Album Review: Die Krupps – The Machinists Of Joy

were in the 80s and early 90s „Die Krupps“ absolute cult and „Machineries of Joy“ and „Metal Machine Music“ delivered to milestones from. Then you moved more and more from the electronic sound, trying to break new ground with a greater use of guitars. Since the millennium, no other album has been released. Well, the band reports, Electro man die, EBM, Industrial, Crossover and even metal and is called a classic of electronic music history, with a new album. As if this were not enough, this surprise with „The Machinists Of Joy“ titled, what stirs hopes. But what ultimately really provides the first studio album in this millennium, I would have dared to dream really never me in shape. After several years of maintenance work, the band has opened for singer Jürgen Engler their factory gates again, dusted off the machines and lubricated with „The Machinist of Joy“ is a prototype of the new band. „Die Krupps“ Since the beginning of the 80's an institution of the Industrial Electro. Since then, the Dusseldorf groundbreaking albums and amazing style changes have taken place. How does the band in 2013?

Die Krupps - The Machinist of Joy

With her first album of this millennium heave yourself „Die Krupps“ from grandma Klamottenkiste and knock the dust off the machine. „The Machinists Of Joy“ casts its shadow before electronic, That is, the name says it all and this program is again pregnant electrostatic. Anyone who has been musically in the 80s in the electronic field as a spoiled listeners and connoisseurs, which is in the new album not only their well-known and no. 10-Billboard hit of the year 1989 „Machineries of Joy“ recognize by name, but also musically and lyrically, the hard-working factory guys have remained faithful. The album title is already a guidance and signals, that it is again more electronics because the guitar, dominates the Krupp-sound. Nevertheless, guitarist Marcel Zürchers assertive riffs targeted in the songs placed.

Die Krupps

The opener „A Look Back in Anger“ offers beautiful, intense and fast-paced beats coupled with driving guitars, so that you feel but in fact back reminded of the most successful periods in the band. Here is the perfect symbiosis of EBM and metal crossover is offered again, being named first here clearly has the upper hand. Instead of an overloaded, electronic music piece served a Krupps mastermind Jürgen Engler here a tasteful fusion of two emotionally charged musical styles. Even the subsequent piece „Dirt Factory“ is musically and lyrically as much EBM, is hardly more. Hard snappy beats, refined sequencer sounds, specifically set „Hammer-auf-Amboss-Sounds“ and a steely cold voice. This is called machine Music! „Die Krupps“ presenting their new album lyrically a whole piece of work, musically round and appealing. The Electro-Express continues to gain momentum and a cool-influenced rap hits staccato-like-getacktete synth beats. The beat of the guitar and the „Stahlofons“ remains electronically, stands out and drives even the dancing shy listeners on the boards, to be working hard to give the rhythm.

Nails
Die Krupps - Risk factor (Official Music Video)

Ab dem Song „Risk factor“ dominated the predominant in the early years of electro sound of the Krupps the sound and fans of the early years of the band, this will be very happy. those, who later dealt with the Düsseldorf band music, could now respond a bit put off. With „Robo Sapien“ go the musicians, although again a little on reconciliation Course, but then turn the switch until it stops Electro-on. At least here the album for late Fans of the troupe starts to become too heavy digestible food, Krupp's true fans will be thrilled. Love it or hate it! The catchy factor is very high with „The Machinist of Joy“, can be the same and best tracks on the album and a run thanks to the pounding beats a shiver down the spine of happiness. Another hit for the clubs and a treat for lovers of electronic music hard goods. suspicious of the songs „Die Krupps“ the war- and industrial machinery („Nazis on Speed“, „Dirt Factory“), the increasing dehumanization („Robo Sapien“) or the conditions in the home country („In the wrong country“) – but are also full of joy at work („Machinist of Joy“, „Part of the Machine“) and the togetherness („Ice Cold Angel“, „Industry girl“). The only drawback, thereby, that they want to open up to the wider spectrum receiver, the risk, that hardcore electro fans something more reminiscent of pop music Normalo, denn to prevail Electro.

Die Krupps

Although „Die Krupps“ sometimes be located in the black scene, they do speak their own language and have their long history and the many musical phases traversed a broad audience – on the new recordings, the entire spectrum is then command. Here songs are available, not only for the industrial Dancefloor, but also for company parties and protest marches, fit on the barricades and in the canteens, where „Power station“ sang of neon lights and mannequins, sing „Die Krupps“ Factory of dirt and angels made of steel and the English and partly in German. The essence of the Krupps could appoint as: Machine music, Hart, danceable, some epic, peppered with targeted guitar attacks and the eternal hammering the „Stahlofons“, paired with contemporary critical texts, who confidently stand out from the crowd whose, which unfortunately is now standard. when „The Machinists Of Joy“ can work on you the impression, that the band is stronger than ever, because all the songs maintain a high level. The plant has got pleasing dynamic, produced modern, However, so clean without sounding like so many rerelease of the past. Who „Die Krupps“ earlier must have liked the album, who is on EBM anyway!

