DBD: Welcome To The Night – Night Demon

For the Single „Welcome To The Night“ have Night Demon unpacked a music video for you. The metal band put on 21. April with their new album „Darkness Remains“ After…

Nails
Night Demon - "Welcome To The Night" (Official Video)

Album Review: Night Demon – Curse Of The Damned

The album „Curse Of The Damned“ be a reminiscent of the early days of the NWOBHM, Because „Night Demon“ Ting from sunny California it from the beginning as a British bomb from the year 1981 and sound to almost 100% nach dem New Wave of British Heavy Metal-Sound, as it once cult groups such as „Diamond Head“ or „Jaguar“ made. With one foot in the classic Hard Rock, with the other standing in the energy of punk, you play through strong, often speedy songs with a lot of power, but also are melodically on the other side. The band plays as authentic as few, the primitive sound to England 1980 transport in the presence of. „Curse Of The Damned“ is more than Music, there is a feeling, a message mediating, tells which of rebellion and independence, of otherness and to a community, which is the test of time. In short: It is the story of Metals!

Night Demon - Curse Of The Damned

The Metal Trio „Night Demon“ comes from Ventura, a town north of Los Angeles, consists of vocalist / bassist Jarvis Leatherby, Guitarist Brent Woodward and drummer Dusty Squires. The band has only been 2012 active and looks far back on a self-titled EP, which already brought the underground boil. Here passion and living out the sounds are written large. The band combines the musical vision of all three members with influences, the like of sizes of old-school Metals „Iron Maiden“, „METALLICA“, „Diamond Head“, „Angel Witch“, „Riot“ and „Saxon“ to the punk legend „The Misfits“ reach. although „Night Demon“ present these roots proud, find both modern and contemporary attitudes in their songs. The plate then also, what the EP promised: Eleven times strong traditional Metal, is in which wallowed in so many cliche. That's certainly fun, even if you've heard this kind of music often.

Night Demon

The Upspeedtrack „Screams In The Night“ put it on now „Curse Of The Damned“ The, their success story going. Some songs do not emphasize one, because such a thing as average, there is not on this album, no matter what pace they strike. Melodic, harsh vocals, just such, two-part guitar and a healthy pinch of punk, held together by a natural, direct production. „Night Demon“ gathered on „Curse Of The Damned“ a whole range of great hits, each with a catchy chorus, people like to always listen again. That goes with „Screams In The Night“ The, continues in the epic title track and is dashing of the „Satan“ and „Full Speed Ahead“ continued. Subsequently, a short atmospheric intro and dragging riffing „The Howling Man“ announced, the then but quickly switches to a speedy midtempo.

Nails
Night Demon - Curse Of The Damned

Jarvis Leatherby vocals waive clumsy cry and carry a lot of passion and melody. The eleven numbers sound like that of genuine and authentic, that it is hard to believe, that the shekel of the year comes. Coole Das Diamond-Head-Worshipping, you hear the song (!), In „Livin‘ Dangerous“ simply fits like ass on bucket and the mid-tempo song „save me now“ has been going through just as power ballad. A nice steely brand bassline and riffs are well proven by a wide production. An awesome riff chases the next and have together with strong solos with flair of the period „Night Demon“ tonnenweise Feeling der New Wave Of British Heavy Metal.

Night Demon Logo

One or the other may now find this band unoriginal or stale, but on an album, that sounds so, as if it were 1982 recorded and 2015 rediscovered, is this criticism by loose, especially „Curse Of The Damned“ stands up to comparison with the stylistic models at any time. The cool voice, the cool riffs and melodic choruses, the sound harmonically, but just as dirty and punky, as it must be flat and as you can sometimes look the other way about, that then in the course of the eleven songs and when actually nevertheless a- and make the same song ideas and riffs wide. But that does not, because the disc just totally fresh and new sounds. For old-school metalheads „Curse Of The Damned“ an absolute feast of joy and not least through songs like the title track, the official „Mastermind“, the mangy „Killer“ or „Heavy Metal Heat“ The three boys have gained a place in my heart Metal. So you can call the debut as successful.

