Album Review: Mono Inc. – Nevermore

Mono Inc. - GluttonMonomania is a term from the psychiatric nosology of early 19. Century and means as much as single delusion, in contrast to the complete madness. Annual 2003 this term was the template for naming the band from Hamburg Mono Inc. and 10 Years later in the year 2013 beat Mono Inc. another chapter in her work on! Joachim Witt und Mono Inc.-Mastermind Martin Engler sind seit Witt’s letzter CD enge Freunde geworden und so kam man auf die Idee, to make a common number. But the question, who should sing the language in which, the two came first not quite another. As Witt had but then texted an English verse and chorus Martin a German, were the convolutions of the two only really active. The Love the Music has the two poles connected and the Hamburger rock band succeeds with „Nevermore“ to reinvent itself, to remain true to their sound and yet bring a new dimension Mono Inc. to market. Even the much acclaimed predecessor „After the War“ was clear, is now available with the new album „Nevermore“ another great moment of glory at atmospheric art-rock-entertainment into the house.

As already mentioned, Martin Engler and Joachim Witt close friends and celebrate her every week „Club of the living Poet“. Joachim Here comes the good circumstance to, that Martin is an excellent cook, Witt on the stove itself can do nothing, but delight in fine dining. In this „Club of living poets“ arise abstruse ideas. One of them was, to make a common number, Not surprising at first sight, but the question, who should sing the language in which, the two came first not quite another, because traditionally Witt sings in German and in English Engler. When Joachim had but then texted an English verse and chorus Martin a German, were the convolutions of the two only really active. The result is a song, in which Martin has been inspired by Joachim, to keep the German chorus, whereupon he contributed a purely German verse. The result goes by the name „Going the extra mile“ and „is to encourage people“, as the Mono Inc.-singer and Witt unison.

Video Thumbnail
MONO INC. - My Deal With God (official video clip)

Worn by some of these songs are practically as inspiration in flight originated in German language, what the band are very pleased. „Standstill would for us the creative Dead, why we have taken this step and burn it, the fans to showcase the new facet.“ Musically Mono Inc. between alternative- classify and dark skirt and her albums are of a serious, worn in places gloomy mood. Often repeated themes are loss and separation. The main instruments of the band members in the form of guitar, Bass and drums come to concerts other instruments used, said Martin Engler is happy to oblige acoustic guitar and piano. Although the band is from Germany and to a few concerts abroad also occurs primarily there, were the lyrics of Mono Inc. held exclusively in English until now. With „Nevermore“ come for the first time German texts for the course, which shine with poetry and poetry and the great tunes go immediately into the ear. A year after the top-10 album „After the War“ presents Mono Inc. sovereign with new and established influences and storm inexorably on their way to world domination monomaniac.

Mono Inc.

With the first track, the album has an opener, it has the right to be. For me, this fleet has, already eaten catchy tune at first hearing ear and taken root there fix. Take a popular nursery rhyme, can recite it from a child, processes it into a catchy chorus as possible, backed him with a NDH-reef, added to the wealth a keyboard carpet and you have a hit Astreiner. After six English-language albums, the first song presented in German language from its best side and since the first listen I catch myself always back, as I whistle the song to myself. Certainly the song to the next is Gothic-Party fill the dance floors. And even if the song ultimately do not like: „Three days of rain, three days Snow, then it no longer hurts.“ The passionate style of the Hamburg quartet has grown over the years to an equally interesting and enjoyable mix of many proven ingredients, who knows the alternative rock genre. The numerous hit tunes on this disc are once again current and as well as you would expect from this band, as unusual as snow in the Sahara.

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed

„Glutton“ convinced by a truly enormous variety and there are always new details to perceive in all things. I myself was the dark Gothic-Rock/Pop formation with Martin Engler (Vocals), Katha Mia (Drums), Carl Fornia (Guitar) und Manuel Antoni (Bass) to Greenfield Festival no term, but the compelling live performance with terrific power has fallen. For this reason, I was naturally curious about the new album. The whole disc is characterized by a degree of heat, which is reinforced by the voice of Joachim Witt. Likewise hitverdächtig presented „All that remains“, is to present something orchestral. After quieter pieces „Euthanasia“ and „A better way to die“, which by Martins deep, melancholy voice is carried, convinced „The clock ticks on“ and followed by „Heartbeat“ again a catchy tune. „Days like this“ I can imagine very well when driving on the highway. Also, the slow „I do not share you“, the rock „Happiness“ and the driving „My Deal with God“ can the high quality of the songwriting and production are held. Melancholic and contemplative then finally with „Nevermore“ finished strong this disc.

Mono Inc.

