Album Review: Betzefer – The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land

Hell yeah! The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land! How true! For me, coming from the absolute nothingness an absolutely ingenious plate! I'm certainly not the only, who has never heard of this band, and then the! A masterpiece beyond current trends and strange as it may sound, the, still just good, alter Heavy Metal. The Israeli metallers „Betzefer“ are with a new record at the start and it's too rough, without ever losing the irresistible groove. Already the eponymous song and title of the panel speaks a clear language. All 14 Songs never lose in a pure metal banging, they can remain hittige numbers, However atone at no time a the necessary hardness. As soon as you get used to it, that traditional Metal always has to do with sword-Gefuchtel and strangely high-pitched voices, there are four guys from Israel around the corner and show, that there are definitely worth preserving traditions. Namely: Verdammt heavy Riffs, damn heavy grooves and damn horny song! In short, the kind Music, as „PANTERA“ The mid-nineties have celebrated or as „Betzefer“ bring themselves to the point: „Fuckin Rock’n’Roll!“

Betzefer - The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land

And with Rock'n'Roll Betzefer's music actually plenty to do. Der latente Heavy-Blues-influence, the was formative and unique even at Texans, is back at the Israelis come to fruition. Here is less beaten or threshed and certainly not cut, it is gerifft! And a brilliant riff hunts the other, it is to hear such a chord-heavy plate a delight. Of course, also be of „Betzefer“ only mixed and prepared the old ingredients new, really new will not take place, but that does not bother anyone, On the contrary! The influence of the Texas Trend killer is the whole plate noticeably over, sometimes supplemented by something „Machine Head“ or „Grave“. But the boys have not copied some cheap, no, they have developed their own style and convince with energy and enthusiasm, which make this record ultimately become an independent small masterpiece. Incidentally are the musical and song writing abilities of this young band with the standard, taking the most newcomer and now the one or the other of these bands Refenrenz. Massive hardness, without forgetting the groove, Melody, without being cheesy, Emotion and heart and soul. All presented with viiiiel Power. And as if that were not enough, one has with Avital Tamir a vocalist, of the good, old Phil Anselmo snatches the whiskey and drink it myself, for who so much power, combines aggression and melodiousness still in his voice, need fear no comparisons.

Betzefer

For Avital Tamir, the third album of his band is much more than just another release. For the singer „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ To date, the most mature and most coherent slice of his musical career. „There are real songs for the first time“, he says, „they could even play smoothly, if you only have a guitar available.“ Tamir and his group members Matan Cohen (Guitar), Rotem Inbar (bass) Roey und Bermann (Drums) look back on the shortest and most fertile creative period of her career, to „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ was in the dry: „We do not even needed a year by the first idea to the final product, for each of the pieces we needed just one or two sessions. This is a self-confident, adult and thoroughly enjoyable album, of which we are very proud.“ And this rightly, because the four-member band has evolved indeed amazing. From racy debut album „Down Low“ (2005) with its freshness over the noticeably bolder successor „Freedom To The Slave Makers“ up to the new, third disk are „Betzefer“ matured into a homogeneous and consistent metal band, the closer to the public brings their own way of life. „For us Heavy Metal is not some aloof art form, but something, the fundamental part of life as Eating, drink, sleep, breathe. I can still clearly remember, which great importance had this music for me as a teenager and how they helped me with the typical problems of an adolescent.“ that „Betzefer“ have calculated signature for the third time in her career a contract with a German record company, is for Tamir the special relationship between the two countries a great pleasure: „Given the painful history, the Germany and Israel have each other, I feel this is a wonderful development. I am always happy, that we maintain a very close relationship with Germany and its metal fans. Welch great signal for the whole world!“

Video Thumbnail
Betzefer - "The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land" (Official Video)

