DBD: Sultan’s Curse – Mastodon

I like it!

Mastodon have an animated clip for their first song from the upcoming album „Emperor Of Sand“ released. The disc appears on the 31. March and engaged in loud Brann Dailor with themes such as mortality and finiteness, because some family members and friends of the band in recent years were given a cancer diagnosis…

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon - Sultan's Curse [Official Audio]

DBD: Asleep In The Deep – Mastodon

I like it!

Today pack Mastodon their new Video the song „Asleep In The Deepfür euch aus. The clip was directed by Rahim Video, Shane Morton and the „Once More ‚Round The Sun“-Covergestalter Skinner, der über die Handlung des Videos folgendes verrät:

The concept was created by my curiosity, what do cats at night actually, when we sleep. Where do you go? Katzen sind von einem sehr mysteriösen Geheimnis umgeben und ich fand es cool, take the, als kleine nächtliche Helden.

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon - Asleep In The Deep [Official Music Video]

„Game of Thrones“-Mixtape mit Anthrax, Mastodon & Killswitch Engage as Free Download

I like it!

Fans müssen sich noch bis zum Start der neuen Folgen von „Game of Thrones“ wait a few days, denn die fünfte Staffel läuft erst ab dem am 12. April at the American cable network HBO in, zum Warmwerden gibts für euch schon jetzt das neue Mixtape zur Serie.

"Game of Thrones"-Mixtape mit Anthrax, Mastodon & Killswitch Engage as Free Download

on „Game of Thrones Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Vol. 2“ finden sich auch Beiträge einiger Metalbands. So control ANTHRAX „Sister Irrumator“ At, Killswitch Engage are with the track „Loyalty“ represent, Mastodon With „White Walker“ and finally with Mushroomhead „Among The Crows“. „Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Vol. 2“ is the second collection of exclusive songs, inspired by the series and crossed by samples from „Game of Thrones“. Musically, the focus is clearly on the genres of hip hop and Metal. Nachfolgend könnt ihr euch die 15 Songs starke Tracklist anhören und bei gefallen auch gleich kostenlos runterladen.

DBD: The Motherload – Mastodon

I like it!

yeah, here comes the Metal-twerk! Mastodon leave in their new Video „Motherload“ Wiggle butt woman. After LARP fantasy spectacle in the last video „High Road“ legen Mastodon mit der bewährten Mischung aus Zauberwelt und Sex nach. Was diesmal mit mystischen Wesen aus dem Märchenwald beginnt, ends in a wild „Twerk-Contest“ – ein popkulturelles Phänomen, represented by the Pop(o-Wackel)-Künstlerinnen Nicki Minaj und Miley Cyrus in der Mitte unserer Gesellschaft angekommen ist. Certainly not without a wink of the eye, it can therefore now also in the new Mastodon Video wiggle…

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon "The Motherload" (Official Music Video)

DBD: Chimes At Midnight – Mastodon

I like it!

„Chimes At Midnight“ ist der fünfte Track auf dem neuen Album „Once More ‚Round The Sun“ the Metal-Band from Atlanta, Georgia, which appears in the morning…

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon - Chimes At Midnight [Audio Visualizer]

star wars – Metal Strikes Back

I like it!

Metal Hammer UK has come up for the cover of the February issue of something very special and numerous Metal luminaries as star wars Mapped heroes. The whole was of sixmorevodka drawn with a blessing of Lucasfilm and shows numerous metal masters such as:

  • Slipknot/Stone Sour singer Corey Taylor als Han Solo
  • Zakk Wylde als Chewbacca
  • Machine Head’s Robb Flynn should probably be Qui-Gon Jinn
  • Opeth’s Mikael Ã…kerfeldt als Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • Ghost’s Papa Emeritus als Imperator Palpatine
  • King Diamond als Darth Maul
  • Iron Maiden’s Eddie Darth Father
  • Down’s Phil Anselmo als ein Imperial Officer
  • Motörhead’s Lemmy Kilmister als ein Imperial Officer
  • Mastodon’s Bill Kelliher als Listen
  • Devin Townsend als C3PO
  • ANTHRAX’s Scott Ian als Boba Fett
  • Soulfly’s Max Cavalera als Yoda
  • Ronnie James Dio and Slayer’s Jeff Hanneman als Force Ghosts
  • Ghost’s Nameless Ghouls als Jawas
  • Lamb Of God’s Randy Blythe and Avenged Sevenfold's m. Shadows the Rebel Pilots
  • Within Temptation’s Sharon Den Adel the Prinzessin Leia
  • KISS‘ Gene Simmons‚ Kiss Demon as a Stormtrooper
  • Ihsahn als ein Imperial Officer
  • Skindred’s Benji Webbe als Lando Calrissian
  • Clutch’s Neil Fallon als Wicket Wystri Warrick
  • While She Sleep’s Loz Taylor als Luke Skywalker

star wars - Metal Strikes Back

Concert Review: Sonisphere Festival 2012 in Yverdon-les-Bains mit Metallica, Motorhead and Slayer

I like it!

