ZZ Top: The Sharp Dressed Men in Locarno

On one of the hottest weekends until now 2010 concentrates am Moon & Stars Festival in Locarno last Saturday probably one of the most diverse guitar-Blues Bands from Texas to: ZZ Top. Since the atmosphere in Locarno anmutet pretty special but I found it the perfect place, Messrs. appraised to live once. The Piazza Grande exudes an extravagant, cozy ambience and thank God it has not only the audience that otherwise redundant in Locarno encountered Zurich snobbish. This whore slurping diesel pack is to make otherwise in Locarno on every corner, so be careful! Fortunately, the festival will hold approximately 12’000 Audience and so was the audience was mixed very well and were able to ZZ Top, the Piazza Grande to rock really! Yeah!

Unfortunately, denied the preliminary program of the guitar gods, of its Art to play the instrument showing off like a dog just about everything starts läufiger, to bless it, respectively so as to properly operate Doll onanism. Eggs, the man knows his intrument, undoubtedly, Not for nothing is a five-time Grammy Award winner is, but I stand not even on the guitar Gewichse. Whether or Progressive Psychedelic Guitar Music, Can I be sure not easy, although he admitted everything takes out from the guitar, what is possible: Rock, Jazz, Funk, all intoxicating mix, very impressive and ever, but something of not my style. A whole hour „spoiled“ he us with his music and the crowd tried to tune the main act, what was in my opinion not really succeeded, but whatever, now it’s time for Rock ’n‘ Roll!

Video Thumbnail
ZZ TOP Locarno moon&stars 10.07.2010 - 3 - Hey Joe

This from Houston, Texas native blues rock trio with genuine flair for hits like „Gimme All Your Lovin'“ or „Legs“ existed since its inception in 1969 the same three musicians: Singer and guitarist Billy Gibbon, Singer and bassist Dusty Hill and the only beardless Frank Beard on drums. The men see virtually even for years always irrespective of: Trenchcoat, Hats, their beards, and of course their sunglasses. Today, a little gray beards, But the blues rock they still have in their blood, No question, because that is what they show from the beginning of their show and their instruments like they have completely under control…

On their first two albums, their blues roots were strongly to the fore. The world's commercial breakthrough came in 1983 with the acclaimed album „Eliminator“, which supplemented the only guitar-based blues with drum machines and synthesizers. With „Eliminator“ also their videos on MTV to be a perennial – not least thanks to the scantily clad sexy Women, with which the band members herumturtelten, but not at the show in Locarno were represented, which are also not represented as a shortcoming. Who needed it, was prancing ladies when one or the other song admired on the big screen :)

Video Thumbnail
legs, zz top, large square, locarno 10.07.2010.

What I particularly liked, is the fact, that the long-established gentlemen have not needed, on stage rumzuhopsen like rubber balls, have no big pyro show or other odds and ends or fuss organize, no, a common rockers the boots, the guitars, the move for a few bars at the same time forward and back or leg twitching in duet is all you, to put the audience in ecstasy. Just great to watch the masters of small gestures while listening to this brilliant music…

The setlist (see below) Handsome was a true potpourri of the band's career. A few songs from the early blues from the 70s, a few more commercial hits from the 80s and some newer songs. Absolutely awesome! In this fun backdrop, the show was able to like it very well and was of the best technology and the sound was absolutely hammer over moderately! Behind a huge canvas, on the camera movements including on parked trucks, Auto- and engine parts, Excerpts from wrestling fights and old westerns were seen. Before that, the drums – equipped with aluminum wheels, Exhaust and shock absorbers. This Concert, purist and cool, belongs to me but one of the highlights this year and left it in my eyes Kiss look pale :)

Video Thumbnail
gimme all your lovin' , zz top, large square, locarno 10.07.2010.

The setlist was as follows:

  1. Got Me Under Pressure
  2. Waitin‘ for the Bus
  3. Jesus Just Left Chicago
  4. Pincushion
  5. I’m Bad I’m Nationwide
  6. Future Blues (Willie Brown cover)
  7. Rock Me Baby (B.B. King cover)
  8. Cheap Sunglasses
  9. I Need You Tonight
  10. Hey Joe (Jimi Hendrix cover)
  11. Brown Sugar
  12. Party on the Patio
  13. Just Got Paid
  14. Gimme All Your Lovin‘
  15. Sharp Dressed Man
  16. Legs
  17. La Grange
  18. Tush

For the accompanying videos in this article I'd like with me dujak222 and buckyx and for the great pictures Romy thank you. Who now the men also would like to hear live, has again this fall in the Zurich Hallenstadion opportunity…

ZZ Top: The Sharp Dressed Men in Locarno
8.4 Total
0 User Rating (0 votes)
Parking situation5
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

ZZ Top: The Sharp Dressed Men in Locarno

An einem der bis jetzt heissesten Wochenenden 2010 traten am Moon & Stars Festival letzten Samstag in Locarno eine der wohl facettenreichsten Gitarren-Blues Bands aus Texas auf: ZZ Top. Da das Ambiente in Locarno recht speziell anmutet fand ich dies doch den idealen Ort, die Herren einmal Live zu begutachten. Die Piazza Grande verströmt eine extravagante, gemütliche Ambiance und gottseidank hat es im Publikum nicht nur die ansonsten in Locarno überzählig anzutreffenden versnobten Zürcher. Dieses Nuttendiesel schlürfende Pack ist ansonsten in Locarno an jeder Ecke zu treffen, also Vorsicht! Zum Glück fasst das Festival ungefähr 12’000 Zuschauer und so war das Publikum doch sehr gut durchmischt und ZZ Top vermochten die Piazza Grande so richtig zu rocken! Yeah!

