Trotz sehr gut. In Finnland hatten Sie bereits am zweiten Tag 60’000 Exemplare abgesetzt, was ihnen eine Doppel-Platin-Auszeichnung einbrachte. Auch im übrigen Europa katapultierte sich die Scheibe auf Platz 1, u.a. in Deutschland und der Schweiz. Die nachfolgende Tour war so erfolgreich wie das Album. Natürlich stiess die neue Sängerin nicht allerseits auf Freudenrufe, was oft auf ihre andere Interpretation der „Tarja“-Songs zurückzuführen war oder einfach weil die DieHard-Fans Tarja vermissten. Die Schwedin arbeitete hart (inkl. Zusammenbruch auf der Bühne) an sich, mit gleichzeitiger Unterstützung der anderen Mitglieder und konnte sich so als neue Sängerin von Nightwish durchboxen.

Nightwish: Möchtegern-Metal in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Am 11. November 2011 erschien das mit Spannung erwartete siebte Album mit dem Titel „Imaginaerum“. Die 13 Songs bilden den Soundtrack zum gleichnamigen Nightwish-Film. 2012 startete die Tour, auf welcher Anette Olzon erkrankte und in Denver, am 28. September 2012 durch Elize Ryd (Amaranthe) und Alissa White-Gluz (Kamelot, jetzige Sängerin bei Arch Enemy) ersetzt wurde. Diese Entscheidung hielt Olzon für falsch und es kam zum Zerwürfnis. Am 1. Oktober 2012 kam die Nachricht, dass Olzon im Einvernehmen die Band verlassen hat. Als anfänglicher Ersatz wurde die jetzige niederländische Sängerin Floor Jansen (After Forever, ReVamp) verpflichtet. Es blieb für die kommenden Aufnahmen zum achten Album „Endless Forms Most Beautiful“ nicht der einzige Wechsel/Neuverpflichtung. So wurde Uilleann Pipe-Spieler und bisheriger Gastmusiker Troy Donockleyein festes Band-Mitglied. Aufgrund starker Schlafstörungen musste sich Drummer Jukka Nevalainen zurückziehen. Im finnischen Wintersun-Schlagzeuger Kai Hahto wurde fürs Album und diese Tour ein würdiger Ersatz gefunden. Am 27. März 2015 war es soweit und es erschien das ersehnte achte Album mit Melodien, Chören und Musik mit epischer Bandbreite im Metalgewand und zu der Tour zu diesem Album wurde am 28. November 2015 in die St. Jakobshalle in Basel geladen.

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish Basel live Ghost Love Score

Supportet werden „Nightwish“ auf der Tour und an diesem Abend von den beiden Bands „Arch Enemy“ aus Schweden und den ebenfalls aus Finnland stammenden „Amorphis“. Gerade letztere Band ist ein Urgestein des Heavy Metal und prägte Anfang der 1990er Jahre die skandinavische Death Metal-Szene. Im Laufe der Jahre entwickelten sie sich weiter und liessen dem progressiven Einfluss freien Lauf, ebenso wurde der gutturale Gesang im Laufe der Jahre immer mehr durch eine klare, helle Stimme ersetzt. Amorphis hat aus 25 Jahren des Schafens eine Menge dem teilweise erstaunten Publikum anzubieten. Nicht jeder Nightwish-Fan ist auch ein Heavy Metal-Fan, das ist deutlich in einigen (langen) Gesichtern zu lesen. Aber mit Evergreens wie „Sky is mine“ und „Hopeless Days“ fängt man auch Leute, die sich nicht mit Amorphis auskennen. Ein sehr guter Auftritt, der leider viel zu kurz ausfällt.

Setlist Amorphis

  1. Death of a King
  2. Sacrifice
  3. Hopeless Days
  4. Bad Blood
  5. Sky Is Mine
  6. Silver Bride
  7. The Four Wise Ones
  8. House of Sleep
Video Thumbnail
Nightwish Basel live The greatest Show on Earth

Nach Amorphis wird in kürzester Zeit die Bühne umgebaut und „Arch Enemy“ betreten die Bretter, die die Welt bedeuten. Bei der Band gab es 2014 eine in der Metal-Szene vielbeachtete Neubesetzung am Mikrofon. Alissa White-Gluz übernahm den Posten der Sängerin und spielte auch das letzte Album ein. Für die Kenner ein Leckerbissen, die neue Sängerin live zu erleben. Ein wahres Powerbündel mit blau gefärbten Haaren lässt keinen Zweifel daran aufkommen, dass sie die richtige Besetzung ist. Etwas befremdlich erscheint das Kostüm, das sie trägt und eher an eine Zugehörigkeit zu „The X-Men“ erinnert. Die Setlist steht klar im Zeichen der letzten beiden Alben „War Eternal“ und „Khaos Legions“. Songs aus alten Tagen kommen bis auf zwei Ausnahmen nicht vor, was den Auftritt und dessen gute Qualität aber nicht schmälert.

