Album Review: Mego – Burning Empire

Good things come to those who wait. Return after a long absence Mego with their second full-length album „Burning Empire“ back, to build on the successes of previous days. Since 1990 brought the Swiss one album and two EPs out and were already several times on tour with bands like Overkill and Metal Church, but despite the tours but it is never really what size become. After 25 Jahren Band-Geschichte verstehen Mego their craft better, than ever. With unwavering enthusiasm is now „Burning Empire“ thrown on the market and I would love partying the part and contribute a little to the success, but unfortunately the shekel does not tear me away.

Mego - Burning Empire

In the first years after the band's formation, the boys were able to earn an excellent reputation and were already share some scene stars the stage. One highlight was undoubtedly the gig on the „70.000 Tons of Metal Cruise“. No wonder also, that the new album from the outset a certain Routine and playful security is to listen. The base may sound promising, between heavy and thrash settled with a matching voice. The opener „These Are The Things We Hate“ proves impressively, that the intersection of Heavy Metal and Thrash can work. With „New Approach“ is added to the sound a huge load of Groove, before the title track is a sing-along grenade around the corner.


What the guys around singer and guitarist Peter „Peter“ Fabricate summer is technically sound and white places also to please. So goes the track with the memorable name „=“ steeply forward, but also „Countdown To Black“ has with his hard rock influences its good moments. Technically Sound Mego very broadly based and combine Hard Rock, acoustic interludes („Born To Pay“) and pure Thrash („Felskinn“). Here and there one wishes gained a lot more Experimtierfreude songwriting, However, at no time really bored, but every song white on his way to entertain.

Video Thumbnail
MEGORA Burning Empire

The best I like Megora when they get to the point quickly and without frills. The driving riffs are direct and rather fat, to good solos, between acoustic passages and the powerful voice of singer Piotr round out the cause. I personally little more experimentation and courage to the real variety would have been welcome, just as with the thrashy „Felskinn“ is quite successful. The songs in the mid-tempo range are blank and thus fade pretty quickly. „Burning Empires“ suffers in the long run to a ubiquitous, unterschwelligen Grunge-Trübseligkeit, the more variation would have done well in speed and heaviness. In terms of production, there are unfortunately deductions. The song and the strings are quite well mixed fraction, but the drums sound partially tinny and are a bit too dominant. New accents the Swiss can not put unfortunately. Total Megora supply from a decent album. Fans of classic heavy / thrash metal will definitely delight in „Burning Empire“ find and when working on the weaknesses is the next album (hopefully not be waiting so long for) some inside!

The album can you Buy in our shop.


  1. These Are The Things We Hate
  2. New Approach
  3. Burning Empire
  4. Countdown To Black
  5. Lost Children
  6. Mirrored Eyes
  7. =
  8. Born To Pay
  9. Felskinn
  10. Broken Wings
  11. Modern Nation
  12. Bad Karma
Album Review: Mego - Burning Empire
6.6 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Megora – Burning Empire

Gut Ding will Weile haben. Nach langer Abwesenheit kehren Megora mit ihrem zweiten Full-Length Album „Burning Empire“ zurück, um an die Erfolge früherer Tage anzuknüpfen. Seit 1990 brachten die Schweizer ein Album und zwei EPs raus und waren bereits mehrfach auf Tour mit namhaften Acts wie Overkill und Metal Church, doch trotz der Tourneen ist es aber nie was richtig Grosses geworden. Nach 25 Jahren Band-Geschichte verstehen Megora ihr Handwerk besser, als je zuvor. Mit unbeirrbaren Enthusiasmus wird nun „Burning Empire“ auf den Markt geschmissen und gerne würde ich das Teil abfeiern und so ein wenig zum Erfolg beitragen, doch leider reisst der Silberling mich nicht vom Hocker.

Megora - Burning Empire

In den ersten Jahren nach der Bandgründung konnten die Jungs sich einen exzellenten Ruf erspielen und durften bereits mit einigen Szenegrössen die Bühne teilen. Ein Höhepunkt dabei war sicherlich auch der Gig auf der „70.000 Tons of Metal Cruise“. So verwundert es auch nicht, dass dem neuen Album von Beginn an eine gewisse Routine und spielerische Sicherheit anzuhören ist. Die Basis klingt zunächst vielversprechend, zwischen Heavy und Thrash angesiedelt mit einer dazu passenden Stimme. Der Opener „These Are The Things We Hate“ beweist eindrucksvoll, dass die Schnittmenge von Heavy und Thrash Metal funktionieren kann. Mit „New Approach“ wird dem Sound eine gewaltige Ladung Groove hinzugefügt, bevor der Titeltrack als Mitgröhl-Granate um die Ecke kommt.

Megora_Band

Was die Mannen um Sänger und Gitarrist Peter „Piotr“ Sommer fabrizieren ist handwerklich solide und weiss stellenweise auch zu gefallen. So geht der Track mit dem denkwürdigen Namen „=“ steil nach vorne, aber auch „Countdown To Black“ hat mit seinen Hard Rock Einflüssen seine guten Momente. Soundtechnisch sind Megora sehr breit aufgestellt und vereinen Hard Rock, akustische Intermezzos („Born To Pay“) und puren Thrash („Felskinn“). Hier und da wünscht man sich eine Schippe mehr Experimtierfreude im Songwriting, jedoch kommt zu keinem Zeitpunkt wirklich Langeweile auf, sondern jeder Song weiss auf seine Art zu unterhalten.

Video Thumbnail
MEGORA Burning Empire

Am besten gefallen mir Megora wenn sie schnell und ohne Schnörkel auf den Punkt kommen. Die treibenden Riffs sind direkt und ziemlich fett, dazu gute Soli, zwischendurch Akustikpassagen und die kräftige Stimme von Sänger Piotr runden die Sache ab. Mir persönlich wäre etwas mehr Experimentierfreude und Mut zur wirklichen Abwechslung willkommen gewesen, so wie es mit dem thrashigen „Felskinn“ durchaus gelungen ist. Die Songs im mittleren Tempobereich sind zu ausdruckslos und verblassen dadurch recht schnell. „Burning Empires“ krankt auf Dauer an einer allgegenwärtigen, unterschwelligen Grunge-Trübseligkeit, der mehr Variation in Tempo und Heaviness gut getan hätte. Auch in Sachen Produktion gibt es leider Abzüge. Der Gesang und die Saitenfraktion sind durchaus gut abgemischt, aber die Drums klingen teilweise zu blechern und sind etwas zu dominant. Neue Akzente können die Schweizer leider nicht setzen. Insgesamt liefern Megora ein ordentliches Album ab. Fans von klassischem Heavy/Thrash Metal werden definitiv Gefallen an „Burning Empire“ finden und wenn an den Schwächen gearbeitet wird ist beim nächsten Album (das hoffentlich nicht so lange auf sich warten lässt) einiges drin!

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. These Are The Things We Hate
  2. New Approach
  3. Burning Empire
  4. Countdown To Black
  5. Lost Children
  6. Mirrored Eyes
  7. =
  8. Born To Pay
  9. Felskinn
  10. Broken Wings
  11. Modern Nation
  12. Bad Karma
Album Review: Megora - Burning Empire
6.6 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität6
Tempo7
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang9
Songtexte7
Substanz6
Produktion5
Langlebigkeit4
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one