Leider bestritt das Vorprogramm einer der Gitarrengötter, der seine Kunst das Instrument zu spielen vorführt wie ein läufiger Hund so ziemlich alles anspringt, um es zu beglücken, resp um so richtig doll Onanie zu betreiben. Jaja, der Mann beherrscht sein Intrument, zweifellos, nicht umsonst wird man fünffacher Grammy Award Gewinner, aber ich steh nun mal nicht auf das Gitarren Gewichse. Egal ob Psychedelic oder Progressive Guitar Musik, sein Können überzeugt mich einfach nicht, obwohl er zugegeben alles aus der Gitarre rausholt, was möglich ist: Rock, Jazz, Funk, alles berauschend gemixt, äusserst beeindruckend und überhaupt, aber sowas von nicht mein Ding. Eine geschlagene Stunde lang „verwöhnte“ er uns mit seiner Musik und versuchte die Menschenmenge auf den Hauptakt einzustimmen, was ihm aus meiner Sicht nicht wirklich gelang, aber was solls, now it’s time for Rock ’n‘ Roll!

Video Thumbnail
ZZ TOP Locarno moon&stars 10.07.2010 - 3 - Hey Joe

Das aus Houston, Texas stammende Bluesrock-Trio mit dem sicheren Gespür für Hits wie „Gimme All Your Lovin'“ oder „Legs“ besteht seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1969 aus den gleichen drei Musikern: Sänger und Gitarrist Billy Gibbon, Sänger und Bassist Dusty Hill sowie dem einzig bartlosen Frank Beard am Schlagzeug. Die Herren sehen auch seit Jahren praktisch immer gleich aus: Trenchcoat, Hüte, ihre Bärte und natürlich ihre Sonnenbrillen. Heute sind die Bärte ein bisschen grauer, aber den Bluesrock haben sie noch immer im Blut, keine Frage, denn genau dies zeigen sie von Anbeginn ihrer Show und ihre Instrumente haben sie dabei völlig im Griff…

Auf ihren ersten beiden Alben kamen ihre Blueswurzeln stark zum Vorschein. Der weltweit kommerzielle Durchbruch gelang dem Trio im Jahr 1983 mit dem gepriesenen Album „Eliminator“, welches den erst gitarrenlastigen Blues mit Drummaschinen und Synthesizern ergänzte. Mit „Eliminator“ werden auch ihre Videos auf MTV zum Dauerbrenner – nicht zuletzt dank der leicht bekleideten sexy Frauen, mit denen die Bandmitglieder herumturtelten, aber an der Show in Locarno nicht vertreten waren, was auch in keinsterweise ein Manko darstellte. Wer es nötig hatte, konnte tänzelnde Damen beim einen oder anderen Song auf der Grossleinwand bewundern :)

Video Thumbnail
legs, zz top, piazza grande, locarno 10.07.2010.

Was mir besonders gefallen hat, ist der Umstand, dass es die alteingesessenen Herren nicht nötig haben, auf der Bühne rumzuhopsen wie Gummibälle, keine grosse Pyro Show haben oder sonstigen Klimbim oder Brimborium veranstalten, nein, ein gemeinsames Wippen der Stiefel, die Gitarren die sich für ein paar Takte gleichzeitig nach vorne und zurück bewegen oder ein Beinzucken im Duett reichen völlig aus, um das Publikum in Ekstase zu versetzen. Einfach grossartig den Meistern der kleinen Gesten zu zuschauen und dabei dieser genialen Musik zu lauschen…

Die Setlist (siehe unten) war ein wahrliches Potpurri der Karriere der Band. Ein paar Songs aus den bluesigen Anfängen aus den 70ern, ein paar kommerziellere Hits aus den 80ern und ein paar neuere Songs. Absolut genial! In dieser super Kulisse vermochte die Show doch äusserst zu gefallen und auch Technik war vom Feinsten und der Sound kam absolut hammermässig rüber! Hinten eine riesen Leinwand, auf der unter anderem Kamerafahrten über geparkte Trucks, Auto- und Motoreinzelteile, Ausschnitte aus Wrestling-Kämpfen und alten Western zu sehen waren. Davor das Schlagzeug – ausgestattet mit Alu-Felgen, Auspuff und Stossdämpfern. Dieses Konzert, puristisch und cool, gehört für mich doch zu einem der Highlights in diesem Jahr und liessen in meinen Augen Kiss blass aussehen :)

Video Thumbnail
gimme all your lovin' , zz top, piazza grande, locarno 10.07.2010.

Die Setlist war wie folgt:

  1. Got Me Under Pressure
  2. Waitin‘ for the Bus
  3. Jesus Just Left Chicago
  4. Pincushion
  5. I’m Bad I’m Nationwide
  6. Future Blues (Willie Brown cover)
  7. Rock Me Baby (B.B. King cover)
  8. Cheap Sunglasses
  9. I Need You Tonight
  10. Hey Joe (Jimi Hendrix cover)
  11. Brown Sugar
  12. Party on the Patio
  13. Just Got Paid
  14. Gimme All Your Lovin‘
  15. Sharp Dressed Man
  16. Legs
  17. La Grange
  18. Tush

Für die in diesem Artikel beigefügten Videos möcht ich mich bei dujak222 und buckyx und für die tollen Bilder bei Romy bedanken. Wer nun die Herren auch gerne Live hören möchte, hat diesen Herbst in Zürcher Hallenstadion nochmals die Gelegenheit…

ZZ Top: The Sharp Dressed Men in Locarno
8.4 Total
0 Nutzerwertung (0 votes)
Atmosphäre10
Performance10
Akustik10
Sichtverhältnisse9
Vor-Ort-Service9
Sanitäre Einrichtungen6
Parkplatzsituation5
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one