Tracklist:

  1. A Look Back in Anger
  2. Dirt Factory
  3. Risk factor
  4. Robo Sapien
  5. The Machinist of Joy
  6. Essenbeck
  7. In the wrong country
  8. Part of the Machine
  9. Ice Cold Angel
  10. Nocebo
  11. In the shadow of the rings
  12. BONUS: Nazis on Speed
  13. BONUS: Industry girl
Album Review: Die Krupps - The Machinists Of Joy
8.6 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality8
Time7
Musical skills10
Singing7
Lyrics10
Substance9
Production9
Longevity9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Album Review: Die Krupps – The Machinists of Joy

In den 80er und frühen 90er Jahren waren „Die Krupps“ absoluter Kult und mit „Machineries Of Joy“ und „Metal Machine Music“ lieferte man Meilensteine ab. Danach rückte man mehr und mehr vom elektronischen Sound ab und versuchte mit stärkerem Gitarreneinsatz neue Wege zu beschreiten. Seit der Jahrtausendwende wurde auch kein weiteres Album veröffentlicht. Nun meldet sich die Band, die man Electro, EBM, Industrial, Crossover und gar Metal nannte und ein Klassiker der elektronischen Musikgeschichte ist, mit einem neuen Album zurück. Als wäre dies nicht Überraschung genug wird dieses mit „The Machinists Of Joy“ betitelt, was Hoffnungen schürt. Doch was das erste Studioalbum in diesem Jahrtausend letztlich wirklich bietet hätte ich mir wirklich in der Form niemals zu erträumen gewagt. Nach mehrjährigen Wartungsarbeiten hat die Band um Sänger Jürgen Engler ihre Werkstore wieder geöffnet, die Maschinen entstaubt und geschmiert und mit „The Machinist of Joy“ geht ein neuer Prototyp vom Band. „Die Krupps“ sind seit Anfang der 80er eine Institution des Industrial Electro. Seither haben die Düsseldorfer wegweisende Alben und erstaunliche Stilwechsel vollzogen. Wie klingt die Band im Jahre 2013?

Die Krupps - The Machinist of Joy

Mit ihrem ersten Album dieses Jahrtausends hieven sich „Die Krupps“ aus Omas Klamottenkiste und klopfen den Staub von den Maschinen. „The Machinists Of Joy“ wirft seine elektronischen Schatten voraus, das heisst, der Name ist Programm und dieses Programm wiederum ist elektroschwanger. Wer in den 80ern sich schon musikalisch im elektronischen Bereich als verwöhnter Hörer und Geniesser befunden hat, der wird in dem neuen Album nicht nur ihren bekannten und No. 10-Billboard-Hit aus dem Jahr 1989 „Machineries of Joy“ namentlich wiedererkennen, sondern auch musikalisch und textlich sind sich die hart arbeitenden Fabrikjungs treu geblieben. Der Album-Titel gibt bereits eine Orientierungshilfe und signalisiert, dass es wieder mehr die Elektronik denn die Gitarre ist, die das Krupps-Klangbild beherrscht. Dennoch sind Gitarrist Marcel Zürchers durchsetzungsstarke Riffs zielgerichtet in den Songs platziert.

Die Krupps

Gleich der Opener „Ein Blick zurück im Zorn“ bietet herrlich intensive und rasante Beats gepaart mit treibenden Gitarren, so dass man sich doch tatsächlich wieder an die erfolgreichsten Zeiten der Band zurückerinnert fühlt. Hier wird wieder die perfekte Crossover Symbiose aus EBM und Metal geboten, wobei erstgenanntes hier eindeutig die Oberhand hat. Statt eines überladenen, elektronischen Musikstücks serviert einem Krupps-Mastermind Jürgen Engler hier eine geschmackvolle Fusion zweier emotionsgeladener Musikstile. Auch das anschliessende Stück „Schmutzfabrik“ ist musikalisch wie auch textlich so viel EBM, mehr geht kaum noch. Harte bissige Beats, raffinierte Sequenzer Sounds, gezielt gesetzte „Hammer-auf-Amboss-Sounds“ und ein stahlharter kalter Gesang. Das nennt man Maschinen Musik! „Die Krupps“ präsentieren in ihrem neuen Album ein textlich gewachsenes Stück Arbeit, musikalisch runder und ansprechender. Der Electro-Express nimmt weiter an Fahrt auf und ein kühl angehauchter Sprechgesang trifft auf stakkato-artig-getacktete Synthie-Beats. Der Beat der Gitarre und des „Stahlofons“ bleibt elektronisch, sticht heraus und treibt selbst den tanzscheuen Hörer auf die Bretter, um sich hart arbeitend dem Rhythmus hinzugeben.