Setlist Arch Enemy

  1. Yesterday Is Dead and Gone
  2. War Eternal
  3. Ravenous
  4. Stolen Life
  5. You Will Know My Name
  6. As the Pages Burn
  7. Under Black Flags We March
  8. Avalanche
  9. No Gods, No Masters
  10. Nemesis

Nightwish: Möchtegern-Metal in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Um 21:10 Uhr fällt dann der für die Umbaupause hochgezogene Vorhang und nach einem kurzen Intro ergiesst sich mit fetten Paukenschlägen und einer famosen Pyroshow eine fulminante Licht-, Video- und Musikinstallation auf die sehnsüchtig wartende Menge. Nightwish Sängerin Floor Jansen läuft federnden Schrittes auf die Bühne. Welch eine Präsenz der hübschen Niederländerin, die mit ihrem Charisma das Publikum sofort in ihren Bann zieht. So sehr auch die Trennungen der vorherigen Frontfrauen die Fans gespalten haben, Nightwish haben mit Floor Jansen den perfekten Ersatz gefunden. Ebenso merkt man dem Rest der Band, vor allem Marco Hietala und Emppu Vuorinen, die Freude daran an, das Publikum in eine Mischung aus Traum- und Filmwelt mitzunehmen. Das wird unterstützt durch eine wahnsinnige Videoinstallation im Hintergrund und immer wiederkehrende Pyrotechnik in Form von Mini-Flammenwerfern oder auch kleineren bengalischen Effekten wie Feuerkreiseln. Die Lichtschau und Sound tun ihr übriges, um den Abend für die meisten Besucher unvergesslich zu gestalten.

Nightwish: Möchtegern-Metal in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Die Fans haben Spass, klatschen und singen voller Freude mit. Doch manchmal grenzt der Sound der Finnen für mich so nah am Kitsch, dass man sich fast veräppelt vorkommt – wird das ganze doch Metal genannt und hat mit Metal eigentlich gar nichts zu tun, ausser den Gitarrenriffs. Nightwish sind gewaltige Kompositionen, die auch von Hans Zimmer stammen könnten. Aber wenn nur noch sphärische Keyboardklänge, Orgel und Panflöte zu Floor Jansen hübschem Stimmchen erklingen, ist von Metal wahrlich gar nichts mehr zu spüren – leider auch nichts von Ironie, die diese Pathosexzesse vielleicht erklärlich gemacht hätte. Zumindest sehe ich keine Haarmatten Bangen ausser vielleicht dieser von Floor selbst. Doch die Show ist definitiv grossartig, anders wie bei anderen Bands ist vom Bühnenbild bis zu den Flammenwerfern alles auf den Sound abgestimmt, unterstreicht diesen und setzt ihn in den Mittelpunkt. Die Videoeffekte sind schon fast sphärisch und wirken einfach grossartig zu dieser Filmmusik, schon alleine davon konnte man Hirnflattern bekommen. Nightwish vermengte bei ihrem Konzert so viele Stile, dass einem am Ende der Show der Kopf schwirrt. Nightwish verbinden Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft zu einem makellosen Ganzen. Ist es Zeit für eine neue Ära? Es ist Zeit für „Endless Forms Most Beautiful“.

Nightwish: Möchtegern-Metal in der St. Jakobshalle in Basel

Setlist Nightwish

  1. Shudder Before the Beautiful
  2. Yours Is an Empty Hope
  3. Ever Dream
  4. She Is My Sin
  5. My Walden
  6. The Islander
  7. Élan
  8. Weak Fantasy
  9. 7 Days to the Wolves
  10. Alpenglow
  11. Storytime
  12. Nemo
  13. Stargazers
  14. Sleeping Sun
  15. Ghost Love Score
  16. Last Ride of the Day
  17. The Greatest Show on Earth

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.

DBD: Metal Videos zu Halloween

Freunde, hier im Rahmen des „Death Bell of the Day“ eine Auswahl an metalloiden Halloween-Videos, die zwar nicht alle unbedingt direkten Bezug zu Halloween haben, aber auf jeden Fall etwas gruselig daher kommen. Happy Halloween!