Mono Inc. can totally convincing with their latest work. Of the track selection via the instrumentation up to the cover art all seems very consistent. Musically somewhere in the great world between icebreaker, Oomph!, The Cure, H.I.M. and Nick Cave, the listener is presented a silver disc full of hits, makes the desire, to see the band live. After the first few seconds, shows the typical Mono Inc. Sound, because the band has stayed true to their style, despite the new German texts. With equally emotional and catchy song structures have Mono Inc. an optimal platform for their sophisticated and refined arts savvy game. The disc is musically more mainstream heavy, which does not mean, that this work would be bad, just because you made a swing on mass-compatible music. On the contrary, the album is not just for fans „Must-have“! In trading on the new album 9. August 2013 and each, the funny music from Rammstein, Icebreaker, Oomph! or Megaherz has, should be purely move this disc!

  1. The whole, The whole Segen
  2. Happiness
  3. My Deal With God
  4. No way Too Far
  5. Euthanasia
  6. All That Remains
  7. The Clock Ticks On
  8. A Better Way To Die
  9. Heartbeat
  10. Days Like This
  11. I Do not Share You
  12. Nevermore
Album Review: Mono Inc. - Nevermore
8.3 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Mono Inc. – Nimmermehr

Mono Inc. - NimmersattMonomanie ist ein Begriff aus der psychiatrischen Krankheitslehre des frühen 19. Jahrhunderts und bedeutet so viel wie Einzelwahn im Gegensatz zum vollständigen Wahnsinn. Im Jahre 2003 war dieser Begriff die Vorlage zur Namensfindung der Hamburger Band Mono Inc. und 10 Jahre später im Jahr 2013 schlagen Mono Inc. ein weiteres Kapitel in ihrem Schaffen auf! Joachim Witt und Mono Inc.-Mastermind Martin Engler sind seit Witt’s letzter CD enge Freunde geworden und so kam man auf die Idee, eine gemeinsame Nummer zu machen. Doch bei der Frage, wer in welcher Sprache singen sollte, kamen die beiden zunächst nicht recht zueinander. Als Witt dann aber eine englische Strophe getextet hatte und Martin einen deutschen Refrain, wurden die Gehirnwindungen der beiden erst richtig aktiv. Die Liebe zur Musik hat die beiden Pole verbunden und der Hamburger Rock-Band gelingt mit „Nimmermehr“ sich selbst neu zu erfinden, ihrem Sound treu zu bleiben und doch eine neue Mono Inc.-Dimension auf den Markt zu bringen. Bereits der viel beachtete Vorgänger „After the War“ konnte abräumen, nun steht mit dem neuen Album „Nimmermehr“ eine weitere grosse Sternstunde an atmosphärisch-rockiger Unterhaltungskunst ins Haus.

Wie bereits erwähnt sind Martin Engler und Joachim Witt enge Freunde und zelebrieren jede Woche ihren „Club der lebenden Dichter“. Dabei kommt Joachim der Umstand zu Gute, dass Martin ein exzellenter Koch ist, Witt selbst kann am Herd gar nichts, erfreut sich aber an erlesenen Speisen. Im Rahmen dieses „Club der lebenden Dichter“ entstehen abstruse Ideen. Eine davon war es, eine gemeinsame Nummer zu machen, was auf den ersten Blick nicht verwundert, doch bei der Frage, wer in welcher Sprache singen sollte, kamen die beiden zunächst nicht recht zueinander, denn traditionellerweise singt Witt in Deutsch und Engler in Englisch. Als Joachim dann aber eine englische Strophe getextet hatte und Martin einen deutschen Refrain, wurden die Gehirnwindungen der beiden erst richtig aktiv. Herausgekommen ist ein Song, bei dem Martin sich von Joachim hat inspirieren lassen, den deutschen Refrain zu behalten, woraufhin dieser eine rein deutsche Strophe beisteuerte. Das Ergebnis hört auf den Namen „Kein Weg zu weit“ und „soll den Menschen Mut machen“, so der Mono Inc.-Sänger und Witt unisono.

Vorschaubild
MONO INC. - My Deal With God (official video clip)

Getragen von dieser Inspiration sind quasi wie im Flug einige Songs in deutscher Sprache entstanden, worüber sich die Band sehr freut. „Stillstand wäre für uns der kreative Tot, weshalb wir diesen Schritt gegangen sind und darauf brennen, den Fans die neue Facette zu präsentieren.“ Musikalisch sind Mono Inc. zwischen Alternative- und Dark-Rock einzuordnen und ihre Alben werden von einer ernsten, stellenweise düsteren Stimmung getragen. Häufig aufgegriffene Themen sind Verlust und Trennung. Zu den Hauptinstrumenten der Bandmitglieder in Form von Gitarre, Bass und Schlagzeug kommen auf Konzerten weitere Instrumente zum Einsatz, so greift Martin Engler gerne zu Akustikgitarre und Piano. Obwohl die Band aus Deutschland stammt und bis auf wenige Konzerte im Ausland auch primär dort auftritt, waren die Texte von Mono Inc. bis jetzt ausnahmslos in englischer Sprache gehalten. Mit „Nimmermehr“ kommen nun zum ersten Mal deutsche Texte zum Zuge, welche mit Lyrik und Poesie glänzen und die grossen Melodien gehen sofort ins Ohr. Ein Jahr nach dem Top-10-Album „After the War“ präsentiert sich Mono Inc. souverän mit neuen und etablierten Einflüssen und stürmen unaufhaltsam weiter auf ihrem Weg zur monomanischen Weltherrschaft.

