DBD: Unbreakable – Gloomball

Aus dem Ende März erschienenen Album der deutschen RockerGloomball„, which is „The Quiet Monster“ calls, (hier gehts zum Album Review Herrschaften) gibts hier für euch die Single „straight To hell“…

Video Thumbnail
Gloomball - Unbreakable (Official Video)

Album Review: Gloomball – The Quiet Monster

Two years after their debut login „Gloomball“ With „The Quiet Monster“ back. The second album of the newcomer from Germany is slightly harder than its predecessor and is grooving and rifft all Rules the art. The wheel, the five guys not reinvented, but, what they do, do it well. Gloomball lined up without any problems in the ranks of the band is a, who know how catchy melody or. Writing songs, while they combine modernity with classic material as sent, that one does not know even after the third pass, where to place the boys. But one thing is clear, „The Quiet Monster“ definitely goes directly into the bloodstream.

Gloomball - The Quiet Monster

With her in April 2013 more than worth listening debut ensured the German Newcomer „Gloomball“ breath of fresh air in the German rock- and Metal-Scene. „The Distance“ made the five-piece band fronted by Alen Ljubic at a stroke known internationally. The subsequent tours and concerts with, inter alia, „Eat The Gun“, „Motorjesus“, „Icebreaker“ or „Saltatio died“ still reinforced the impression, that consequently took a band on the road, from which you will hear in the future. And actually now is the second album „The Quiet Monster“ proud ready for release and documented an unmistakable development. The second album includes stylistically seamlessly from the strong debut album, but is compositionally and lyrically one step further.

Gloomball - Band

The twelve new songs prove to be even more exciting and dynamic, the texts from Ljubics spring as mature reflections of his thoughts and feelings. Right at the beginning falls on, that the guys around frontman Alen Ljubic much more direct, varied and rough go to work, than they were in „The Distance“ was the case. The new album is the basis remained stable cast of Gloomball. As on „The Distance“ the artistic forces are distributed evenly on Ljubic, the guitarist Björn Daigger and Jossi steering, on bass and drummer Danny Joe Moser Basti. Compared to debut the song ideas based „The Quiet Monster“ this time on the shoulders of all band members. A pinch of southern rock of the brand „Anti-Mortem“, which in turn sometimes after „PANTERA“ sound, a decent shot „Godsmack“ on top of it and the whole thing with the finest „In Flames“-flavored seasoning – ready is the „Gloomball“.

Video Thumbnail
Gloomball - Straight to hell (OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO)

particularly „Godsmack“ seem to have left a lasting impression on the boys, because just after the intro „The Quiet…“ Be Open „Monster“ could also be derived from the spring. Typical Gloomball- Rock hits like „straight To hell“ or „Towards The Sun“ documenting the great energy of this band, and their ability, Dynamics and catchiness in a balanced Balance bring to. At the latest with the slightly quiet „In Flames“ reminiscent „All Beauty Dies“ accepts the new long iron monster excessively on momentum, and Gloomball present us a very successful rollercoaster. While the massive „Sirens (Die Alone)“ pushes forward firmly, common „One More Day“ a pleasant melancholy. With „Sullen Eyes“ show Gloomball amazingly rough and heavy, a schwermetallischer Groove track with - as Ljubic calls it - „For us unusually evil feeling.“ Similarly experimentally, albeit in a different stylistic orientation, shows the track „Blood Red World“, new ways in which Gloomball, work with choirs and even experiment at the end of the song with strings. With the final „Blue Is Turning Into Gray“ there is a somewhat unusually sounding track, but the exact succeeded by his somewhat different orientation a multi-faceted album brings to an end.

Gloomball - Logo

Speaking choirs: Renowned support in the backing vocals were the musicians in the songs „Monster“ and „Blue Is Turning Into Gray“ by Matthias Hechler of the German gothic-Metallern Crematory. should also be mentioned again successful texts written by Alen Ljubic. Already on „The Distance“ had the Gloomball frontman packed his thoughtful stories in fitting words, This time his subjects are even a personal Tück. such as in „Monster“, dem Album-Opener, with its distinctive line of text „light the world up be the monster, I will never break and I know I can take this monster.“ Mistresses: „I like working with metaphors, and somehow there is little monster indeed in all of us, it just depends on, if one uses it positive or negative.“ Ljubic lyrics have meaning and significance, without being cryptic or lifted. „I would of course, my concern is understood by everyone, my ideas and perspectives to be able to pass.“

Gloomball - Band2

As the album title suggests, here comes the monster crept on silent feet, one the more scare. Accordingly, the longplayer be ungemeines potential and unexpected versatility gradually unfolds and with each listen a bit more. Bottom line Gloomball have done everything right so far as well as on their second work. While still lacking a little bit of, get out „The Quiet Monster“ to make a real beast, but if the musicians go on like this, then soon to the nothing stand in the way. „The Quiet Monster“ is a good album on familiar paths, with several highlights, but also 2-3 Freezes. The overall impression is overwhelmingly positive and therefore gets the album a clear recommendation. Fans of groovy alternative metal get here a successful seizure.