The first issue sank into the mud Jonschwil, the second Basel organizers broke Free and Virgin the neck. The Sonisphere Festival has been available under a bad sign. Last Wednesday, the third attempt succeeded in new surroundings and with new operator. 32’000 Metalheads - more than expected - flocked to the Parc Rives Du Lac in Yverdon-Les-Bains on Lake Neuchâtel with headliners Motorhead, Slayer and METALLICA. The restart was successful, is far from perfect. The sound was, if he come – At Mastodon did not run as the PA half the time and fell always again – but surprisingly well. The Golden Circle was designed to be big and we had once again, Jonschwil sends his regards, Uber 30 pending minutes for drinks. Nevertheless, my impression was that this was the best so far Sonisphere Festival, the sunny weather and the stunning location made it so offset some.

Around 32’000 Have music fans METALLICA on the former Expo.02 Gelände in Yverdon-les-Bains, which 28 itself’000 Population has, curly, where on Wednesday was the third edition of the Sonisphere festival on the stage. This was the first time, that a festival was organized in this magnitude in this city. The festival began at 15 Clock with blue skies, the atmosphere was ok and the decibel high, so hoch, that the concerts to the 13 km away Cheyres (FR) were heard. Around 1,200 workers were involved in the success of the festival, installation took about a week and it had some 50 Takeaways, 5.5 km barriers and 300 Mobile Toilets. Funnily enough, was placed no bar in the Golden Circle area, which I did not really care but, because I always do not belong to the Weichspülmetalern with too much coal in the bag, but organizationally it certainly could be better solved, but so halt had to get drinks for the infantry Rich People, what the wait times are not just reduced.

Video Thumbnail
Gojira Live @ Sonisphere Switzerland Yverdon - The Wild Child

With headliners Metallica, Motörhead and Slayer could indeed concentrated Metal-Power will be presented. ELUVEITIE, Gojira and Mastodon were also of the party, the three had but to bite the bullet and quasi in the sun geschwängerten audience - in the afternoon 30 Degree - their Music make delicious. With Eluveitie was unfortunately completely dead pants, But perhaps what the sound was, presumably in comparison with the rest of the program something fell out of the frame and thus has not met the expectations of visitors and the band already had to play half an hour after door opening. But Gojira had to remind the audience it, that this was ne metal show and invited to pits, but what took place. And so could only Mastodon, they offered, especially their newest album „The Hunter“ error, ensure a great atmosphere. Unfortunately, increased during 45 Minutes without exaggeration 15 times the sound off and it really was the lowest level, I can only ausprechen a big compliment to Mastodon, which it did not let itself be swayed and constantly batting confidently and without the eyelashes might enlarge.

The subsequently occurring living legends, Slayer, indeed had no inconsistencies with the art, But somehow giving the impression, Problems with the musculoskeletal system to have. Similar dynamic as a terracotta army it reeled from their setlist. Perhaps this was also in the audience and Slayer became fascinated by the motionless crowd – or was it simply the age, because Tom looked visually in my eyes as not quite the freshest. Slayer bribed with their uncompromising, flurry and rock-hard sound. This incredible precision but the Slayer was not necessarily expected, for guitarist Jeff Hanneman has still not recovered from his spider bite infection and had to be replaced by Gary Holt. There were a few mosh pits but, Although not directly in front of the stage (Golden Circle Problem), But the foot soldiers but it went off, worked although these pits mostly more like children's birthday.