Video Thumbnail
Helloween - Halloween (1987)

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Do3S7Iz6hUYg returned a 404 error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
Misfits - Dig Up Her Bones
Video Thumbnail
Rammstein - Mein Teil (Official Music Video) - Full HD
Video Thumbnail
Nine Inch Nails Closer 1080p YouTube
Video Thumbnail
The Vision Bleak - The Wood Hag [official music video]

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D0EMnFeFgIRE returned a 404 error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
BEHEMOTH - Ov Fire and the Void - (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)
Video Thumbnail
IN FLAMES "The Mirror's Truth" (Official)
Video Thumbnail
Evanescence - Going Under 「High Definition」 HQ

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D49ZJqqrr6jk returned a 404 error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
DIMMU BORGIR - The Serpentine Offering (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DiQE0pfBAYQ8 returned a 404 error.
Details: Not Found

Video Thumbnail
NIGHTWISH - Storytime (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DvSnY6zjeRN0 returned a 404 error.
Details: Not Found

Finnish Fireworks Championships 2012

Bei diesem Clip bleibt einem die Spucke weg, einzigartige Musik-Auswahl, spektakuläre Choreografie, erstaunliche Effekte und eine hochwertige Synchronisation. Well done guys. Amazing!

Video Thumbnail
Finnish Fireworks Championships 2012 , "THE SCORE" Nelosen Ilotulitus.

Nightwish – Das Konzert Review

Eins vorweg, ich war nie ein Fan der Möchtegern Opern Diva Tarja Turunen und ein Die-Hard Nightwish Fan wird aus mir auch nicht mehr werden, doch die finnische Referenz, was bombastischen Orchester-Metal angeht, die Symphonic Metal Band um Keyboarder Tuomas Holopainen sind bekannt für ihre ausgefallenen Special Effects und fulminanten Bühnen- und Lichtshows. Das Schaffen von Nightwish ist bombastisch, ihre Sounds episch, leidenschaftlich und atemberaubend. Wie ihr neues Werk klingt und visuell umgesetzt wird, durfte ich am 24. April auf der „Imaginaerum“ World Tour im Hallenstadion Zürich erleben. Und was soll ich sagen? Die Show war einfach grossartig und sowohl Sound wie Effekte perfekt auf einander abgestimmt, so dass selbst ein alter Thrasher gefallen am Auftritt der Finnen fand. Wie kann sowas passieren? Lest selbst…

Ein Nightwish-Konzert ohne das Bratpfannen Gesicht Tarja? Dies war wohl gleich meine erste Frage, als es darum ging, ob man denn an das Nightwish Konzert mitkommen möchte. Ja, ich mag Tarja nicht und zwar überhaupt nicht und es war für mich mehr als nur wichtig sicher zu sein, dass sie zwischenzeitlich nicht ein Comeback in der Band hatte, denn dies wäre für mich definitiv ein Grund, der Veranstaltung fern zu bleiben wie der Teufel dem Weihwasser. Doch an diesem Abend waren auch einige Hardcore-Tarja-Fans anzutreffen, die keine Göttinnen neben ihr dulden und diese wären gescheiter zu Hause geblieben, denn mit Anette haben Tuomas und seine Mannen eine weit bessere Wahl getroffen als mit jeder drittklassigen Möchtegern-Operndiva, die die Metalbühnen dieser Welt bevölkern und den Leuten die Ohren voll jammern. Somit war der Weg geebnet für eine kleine Horizont Erweiterung und Freunde ich bin froh, dass ich es gewagt habe. Nightwish haben im Hallenstadion Zürich eine tolle Show geliefert!

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish - 1 -Taikatalvi & Story Time (live) @ Hallenstadion Zürich 24.4.2012

Als Anheizer hatten die Battle Beast geladen, doch da wir etwas zu lange bei Bier und Freunden rumlummelten, haben wir ihren Auftritt vollständig verpasst. Battle Beast spielte aber Heavy Fuckin‘ Metal, was man so draussen noch mitbekommen hat. Notiz: Lohnt sich eventuell mal reinzuhören. „Imaginaerum“ der lang erwartete Nachfolger zu „Dark Passion Play“ von Nightwish ist der Anlass der Tour und das Album ist zugleich Soundtrack zu einem Film, dessen Protagonist ein alter Liedermacher mit einer unglaublichen Vorstellungskraft ist. „Imaginaerum“ appelliert an unsere Fantasie und längst vergessenen Sehnsüchte aus einer Zauberwelt.

Die Vorfreude im Publikum ist riesig und um Viertel vor neun beginnt unter tosendem Jubel der Hauptact mit seinem Auftritt, Nightwish kamen auf die Bühne. Zumindest klang es danach, denn ein riesiger Fetzen-Vorhang versperrte die Sicht, dies zu „Taikatalvi“, das Marco auf einem Schaukelstuhl singt, auch während der ersten Hälfte von „Storytime“ verdeckt ein Vorhang die Bühne, bevor er fallen gelassen wird und den Blick freigibt. Über Tuomas mit Zylinder und Frack, Marco mit noch längerem Bart, Anette im eleganten Kleid und mit schwarzen Haaren sowie Blondschopf Emppu thront Jukka auf einem hohen Drumpodest. Ein schmaler, breiter Videoscreen, der während der gesamten Show farbenprächtige Animationen von Karussells, Waldlandschaften und Dark-Kitsch-Montagen zeigte. Eine gigantische und stimmungsvolle Lightshow und massig Effekte wie Flammensäulen, Rauch und rotfarbenes Feuer, das sogar aus den Orgelpfeifen von Tuomas‘ Keyboard empor schlägt, bieten eine spektakuläre Show fürs Auge.