Meanwhile established itself „Betzefer“ as Israel's largest and most successful metal band. The band toured for many months, in Europe among other variables such as „Soulfly“ and „Lamb Of God“. Your great success with the public they brought in a very short time on the main stages of the most important summer festivals. In March 2007 went „Betzefer“ with Sepultura on tour and opened after their return home in front of thousands of enthusiastic fans for a show „Megadeth“. After an extended precursors Betzefer went in spring 2008 into the studio and produced their second album „Freedom To The Slave Makers“. Subsequently, the band for the main stage of Ozzfest festival in Tel-Aviv was committed and went with bands like „GWAR“, „Cavalera Conspiracy“ and „Pro-Pain“ on tour, to for an appearance on the main stage at the With Full Force festival again to Germany Travel. Back in Israel published „Betzefer“ via YouTube a Jubiläumsshow, which was filmed and recorded in Tel-Aviv and title „10 Fuckin Years“ wearing. Im September 2012 the band went with her longtime friend and producer Tue Madsen back to the studio (The Haunted, Sick Of It All, Mnemic), put the finishing touches on „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ make. So the signs are on storm, because with a brilliant new album and a cast, which has remained unchanged for a decade, to the circle of followers are again increased significantly. „We arrive in December for a few shows and be in spring 2014 six weeks plow across Europe. We look forward to many places, where we have never played before.“

Betzefer

In times in which the degree of creativity in fusing Stockholm and Brooklyn is measured, this band is exactly the piece integrity and honest hardness, which needs the scenes today. On her latest album „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ rooms, the four guys a fat metal board at its best, that you have to feel like rats in Panteras rehearsal room mid-nineties. Fat, Groovy, with brilliant vocals and incredible intensity and devotion. The guys give everything, just want to make their music and shave his thanks to the rest of the world a little. „We feel like underdogs quite well. The fans Knowledge, what is going on and the media are a damn us.“ Meint Avital „Be yourself, live your life and let nothing! Have no Fear to be different, break out of the social patterns. The texts are, as well as the music, very angry and aggressive. I always try to tell the truth, so as I see it. It's about things, dealing or annoy me. It's about, to live life really. Fucking Rock'n'Roll is a kind of band hymn. A Statement. Because that's what, this is the, what we do: Fucking Rock’n’Roll!“ „Betzefer“ signed Steamhammer / SPV in the summer with the German label and „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ at the 25. October 2013 in Germany, Austria and Switzerland publish, in the rest of Europe the album comes on 28. October in the Trade. A masterpiece beyond current trends. Kein Metalcore! No NuIrgendwas! But true to the band motto simply „Fucking Rock’n’Roll“! Nothing more, and not a whit less. The Great Israeli Trendkill!

Betzefer
Track List:

  1. Tropical
  2. The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land
  3. Killing the Fuss
  4. Cash
  5. Yuppie Six Feet Underground
  6. Copkiller
  7. Sledgehammer
  8. The Medic
  9. Milk
  10. Suicide Hotline Pt. 1
  11. Suicide Hotline Pt. 2
  12. Cannibal
  13. I hate‘
  14. Can you hear me now?
Album Review: Betzefer - The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land
8.1 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality8
Time8
Musical skills8
Singing8
Lyrics8
Substance8
Production8
Longevity9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Betzefer – The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land

Hell yeah! The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land! Wie wahr! Für mich kommt aus dem absoluten Nichts eine absolut geniale Platte! Ich bin sicher nicht der einzige, der noch nie von dieser Band gehört hat und dann das! Ein Meisterwerk abseits aktueller Trends und so merkwürdig das klingen mag, trotzdem einfach nur guter, alter Heavy Metal. Die Israelischen Metaller „Betzefer“ sind mit einer neuen Platte am Start und es geht rau zu, ohne jemals den unwiderstehlichen Groove zu verlieren. Schon allein der namensgebende Song und Titel der Platte spricht eine klare Sprache. Alle 14 Songs verlieren sich nie in einem reinem Metal-Geballer, sondern bleiben stets hittige Nummern, büssen jedoch zu keinem Zeitpunkt die nötige Härte ein. Kaum hat man sich daran gewöhnt, dass traditioneller Metal immer mit Schwert-Gefuchtel und merkwürdig hohen Stimmen zu tun hat, kommen vier Jungs aus Israel um die Ecke und zeigen, dass es durchaus bewahrenswerte Traditionen gibt. Nämlich: Verdammt heavy Riffs, verdammt heavy Grooves und verdammt geiler Gesang! Kurzum die Art Musik, wie sie „Pantera“ Mitte der Neunziger zelebriert haben oder wie es „Betzefer“ selbst auf den Punkt bringen: „Fuckin Rock’n’Roll!“