Video Thumbnail
Slayer - Raining Blood - Angel Of Death - Sonisphere 2012

Motörhead showed turn from their dirty good side and never sprayed boredom. But here lacked the sentiment front of the stage and Lemmy often stood unquestionably, waiting for reactions from the audience, when he announced a song. New, however, was not to be heard by the old masters of the hard tones course. Cult rocker Lemmy Kilmister offered its usual, unfussy, honest rock. At the same time, the Sun withdrew and handed over their place of matching Dusk. The more time passed, and the darker it became, the more sought their place with direct view to the stage. The entire fan base waiting for Metallica and expected a black spectacle. Incidentally, it is not surprising me, Free and Virgin that has gone bankrupt at the Sonisphere Basel, when I think of the Schlangensteherei in Yverdon and how much revenue in Yverdon by waiting Lost went, I can only say: damage, damage, damage.

Extremely punctual and full of playfulness outdid Metallica on, each song technical register was drawn. Californians played the „Black Album“ – their legendary landmark work of 1991 – in full length. But the album just by Song 1 to 12 runterzunudeln, that would be too easy for the Metal-heroes, Metallica turned instead to the order of the songs and started with „The Struggle Within“, the actual final song of the album. The twelve songs of the disc are now considered anthems of rock music. How much, it showed on Sonisphere Festival, agreed as thousands of fans in the singing of frontman James Hetfield and applauded along the beat of drummer Lars Ulrich. And not just in the radio-friendly ballad „Nothing Else Matters“, but virtually every single song. Metallica convinced, up to Kirk Hammett, to each of these screwed up constantly easiest passages.

Video Thumbnail
Metallica @ Sonisphere Switzerland Yverdon 2012 - For Whom the Bell Tolls HD

Pleasing was at Metallica, that musical aberration with Lulu and the unsuccessful collaboration with Lou Reed survived without damage and with the interpretations of the „Black Album“ While nothing new was offered, but the boys signaled with her long, spirited performance, that they are still the old ones are. „Blackened“ let your heart open with big flame-pillars and at every little pyromaniac „One“ convinced with top fat lasers. the „Black Album“ was in my view something langfädig and for me years ago The death of the band, But one gets older and so the sound came total over very well and (my) Fortunately, it does not stick to the songs from this album, but it was commanded inclined fan also older Kost.

Overall it was a horny, relaxing event in a harmonious environment. The Sonisphere in Yverdon was marked by moderation: fewer bands, fewer viewers, less megalomania, fewer crowds at constant musical quality. The band change went smoothly and the sound was of astonishing transparency and came over really fat. Annoying was only the crowd in front of the beer stands and probably for the bands of much too large-scale Golden Circle area for the Rich People, which were too small or too lazy, to move her ass. The main thing, then you go to the merch booth, buys an expensive Shirt and then can hang out the big fan. And that the Golden Circler were too good to show enthusiasm, was actually more than foreseen and hence I have no pity for – except the bands over. Nevertheless, METALLICA, Motorhead, Slayer, Mastodon, Gojira and ELUVEITIE were simply class. Obviously, it needs to get the same Romandie is a great festival. Really great location and probably the best so far Sonisphere…

Video Thumbnail
Metallica @ Sonisphere Switzerland 2012 - One

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.

Sonisphere Switzerland 2012: Seasons of Metallica and Co.

I like it!

METALLICA are the headliners of the third edition of the Metal-Festivals Sonisphere, which this year for the third time in the Switzerland is carried out. METALLICA play her „Black Album“ in full length. More certify Acts are: Slayer, Motorhead, Mastadon, Gojira and ELUVEITIE. Sonisphere take place on Wednesday, 30. More 2012 in Yverdon-les-Bain statt. The open-air festival grounds at Parc des Rives du Lac is the unique backdrop for the festival of Metal friends. The site on the banks of Lake Neuchâtel was during Expo.02 used as an exhibition area and holds 45’000 Visitors. But now the seasons of Men…

Playtime:

doorway 15.00 Clock
ELUVEITIE: 15.45 – 16.15 Clock, Stage II
Gojira: 16.20 – 16.50 Clock, Stage I
Mastodon: 17.00 – 17.40 Clock, Stage II
Motorhead: 17.50 – 19.00 Clock, Stage I
Slayer: 19.10 – 20.10 Clock, Stage II
METALLICA: 20.30 – 22.30 Clock, Stage I

Thus, Metallica finished, before the last trains:

Yverdon Les Bains – Zürich: 23.07 Clock
Yverdon Les Bains – Bern: 23.07 Clock
Yverdon Les Bains – Basel: 23.07 Clock
Yverdon Les Bains – Lucerne: 23.07 Clock
Yverdon Les Bains – St. Gallen: 22.07 Clock
Yverdon Les Bains – Lausanne: 00.00 Clock
Yverdon Les Bains – Geneva: 23.53 Clock

Sonisphere Switzerland 2012 with Metallica and Slayer

I like it!

