Oderus Urungus Viking funeral

Das berühmte Kostüm von Dave Brockie aka Oderus Urungus, Sänger von GWAR, wurde vor ein paar Tagen in einem Vikingerbegräbnis nach Valhalla geschickt. Äusserst passend.

Oderus Urungus Viking funeral

Tonight we sent Oderus home in a fitting manner at the public memorial for Dave Brockie. A blazing Viking ship with Oderus laid out in it, the cuttlefish pointing proudly straight up. Watching my friend Dave’s costume go up In Flames in front of a thousand fans was so much more intense for me than the private memorial for friends & family we had April Fool’s Day.

I spoke at both of them, as GWAR asked me to, & both times as I spoke I was sad. But watching his alter-ego burn tore me up way more than the first memorial, Maybe Because there was Dave, the human who was my friend who just “left us”- I never saw his body- & then there was Oderus, who was something entirely else. To watch his stage gear burn was like watching part of my life literally go up in flames. I was sobbing my eyes out as I took this photo. It was just a super-intense moment. Very beautiful, but overwhelming. Fly free, Oderus- You are missed

Nails
Oderus Urungus Viking Funeral Flaming Arrow Shot, GWAR-B-Q 2014

(via Brooklyn Vegan)

GWAR: Lord Oderus reading bedtime stories for children

OK, perhaps, makes the following Video nicht dafür, that children sleep peacefully, aber vielleicht verstecken sie sich unter dem Bett und versuchen so leise wie möglich zu sein, which is at least as good yes. Especially great is the part at the end, where he simply imagines himself the rest and some nonsense rhymes… :)

Nails
GWAR's Oderus Urungus Reads 'Goodnight Moon' [uncensored]

DBD: Let us slay – GWAR

Nails

Don’t give them a sword and then not let them use it
Or sent them to war, and then make them lose it
This is a bomb, don’t want to defuse it
Death Is The Answer, go forth and choose it

Let us slay
Let them slay, Let them slay [x3]
The lust for blood won’t go away

Let us slay
Let them slay, Let them slay [x3]

It is the era of calamity
And I see this with perfect clarity
And there never was an illusion of parity
I’ve got no time for your crippled christ

We have no need for your crippled christ
And we never lacked for your advice
We don’t have to hide our genocide
They’ll fear us more when they know the we don’t lie

It’s gone Beyond hatred this time
You love death, yet call it a crime
I twist the dagger that’s deep in your guts
I’ll put an end to it this time

[Only]

On your knees – Pray
It is your destiny
On your feet – Slay
Obedience through slavery

Don’t give them a sword and then not let them use it
Or sent them to war, and then make them lose it
This is a bomb, don’t want to defuse it
Death Is The Answer, Death Is The Answer

Total control
We own your soul

No time for life
Time for the knife
Time for the sword
Fetus is cored
Total mutation
Necro-mutilation
The perfect life form
Born for porn

Let us slay
Let them slay, Let them slay [x3]
The lust for blood won’t go away

Let us slay
Let them slay, Let them slay [x3]

We’ve got no time for your crippled christ
And we never lacked for your advice
Lie after lie, Lie, Lie
I do believe its almost time

The crippled christ, The crippled christ
The crippled christ, The crippled christ
The crippled christ, The crippled christ
I do believe its almost time

You’re always calling for the sacrifice
And the body count is very nice
Lie after lie, Lie, Lie, Lie
I do believe its time do die

Sonisphere 2011 – Dawn of the Joggeli

„Task of art it is today, Bring chaos into order.“ wrote Theodor W. Adorno in Minima Moralia and the organization and coordination of the Sonisphere festival in Basel was marked by chaos, as well as various bands noticed in announcements and one could speak of luck on the last Friday, that nothing happened. But there were also shows by hammer Hatebreed, Slipknot, ELUVEITIE and Iron Maiden. Bands super, Weather super, Not rest. But the OK Swiss Sonisphere this can, after last year's mudslinging obviously afford… – because it could have been worse. The great bands could so ignore some and most of the metalheads to put a smile on face.

Last Friday, it was time again: Sonisphere set up camp, for the second time and after Maiden voyage in Jonschwil, The festival took place this time in Basel St. Jakob Stadium along with revulsion instead. The weather showed its good side and the inexhaustible number of bands were an overlook something about the organizational shortcomings – but does not forget, because it became clear already with the start to the festival on Friday, to really understand what the Sonisphere: Profit maximization! Unfortunately the game were the times of the Bands, which was changed in advance x times, at the beginning of the day switched back and compresses, which should have provided neither fans nor bands for enthusiasm, personally but not really played me a role.