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Tracklist

  1. The Quiet…
  2. Monster
  3. Straight to hell
  4. All Beauty Dies
  5. Towards The Sun
  6. Sirens (Die Alone)
  7. One More Day
  8. Sullen Eyes
  9. (No) Surrender
  10. Unbreakable
  11. Blood Red World
  12. Blue Is Turning Into Gray
Gloomball - The Quiet Monster
7.5 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality7
Time7
Musical skills9
Singing8
Lyrics8
Substance7
Production8
Longevity6
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

DBD: Unbreakable – Gloomball

Aus dem Ende März erschienenen Album der deutschen Rocker „Gloomball„, welches sich „The Quiet Monster“ nennt, (hier gehts zum Album Review Herrschaften) gibts hier für euch die Single „Straight To Hell“…

Video Thumbnail
GLOOMBALL - Unbreakable (official video)

Album Review: Gloomball – The Quiet Monster

Zwei Jahre nach ihrem Debüt melden sich „Gloomball“ mit „The Quiet Monster“ zurück. Das zweite Album der Newcomer aus Deutschland ist etwas härter als der Vorgänger und groovt und rifft nach allen Regeln der Kunst. Das Rad haben die fünf Jungs zwar nicht neu erfunden, aber das, was sie machen, machen sie gut. Gloomball reihen sich ohne Probleme in die Riege der Bands ein, die es verstehen eingängige Melodie bzw. Songs zu schreiben, dabei verbinden sie die Moderne mit klassischem Material so geschickt, dass man selbst nach dem dritten Durchlauf nicht weiss, wo man die Jungs einordnen soll. Aber eines ist klar, „The Quiet Monster“ geht definitiv direkt in die Blutbahn.

Gloomball - The Quiet Monster

Mit ihrem im April 2013 mehr als nur hörenswerten Debütalbum sorgten die deutschen Newcomer „Gloomball“ für frischen Wind in der deutschen Rock- und Metal-Szene. „The Distance“ machte die fünfköpfige Band um Frontmann Alen Ljubic mit einem Schlag international bekannt. Die anschliessenden Tourneen und Konzerte unter anderem mit „Eat The Gun“, „Motorjesus“, „Eisbrecher“ oder „Saltatio Mortis“ verstärkten noch den Eindruck, dass sich hier eine Band auf den Weg gemacht hat, von der man in Zukunft noch hören wird. Und tatsächlich steht nun das zweites Album „The Quiet Monster“ stolz zur Veröffentlichung bereit und dokumentiert eine unverkennbare Weiterentwicklung. Das zweite Album schliesst stilistisch nahtlos an das starke Debütalbum an, geht aber kompositorisch und textlich einen Schritt weiter.

Gloomball - Band

Die zwölf neuen Songs erweisen sich als noch abwechslungsreicher und dynamischer, die Texte aus Ljubics Feder als reife Reflektionen seiner Gedanken und Gefühlswelt. Gleich zu Anfang fällt auf, dass die Jungs rund um Frontmann Alen Ljubic wesentlich direkter, abwechslungsreicher und rauer zu Werke gehen, als dies noch bei „The Distance“ der Fall war. Grundlage des neuen Albums ist die stabil geblieben Besetzung von Gloomball. Wie schon auf „The Distance“ verteilen sich die künstlerischen Kräfte gleichmässig auf Ljubic, die Gitarristen Björn Daigger und Jossi Lenk, auf Bassist Basti Moser und Schlagzeuger Danny Joe. Im Vergleich zum Debüt basieren die Songideen von „The Quiet Monster“ diesmal auf den Schultern aller Bandmitglieder. Eine Prise Southern Rock der Marke „Anti-Mortem“, die wiederum manchmal nach „Pantera“ tönen, einen ordentlichen Schuss „Godsmack“ oben drauf und das Ganze mit feinster „In Flames“-Würze abgeschmeckt – fertig ist der „Gloomball“.