*** Meanwhile, the concert by, this way to the Review ***

Friends, booked you on Wednesday, the 30. More 2012, because yesterday was on the Metallica Homepage published subsequently. What will provide many of cheers and song, I can not but to really excite, then obviously it will complete „Black Album“ be played – well, let's see if I am doing the – there might highest Slayer the necessary Compensation Thrash ensure…

Final European Tour Announcement
This is it, our final addition to the summer vacation in Europe with a Sonisphere date at Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland on May 30, 2012. You guessed it, The ‚Black Album‘ will be performed in its entirety (yeah, yeah, that 20th Anniversary thing) and the line-up for the day is out of this world as Slayer, Motorhead, Mastodon, Gojira and ELUVEITIE will all be joining us!
The Met Club pre-sale already in progress, so Clubbers should log in for details. The pre-sale will end on Wednesday, February 15 at 9:00 at the LOCAL time. There is a four ticket Limit for the pre-sale.
Tickets go on sale on Friday, February 17 at 8:00 AM local time at www.ticketcorner.ch. For more information about Sonisphere, click here: www.sonispherefestivals.com.

Thus, METALLICA The headliner of the third edition of Heavy Metal Festival Sonisphere, which this year in the Switzerland is carried out. The open-air festival grounds at Parc des Rives du Lac provides a unique backdrop for the festival of Metal friends and could become a reason for me but, me to lead this event to heart. The site on the banks of Lake Neuchâtel was during Expo.02 used as an exhibition center and summarizes the 45’000 Visitor. Let's hope, that the organizers of the festival this time manage better than a year 2011 (Dawn of the Joggeli) or 2010 (The Big Desaster)

Mastodon are also in Jonschwil

I like it!


Neben den bereits bestätigten Bands wie METALLICA, Slayer, Megadeth, ANTHRAX, Motorhead, Heaven and Hell, Devil Driver, Rise Against, Amon Amarth, Lauren Harris and Volbeat, will now Mastodon Jonschwil in Fear enable and terror. Hell yeah, at the 18. June is a metal festival held unparalleled and friends, This is Travel Fans of the most remote spots in the world after Jonschwil, I sollen, as I have heard, At this time Metalhead from u.a. Chile and be traveling Down Under. Welcome Metalheads!

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon - "Iron Tusk" (Official HD Music Video)

DBD: Asleep In The Deep – Mastodon

Heute packen Mastodon ihr neues Video zum Song „Asleep In The Deep“ für euch aus. Der Clip entstand unter der Regie von Video Rahim, Shane Morton und dem „Once More ‚Round The Sun“-Covergestalter Skinner, der über die Handlung des Videos folgendes verrät:

Das Konzept entstand durch meine Neugier, was Katzen nachts eigentlich machen, wenn wir schlafen. Wo gehen sie hin? Katzen sind von einem sehr mysteriösen Geheimnis umgeben und ich fand es cool, das aufzunehmen, als kleine nächtliche Helden.

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon - Asleep In The Deep [Official Music Video]

„Game of Thrones“-Mixtape mit Anthrax, Mastodon & Killswitch Engage als kostenloser Download

Fans müssen sich noch bis zum Start der neuen Folgen von „Game of Thrones“ ein paar Tage gedulden, denn die fünfte Staffel läuft erst ab dem am 12. April beim amerikanischen Kabelsender HBO an, zum Warmwerden gibts für euch schon jetzt das neue Mixtape zur Serie.

"Game of Thrones"-Mixtape mit Anthrax, Mastodon & Killswitch Engage als kostenloser Download

Auf „Game of Thrones Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Vol. 2“ finden sich auch Beiträge einiger Metalbands. So steuern Anthrax „Soror Irrumator“ bei, Killswitch Engage sind mit dem Track „Loyalty“ vertreten, Mastodon mit „White Walker“ und schliesslich Mushroomhead mit „Among The Crows“. „Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Vol. 2“ ist die zweite Sammlung von exklusiven Songs, inspiriert von der Serie und durchzogen von Samples aus „Game of Thrones“. Musikalisch liegt der Schwerpunkt eindeutig auf den Genres HipHop und Metal. Nachfolgend könnt ihr euch die 15 Songs starke Tracklist anhören und bei gefallen auch gleich kostenlos runterladen.