The Bändeltausch was amateurishly organized and super Bändelchen, because these gibts 1:1 For 120 Francs to buy at King Flyer… 1000 Stuck, the link to it was even printed and not enough, with a ticket you could get as much as you wanted Bändel and thus give pleasure friends and acquaintances. But this should be only the beginning of the organized chaos, because the festival was for weeks under a bad sign, since the event will lack the Football Spectators- had to be moved to the athletic stadium and it was not possible there, to take the seats paid in claim. To all buyers of a seating tickets were given to the inlet Bons for two drinks and a Sausage. But where the hell could redeem the vouchers for the promised free drinks and sausage? 90% the catering stalls wanted nothing at all events of this Bons Knowledge. Also had a strange, that once you had entered the Metal Festival, first a tart stand was to see… Oh well – I knew something hitherto, but might as well be nice, to Hatebreed Coffee reinzuziehen and cakes. After such a Concert needs of ausgepowerte Metalhead well known, a sugar shock…

Nails
Sonisphere 2011 // Slipknot - Sid Wilson crowdsurfing after he jumps from a truck

But we come first to the main festival, the Music! Unfortunately, you could also these, at the beginning of the festival is not really enjoy, Sick Puppies at the Apollo Stage, notabene the main stage of the event, It was a power outage, which left already again cast doubt on the professionalism of the organization. Cataract at the Red Bull Stage one was not let in, as the hall was already full. The Security was left up any students and Teenies, who also had the dubious pleasure, dismiss disappointed fans in front of closed doors, which loosely at more alkholosierten fans could escalate. Was given masses For us announced some sun, so we were lounging us near the Apollo Stage on the lawn, caused the first trouble drown evaporate… and it came in a little enjoyment of Mr Big, which does not really correspond to my Gusto.

That was the first show that you could really enjoy with Dave Wyndorf, his sign of rotation- focal point of drug geschwängerten Monster Magnet. After Dave and his men a highlight of Sonisphere's had already announced: Hatebreed! Just amazing how these guys have understood right from the beginning the audience to captivate. Höllisch loud and with such a rich sound, stand still do not know the guys. With such fat riffs, there is simply no excuse. Honest emotions, impetuous passion, a richer sound and more powerful energy. Prior to the Bohemia stage the audience was almost closed in motion, Jamey Jasta raged over the boards and fueled the perspiring crowd always further and celebrating with the best sound and killer tracks like „Destroy Everything“, „This Is Now“, „Live For This“ or „Doomsayer“ a huge party.

Nails
Monster Magnet - Crop Circle (Complete song)

the ELUVEITIE and Slipknot at the same time had to play, was a little ugliness, annoyed so many fans, as well as the marketplace, which completely beyond was established, because who buys flip-flops on a Metal-Festival? On all mine countless festivals in which I have participated, I've never – but never did – Flip flops seen for sale! the 4 dl water here for 5 Franken was sold, fits again into the whole picture of the profit maximization, but not enough so, at the stands were no bottles are sold, while people wandered purely open with Party barrels. I do not know how excited Iron Maiden would, if you would know, that you could just walk in without any obstacle with firearms. I've seen a lot, but something ridiculous and Unprofessional I still rarely come, because even purely take a rocket launcher would have been no problem. :Guns:

But we come back to the music, Recognition naturally deserve more Sonisphere exponents like Hammerfall, Mastodon and ELUVEITIE, which allsamt great shows offered and were able to convince the fans absolutely. Also Chrigel Eluveitie had noticed the organizational chaos and tried to loosen up a little joke the whole, Chaosphere is only one of the expressions that fell. As always with his band offered their melodic death metal with Celtic melodies that, what was expected of them: Rock, groove, dance, Jump, sound, dream, release.

Since last year (Drugs-)Tod des Slipknot bassist Paul D. Grey is the band from Iowa occurred rarely. Despite or perhaps because of it offered Slipknot a fireworks. On the main stage they had a rendezvous, how great was the furious. Although it is daylight and sun screwed the bizarre-looking clownish metallers the visual- and listening experience in spherical heights. Rotor moderately upwards spiraled moreover Joey Jordison along with his drum station and besides pyrotechnics gave Slipknot Stagediving to top. About 90 Minutes took the gig, of not a few times viewers casualties and helpers as accomplices industrious minutes gave. Unfortunately, you could see the screens of the Apollo Stage little from behind.

ARVE Error:
thats all folks! - Video not available

The catering stands at Sonisphere (not in the Hall), were hygienically swinish. Prefabricated Hamburger lay open in a box. The money was approved with bare hands, then with selbiger to press the cheese on meat and bread and meat together. The same hand scratching seconds later on the face, lifts from the ground waste and cares then again around unwashed Eating. Not one person on the stand does so, no, do it all in and Münzstock were fries and money, partially mixed in with food and. I wish it good appetite. And friends, 9 Franken for a 4 Bite Pizza piece is not only slightly exaggerated, but borders on usury, because one is only a sip of water, from the cup with gold rim :)

But we come back to the music, there still big headliners such as Alice Cooper and Iron Maiden queue. Even if it does not manage Mr Cooper, to impress me vocally, so it is still exciting to see for which scene the next song is to serve well. You just listen to him, that „I’m Eighteen“ long, long can not agree, his imagination and enjoy the game with crazy props has this age hardly overtaken luckily. With an impressive wealth of vitality, Energy and grotesque takes us 63 year old rocker by his theater of kitsch and self-promotion.

