Looking at our favourite guitar heros…

About the Youtube channel of Deep Purple an old MTV clip was uploaded on the subject of guitar legends. The clip reported Deep Purple, Van Halen, Black Sabbath, Jimi Hendrix, Steve Vai and others…

Video Thumbnail
Looking at our favourite guitar heros...Ritchie Blackmore!

Lord of the Keyboard – Died Jon Lord

Deep Purple founding member Jon Lord and -Keyboarder yesterday Monday aged 71 Years, died in the London Clinic after a long illness and cancer leaves widow Vickie and daughters Amy and Sara. Since August last year, he had fought against the pancreatic cancer, Now he died of a pulmonary embolism. One of the greatest in rock history is not more. „Today, when I sit on the Hammond organ, I feel like in heaven“, said the rock legend just over a year ago.

Lord was a classically trained pianist, with his Hammond organ Deep Purple gave the typical sound. Titles like „Smoke on the Water“ or „Highway Star“ shaped the lives of a whole generation. This 1972 published songs are still performed today on the rock stages around the world. Jon Lord made a significant contribution to, Rock music with classical Music to reconcile: The once „loudest band in the world“ has performed with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra at the Royal Albert Hall, with one written by Jon Lord works for Rock Band and Orchestra.

Lord was on 9. June 1941 Born in the English city of Leicester. On the family piano, he made his first musical experiences. Early 60s Lord appeared in jazz- Pubs.
His first band, in which he played regularly, was dominated by the saxophone Bill Ashton Combo. As a keyboardist, he accompanied then a number of other bands such as the Artwoods, led by Art Wood, the brother of the late Rolling Stone Ronnie Wood. The great career began 1968 mit Deep Purple. Both in the studio and on stage Jon Lord worked as a creative source of ideas. In addition, he also administered always the time for solo works borrowed from classical music.

If Lord is focused at live concerts of Deep Purple bent over his instrument, then resulted in spite of the one or the other but rather to show component, that the audience looked tense in excited ecstasy on stage, dismantle the stalls instead of the hall. That Lord was not a world remote from art-rocker, but, he demonstrated after Deep Purple is 1976 The first time had separated. Shortly thereafter, he joined Whitesnake, the band of ex-Purple singer David Coverdale, there to hearty Blues-Playing Hard Rock.

Jon Lord was from the foundation 1968 up in 2002 Member of Deep Purple. To round off an eventful history of the band with crises, Resolution and Jon Lord comeback came in September 2002 for the last time with Deep Purple. But even after Jon Lord has continually come to the Keys, produced more albums and performed with orchestral works. Only last year, he was performing with his Jon Lord Blues Project – until in August 2011 announced, that he was suffering from pancreatic cancer. Now he has to fight against the disease lost.

Looking at our favourite guitar heros…

Über den Youtube-Kanal von Deep Purple wurde ein alter MTV-Clip zum Thema Gitarren-Legenden hochgeladen. Der Clip berichtet über Deep Purple, Van Halen, Black Sabbath, Jimi Hendrix, Steve Vai und andere…

Video Thumbnail
Looking at our favourite guitar heros...Ritchie Blackmore!

Lord of the Keyboard – Jon Lord gestorben

Deep-Purple-Gründungsmitglied und -Keyboarder Jon Lord ist gestern Montag im Alter von 71 Jahren in der London Clinic nach langer Krebskrankheit gestorben und hinterlässt Witwe Vickie und die Töchter Amy und Sara. Seit August vergangenen Jahres hatte er gegen den Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs gekämpft, jetzt erlag er einer Lungenembolie. Einer der ganz grossen der Rock-Geschichte ist nicht mehr. „Noch heute, wenn ich an der Hammond Orgel sitze, fühle ich mich wie im Himmel“, sagte die Rocklegende vor etwas über einem Jahr.

Lord war ein klassisch ausgebildeter Pianist, der mit seiner Hammond-Orgel Deep Purple den typischen Sound verlieh. Titel wie „Smoke on the Water“ oder „Highway Star“ prägten das Lebensgefühl einer ganzen Generation. Diese 1972 erschienenen Songs werden bis heute auf den Rockbühnen der Welt gespielt. Jon Lord trug massgeblich dazu bei, Rockmusik mit klassischer Musik zu versöhnen: Die einst „lauteste Band der Welt“ trat mit dem Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in der Royal Albert Hall auf, mit einem von Jon Lord verfassten Werk für Rockband und Orchester.

Lord wurde am 9. Juni 1941 in der englischen Stadt Leicester geboren. Am Klavier der Familie machte er seine ersten musikalischen Erfahrungen. Anfang der 60er Jahre tingelte Lord durch die Jazz- Kneipen.
Seine erste Band, in der er regelmässig spielte, war die vom Saxophon dominierte Bill Ashton Combo. Als Keyboarder begleitete er dann eine Reihe weiterer Bands wie die Artwoods, geleitet von Art Wood, dem Bruder des späteren Rolling Stone Ronnie Wood. Die grosse Karriere begann 1968 mit Deep Purple. Sowohl im Studio als auch auf der Bühne wirkte Jon Lord als kreativer Ideengeber. Daneben nahm er sich auch immer die Zeit für Solo-Werke mit Anleihen bei der klassischen Musik.

Wenn Lord sich bei Live-Konzerten von Deep Purple konzentriert über sein Instrument beugte, dann führte das trotz der ein oder anderen Showeinlage doch eher dazu, dass das Publikum in gespannt erregter Verzückung auf die Bühne blickte, statt das Gestühl im Saal zu zerlegen. Dass Lord jedoch kein weltabgewandter Art-Rocker war, demonstrierte er nachdem Deep Purple sich 1976 das erste Mal getrennt hatten. Kurz darauf stieg er bei Whitesnake ein, der Band von Ex-Purple-Sänger David Coverdale, um dort herzhaften Blues-Hardrock zu spielen.

Jon Lord war von der Gründung 1968 bis im Jahr 2002 Mitglied von Deep Purple. Zum Ausklang einer wechselvollen Bandgeschichte mit Krisen, Auflösung und Comeback trat Jon Lord im September 2002 zum letzten Mal mit Deep Purple auf. Aber auch danach setzte sich Jon Lord immer wieder an die Tasten, produzierte weitere Alben oder trat mit Orchesterwerken auf. Noch im vergangenen Jahr war er mit seinem Jon Lord Blues Project zu hören – bis er im August 2011 mitteilte, dass er an Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs erkrankt sei. Jetzt hat er den Kampf gegen die Krankheit verloren.