DBD: The Motherload – Mastodon

Yeah, hier kommt der Metal-Twerk! Mastodon lassen in ihrem neuen Video „Motherload“ Frauenhintern wackeln. Nach dem LARP-Fantasy-Spektakel im letzten Video zu „High Road“ legen Mastodon mit der bewährten Mischung aus Zauberwelt und Sex nach. Was diesmal mit mystischen Wesen aus dem Märchenwald beginnt, endet in einem wilden „Twerk-Contest“ – ein popkulturelles Phänomen, das durch die Pop(o-Wackel)-Künstlerinnen Nicki Minaj und Miley Cyrus in der Mitte unserer Gesellschaft angekommen ist. Sicher nicht ohne Augenzwinkern lassen es also nun auch Mastodon im neuen Video wackeln…

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon "The Motherload" (Official Music Video)

DBD: Chimes At Midnight – Mastodon

„Chimes At Midnight“ ist der fünfte Track auf dem neuen Album „Once More ‚Round the Sun“ der Metal-Band aus aus Atlanta, Georgia, das am morgen erscheint…

Video Thumbnail
Mastodon - Chimes At Midnight [Audio Visualizer]

Star Wars – Metal Strikes Back

Metal Hammer UK hat sich für das Cover der Februar Ausgabe etwas ganz spezielles ausgedacht und zahlreiche Metal Koryphäen als Star Wars Helden abgebildet. Das ganze wurde von sixmorevodka mit einem Segen von Lucasfilm gezeichnet und zeigt zahlreiche Metal Meister wie:

  • Slipknot/Stone Sour Sänger Corey Taylor als Han Solo
  • Zakk Wylde als Chewbacca
  • Machine Head’s Robb Flynn soll wohl Qui-Gon Jinn sein
  • Opeth’s Mikael Akerfeldt als Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • Ghost’s Papa Emeritus als Imperator Palpatine
  • King Diamond als Darth Maul
  • Iron Maiden’s Eddie als Darth Vader
  • Down’s Phil Anselmo als ein Imperial Officer
  • Motörhead’s Lemmy Kilmister als ein Imperial Officer
  • Mastodon’s Bill Kelliher als Dengar
  • Devin Townsend als C3PO
  • Anthrax’s Scott Ian als Boba Fett
  • Soulfly’s Max Cavalera als Yoda
  • Ronnie James Dio and Slayer’s Jeff Hanneman als Force Ghosts
  • Ghost’s Nameless Ghouls als Jawas
  • Lamb Of God’s Randy Blythe und Avenged Sevenfold’s M. Shadows als Rebel Pilots
  • Within Temptation’s Sharon Den Adel als Prinzessin Leia
  • Kiss‘ Gene Simmons‚ Kiss Demon als ein Stormtrooper
  • Ihsahn als ein Imperial Officer
  • Skindred’s Benji Webbe als Lando Calrissian
  • Clutch’s Neil Fallon als Wicket Wystri Warrick
  • While She Sleep’s Loz Taylor als Luke Skywalker

Star Wars - Metal Strikes Back

Konzert Review: Sonisphere Festival 2012 in Yverdon-les-Bains mit Metallica, Motörhead und Slayer

Die erste Ausgabe in Jonschwil versank im Schlamm, die zweite in Basel brach Veranstalter Free and Virgin das Genick. Das Sonisphere Festival stand bisher unter einem schlechten Stern. Letzten Mittwoch folgte der dritte Anlauf in neuer Umgebung und mit neuem Veranstalter. 32’000 Metalheads – mehr als erwartet – strömten auf das Gelände Parc Rives Du Lac in Yverdon-Les-Bains am Neuenburgersee mit den Headlinern Motörhead, Slayer und Metallica. Der Neustart ist geglückt, ist jedoch weit weg von perfekt. Der Sound war, wenn er denn kam – bei Mastodon lief zum Beispiel die PA die halbe Zeit nicht und fiel immer wieder aus – doch erstaunlich gut. Der Golden Circle war zu gross ausgelegt und man musste wieder einmal, Jonschwil lässt grüssen, über 30 Minuten für Getränke anstehen. Nichts desto trotz war mein Eindruck dass dies das beste Sonisphere Festival bis jetzt war, das sonnige Wetter und die geniale Location machten so einiges wett.