Totally not had kitischig Iron Maiden. The iron maiden brought at the beginning of most songs „The Final Frontier“, her latest album and perish in which I killed would not warm. Matching the new disc ballerte the intro along with the following „Final Frontier“ and „El Dorado“ from the speakers. The stage was, as almost always, well designed or. inspired by the latest output, that is, a science fiction landscape – bordered by two radio towers along with starry sky. It was a true classic: „2 Minutes To Midnight“. It's still fascinating, as topfit sweep the six men on the stage. And later still the 20 Meter version staring across the stage and evil sparkles with red eyes, is the world anyway in order. OK, the guy does look now like a space hog, but damn, it is still Eddie. Screeeeeaaaammmmm for me Basel, Screeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmm for meeeee!

Quite large cinema and the domed roof and stage background twinkle lights like stars. Somehow galactic beautifully. But that was not all, what was offered the eye: Too many songs matching huge Stoffbilder as theater scenes were dragged into the stage background and Eddie did not miss.

And again then came a few recent pieces („Blood Brothers“, „The Wicker Man“ and „When The Wild Wind Blows“), to „The Evil That Men Do“ initiated the block of classics. From this moment on it was going to happen even to the most skeptical: All the same, whether the melancholic passages of „Fear Of The Dark“ or the godlike twin leads of „Iron Maiden“: Who got in these minutes no goosebumps or so rough mitgröhlte, that he had the next day kilos of feed Hustenbonbons, who on that night something wrong!

Nails
Iron Maiden live at Sonisphere Basel 24.6.2011 - Blood Brothers

Pickpockets, allegedly from Romania, made as another evil all Stages uncertain and many a metalhead to a iPhone or wallet poorer. It was clear, that it is the perpetrators were not „Metaler“ could act, because I had never experienced that this steal each other. But as the saying goes, someday is the first time, perhaps this also applies to the flip-flops. At least pickpockets were already organized at Greenfield (!) on the way, this phenomenon so as slowly to open-air common practice seems to be.

About this year's Sonisphere event I could have written a lot, after all, were also further GWAR, In Flames, Judas Priest and so on start. But too many words spoil the Textejakulat and so I just hope on fruitful ground for criticism, because somehow I got at the present chaos again and again the Mud Jonschwil 2010 to mind. But apparently, all good things three and maybe you finally make it next year a professional and all-round compelling Festival in the kitchens of Outfield Productions and the Zurich Konzertagentur Free & Virgin to sizzle, because this year they have even more than anything else splattered with fame. Next year has been for me to be at the starting line-up, a hammer, I'll be back… or I'm on the Park and watch me free concert an :)

Nails
Sonisphere Iron Maiden - Dance of Death 24.06.2011

Pics by Rockslave (Metal Factory) and Videos TheLostDevil, MrNomBidon, gagadumiau, protyreus and Haldi4803.

Sonisphere 2011 - Dawn of the Joggeli
4.9 Total
0 User Rating (0 votes)
the atmosphere7
Performance9
Acoustics7
visibility7
Vor-Ort-Service0
Sanitary installations1
Parking situation3
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Sonisphere Switzerland Running Order

Finally the Running Order online for Sonisphere in Basel, just about new tickets and more bands have been confirmed. The Friday is as follows:

Door opening / Doors: 12.00

APOLLO STAGE
13.30 – 14.15 Sick Puppies
14.45 – 15.30 Mr. Big
16.00 – 17.00 Alter Bridge
17.30 – 18.30 Limp Bizkit
19.00 – 20.15 Slipknot
21.00 – 23.00 Iron Maiden

BOHEMIA STAGE
16.30 – 17.00 Info to follow
17.30 – 18.30 Cavalera Conspiracy
19.00 – 20.00 Times Of Grace
20.30 – 21.30 Bring me the Horizon
22.00 – 23.00 Kreator
23.30 – 00.30 ELUVEITIE
01.30 - Gwar

RED BULL STAGE
14.00 – 15.00 Info to follow
15.30 – 16.30 Gojira
17.00 – 18.00 Skindred
18.30 – 19.30 Escape The Fate
20.00 – 21.00 Info to follow
21.30 – 22.30 Architects
23.30 – 00.30 Turisas

SATURN STAGE
14.45 – 15.15 Buckcherry
15.45 – 16.45 Monster Magnet
17.15 – 18.15 Hammerfall
18.45 – 19.45 Mastodon
20.15 – 21.15 Alice Cooper
21.45 – 22.45 Papa Roach
23.15 – 00.15 In Flames
00.45 – 02.00 In Extremo