Video Thumbnail
GLOOMBALL - Straight To Hell (official lyric video)

Besonders „Godsmack“ scheinen bei den Jungs einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen zu haben, denn gerade das nach dem Intro „The Quiet…“ eröffnende „Monster“ könnte ebenso aus deren Feder stammen. Typische Gloomball- Rock-Kracher wie „Straight To Hell“ oder „Towards The Sun“ dokumentieren die grosse Energie dieser Band, sowie ihre Fähigkeit, Dynamik und Eingängigkeit in eine ausgewogene Balance zu bringen. Spätestens mit dem leicht an ruhige „In Flames“ erinnernden „All Beauty Dies“ nimmt das neue Langeisen monstermässig an Fahrt auf, und Gloomball präsentieren uns eine sehr gelungene Achterbahnfahrt. Während das wuchtige „Sirens (Die Alone)“ kräftig nach vorne schiebt, verbreitet „One More Day“ eine angenehme Melancholie. Mit „Sullen Eyes“ zeigen sich Gloomball erstaunlich derbe und heavy, ein schwermetallischer Groove-Track mit – wie Ljubic es nennt – „für uns ungewöhnlich bösem Feeling.“ Ähnlich experimentell, wenn auch in anderer stilistischer Ausrichtung, zeigt sich der Track „Blood Red World“, bei dem Gloomball neue Wege beschreiten, mit Chören arbeiten und am Ende des Songs sogar mit Streichern experimentieren. Mit dem abschliessenden „Blue Is Turning Into Gray“ gibt es einen etwas ungewöhlich anmutenden Track, der aber genau durch seine etwas andere Ausrichtung ein facettenreiches Album gelungen zu Ende bringt.

Gloomball - Logo

Apropos Chöre: Namhafte Unterstützung bei den BackgroundVocals fanden die Musiker in den Songs „Monster“ und „Blue Is Turning Into Gray“ durch Matthias Hechler von den deutschen Gothic-Metallern Crematory. Erwähnt werden sollten auch die erneut gelungenen Texte aus der Feder von Alen Ljubic. Schon auf „The Distance“ hatte der Gloomball-Frontmann seine durchdachten Storys in passende Worte verpackt, diesmal sind seine Themen sogar noch ein tück persönlicher. Wie etwa in „Monster“, dem Album-Opener, mit seiner markanten Textzeile „light the world up be the monster, I will never break and I know I can take this monster.“ Ljubic: „Ich arbeite gerne mit Metaphern, und irgendwie gibt es kleine Monster ja in uns allen, es kommt nur darauf an, ob man sie positiv oder negativ nutzt.“ Ljubics Texte haben Tiefgang und Aussagekraft, ohne dabei kryptisch oder abgehoben zu wirken. „Ich möchte natürlich, dass mein Anliegen von jedem verstanden wird, um meine Ideen und Sichtweisen weitergeben zu können.“

Gloomball - Band2

Wie der Albumtitel suggeriert, kommt hier das Monster auf leisen Sohlen angeschlichen, um einen umso stärker zu erschrecken. Dementsprechend entfaltet der Longplayer sein ungemeines Potenzial und seine ungeahnte Vielseitigkeit nach und nach sowie mit jedem Hören ein bisschen mehr. Unterm Strich haben Gloomball auch auf ihrem zweiten Werk soweit alles richtig gemacht. Zwar fehlt noch ein kleines Quäntchen, um aus „The Quiet Monster“ ein wahres Biest zu machen, aber wenn die Musiker so weitermachen, dann sollte dem bald nichts mehr im Wege stehen. „The Quiet Monster“ ist ein gutes Album auf altbekannten Pfaden, mit etlichen Höhepunkten, aber auch 2-3 Nullrunden. Der Gesamteindruck ist überwiegend positiv und damit bekommt das Album eine klare Empfehlung. Fans von groovendem Alternative Metal bekommen hier ein gelungenes Fressen.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist

  1. The Quiet…
  2. Monster
  3. Straight To Hell
  4. All Beauty Dies
  5. Towards The Sun
  6. Sirens (Die Alone)
  7. One More Day
  8. Sullen Eyes
  9. (Don’t) Surrender
  10. Unbreakable
  11. Blood Red World
  12. Blue Is Turning Into Gray
Gloomball - The Quiet Monster
7.5 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität7
Tempo7
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8
Songtexte8
Substanz7
Produktion8
Langlebigkeit6
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one