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish I want my Tears back,Live in Zürich,24.4.12

Mit „Wish I Had An Angel“ und „Amaranth“ ziehen die Finnen Zürich schnell in ihren Bann, bevor Anette in „Scaretale“ ihre Art zu Singen so überzeugend vermittelt, dass man definitiv nur fragen kann: „Who the fuck is Tarja?“. Das erotisch knisternde „Slow, Love, Slow“ singt sie nicht weniger überzeugend. Für „I Want My Tears Back“ und die folgenden Nummern steht der irische Musiker Troy Donockley auf der Bühne, der die Band die gesamte Tour begleitet. Durch seine Uilleann Pipes (irischer Dudelsack) sorgt er live nicht nur bei dem eifrig mitgeklatschten Instrumental „Last Of The Wilds“ und „The Islander“, bei dem die Zuschauer für ein Lichtermeer sorgen, sondern auch bei „Come Cover Me“ für Folk-Feeling. Nicht nur die „Wishmaster“-Nummer, auch die erstmals seit 2005 live gespielten „Planet Hell“ und „Over The Hills And Far Away“, die sorgsam für Anettes und Marcos Stimme umarrangiert wurden, sowie „Dead To The World“ beweisen einmal mehr, dass Anette ehemalige Tarja-Standards auf ihre ganz eigene Weise singen kann.

Zwischendurch dürfen sich die Zuschauer über eine träumerische Akustikversion von „Nemo“, die aktuelle Single „The Crow, The Owl And The Dove“ und das bedrohliche „Ghost River“ freuen, bevor das Instrumental „Finlandia“ von Jean Sibelius den Zugabenblock einleitet. Der macht erneut klar, dass Nightwish voll auf ihr aktuelles Album setzen. Auch die beiden Zugaben „Song Of Myself“ und das passende „Last Ride Of The Day“ mit Feuerwerk stammen von der neuen Scheibe; den orchestralen Titelsong als Outro mitgezählt, kommen rund zehn neue Songs zum Zuge. Die funktionieren live übrigens sehr gut, auch wenn die „Dark Passion Play“-Songs und ältere Nummern natürlich am meisten abgefeiert werden. Auch an Pyroeffekten wurde nicht gespart.

Video Thumbnail
Nightwish - Ghost River (Live @ Zürich 2012 - 5/6)

Mein Fazit des Abends: Nightwish verstehen es, eine tolle Show zu liefern! Die Jungs beherrschen ihr Handwerk und auch die Kunst der Inszenierung. Der heimliche Frontmann war Marco – nicht nur bei den Stücken, in denen er einen Vocalpart hatte. Der herumwirbelnde Emppu, Jukka und Tuomas, der an seinem Keyboard immer wieder zur Flasche Wein greift, bieten einen sehr überzeugenden Auftritt und wirken mit einer dauergrinsenden, tanzenden und fantastisch singenden Anette homogen. Der Spass ist den Musikern auf der Bühne jedenfalls deutlich anzusehen, Donockleys Einsätze machen den Sound noch facettenreicher. Die Spielfreude, eine gelungene Setlist und die opulente Show sind es definitiv Wert, sich Nightwish zu Gemüte zu führen!

Setlist:

  1. Taikatalvi
  2. Storytime
  3. Wish I Had an Angel
  4. Amaranth
  5. Scaretale
  6. Slow, Love, Slow
  7. I Want My Tears Back
  8. Come Cover Me
  9. The Crow, the Owl and the Dove
  10. The Islander
  11. Nemo
  12. Last of the Wilds
  13. Planet Hell
  14. Ghost River
  15. Dead to the World
  16. Over the Hills and Far Away (Gary Moore cover)
  17. Encore:

  18. Finlandia (Jean Sibelius cover)
  19. Song of Myself
  20. Last Ride of the Day
Video Thumbnail
Nightwish - Nemo - live @ Hallenstadion in Zurich 24.4.2012
Nightwish - Das Konzert Review
7.7 Total
0 Nutzerwertung (0 votes)
Atmosphäre9
Performance9
Akustik8
Sichtverhältnisse8
Vor-Ort-Service7
Sanitäre Einrichtungen7
Parkplatzsituation6
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one