Basel: Sonisphere 2011 – More bands confirmed

In addition to the confirmed headliners Iron Maiden, as well as Slipknot, Hatebreed, In Flames, Alice Cooper, Bring me the Horizon, und Architects, could now more high-caliber program of the Sonisphere Festivals be added in Basel. On Friday the 24. June will be heard on a total of five stages bands and see his. newly confirmed: In Extremo, Mr. Big, Papa Roach, Kreator, Hammerfall, Cavalera Conspiracy, Mastodon, Escape The Fate, GWAR, Times Of Grace und Devildriver. On the eve, So Thursday, the 23. June Judas Priest give the ultimate Concert In the Switzerland – after which they will dissolve. That same evening, let it rip and Whitesnake and The Damned Things. More acts will be added continuously.

Morning, the 26. January at 8.00 Clock in the morning goes wrong with the ticket sales. If you want to see all the bands and Action Places, is recommended, to secure one of the limited combined tickets, which allows just that. Here is: „first come, first serve“. Subsequently are only tickets for the concerts in St. Jakob Park available, Single tickets from 23.6. and two-day passes (St. St Jakobshalle more. Jakob Park). the Map this Metal pass available here.

DBD: Zombies, March! – GWAR

A few days ago made Oderus, seines Zeichens Bandmitglied und Sänger bei GWAR, one short stop here in the crypt. All the more, I am pleased, today that the new Video to „Zombies, March!“, from the upcoming album „Bloody Pit of horror“ – mit schön blutigen Zombies – came out is. Gorgeous, sowas gehört hier einfach in die Gruft und schliesslich ist bald Halloween. Namely!

Nails
GWAR "Zombies, March!" (Official Video)

Oderus Urungus Wikinger Bestattung

Das berühmte Kostüm von Dave Brockie aka Oderus Urungus, Sänger von GWAR, wurde vor ein paar Tagen in einem Vikingerbegräbnis nach Valhalla geschickt. Äusserst passend.

Oderus Urungus Wikinger Bestattung

Tonight we sent Oderus home in a fitting manner at the public memorial for Dave Brockie. A blazing Viking ship with Oderus laid out in it, the cuttlefish pointing proudly straight up. Watching my friend Dave’s costume go up in flames in front of a thousand fans was so much more intense for me than the private memorial for friends & family we had April Fool’s Day.

I spoke at both of them, as GWAR asked me to, & both times as I spoke I was sad. But watching his alter-ego burn tore me up way more than the first memorial, maybe because there was Dave, the human who was my friend who just “left us”- I never saw his body- & then there was Oderus, who was something entirely else. To watch his stage gear burn was like watching part of my life literally go up in flames. I was sobbing my eyes out as I took this photo. It was just a super-intense moment. Very beautiful, but overwhelming. Fly free, Oderus- you are missed

Video Thumbnail
Oderus Urungus Viking Funeral Flaming Arrow Shot, GWAR-B-Q 2014

(via Brooklyn Vegan)

GWAR: Lord Oderus liest Gutenachtgeschichten für Kinder

Ok, vielleicht sorgt das folgende Video nicht dafür, dass die Kinder friedlich einschlafen, aber vielleicht verstecken sie sich unter dem Bett und versuchen so leise wie möglich zu sein, was ja mindestens genauso gut ist. Besonders toll ist der Part am Ende, wo er sich einfach selbst den Rest ausdenkt und irgendwelchen Quatsch reimt… :)

Video Thumbnail
GWAR's Oderus Urungus Reads 'Goodnight Moon' [Uncensored]

DBD: Let Us Slay – GWAR

Don’t give them a sword and then not let them use it
Or sent them to war, and then make them lose it
This is a bomb, don’t want to defuse it
Death is the answer, go forth and choose it

Let us slay
Let them slay, let them slay [x3]
The lust for blood won’t go away

Let us slay
Let them slay, let them slay [x3]

It is the era of calamity
And I see this with perfect clarity
And there never was an illusion of parity
I’ve got no time for your crippled christ

We have no need for your crippled christ
And we never lacked for your advice
We don’t have to hide our genocide
They’ll fear us more when they know the we don’t lie

It’s gone beyond hatred this time
You love death, yet call it a crime
I twist the dagger that’s deep in your guts
I’ll put an end to it this time

[Solo]

On your knees – Pray
It is your destiny
On your feet – Slay
Obedience through slavery

Don’t give them a sword and then not let them use it
Or sent them to war, and then make them lose it
This is a bomb, don’t want to defuse it
Death is the answer, death is the answer

Total control
We own your soul

No time for life
Time for the knife
Time for the sword
Fetus is cored
Total mutation
Necro-mutilation
The perfect life form
Born for porn