Rund 32’000 Musikfans haben Metallica auf das ehemalige Expo.02 Gelände in Yverdon-les-Bains, welches selbst 28’000 Einwohner hat, gelockt, wo am Mittwoch die dritte Ausgabe des Sonisphere Festivals über die Bühne ging. Dies war das erste Mal, dass in dieser Stadt ein Festival in dieser Grössenordnung organisiert wurde. Das Festival begann um 15 Uhr bei schönstem Wetter, die Atmosphäre war ok und die Dezibel hoch, so hoch, dass die Konzerte bis ins 13 km entfernte Cheyres (FR) zu hören waren. Rund 1’200 Helfer waren am Gelingen des Festivals beteiligt, die Montage dauerte eine Woche und es hatte rund 50 Imbissbuden, 5.5 km Barrieren und 300 mobile Toiletten. Lustigerweise war keine Bar im Golden-Circle-Bereich aufgestellt, was mir jedoch ziemlich egal war, da ich eh nicht zu den Weichspülmetalern mit zu viel Kohle im Sack gehöre, doch organisatorisch hätte dies sicherlich besser gelöst werden können, aber so musste halt the Rich-People zum Fussvolk Getränke holen, was die Wartezeiten nicht gerade verkürzte.

Video Thumbnail
Gojira Live @ Sonisphere Switzerland Yverdon - L'enfant Sauvage

Mit den Headlinern Metallica, Motörhead und Slayer konnte wahrhaftig geballte Metal-Macht präsentiert werden. Eluveitie, Gojira und Mastodon waren ebenfalls mit von der Partie, die Drei mussten aber quasi in den sauren Apfel beissen und dem sonnengeschwängerten Publikum – nachmittags bei 30 Grad – ihre Musik schmackhaft machen. Bei Eluveitie war leider noch komplett tote Hose, was vielleicht aber am Sound lag, der vermutlich im Vergleich zum restlichen Programm etwas aus dem Rahmen fiel und so nicht den Erwartungen der Besucher entsprochen hat und die Band bereits eine halbe Stunde nach Türöffnung spielen musste. Doch auch Gojira mussten das Publikum daran erinnern, dass dies ne Metalshow war und forderte zu Pits auf, welche aber nicht stattfanden. Und so konnten erst Mastodon, sie boten vor allem ihr neustes Album „The Hunter“ feil, für gute Stimmung sorgen. Leider stieg während 45 Minuten ohne zu übertrieben 15 mal der Sound aus und dies war wirklich unterstes Niveau, da kann ich nur ein grosses Lob an Mastodon ausprechen, welche sich davon nicht beirren liessen und immer wieder souverän und ohne mit der Wimpern zu zucken weiter machten.

Die anschliessend auftretenden lebenden Legenden, Slayer, hatten zwar keine Ungereimtheiten mit der Technik, irgendwie aber erweckten sie den Eindruck, Probleme mit dem Bewegungsapparat zu haben. Ähnlich dynamisch wie eine Terrakotta-Armee spulten sie ihre Setlist ab. Vielleicht lag dies aber auch am Publikum und Slayer liessen sich von der bewegungslosen Menge anstecken – oder es war schlicht das Alter, denn Tom wirkte in meinen Augen optisch als nicht mehr ganz der Frischeste. Slayer bestachen mit ihrem kompromisslosen, rasend schnellen und knüppelharten Sound. In dieser unglaublichen Präzision konnte das von Slayer aber nicht unbedingt erwartet werden, denn Gitarrist Jeff Hannemann hat sich immer noch nicht von seiner Spinnenbiss-Infektion erholt und musste durch Gary Holt ersetzt werden. Ein paar Moshpits gab es aber dennoch, zwar nicht direkt vor der Bühne (Golden Circle Problem), aber beim Fussvolk ging es doch ab, obwohl diese Pits grösstenteils mehr wie Kindergeburtstag wirkten.

Video Thumbnail
Slayer - Raining Blood - Angel of Death - Sonisphere 2012

Motörhead zeigte sich wiederum von ihrer schmutzig guten Seite und versprühten niemals Langweile. Doch auch hier fehlte die Stimmung direkt vor der Bühne und Lemmy stand oft fraglos da und wartete auf Reaktionen seitens des Publikums, wenn er einen Song ankündigte. Neues war von den Altmeistern der harten Töne freilich aber nicht zu hören. Kult-Rocker Lemmy Kilmister bot seinen gewohnten, schnörkellosen, ehrlichen Rock. Zeitgleich zog sich die Sonne zurück und übergab ihren Platz der passenden Abenddämmerung. Je mehr Zeit verstrich und je dunkler es wurde, desto mehr suchten ihren Platz mit direkter Sicht zur Bühne. Die gesamte Fanschar wartete auf Metallica und erwartete ein schwarzes Spektakel. Übrigens erstaunt es mich nicht, dass Free and Virgin beim Sonisphere Basel Konkurs gegangen ist, wenn ich an die Schlangensteherei in Yverdon denke und wie viel Umsatz in Yverdon durch das Warten verloren ging, kann ich nur sagen: Schade, Schade, Schade.

