Album Review: Mortal Peril – Walking On Hellish Trails

In recent times, you get back more often old-school thrash-Metal to hear and so are „Mortal Peril“ Representatives of this genre. With „Walking On Hellish Trails“ Cologne published last month, her debut album. „Mortal Peril“ were in 2010 founded by drummer Jonas Linnartz and bassist / singer Jan Radermacher in industrial backwater Wesseling and made 2012 with their EP „Of Black Days And Cruel Alliances“ for the first time attention. With their debut album „Walking On Hellish Trails“ Mortal Peril be well seasoned with a rough, punky energy and classic NWOBHM-tunes their first longplayer on the thrashing of humanity going.

Mortal Peril - Walking On Hellish Trails

As mentioned „Mortal Peril“ year 2010 founded by Jonas and Jan and after the accession of guitarists Tasso first gigs were played in clubs and house parties. 2011 were reinforced with Lucas as a second guitarist and middle 2012 followed by the first EP „Of Black Days and Cruel Alliances“, which was like not only in Germany, but also positive reviews from Italy, France and South America reaped. 2013 Tasso left the band, to open up other musical directions, followed shortly thereafter Lucas stepped out for professional reasons from the band. After several months of searching, the Thrasher completed early 2014 again with Bjornsson Greene and Fabian Gerhardt to the Sechssaitern and tilled the further stages in NRW. With this lineup was also the first album „Walking on Hellisch Trails“ taken on its own. Sorry, had to end 2014 Fabian off study due and the place was so clear for the guitarist Pete Rode. Once again, completely and with their album in killing Mortal Peril forward, other off some big gigs.

Mortal Peril - Band

Technically sound celebrate Mortal Peril Thrash from, well seasoned with punky energy and NWOBHM classic tunes. Despite all 80s nostalgia press the four boys their own stamp on songs. The quartet is based on fast, punk and thrash metal with lots of power aufwartenden, which was enriched with a generous helping of NWOBHM. Mortal Peril also not invent the wheel, it is absolutely authentic and cut live purely as a well lubricated suppositories. „Clear in the head or drunken as shit“ - After these lines from the opener is clear, under which the motto for studio work. Shows the varied themes of the songs, that songwriter and frontman January Radermacher creatively and completely leaves the band does not want to put in a stylistic corner. So socially critical topics in pieces like „Death to all the Tyrants“ and „Devil Seed“ of humorous texts such as in „Lord Wampo“ or „Eyekil are“ replaced, ultimately by the tribute song „Inglorious Basterds“ is rounded to the eponymous film.

Video Thumbnail

Radermacher draws his inspiration the songs from experienced events. Thus, for example the song „Eyekil are“ a tribute to it, that drummer Jonas with his drumstick hit upon initial Preview this piece eye and contact lens shattered his right eye. Thus, he provided the perfect template for one of the best songs on the album. With their sound convince the guys across the board. The compositions of hard drum beats, rhythmic basslines and twin guitar riffs give the unmistakable sound of the band. The whole is crowned by the melodic guitar solos beideen axeman. The production is managed and lyrically one uses the usual clichés, where in the song „Hail Satan“ with „Rape Maria, Kill Jesus“ etc. but a little bird is shot and the chorus of „The Ones Left Behind“ something comes along even infantile.

Mortal Peril - Logo

„Walking on hellish trails“ is a diverse album, shows that, that „Mortal Peril“ the thrash metal sound of the 80s resurrects again and wanting more. This album is the best example of, that even a completely produced in-house album hide from other boards must. What the four boys have beaten into here, can simply sit still no head on the neck. The standout is very horny „My Inner Condition“, „Eyekil are“ as well as the rapid opener „2 Step Crew“. The band's style is not limited to pure Thrash Metal, Influences from punk, Hardcore and NWOBHM are sometimes more, sometimes less to hear. The band expresses their songs very own stamp on and somehow I have the feeling, that in the future „Mortal Peril“ some will hear. In this sense,: „Clear in the head or drunken as shit, Mortal peril Turnschuh crew is wasting the pit!“


  1. 2 Step Crew
  2. The Ones Left behind
  3. Escalation
  4. Devil’s Seed
  5. Eyekil are
  6. Hail Satan
  7. Warcult
  8. Death To All The Tyrants
  9. My Inner Condition
  10. Senor Wampo
  11. Inglorious Basterds
  12. Hellish Trails
Mortal Peril - Walking On Hellish Trails
7.7 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills8.5
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Mortal Peril – Walking On Hellish Trails

In der letzten Zeit bekommt man wieder häufiger Oldschool-Thrash-Metal zu hören und so sind auch „Mortal Peril“ Vertreter dieses Genres. Mit „Walking On Hellish Trails“ veröffentlichten die Kölner vergangenen Monat ihr Debüt-Album. „Mortal Peril“ wurden im Jahr 2010 von Schlagzeuger Jonas Linnartz und Bassist/Sänger Jan Radermacher im Industrie-Kaff Wesseling gegründet und machte 2012 mit ihrer EP „Of Black Days And Cruel Alliances“ zum ersten Mal auf sich aufmerksam. Mit ihrem Debütalbum „Walking On Hellish Trails“ lassen Mortal Peril gut abgeschmeckt mit rauer, punkiger Energie und klassischen NWOBHM-Melodien ihren ersten Longplayer auf den thrashenden Teil der Menschheit los.