Let us slay
Let them slay, let them slay [x3]
The lust for blood won’t go away

Let us slay
Let them slay, let them slay [x3]

We’ve got no time for your crippled christ
And we never lacked for your advice
Lie after lie, lie, lie
I do believe its almost time

The crippled christ, the crippled christ
The crippled christ, the crippled christ
The crippled christ, the crippled christ
I do believe its almost time

You’re always calling for the sacrifice
And the body count is very nice
Lie after lie, lie, lie, lie
I do believe its time do die

Sonisphere 2011 – Dawn of the Joggeli

„Aufgabe von Kunst ist es heute, Chaos in die Ordnung zu bringen.“ schrieb Theodor W. Adorno in Minima Moralia und die Organisation und Koordination des Sonisphere Festivals in Basel war von Chaos geprägt, wie auch diverse Bands in Ansagen bemerkten und man konnte am letzten Freitag von Glück sprechen, dass nichts passiert ist. Doch gab es auch Hammershows von Hatebreed, Slipknot, Eluveitie und Iron Maiden. Bands super, Wetter super, Rest nicht. Aber das OK des Schweizer Sonisphere kann sich dies, nach der letztjährigen Schlammschlacht offensichtlich leisten… – denn es hätte auch schlechter sein können. Die grossartigen Bands liessen so über einiges hinwegsehen und dem grössten Teil der Metalheads ein Lächeln ins Gesicht zu zaubern.

Letzten Freitag war es wieder soweit: Sonisphere schlug seine Zelte auf, zum zweiten Mal und nach der Jungfernfahrt in Jonschwil, fand das Festival diesmal im Basler St. Jakob Stadion mitsamt Umschwung statt. Das Wetter zeigte sich von seiner guten Seite und die schier unerschöpflichen Anzahl an Bands liessen einem auch etwas über die organisatorischen Mängel hinwegsehen – diese aber nicht vergessen, denn bereits mit dem Start ins Festival am Freitag wurde klar, auf was sich das Sonisphere wirklich verstand: Gewinnmaximierung! Den leider wurden die Spielzeiten der Bands, welche bereits im Vorfeld x-mal geändert wurde, zu Beginn des Tages wieder umgestellt und komprimiert, was weder bei Fans noch Bands für Begeisterung gesorgt haben dürfte, mir persönlich aber nicht wirklich eine Rolle spielte.

Der Bändeltausch war dilettantisch organisiert und die Bändelchen super, denn diese gibts 1:1 für 120 Franken bei Flyerking zu kaufen… 1000 Stück, der Link dazu war sogar aufgedruckt und damit nicht genug, mit einem Ticket konnte man soviel Bändel holen wie man wollte und damit Freunden und Bekannten eine Freude machen. Doch dies sollte nur der Anfang zum organisierten Chaos sein, denn das Festival stand schon seit Wochen unter einem schlechten Stern, da der Anlass Mangels Zuschauer vom Fussball- ins Leichtathletikstadion verschoben werden musste und es dort nicht möglich war, die bezahlten Sitzplätze in Anspruch nehmen zu können. So erhielten sämtliche Käufer eines Sitzplatztickets zum Einlass Bons für zwei Getränke und eine Wurst. Doch wo zum Teufel könnte man die Bons für die versprochenen gratis Getränke und Wurst einlösen? 90% der Catering-Stände wollten auf alle Fälle von diesen Bons nichts wissen. Befremdlich wirkte auch, dass sobald man das Metalfestival betreten hatte, als erstes ein Törtchenstand zu sehen war… nun ja – ich kannte sowas bis dahin nicht, aber kann ja auch nett sein, sich zu Hatebreed Kaffee und Kuchen reinzuziehen. Nach so einem Konzert braucht der ausgepowerte Metalhead ja bekanntlich einen Zuckerstoss…

Video Thumbnail
Sonisphere 2011 // Slipknot - Sid Wilson crowdsurfing after he jumps from a truck

Doch kommen wir erst mal zum wesentlichen des Festivals, der Musik! Leider konnte man auch diese, zu Beginn des Festivals nicht richtig geniessen, bei Sick Puppies auf der Apollo Stage, notabene der Hauptbühne des Anlasses, kam es zu einem Stromausfall, was bereits wieder Zweifel an der Professionalität der Organisation aufkommen liess. Bei Cataract auf der Red Bull Stage wurde man nicht mehr reingelassen, da die Halle bereits voll war. Die Security wurde dabei irgendwelchen Studenten und Teenies überlassen, die auch des zweifelhafte Vergnügen hatten, enttäuschten Fans vor verschlossenen Türen abzuweisen, was bei stärker alkholosierten Fans locker hätte eskalieren können. Gegebenermassen war für uns etwas Sonne angesagt, so fläzten wir uns in der Nähe der Apollo Stage auf den Rasen, liessen den ersten Ärger ersaufen verfliegen… und kamen dabei noch etwas in Genuss von Mr Big, welche aber nicht wirklich meinem Gusto entsprechen.