Betzefer - The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land

Und mit Rock’n’Roll hat Betzefer’s Musik tatsächlich jede Menge zu tun. Der latente Heavy-Blues-Einfluss, der schon bei Texanern stilprägend und einzigartig war, ist bei den Israelis wieder zur vollen Entfaltung gelangt. Hier wird weniger geprügelt oder gedroschen und schon gar nicht gesägt, es wird gerifft! Und ein geniales Riff jagt das andere, es ist eine wahre Freude eine solch Akkord-lastige Platte zu hören. Natürlich werden auch von „Betzefer“ lediglich die alten Zutaten neu gemischt und aufbereitet, wirklich neues findet nicht statt, aber das stört niemanden, im Gegenteil! Der Einfluss der Texanischen Trendtöter ist die ganze Platte über spürbar, manchmal ergänzt durch etwas „Machine Head“ oder „Sepultura“. Doch die Jungs haben nicht etwa billig kopiert, nein, sie haben ihren eigenen Stil entwickelt und überzeugen durch Energie und Enthusiasmus, welche diese Platte letztlich zu einem eigenständigen kleinen Meisterwerk machen. Nebenbei stehen die musikalischen und songschreiberischen Fähigkeiten dieser jungen Band über dem Standard, den die meisten Newcomer und mittlerweile auch die eine oder andere der genannten Refenrenz-Bands einnehmen. Massive Härte, ohne den Groove zu vergessen, Melodie, ohne kitschig zu werden, Emotion und viel Herzblut. Alles dargeboten mit viiiiel Power. Und als wäre das noch nicht genug, hat man mit Avital Tamir noch einen Sänger, der dem guten, alten Phil Anselmo den Whiskey wegschnappt und ihn selber trinkt, denn wer so viel Kraft, Aggression und trotzdem Melodiösität in seiner Stimme vereint, braucht keine Vergleiche zu scheuen.

Betzefer

Für Avital Tamir ist das dritte Album seiner Band weit mehr als nur eine weitere Veröffentlichung. Für den Sänger ist „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ die bis dato reifste und stimmigste Scheibe seiner musikalischen Laufbahn. „Es sind zum ersten Mal richtige Songs“, sagt er, „man könnte sie auch dann problemlos spielen, wenn man nur eine Gitarre zur Verfügung hat.“ Tamir und seine Gruppenmitglieder Matan Cohen (Gitarre), Rotem Inbar (Bass) und Roey Bermann (Schlagzeug) blicken auf die kürzeste und fruchtbarste Kreativzeit ihrer Karriere zurück, bis „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ im Trockenen war: „Wir benötigten nicht einmal ein Jahr von der ersten Idee bis zum finalen Produkt, für jedes der Stücke brauchten wir gerade mal ein oder zwei Sessions. Dies ist ein selbstbewusstes, erwachsenes und rundum gelungenes Album, auf das wir sehr stolz sind.“ Und dies völlig zu Recht, denn die vierköpfige Band hat sich in der Tat erstaunlich weiterentwickelt. Vom rassigen Debütalbum „Down Low“ (2005) mit seiner Frische über den spürbar gewagteren Nachfolger „Freedom To The Slave Makers“ bis hin zur neuen, dritten Scheibe sind „Betzefer“ zu einer homogenen und konsequenten Metal Band gereift, die dem Publikum ihr eigenes Lebensgefühl näherbringt. „Für uns ist Heavy Metal nicht irgendeine abgehobene Kunstform, sondern etwas, das fundamental zum Leben dazugehört wie essen, trinken, schlafen, atmen. Ich kann mich noch gut daran erinnern, welche grosse Bedeutung diese Musik für mich als Jugendlicher hatte und wie sie mir bei den typischen Problemen eines Heranwachsenden half.“ Dass „Betzefer“ zum dritten Mal in ihrer Laufbahn ausgerechnet einen Vertrag bei einer deutschen Plattenfirma unterschrieben haben, ist für Tamir wegen des besonderen Verhältnisses beider Länder eine grosse Freude: „Angesichts der schmerzhaften Geschichte, die Deutschland und Israel miteinander haben, empfinde ich dies als wundervolle Entwicklung. Ich freue mich immer wieder, dass wir zu Deutschland und seinen Metal-Fans eine besonders innige Beziehung pflegen. Welch tolles Signal für die ganze Welt!“

Video Thumbnail
BETZEFER - "The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land" (OFFICIAL VIDEO)

