Album Review: Mekong Delta – In A Mirror Darkly

Mekong Delta life since 1985 in the Progressive Thrash scene from, but from lack of imagination is no trace: The German troops to bandleader Ralf Hubert solemnly proclaimed, that the 25. April her new shekel „In A Mirror Darkly“ erscheinen wird. Who pure mainstream or level-free background music would, elsewhere must seek – Mekong Delta to score again with intelligence, Intransigence and courage. Your new album is called „In A Mirror Darkly“ and sets thematically the directives of the 2010s predecessor „Wanderer On The Edge Of Time“ Fort.

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Hubert reveals the new long groove: „For me begins Music not with A and ends with Z, but is an ongoing process. Extent one can „In A Mirror Darkly“ Although described as a continuation of the Walker story, However, it is not a copy, but an autonomous work. Each Mekong album sounds unique, and advanced in the original meaning of the word. As a composer, I let myself be aware drive, at always again to explore new artistic horizons.“ Your style remains faithful to the troops: „The new songs are, typisch Mekong Delta, all between five and seven minutes. In my view, precisely the right time acquisitions, to go stylistically sufficiently in depth to, but without producing lengths or artistic ambiguities. I think, we have again the right blend of complexity and continuous thread found.“

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

It has become a complex and challenging album. The German Progressive Thrash Metal-Band around the head and bassist Ralf Hubert is like no other contemporary group also anno 2014 innovation and autonomy. A total of eight songs, the musicians Martin LeMar (Singing), Ralf Hubert (bass, Guitar), Erik Adam H. Grösch (Guitar) and Alex Landsburg (Drums) For „In A Mirror Darkly“ recorded, including three purely instrumental numbers including a concert guitar intro. Hubert speaks of fast-paced songs like „Hindsight Bias“ with his brute topic in the middle part and the refined use of a tritone. Similarly, rapidly and continuously complex, the band goes into „The Armageddon Machine“ to work, where frontman Martin LeMar the chorus sings a catchy melody over a running background Spanish dance and scream the song at this point gives an amazing pop affinity. Enthralling uptempo class showcase Mekong Delta, for example, also in the instrumental tracks „Opening“ and „Inside The Outside Of The Inside“ with their varied arrangements.

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

The fast numbers associated with „The Sliver in Gods Eye“ and „Janus“ two stresses against slow tracks. In „Janus“ tell Hubert & Co. the story of the eponymous Roman God, a two-faced creature and symbol of the beginning and end, for a- and outputs. Mekong Delta grab here the different character features of creatures and their associated unpredictability on. „The Sliver in Gods Eye“ again reminds in orientation and atmosphere to the song „A Certain Fool (The Fool)“ Of „Wanderer On The Edge Of Time“ and critically the apparent stupidity of mankind. Hubert: „You could simply just ask: Why people are so stupid?“ have taken Mekong Delta the current pieces in the studio of her band members, the re-featured cover artwork is taken from an animation created for the album.

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

The high artistic standards, Hubert is in itself and his band, is also reflected this time in subject matter and stylistic direction of his music resists. Seit fast 30 Years enjoy Mekong Delta in the world of progressive metal sounds an excellent reputation as an independent and highly innovative band. Albums like „The Music Of Eric Zann“ (1988) or „Pictures At An Exhibition“ (1997) are classics of the genre and apply with their mix of Prog Metal, Classical and thrash as the pioneer of Stilmixtur, the now just a series of aligned imitators found. In this list of influential discs now ranks undoubtedly „In A Mirror Darkly“ a. The boys can what, but the sound is not quite mine. But who has fun at Progressive Thrash Metal should the disk necessarily listen!

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Tracklist:

  1. Introduction
  2. Opening
  3. The Armageddon Machine
  4. The Sliver in Gods Eye
  5. Janus
  6. Inside The Outside Of The Inside
  7. Hindsight Bias
  8. Mutant Messiah
Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly
6.3 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality7
Time7
Musical skills9
Singing4
Lyrics7
Substance6
Production8
Longevity2
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Album Review: Mekong Delta – In A Mirror Darkly

Mekong Delta leben sich seit 1985 in der Progressive-Thrash-Szene aus, doch von Einfallslosigkeit ist keine Spur: Die deutsche Truppe um Bandkopf Ralf Hubert verkündet feierlich, dass am 25. April ihr neuer Silberling „In A Mirror Darkly“ erscheinen wird. Wer puren Mainstream oder niveaulose Hintergrundberieselung möchte, muss woanders suchen – Mekong Delta punkten erneut mit Intelligenz, Kompromisslosigkeit und Mut. Ihre neue Scheibe heisst „In A Mirror Darkly“ und setzt thematisch die Direktiven des 2010er Vorgängers „Wanderer On The Edge Of Time“ fort.