Night Demon

„Night Demon“ operate in an instant all the necessary attributes, the heritage of titans like „Diamond Head“, „Angel Witch“ or „Tygers of Pan Tang“ required. The music speaks for itself and „Curse Of The Damned“ drilled deeper with each pass into the brain. A few more ideas and the next slice of Amis is finally a killer with highest score! One can literally feel how much passion has put the trio in the album. This affects not placed, because it just „In“ is traditional heavy metal playing. „Night Demon“ are authentic and makes the entire distance everything right. The songwriting is varied and the boys Knowledge Exactly, when they slow down, or. must put. Guitarist Brent Woodward has a keen sense of, when he can play in the front and when he has to hold back. Failures there to "Curse Of The Damned" not to complain – here right from production through the cover to the song material just about anything. This album would have been a real firecracker in the wedding of the NWOBHM and fans of the sport should be the part missed by no means. „Night Demon“ raise the bar for all subsequent releases this year high damn high. So friends, unsheathed Wallets, here comes the new gospel of the NWOBHM!

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Tracklist:

  1. Screams In The Night
  2. Curse Of The Damned
  3. Satan
  4. Full Speed Ahead
  5. The Howling Man
  6. Heavy Metal Heat
  7. Livin‘ Dangerous
  8. Mastermind
  9. Run for your life
  10. Killer
  11. save me now
Album Review: Night Demon - Curse Of The Damned
9.6 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality9
Time10
Musical skills10
Singing10
Lyrics9
Substance10
Production10
Longevity9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Album Review: Night Demon – Curse Of The Damned

Das Album „Curse Of The Damned“ lässt einem an die frühen Tage des NWoBHM erinnern, denn „Night Demon“ aus dem sonnigen Kalifornien tönen darauf von Beginn an wie eine britische Bombe aus dem Jahre 1981 und klingen zu fast 100% nach dem New Wave of British Heavy Metal-Sound, wie ihn einst Kultgruppen wie „Diamond Head“ oder „Jaguar“ machten. Mit einem Fuss im klassischen Hardrock, mit dem anderen in der Energie des Punk stehend, spielt man sich durch kräftige, nicht selten speedige Songs mit jeder Menge Power, die auf der anderen Seite aber auch melodisch sind. Die Band schafft es so authentisch wie nur wenige, den urwüchsigen Sound Englands um 1980 in die Gegenwart zu transportieren. „Curse of the Damned“ ist mehr als Musik, es ist ein Gefühl, eine Message vermittelnd, welche von Rebellion und Eigenständigkeit erzählt, vom Anderssein und von einer Gemeinschaft, die die Zeiten überdauern wird. Kurzum: Es ist die Geschichte des Metals!

Night Demon - Curse Of The Damned

Das Metal-Trio „Night Demon“ stammt aus Ventura, einer Stadt nördlich von Los Angeles, besteht aus Sänger/Bassist Jarvis Leatherby, Gitarrist Brent Woodward und Schlagzeuger Dusty Squires. Die Band ist erst seit 2012 aktiv und blickt bisher auf eine selbst betitelte EP zurück, welche den Untergrund bereits in Wallung brachte. Hier werden Leidenschaft und das Ausleben des Sounds gross geschrieben. Die Band vereint die musikalischen Visionen aller drei Mitglieder mit Einflüssen, die von Grössen des Old-School-Metals wie „Iron Maiden“, „Metallica“, „Diamond Head“, „Angel Witch“, „Riot“ und „Saxon“ bis zur Punk-Legende „The Misfits“ reichen. Obwohl „Night Demon“ diese Wurzeln stolz präsentieren, findet man ebenso moderne wie zeitgemässe Attitüden in ihren Songs. Die Platte bietet dann auch, was die EP versprach: Elfmal kräftigen Traditions-Metal, bei dem sich in so manchem Klischee gesuhlt wird. Das macht zweifelsohne Spass, selbst wenn man diese Art von Musik schon oft gehört hat.

Night Demon

Mit dem Upspeedtrack „Screams In The Night“ legen sie nun auf „Curse Of The Damned“ los, um ihre Erfolgsgeschichte weiter zu schreiben. Einzelne Songs muss man nicht hervorheben, denn so etwas wie Durchschnitt gibt es auf diesem Album nicht, egal welches Tempo sie anschlagen. Melodischer, rauer Gesang, ebensolche, zweistimmige Gitarren und eine gesunde Prise Punk, zusammengehalten von einer natürlichen, direkten Produktion. „Night Demon“ versammelt auf „Curse Of The Damned“ eine ganze Reihe erstklassiger Hits, jeder davon mit einem eingängigen Refrain, den man gerne immer wieder hört. Das geht mit „Screams In The Night“ los, setzt sich im epischeren Titelsong fort und wird von den flotten „Satan“ und „Full Speed Ahead“ weitergeführt. Anschliessend wird mit einem kurzen atmosphärischen Intro und schleppendem Riffing „The Howling Man“ angekündigt, der dann jedoch recht schnell in ein zügiges Midtempo wechselt.