Äusserst pünktlich und voller Spielfreude trumpften Metallica auf, jedes songtechnische Register wurde gezogen. Die Kalifornier spielten das „Black Album“ – ihr legendäres Meilenstein-Werk von 1991 – in voller Länge. Doch das Album einfach nur von Song 1 bis 12 runterzunudeln, das wäre für die Metal-Heroen zu einfach, stattdessen drehten Metallica die Reihenfolge der Songs um und starteten mit „The Struggle Within“, dem eigentlichen Abschlusssong des Albums. Die zwölf Songs der Scheibe gelten heute als Hymnen der Rockmusik. Wie sehr, das zeigte sich am Sonisphere-Festival, als tausende Fans in den Gesang von Frontmann James Hetfield einstimmten oder den Takt von Schlagzeuger Lars Ulrich mitklatschten. Und zwar nicht nur bei der radiotauglichen Ballade „Nothing Else Matters“, sondern bei fast jedem einzelnen Song. Metallica überzeugte, bis auf Kirk Hammett, den dieser versemmelte jeweils laufend einfachste Passagen.

Video Thumbnail
Metallica @ Sonisphere Yverdon Switzerland 2012 - For Whom the Bell Tolls HD

Erfreulich war bei Metallica, dass die musikalische Verirrung mit Lulu und der verunglückten Zusammenarbeit mit Lou Reed schadlos überstanden und mit der Interpretationen des „Black Album“ zwar nichts Neues geboten wurde, doch signalisierten die Jungs mit ihrem langen, beherzten Auftritt, dass sie immer noch die Alten sind. „Blackened“ liess bei jedem kleinen Pyromanen das Herz aufgehen mit grossen Flammen-Säulen und „One“ überzeugte mit oberfetten Lasern. Das „Black Album“ war aus meiner Sicht etwas langfädig und für mich vor Jahren der Tod der Band, doch man wird älter und so kam der Sound insgesamt sehr gut rüber und zu (meinem) Glück bleib es nicht bei den Songs aus diesem Album, sondern es wurde dem geneigten Fan auch älter Kost geboten.

Insgesamt war es ein geiler, entspannender Event in stimmiger Umgebung. Das Sonisphere in Yverdon stand unter dem Zeichen von Mässigung: weniger Bands, weniger Zuschauer, weniger Gigantomanie, weniger Gedränge bei gleichbleibender musikalischer Qualität. Die Bandwechsel verliefen reibungslos und der Sound war von erstaunlicher Transparenz und kam echt fett rüber. Ärgerlich war nur das Gedränge vor den Bierständen und vermutlich für die Bands der viel zu gross angelegte Golden Circle Bereich for the Rich-People, die sich zu fein oder zu faul waren, ihren Arsch zu bewegen. Hauptsache, man geht danach an den Merch-Stand, kauft ein teures Shirt und lässt dann den grossen Fan raushängen. Und dass sich die Golden Circler zu schade waren Begeisterung zu zeigen, war ja eigentlich mehr als absehbar und folglich habe ich dafür keinerlei Mitleid – ausser den Bands gegenüber. Nichts desto trotz, Metallica, Motörhead, Slayer, Mastodon, Gojira und Eluveitie waren einfach Klasse. Offensichtlich braucht es die Romandie um ein gelungenes Festival hinzubekommen. Wirklich tolle Location und wohl das beste Sonisphere bis jetzt…

Video Thumbnail
Metallica @ Sonisphere Switzerland 2012 - One

No review found! Insert a valid review ID.

Sonisphere Schweiz 2012: Spielzeiten von Metallica und Co.