Mortal Peril - Walking On Hellish Trails

Wie erwähnt wurde „Mortal Peril“ im Jahr 2010 durch Jonas und Jan gegründet und nach dem Zugang von Gitarristen Tasso wurden erste Gigs in Clubs und auf Hauspartys gespielt. 2011 verstärkte man sich mit Lucas als zweitem Gitarristen und Mitte 2012 folgte die erste EP „Of Black Days and Cruel Alliances“, welche nicht nur in Deutschland gefallen fand, sondern auch positive Kritiken aus Italien, Frankreich und Südamerika erntete. 2013 verliess Tasso die Band, um sich anderen musikalischen Richtungen zu öffnen, worauf kurz darauf auch Lucas aus beruflichen Gründen aus der Band ausstieg. Nach einigen Monaten der Suche vervollständigten sich die Thrasher Anfang 2014 wieder mit Bjornsson Greene und Fabian Gerhardt an den Sechssaitern und beackerten weiter die Bühnen in NRW. In dieser Besetzung wurde auch das erste Album „Walking on Hellisch Trails“ in Eigenregie aufgenommen. Leider musste Ende 2014 Fabian studiumsbedingt aussteigen und so war der Platz frei für den Gitarrist Pete Rode. Wieder einmal vollständig und mit ihrem Album im Rücken freuen sich Mortal Peril darauf, ein paar heftige Gigs runterzureissen.

Mortal Peril - Band

Soundtechnisch feiern Mortal Peril den Thrash ab, gut abgeschmeckt mit punkiger Energie und klassischen NWOBHM-Melodien. Trotz aller 80iger Nostalgie drücken die vier Jungs ihren Songs einen eigenen Stempel auf. Das Quartett setzt auf schnellen, punkigen und mit viel Power aufwartenden Thrash Metal, der mit einer gehörigen Portion NWOBHM angereichert wurde. Auch Mortal Peril erfinden das Rad nicht neu, sind dafür absolut authentisch und hauen live rein wie ein gut geschmiertes Zäpfchen. „Clear in the head or drunken as shit“ – nach diesen Zeilen aus dem Opener ist klar, unter welchem Motto die Studioarbeiten standen. Die abwechslungsreiche Thematik der Songs zeigt, dass Songschreiber und Frontman Jan Radermacher sich kreativ völlig auslässt und die Band sich nicht in eine stilistische Ecke stellen möchte. So werden gesellschaftskritische Themen in Stücken wie „Death to all the Tyrants“ und „Devil Seed“ von humorvollen Texten wie in „Señor Wampo“ oder „Eyekiller“ abgelöst, was letztendlich durch den Tribute-Song „Inglorious Basterds“ zum namensgebenden Film abgerundet wird.

Video Thumbnail
INGLORIOUS BASTERDS (MORTAL PERIL)

Radermacher zieht seine Inspiration zu den Songs aus erlebten Ereignissen. So ist zum Beispiel der Song „Eyekiller“ eine Hommage daran, dass sich Drummer Jonas beim erstmaligen Anspielen dieses Stückes mit seinem Drumstick ins Auge schlug und seine Kontaktlinse direkt im Auge zersprang. Somit lieferte er die perfekte Vorlage für einen der besten Songs des Albums. Mit ihrem Sound überzeugen die Jungs auf ganzer Linie. Die Kompositionen aus harten Drumbeats, rhythmischen Basslines und zweistimmigen Gitarrenriffs ergeben den unverkennbaren Sound der Band. Gekrönt wird das Ganze durch die melodiösen Gitarrensoli der beideen Axtschwinger. Die Produktion ist gelungen und textlich bedient man sich der üblichen Clichés, wobei im Song „Hail Satan“ mit „Rape Maria, Kill Jesus“ etc. doch ein wenig der Vogel abgeschossen wird und auch der Refrain von „The Ones Left Behind“ etwas gar infantil daher kommt.

Mortal Peril - Logo

„Walking on hellish trails“ ist ein abwechslungsreiches Album, dass zeigt, dass „Mortal Peril“ den Thrash-Metal-Sound der 80er Jahre wieder auferstehen lässt und Lust auf mehr macht. Dieses Album ist das beste Beispiel dafür, dass sich auch ein ganz in Eigenregie produziertes Album nicht vor anderen Platten verstecken muss. Was die vier Jungs hier eingeprügelt haben, lässt einfach keinen Kopf still auf dem Hals sitzen. Herausragend sind das sehr geile „My Inner Condition“, „Eyekiller“ sowie der rasante Opener „2 Step Crew“. Der Stil der Band beschränkt sich nicht auf reinen Thrash Metal, Einflüsse aus Punk, Hardcore und NWOBHM sind mal mehr, mal weniger stark zu hören. Die Band drückt ihren Songs einen ganz eigenen Stempel auf und irgendwie habe ich das Gefühl, dass man in Zukunft von „Mortal Peril“ noch einiges hören wird. In diesem Sinne: „Clear in the head or drunken as shit, Mortal peril Turnschuh crew is wasting the pit!“

Tracklist:

  1. 2 Step Crew
  2. The Ones Left behind
  3. Escalation
  4. Devil’s Seed
  5. Eyekiller
  6. Hail Satan
  7. Warcult
  8. Death To All The Tyrants
  9. My Inner Condition
  10. Senor Wampo
  11. Inglorious Basterds
  12. Hellish Trails
Mortal Peril - Walking On Hellish Trails
7.7 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität7.5
Tempo9
Musikalische Fähigkeiten8.5
Gesang8
Songtexte7
Substanz7.5
Produktion7.5
Langlebigkeit6.5
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one