Mono Inc.

Mit dem ersten Track besitzt das Album einen Opener, der es richtig in sich hat. Bei mir hat sich diese flotte, eingängige Nummer bereits beim ersten Hören ins Ohr gefressen und sich dort fix eingenistet. Man nehme einen populären Kinderreim, lässt ihn von einem Kind rezitieren, verarbeitet ihn zu einem möglichst eingängigen Refrain, unterlegt ihn mit einem NDH-Riff, addiert zur Fülle einen Keyboard-Teppich und fertig ist ein astreiner Hit. Nach sechs englischsprachigen Alben präsentiert sich der erste Song in deutscher Sprache von seiner allerbesten Seite und seit dem ersten Hören erwische ich mich immer wieder, wie ich den Song vor mich hin pfeife. Mit Sicherheit wird der Song auf der nächsten Gothic-Party die Tanzflächen füllen. Und selbst wenn der Song letztendlich nicht gefallen sollte: „Drei Tage Regen, drei Tage Schnee, dann tut es nicht mehr weh.“ Der schwärmerische Stil des Hamburger Quartetts wuchs über die Jahre zu einer ebenso interessanten wie genussvollen Mischung aus vielen bewährten Bestandteilen, welche das alternative Rock-Genre kennt. Die zahlreichen Hit-Melodien auf dieser aktuellen Scheibe sind erneut und wie von dieser Band auch nicht anders zu erwarten, so ungewöhnlich wie Schnee in der Sahara.

ARVE Fehler:
Thats all folks! - Video not available

„Nimmersatt“ überzeugt mittels eines wahrlich enormen Abwechslungsreichtum und es sind immer wieder neue Feinheiten in allen Stücken wahrzunehmen. Mir selbst war die dunkle Gothic-Rock/Pop Formation mit Martin Engler (Vocals), Katha Mia (Drums), Carl Fornia (Guitar) und Manuel Antoni (Bass) bis zum Greenfield Festival kein Begriff, doch der überzeugende Live-Auftritt mit grandioser Power hat gefallen. Aus diesem Grund war ich natürlich gespannt auf das neue Album. Die ganze Scheibe zeichnet sich durch eine gewisse Wärme aus, die durch die Stimme von Joachim Witt verstärkt wird. Ebenso hitverdächtig präsentiert sich „Alles was bleibt“, das etwas orchestraler vorgetragen wird. Nach ruhigeren Stücken „Euthanasia“ und „A better way to die“, welches durch Martins tiefe, melancholische Stimme getragen wird, überzeugt „The clock ticks on“ und folgt mit „Herzschlag“ wieder ein Ohrwurm. „Days like this“ kann ich mir sehr gut beim Autofahren auf der Autobahn vorstellen. Auch mit dem langsamen „Ich teile dich nicht“, dem rockigen „Seligkeit“ und dem treibenden „My Deal with God“ kann die hohe Qualität im Songwriting und der Produktion gehalten werden. Melancholisch und besinnlich wird dann schliesslich mit „Nimmermehr“ diese starke Scheibe beendet.

Mono Inc.

Mono Inc. können auf ganzer Linie mit ihrem neusten Werk überzeugen. Von der Trackauswahl über die Instrumentierung bis hin zum Coverartwork wirkt alles äusserst stimmig. Musikalisch irgendwo in der grossen Welt zwischen Eisbrecher, Oomph!, The Cure, H.I.M. und Nick Cave, wird dem Hörer ein Silberling voller Hits präsentiert, der Lust macht, die Band live zu erleben. Schon nach den ersten Sekunden zeigt sich der typische Mono Inc. Sound, denn die Band ist ihrem Stil treu geblieben und dies trotz den neuen deutschen Texten. Mit gleichermassen emotionalen wie eingängigen Songstrukturen verfügen Mono Inc. über ein optimales Podium für ihre ausgefeilten und raffiniert versierten Spielkünste. Die Scheibe ist musikalisch eher mainstreamlastig, was nicht heisst, dass dieses Werk schlecht wäre, nur weil man einen Schwenk auf massenkompatible Musik gemacht hat. Im Gegenteil, das Album ist nicht nur für Fans ein „Must-have“! In den Handel kommt das neue Album am 9. August 2013 und jeder, der Spass an der Musik von Rammstein, Eisbrecher, Oomph! oder Megaherz hat, sollte sich diese Scheibe reinziehen!

  1. Heile, Heile Segen
  2. Seligkeit
  3. My Deal With God
  4. Kein Weg Zu Weit
  5. Euthanasia
  6. Alles Was Bleibt
  7. The Clock Ticks On
  8. A Better Way To Die
  9. Herzschlag
  10. Days Like This
  11. Ich Teile Dich Nicht
  12. Nimmermehr
Album Review: Mono Inc. - Nimmermehr
8.3 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität7
Tempo6
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8
Songtexte9
Substanz9
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit9
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?