Video Thumbnail
DIE KRUPPS - Risikofaktor (Official Music Video)

Ab dem Song „Risikofaktor“ beherrscht der in den frühen Jahren vorherrschende Electro-Sound der Krupps den Sound und Fans der frühen Jahre der Band wird dies sehr freuen. Diejenigen, die sich erst später mit der Musik der Düsseldorfer Band auseinandergesetzt haben, könnten nun ein wenig abgeschreckt reagieren. Mit „Robo Sapien“ gehen die Musiker zwar nochmal ein wenig auf Versöhnungskurs, drehen dann aber den Electro-Schalter bis zum Anschlag auf. Spätestens hier beginnt das Album für späte Fans der Truppe zu schwer verdaubarer Kost zu werden, wahre Krupps Fans werden begeistert sein. Love it or hate it! Der Ohrwurm-Faktor ist enorm hoch mit „The Machinist of Joy“, dem gleichnamigen und besten Titel des Albums und lässt einem dank der stampfenden Beats einen Schauer des Glückes über den Rücken laufen. Ein weiterer Hit für die Clubs und ein Hochgenuss für jeden Liebhaber des elektronisch harten Musikgutes. In den Songs beargwöhnen „Die Krupps“ die Kriegs- und Industriemaschinerie („Nazis auf Speed“, „Schmutzfabrik“), die zunehmende Enthumanisierung („Robo Sapien“) oder die Zustände im Heimatland („Im falschen Land“) – aber sind auch voll Freude bei der Arbeit („Machinist of Joy“, „Part of the Machine“) und bei der Zweisamkeit („Eiskalter Engel“, „Industrie-Mädchen“). Einziges Manko, dadurch, dass sie sich dem breiteren Hörer-Spektrum öffnen wollen, besteht die Gefahr, dass eingefleischte Electro-Fans etwas mehr an Normalo-Popmusik erinnert werden, denn als reinen Electro.

Die Krupps

Auch wenn „Die Krupps“ mitunter in der schwarzen Szene verortet werden, so sprechen sie doch ihre eigene Sprache und haben durch ihre lange Historie und die vielen durchlaufenen musikalischen Phasen einen breitgefächerten Hörerkreis – auf dem neuen Tonträger wird denn auch die ganze Bandbreite geboten. Hier sind Lieder vorhanden, die nicht nur für den Industrial-Dancefloor, sondern auch für Betriebsfeste und Protestmärsche, auf den Barrikaden und in den Werkskantinen passen, wo „Kraftwerk“ von Neonlicht und Schaufensterpuppen sangen, singen „Die Krupps“ von Schmutzfabrik und Engeln aus Stahl und das in deutsch und teilweise englisch. Die Essenz der Krupps könnte man so benennen: Maschinen-Musik, hart, tanzbar, teils episch, gespickt mit gezielten Gitarrenattacken und dem ewig währenden Hämmern des „Stahlofons“, gepaart mit zeitgemässen kritischen Texten, die sich souverän von der Masse dessen absetzen, was heutzutage leider Norm ist. Wenn man „The Machinists of Joy“ auf sich wirken lässt entsteht der Eindruck, dass die Band stärker ist als je zuvor, denn alle Songs halten ein hohes Niveau. Das Werk ist erfreulich dynamisch geraten, modern produziert, ohne jedoch so clean zu klingen wie so manch Rerelease der Vergangenheit. Wer „Die Krupps“ früher mochte muss das Album haben, wer auf EBM steht sowieso!

Tracklist:

  1. Ein Blick zurück im Zorn
  2. Schmutzfabrik
  3. Risikofaktor
  4. Robo Sapien
  5. The Machinist of Joy
  6. Essenbeck
  7. Im falschen Land
  8. Part of the Machine
  9. Eiskalter Engel
  10. Nocebo
  11. Im Schatten der Ringe
  12. BONUS: Nazis auf Speed
  13. BONUS: Industrie-Mädchen
Album Review: Die Krupps - The Machinists of Joy
8.6 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität8
Tempo7
Musikalische Fähigkeiten10
Gesang7
Songtexte10
Substanz9
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit9
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one