Video Thumbnail
Night Demon - Curse Of The Damned

Jarvis Leatherby Vocals verzichten auf plumpes Geschrei und transportieren jede Menge Leidenschaft und Melodie. Die elf Nummern klingen so was von echt und original, dass es kaum zu glauben ist, dass der Silberling aus diesem Jahr stammt. Das coole Diamond-Head-Worshipping, man höre den Gesang (!), in „Livin‘ Dangerous“ passt einfach wie Arsch auf Eimer und der Midtemposong „Save Me Now“ geht schon fast als Powerballade durch. Ein schön stählern nagelnder Bass und fette Riffs werden von einer breiten Produktion gut herausgestellt. Ein geiles Riff jagt das nächste und zusammen mit starken Soli mit Flair der Gründerzeit haben „Night Demon“ tonnenweise Feeling der New Wave Of British Heavy Metal.

Night Demon Logo

Der eine oder andere mag nun diese Band unoriginell oder altbacken finden, aber an einem Album, das so klingt, als wäre es 1982 aufgenommen und 2015 wiederentdeckt worden, geht diese Kritik locker vorbei, zumal „Curse Of The Damned“ den Vergleich zu den stilistischen Vorbildern zu keiner Zeit scheuen muss. Die coole Stimme, die coolen Riffs und die melodischen Refrains klingen harmonisch, aber genau so dreckig und punkig, wie es eben sein muss und da kann man auch mal darüber wegsehen, dass sich im Laufe der elf Songs dann und wann eigentlich doch ein- und dieselben Songideen und Riffs breit machen. Das macht aber nichts, weil die Scheibe einfach total frisch und unverbraucht klingt. Für Old-School Metalheads ist „Curse Of The Damned“ ein absolutes Freudenfest und nicht zuletzt durch Songs wie dem Titeltrack, das amtliche „Mastermind“, das räudige „Killer“ oder „Heavy Metal Heat“ haben sich die drei Jungs einen Platz in meinem Metal Herzen erkämpft. So kann man das Debüt als gelungen bezeichnen.

Night Demon

„Night Demon“ bedienen im Handumdrehen alle notwendigen Attribute, die das Erbe von Titanen wie „Diamond Head“, „Angel Witch“ oder den „Tygers of Pan Tang“ verlangt. Die Musik spricht für sich und „Curse Of The Damned“ bohrt sich mit jedem Durchlauf tiefer ins Hirn. Ein paar Ideen mehr und die nächste Scheibe der Amis wird endgültig ein Killer mit Höchstnote! Man kann förmlich fühlen wie viel Herzblut das Trio in das Album gesteckt hat. Hier wirkt nichts aufgesetzt, weil es gerade „in“ ist traditionellen Heavy Metal zuspielen. „Night Demon“ sind authentisch und macht über die gesamte Distanz alles richtig. Das Songwriting ist abwechslungsreich und die Jungs wissen genau, wann sie das Tempo drosseln, bzw. anziehen müssen. Gitarrist Brent Woodward hat ein feines Gespür dafür, wann er sich in den Vordergrund spielen kann und wann er sich zurück halten muss. Ausfälle gibt es auf “Curse Of The Damned” nicht zu beklagen – hier stimmt von der Produktion über das Cover bis zum Songmaterial einfach alles. Dieses Album wäre auch in der Hochzeit der NWoBHM ein echter Kracher gewesen und Fans der Spielart sollten sich das Teil keinesfalls entgehen lassen. „Night Demon“ legen die Messlatte für alle folgenden Veröffentlichungen in diesem Jahr qualitativ verdammt hoch. Also Freunde, Geldbörsen gezückt, hier kommt das neue Evangelium der NWoBHM!

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. Screams In The Night
  2. Curse Of The Damned
  3. Satan
  4. Full Speed Ahead
  5. The Howling Man
  6. Heavy Metal Heat
  7. Livin‘ Dangerous
  8. Mastermind
  9. Run For Your Life
  10. Killer
  11. Save Me Now
Album Review: Night Demon - Curse Of The Damned
9.6 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität9
Tempo10
Musikalische Fähigkeiten10
Gesang10
Songtexte9
Substanz10
Produktion10
Langlebigkeit9
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one