So war die erste Show die man wirklich geniessen konnte mit Dave Wyndorf, seines Zeichens Dreh- und Angelpunkt der drogengeschwängerten Monster Magnet. Nach Dave mit seinen Mannen war bereits ein Höhepunkt des Sonisphere’s angesagt: Hatebreed! Einfach grossartig wie diese Jungs es verstanden haben gleich von Beginn weg das Publikum in ihren Bann zu ziehen. Höllisch laut und mit einem so fetten Sound, stillstehen kennen die Jungs nicht. Bei solch fetten Riffs gibt es einfach kein Pardon. Ehrliche Emotionen, ungestüme Leidenschaft, ein fetter Sound und besonders mächtige Energie. Vor der Bohemia Stage setzte sich das Publikum nahezu geschlossen in Bewegung, Jamey Jasta tobte über die Bretter und heizte die schwitzende Meute immer weiter ein und die feierten bei bestem Sound und zu Killer-Tracks wie „Destroy Everything“, „This Is Now“, „Live For This“ oder „Doomsayer“ eine riesige Party.

Video Thumbnail
Monster Magnet - Crop Circle (Complete song)

Das Eluveitie und Slipknot zur selben Zeit spielen mussten, war eine kleine Unschönheit, die so manchen Fan ärgerte, wie auch der Marktplatz, welcher völlig Jenseits eingerichtet war, denn wer kauft sich schon Flip-Flops an einem Metal-Festival? Auf all den meinen unzähligen Festivals an den ich teilgenommen habe, hab ich noch nie – aber noch gar nie – Flip-Flops zum Verkauf gesehen! Das 4 dl Wasser dabei für 5 Franken verkauft wurde, passt wieder mal ins ganze Bild der Gewinnmaximierung, doch damit nicht genug, an den Ständen durften keine Flaschen verkauft werden, während Leute offen mit Partyfässern reinspazierten. Ich weiss nicht wie begeistert Iron Maiden wären, wenn sie wüssten, dass man ohne jegliches Hindernis mit Schusswaffen reinspazieren konnte. Ich habe schon viel gesehen, aber sowas Lächerliches und Unprofessionelles ist mir noch selten untergekommen, denn selbst einen Raketenwerfer reinzunehmen wäre kein Problem gewesen. :pistolen:

Doch kommen wir wieder zurück auf die Musik, Anerkennung verdienen selbstverständlich weitere Sonisphere-Exponenten wie Hammerfall, Mastodon und Eluveitie, welche allsamt grossartige Shows boten und die Fans absolut zu überzeugen vermochten. Auch Chrigel von Eluveitie war das organisatorische Chaos aufgefallen und versuchte mit Witz das Ganze etwas aufzulockern, Chaosphere ist nur einer der Ausdrücke die fielen. Wie immer bot seine Band mit ihrem Melodic Death Metal mit keltischen Melodien das, was von ihnen erwartet wurde: Rocken, grooven, tanzen, springen, klingen, träumen, loslassen.

Seit dem letztjährigen (Drogen-)Tod des Slipknot Bassisten Paul D. Grey ist die Band aus Iowa nur selten aufgetreten. Trotzdem oder vielleicht gerade deshalb boten Slipknot ein wahres Feuerwerk. Auf der Hauptbühne gaben sie ein Stelldichein, das furios wie gewaltig war. Trotz Tageslicht und Sonne schraubten die bizarr-clownesk anmutenden Metaller das Seh- und Hörerlebnis in sphärische Höhen. Rotormässig in die Höhe schraubte sich überdies Joey Jordison mitsamt seiner Drum-Station und nebst Pyrotechnik gaben Slipknot Stage Diving zum Besten. Rund 90 Minuten dauerte der Gig, der nicht wenige Male Zuschaueropfer forderte und Helfer wie Helfershelfer arbeitsame Minuten bescherte. Leider konnte man die Bildschirme der Apollo Stage kaum von hinten sehen.