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Hubert verrät zur neuen Langrille: „Für mich fängt Musik nicht bei A an und endet bei Z, sondern ist ein fortschreitender Prozess. Insofern kann man „In A Mirror Darkly“ zwar als Weiterführung der Wanderer-Geschichte bezeichnen, allerdings ist es keine Kopie, sondern ein eigenständiges Werk. Jede Mekong-Scheibe klingt einzigartig, und in der ursprünglichen Bedeutung des Wortes fortschrittlich. Als Komponist lasse ich mich bewusst treiben, um immer wieder neue künstlerische Horizonte zu erforschen.“ Ihrem Stil bleibt die Truppe treu: „Die neuen Songs sind, typisch Mekong Delta, allesamt zwischen fünf und sieben Minuten lang. Meines Erachtens genau der richtige Zeitnahmen, um stilistisch ausreichend in die Tiefe gehen zu können, ohne jedoch Längen oder künstlerische Unklarheiten zu erzeugen. Ich denke, wir haben erneut die richtige Mischung aus Komplexität und durchgehendem roten Faden gefunden.“

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Es ist ein komplexes und anspruchsvolles Album geworden. Die deutsche Progressive Thrash Metal-Band um Kopf und Bassist Ralf Hubert steht wie kaum eine andere zeitgenössische Gruppe auch anno 2014 für Innovation und Eigenständigkeit. Insgesamt acht Songs haben die Musiker Martin LeMar (Gesang), Ralf Hubert (Bass, Gitarre), Erik Adam H. Grösch (Gitarre) und Alex Landenburg (Schlagzeug) für „In A Mirror Darkly“ eingespielt, darunter drei reine Instrumentalnummern inklusive eines Konzertgitarren-Intro. Hubert spricht von temporeichen Stücken wie „Hindsight Bias“ mit seinem brachialen Thema im Mittelteil und der raffinierten Verwendung eines Tritonus. Ebenso rasant und durchgehend komplex geht die Band in „The Armageddon Machine“ zu Werke, in dem Frontmann Martin LeMar im Refrain eine eingängige Melodie über einen im Hintergrund laufenden spanischen Schreitanz anstimmt und dem Song an dieser Stelle eine erstaunliche Pop-Affinität beschert. Packende Uptempo-Klasse präsentieren Mekong Delta beispielsweise auch in den Instrumentaltracks „Ouverture“ und „Inside The Outside Of The Inside“ mit ihren abwechslungsreichen Arrangements.

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Den schnellen Nummern stehen mit „The Sliver in Gods Eye“ und „Janus“ zwei betont langsame Tracks gegenüber. In „Janus“ erzählen Hubert & Co. die Geschichte des gleichnamigen römischen Gottes, einem doppelgesichtigen Geschöpf und Symbol für Anfang und Ende, für Ein- und Ausgänge. Mekong Delta greifen hier die unterschiedlichen Charaktermerkmale von Kreaturen und ihre damit verbundene Unberechenbarkeit auf. „The Sliver in Gods Eye“ wiederum erinnert in Ausrichtung und Atmosphäre an den Song „A Certain Fool (Le Fou)“ von „Wanderer On The Edge Of Time“ und hinterfragt kritisch die offenkundige Borniertheit der Menschheit. Hubert: „Man könnte einfach auch nur fragen: Warum eigentlich sind Menschen so blöde?“ Aufgenommen haben Mekong Delta die aktuellen Stücke in den jeweiligen Studios ihrer Bandmitglieder, das erneut sehenswerte Cover-Artwork ist einer für das Album erstellten Animation entnommen.

Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Der hohe künstlerische Anspruch, den Hubert an sich und seine Band stellt, spiegelt sich auch diesmal in Thematik und stilistischer Ausrichtung seiner Musik wider. Seit fast 30 Jahren geniessen Mekong Delta in der Welt progressiver Metal-Klänge einen glänzenden Ruf als eigenständige und besonders innovative Band. Alben wie „The Music Of Eric Zann“ (1988) oder auch „Pictures At An Exhibition“ (1997) sind Klassiker des Genres und gelten mit ihrer Mischung aus Prog Metal, Klassik und Thrash als Wegbereiter einer Stilmixtur, die mittlerweile eine ganze Reihe ähnlich ausgerichteter Nachahmer gefunden hat. In diese Liste einflussreicher Scheiben reiht sich nun zweifelsohne auch „In A Mirror Darkly“ ein. Die Jungs können was, aber der Sound ist nicht ganz meins. Wer jedoch Spass an Progressive Thrash Metal hat sollte sich die Scheibe unbedingt anhören!

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Trackliste:

  1. Introduction
  2. Ouverture
  3. The Armageddon Machine
  4. The Sliver in Gods Eye
  5. Janus
  6. Inside the Outside of the Inside
  7. Hindsight Bias
  8. Mutant Messiah
Album Review: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly
6.3 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität7
Tempo7
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang4
Songtexte7
Substanz6
Produktion8
Langlebigkeit2
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one