Metallica sind die Headliner der dritten Ausgabe des Metal-Festivals Sonisphere, das dieses Jahr zum dritten Mal in der Schweiz durchgeführt wird. Metallica spielen dabei ihr „Black Album“ in voller Länge. Weitere bestätige Acts sind: Slayer, Motörhead, Mastadon, Gojira und Eluveitie. Sonisphere findet am Mittwoch, 30. Mai 2012 in Yverdon-les-Bain statt. Das Openair-Festgelände im Parc des Rives du Lac bildet die einmalige Kulisse für das Festival der Metalfreunde. Das Gelände am Ufer des Neuenburgersees wurde während der Expo.02 als Ausstellungsgelände genutzt und fasst 45’000 Besucherinnen und Besucher. Aber nun zu den Spielzeiten der Herren…

Playtime:

Türöffnung 15.00 Uhr
Eluveitie: 15.45 – 16.15 Uhr, Stage II
Gojira: 16.20 – 16.50 Uhr, Stage I
Mastodon: 17.00 – 17.40 Uhr, Stage II
Motörhead: 17.50 – 19.00 Uhr, Stage I
Slayer: 19.10 – 20.10 Uhr, Stage II
Metallica: 20.30 – 22.30 Uhr, Stage I

Somit sind Metallica fertig, bevor die letzten Züge fahren:

Yverdon Les Bains – Zürich: 23.07 Uhr
Yverdon Les Bains – Bern: 23.07 Uhr
Yverdon Les Bains – Basel: 23.07 Uhr
Yverdon Les Bains – Luzern: 23.07 Uhr
Yverdon Les Bains – St. Gallen: 22.07 Uhr
Yverdon Les Bains – Lausanne: 00.00 Uhr
Yverdon Les Bains – Genf: 23.53 Uhr

Sonisphere Schweiz 2012 mit Metallica und Slayer

*** Mittlerweile ist das Konzert vorbei, hier gehts zum Review ***

Freunde, reserviert euch den Mittwoch, den 30. Mai 2012, denn gestern wurde auf der Metallica Homepage nachfolgendes veröffentlicht. Was für viele für Jubelschreie und Lobgesang sorgen wird, vermag mich aber nicht wirklich zu begeistern, dann offensichtlich soll das komplette „Black Album“ gespielt werden – naja, mal sehen ob ich mir das antue – da könnte höchsten Slayer für den nötigen Ausgleich Thrash sorgen…

Final European Tour Announcement
This is it, our final addition to the summer vacation in Europe with a Sonisphere date at Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland on May 30, 2012. You guessed it, the ‚Black Album‘ will be performed in its entirety (yeah, yeah, that 20th Anniversary thing) and the line-up for the day is out of this world as Slayer, Motorhead, Mastodon, Gojira and Eluveitie will all be joining us!
The Met Club pre-sale already in progress, so Clubbers should log in for details. The pre-sale will end on Wednesday, February 15 at 9:00 AM local time. There is a four ticket limit for the pre-sale.
Tickets go on sale on Friday, February 17 at 8:00 AM local time at www.ticketcorner.ch. For more information about Sonisphere, click here: www.sonispherefestivals.com.

Somit sind Metallica die Headliner der dritten Ausgabe des Heavymetal-Festivals Sonisphere, das dieses Jahr in der Schweiz durchgeführt wird. Das Openair-Festgelände im Parc des Rives du Lac bildet eine einmalige Kulisse für das Festival der Metalfreunde und könnte für mich doch zum Grund werden, mir diese Veranstaltung zu Gemüte zu führen. Das Gelände am Ufer des Neuenburgersees wurde während der Expo.02 als Ausstellungsgelände genutzt und fasst um die 45’000 Besucher. Hoffen wir, dass die Organisatoren das Festival dieses Mal besser hinkriegen als im Jahr 2011 (Dawn of the Joggeli) oder 2010 (The Big Desaster)

Auch Mastodon sind in Jonschwil


Neben den bereits bestätigten Bands wie Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax, Motörhead, Heaven and Hell, Devil Driver, Rise Against, Amon Amarth, Lauren Harris und Volbeat, werden nun auch Mastodon Jonschwil in Angst und Schrecken versetzen. Hell yeah, am 18. Juni findet ein Metalfest sondergleichen statt und Freunde, es reisen Fans von den entlegensten Flecken der Welt nach Jonschwil, so sollen, wie ich vernommen habe, zu diesem Zeitpunkt Metalhead aus u.a. Chile und Down Under unterwegs sein. Welcome Metalheads!

Video Thumbnail
MASTODON - "Iron Tusk" (Official HD Music Video)