ARVE Error: Oembed Call failed: The endpoint located at https://www.youtube.com/oembed?format=json&url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dag-IuKH0Slk returned a 404 error.
Details: Not Found

Die Verpflegungsstände am Sonisphere (nicht die in der Halle), waren hygienisch schweinisch. Vorgefertigte Hamburger lagen offen in einem Kasten. Das Geld wurde mit blossen Händen angenommen, um dann mit selbiger den Käse aufs Fleisch und das Brötchen und Fleisch zusammen zu drücken. Die gleiche Hand kratzt sich Sekunden später im Gesicht, hebt vom Boden Abfall auf und kümmert sich anschliessend ungewaschen wieder ums Essen. Nicht eine Person am Stand tut dies, nein, es tun alle und im Münzstock lagen Frites und Geld, teilweise gemischt im und mit Essen. Da wünsch ich doch guten Appetit. Und Freunde, 9 Franken für ein 4 Bissen Pizzastück ist nicht nur leicht übertrieben, sondern grenzt an Wucher, da bleibt einem nur ein Schluck Wasser, aus dem Becher mit dem Goldrand :)

Doch kommen wir wieder zurück auf die Musik, da doch noch grosse Headliner wie Alice Cooper und Iron Maiden anstehen. Auch wenn es Mr Cooper nicht schafft, mich stimmlich zu beeindrucken, so ist es doch spannend zu sehen für welche Szene der nächste Song wohl herhalten soll. Man hört ihm einfach an, dass „I’m Eighteen“ schon lange, lange nicht mehr stimmen kann, seine Vorstellungskraft und Spass am Spiel mit verrückten Requisiten hat dieses Alter zum Glück kaum überholt. Mit einem beeindruckenden Schatz an Vitalität, Energie und Groteske führt uns der 63 jährige Altrocker durch sein Theater aus Kitsch und Selbstinszenierung.

Völlig nicht kitischig waren Iron Maiden. Die eiserne Jungfrau brachte zu Beginn überwiegend Songs von „The Final Frontier“, ihrem neusten Album und bei welchem ich ums verrecken nicht warm werde. Passend zur neuen Scheibe ballerte das Intro nebst folgendem „Final Frontier“ und „El Dorado“ aus den Boxen. Die Bühne war, wie fast immer, genauso gestaltet bzw. an den neuesten Output angelehnt, sprich eine Science Fiction Landschaft – gesäumt von zwei Funktürmen nebst Sternenhimmel. Es folgte ein wahrer Klassiker: „2 Minutes To Midnight“. Es ist nach wie vor faszinierend, wie topfit die sechs Herren über die Bühne fegen. Und als später auch noch die 20 Meter-Variante über die Bühne glotzt und böse mit den roten Augen funkelt, ist die Welt sowieso in Ordnung. Ok, der Bursche sieht zwar mittlerweile aus wie ein Weltraumschwein, aber verdammt, es ist immer noch Eddie. Screeeeeaaaammmmm for me Basel, Screeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmm for meeeee!

Ganz grosses Kino und im Kuppeldach und Bühnenhintergrund funkeln Lichter wie Sterne. Irgendwie galaktisch wunderschön. Aber das war noch nicht alles, was das Auge geboten bekam: Zu vielen Songs wurden passende riesige Stoffbilder wie Theaterkulissen in den Bühnenhintergrund gezogen und Eddie fehlte auch nicht.

Und wieder kamen daraufhin ein paar neuere Stücke („Blood Brothers“, „The Wicker Man“ und „When The Wild Wind Blows“), bis „The Evil That Men Do“ den Block an Klassikern einleitete. Ab diesem Moment war es dann wohl auch um die grössten Skeptiker geschehen: Egal, ob nun die melancholischen Passagen von „Fear Of The Dark“ oder die gottgleichen Twin-Leads von „Iron Maiden“: Wer in diesen Minuten keine Gänsehaut bekam oder so derbe mitgröhlte, dass er am nächsten Tag kiloweise Hustenbonbons futtern musste, der hat an dem Abend irgendetwas falsch gemacht!

Video Thumbnail
Iron Maiden live at Sonisphere Basel 24.6.2011 - Blood Brothers

Taschendiebe, angeblich aus Rumänien, machten als weiteres Übel sämtliche Stages unsicher und so manchen Metalhead um ein iPhone oder Portemonnaie ärmer. War klar, dass es sich bei den Tätern um keine „Metaler“ handeln konnte, denn ich hätte noch nie erlebt das sich diese gegenseitig bestehlen. Aber wie sagt man so schön, irgendwann einmal ist das erste Mal, vielleicht gilt dies auch für die Flip-Flops. Zumindest waren Taschendiebe auch schon am Greenfield organisiert (!) unterwegs, dieses Phänomen scheint also so langsam an Open-Airs Usus zu werden.

Über die diesjährige Sonisphere-Veranstaltung könnte ich noch viel schrieben, immerhin waren weiters auch Gwar, In Flames, Judas Priest und und und am Start. Doch zu viele Worte verderben das Textejakulat und so hoffe ich einfach auf fruchtbaren Boden für Kritik, denn irgendwie kam mir bei dem vorhanden Chaos immer wieder das Schlammbad von Jonschwil 2010 in den Sinn. Aber bekanntlich sind alle guten Dinge drei und vielleicht schafft man es nächstes Jahr endlich ein professionelles und rundum überzeugendes Festival in den Küchen von Outfield Productions und die Zürcher Konzertagentur Free & Virgin zu brutzeln, denn auch dieses Jahr haben sie sich einmal mehr alles andere als mit Ruhm bekleckert. Nächstes Jahr muss für mich schon ein Hammer Line-up am Start sein, dass ich wieder komme… oder ich stehe auf dem Parkhaus und gucke mir das Konzert gratis an :)

Video Thumbnail
Sonisphere Iron Maiden - Dance of Death 24.06.2011

Pics by Rockslave (Metal Factory) und Videos von TheLostDevil, MrNomBidon, gagadumiau, protyreus und Haldi4803.