Mittlerweile etablierten sich „Betzefer“ als Israels grösste und erfolgreichste Metal Band. Die Band tourte über viele Monate, in Europa unter anderem mit Grössen wie „Soulfly“ und „Lamb Of God“. Ihr grosser Erfolg beim Publikum brachte sie in kürzester Zeit auf die Hauptbühnen der wichtigsten Sommerfestivals. Im März 2007 gingen „Betzefer“ mit Sepultura auf Tournee und eröffneten nach ihrer Rückkehr in die Heimat vor tausenden begeisterter Fans eine Show für „Megadeth“. Nach einer ausgedehnten Vorprodukten gingen Betzefer im Frühjahr 2008 ins Studio und produzierten ihr zweites Album „Freedom To The Slave Makers“. Anschliessend wurde die Band für die Hauptbühne des Ozzfest Festival in Tel-Aviv verpflichtet und ging mit Bands wie „Gwar“, „Cavalera Conspiracy“ und „Pro-Pain“ auf Tournee, um für einen Auftritt auf der Hauptbühne des With Full Force Festivals noch einmal nach Deutschland zu reisen. Zurück in Israel veröffentlichten „Betzefer“ über YouTube eine Jubiläumsshow, die in Tel-Aviv gefilmt und aufgenommen wurde und den Titel „10 Fuckin Years“ trägt. Im September 2012 ging die Band mit ihrem langjährigen Freund und Produzenten Tue Madsen wieder ins Studio (The Haunted, Sick Of It All, Mnemic), um den letzten Schliff an „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ vorzunehmen. Die Zeichen stehen also auf Sturm, denn mit einem brillanten neuen Album und einer Besetzung, die seit zehn Jahren unverändert ist, soll der Kreis der Anhängerschaft noch einmal deutlich vergrössert werden. „Wir kommen im Dezember für ein paar Shows und werden im Frühjahr 2014 sechs Wochen lang ganz Europa beackern. Wir freuen uns auf viele Orte, an denen wir noch nie zuvor gespielt haben.“

Betzefer

In Zeiten in denen das Mass der Kreativität im Verschmelzen von Stockholm und Brooklyn gemessen wird, ist diese Band genau das Stück Integrität und ehrliche Härte, welche die Szenen heute braucht. Auf ihrem neusten Album „The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land“ zimmern die vier Jungs ein fettes Metal-Brett vom Allerfeinsten, dass man sich fühlen muss wie die Ratten in Panteras Proberaum Mitte der Neunziger. Fett, groovy, mit genialen Vocals und einer unglaublichen Intensität und Hingabe. Die Jungs geben alles, wollen einfach nur ihre Musik machen und scheren sich um den Rest der Welt herzlich wenig. „Wir fühlen uns als Underdogs recht wohl. Die Fans wissen, was los ist und die Medien sind uns verdammt egal.“ meint Avital „Sei du selbst, lebe dein Leben und lass nichts aus! Habe keine Angst anders zu sein, aus den sozialen Mustern auszubrechen. Die Texte sind, wie auch die Musik, sehr zornig und aggressiv. Ich versuche immer die Wahrheit zu sagen, so wie ich sie sehe. Es geht um Dinge, die mich beschäftigen oder ärgern. Es geht darum, das Leben wirklich zu leben. Fucking Rock’n’Roll ist eine Art Bandhymne. Ein Statement. Denn darum geht es, das ist das, was wir machen: Fucking Rock’n’Roll!“ „Betzefer“ haben im Sommer beim Deutschen Label Steamhammer/SPV unterschrieben und werden „The Devil Went Down to the Holy Land“ am 25. Oktober 2013 in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz veröffentlichen, im Rest von Europa kommt das Album am 28. Oktober in den Handel. Ein Meisterwerk abseits aktueller Trends. Kein Metalcore! Kein NuIrgendwas! Sondern getreu dem Bandmotto einfach „Fucking Rock’n’Roll“! Nichts mehr und keinen Deut weniger. The Great Israeli Trendkill!

Betzefer
Track List:

  1. Tropical
  2. The Devil Went Down to the Holy Land
  3. Killing the Fuss
  4. Cash
  5. Yuppie Six Feet Underground
  6. Copkiller
  7. Sledgehammer
  8. The Medic
  9. Milk
  10. Suicide Hotline Pt. 1
  11. Suicide Hotline Pt. 2
  12. Cannibal
  13. I Hate‘
  14. Can You Hear Me Now?
Album Review: Betzefer - The Devil Went Down To The Holy Land
8.1 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität8
Tempo8
Musikalische Fähigkeiten8
Gesang8
Songtexte8
Substanz8
Produktion8
Langlebigkeit9
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?