Sonisphere 2011 - Dawn of the Joggeli
4.9 Total
0 Nutzerwertung (0 votes)
Atmosphäre7
Performance9
Akustik7
Sichtverhältnisse7
Vor-Ort-Service0
Sanitäre Einrichtungen1
Parkplatzsituation3
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Vor und nach GWAR

Bekanntlich spielen GWAR ja in wenigen Tagen am „Sonisphere Festival“ in Basel. Wie dieses „Vorher/Nachher“ Bild zeigt, ist mit einem schön blutigen Auftritt zu rechnen. Raining Blood!!!

Sonisphere Switzerland Running Order

Endlich ist der Running Order online zum Sonisphere in Basel, ebenso Infos zu neuen Tickets und weitere Bands wurden bestätigt. Der Freitag gestaltet sich wie folgt:

Türöffnung/Doors: 12.00

APOLLO STAGE
13.30 – 14.15 Sick Puppies
14.45 – 15.30 Mr. Big
16.00 – 17.00 Alter Bridge
17.30 – 18.30 Limp Bizkit
19.00 – 20.15 Slipknot
21.00 – 23.00 Iron Maiden

BOHEMIA STAGE
16.30 – 17.00 Infos folgen
17.30 – 18.30 Cavalera Conspiracy
19.00 – 20.00 Times Of Grace
20.30 – 21.30 Bring Me The Horizon
22.00 – 23.00 Kreator
23.30 – 00.30 Eluveitie
01.30 – Gwar

RED BULL STAGE
14.00 – 15.00 Infos folgen
15.30 – 16.30 Gojira
17.00 – 18.00 Skindred
18.30 – 19.30 Escape The Fate
20.00 – 21.00 Infos folgen
21.30 – 22.30 Architects
23.30 – 00.30 Turisas

SATURN STAGE
14.45 – 15.15 Buckcherry
15.45 – 16.45 Monster Magnet
17.15 – 18.15 Hammerfall
18.45 – 19.45 Mastodon
20.15 – 21.15 Alice Cooper
21.45 – 22.45 Papa Roach
23.15 – 00.15 In Flames
00.45 – 02.00 In Extremo

Basel: Sonisphere 2011 – Weitere Bands bestätigt

Neben den bereits bestätigten Headliner Iron Maiden, sowie Slipknot, Hatebreed, In Flames, Alice Cooper, Bring me the Horizon, und Architects, konnten nun weitere Hochkaräter dem Programm des Sonisphere Festivals in Basel hinzugefügt werden. Am Freitag den 24. Juni werden auf insgesamt fünf Bühnen Bands zu hören und sehen sein. Neu bestätigt: In Extremo, Mr. Big, Papa Roach, Kreator, Hammerfall, Cavalera Conspiracy, Mastodon, Escape The Fate, Gwar, Times Of Grace und Devildriver. Am Vorabend, also Donnerstag, den 23. Juni geben Judas Priest das allerletzte Konzert in der Schweiz – danach werden sie sich auflösen. Am selben Abend lassen es auch Whitesnake und The Damned Things krachen. Weitere Acts werden laufend hinzugefügt.

Morgen, den 26. Januar um 8.00 Uhr morgens gehts los mit dem Ticketvorverkauf. Falls man sämtliche Bands und Actionplaces anschauen möchte, wird empfohlen, sich eines der limitierten Kombitickets zu sichern, welches genau dies ermöglicht. Hier gilt: „first come, first serve“. Anschliessend sind nur noch Tickets für die Konzerte im St. Jakobspark erhältlich, Einzeltickets vom 23.6. und Zwei-Tages-Pässe (St. Jakobshalle plus St. Jakobspark). Den Lageplan zu diesem Metalspass gibts hier.

DBD: Zombies, March! – GWAR

Vor wenigen Tagen machte Oderus, seines Zeichens Bandmitglied und Sänger bei GWAR, einen kurzen Stop hier in der Gruft. Umso mehr freut es mich, dass heute das neue Video zu „Zombies, March!“, aus dem kommenden Album „Bloody Pit of Horror“ – mit schön blutigen Zombies – rausgekommen ist. Herrlich, sowas gehört hier einfach in die Gruft und schliesslich ist bald Halloween. Nämlich!

Video Thumbnail
GWAR "Zombies, March!" (OFFICIAL VIDEO)