Album Review: Battleaxe – Heavy Metal Sanctuary

Battleaxe waren in den 80ern Helden des New Wave of British Heavy Metal, And then it became quiet around the guys around Dave King. As 1983 the debut album „Burn This Town“ and 1984 „Power from the Universe“ published, the train had already left towards commercial success. Here, the potential, the quartet led by singer Dave King had ample to be known in a larger context. That this was not the case, was probably also partly because, that the third album by the band („Mean Machine“) 1987 was taken up by the belt while, but never saw the light of day. Since the return of almost four years ago is now the comeback disc of Battleaxe as, after decades of hibernation, the British are reawakened and it begs the question, if that was worth getting up.

Battleaxe - Heavy Metal Sanctuary

And that is actually! Because has original singer Dave King always still a wonderful voice, which refines the twelve crisp comeback anthems with neat pepper. Musically remember Battleaxe from a mixture Accept and AC / DC combined with influences from NWOBHM. The original members Dave King (Vocals) und Brian Smith (bass) sowie Mick Percy (Guitar) und Paul Atkinson (drums) provide with „Heavy Metal Sanctuary“ another milestone for the genre from. The last 20 Years have obviously not gone well at Battleaxe unscathed and so there is no retro sound from the 80s, but modern fast pure Heavy Metal. Experiments therefore find no, which would have the album anyway harmed.

Battleaxe

Battleaxe offer the listener increasingly groovy Stampfer, the voice of Kings – reminiscent of Udo Dirk Schneider here and there – live as well, as of the riffs of guitarist Mick Percy. The title-giving opener is here plainly the direction for the next some 48 Minutes ago. Without technical frippery, for high energy level, the songs get to the point. Unfortunately, the song structures are kept a little too simplistic, so sometimes it wants a surprising turn in pieces. Technically this is indeed done all things well, but at „Heavy Metal Sanctuary“ it can be seen, why it was not enough for a successful career. Songs wie „Devil Calls“, „Kingdom Come“, „Hail to the King“ or „Too hot to handle“ simply lacking in sustainability. That does not mean, that the album is a bad album, However, it lacks real highlights.

Nails
Battleaxe - "Heavy Metal Sanctuary" (Official Video)

Heavy Metal fans may like to risk an ear and fans will disagree with me determined, but the bottom line has „Heavy Metal Sanctuary“ too little to offer to let to stand out from the crowd Battleaxe. The competition has just become stronger again in this sector, and so it would be difficult for the British, prevail. On the positive side is the one of the raw, aber charmante Sound, present with the old hands here their album. But the Twelve dividing is too predictable, although Dave King and his men are trying by all means, To bring variety into the game. Despite slight speed crossings here and quieter tones there, presenting many pieces to altbekanntem scheme, which although initially fun, but appears somewhat unspectacular with time. Who nevertheless charismatic and genuine Heavy Metal like and want to sing along with a handful of hymns steels Direction Faust and fervor in the shower, is at BATTLEAXE to the right place. Rock-solid heavy metal from Sunderland, in which press is light and shadow each other's jack in the hand. A relatively unembellished, earthy production somewhere in the intersection of newer Accept, U.D.O. and also a bit HELL.

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Battleaxe

Tracklist:

  1. Heavy Metal Sanctuary
  2. Shock And Awe
  3. Hail to the King
  4. Rebel With A Cause
  5. Give It More
  6. Too Hot For Hell
  7. Revolution
  8. A Prelude To Battle / The Legions Unite
  9. Spirits Of The Fallen
  10. Devil Calls
  11. Kingdom Come
  12. Romeo
Album Review: Battleaxe - Heavy Metal Sanctuary
7 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality6
Time7
Musical skills9
Singing7
Lyrics7
Substance7
Production7
Longevity6
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Album Review: Battleaxe – Heavy Metal Sanctuary

Battleaxe waren in den 80ern Helden des New Wave of British Heavy Metal, doch dann wurde es still um die Mannen rund um Dave King. Als 1983 das Debütalbum „Burn This Town“ und 1984 „Power from the Universe“ veröffentlicht wurden, war der Zug in Richtung kommerzieller Erfolg schon abgefahren. Dabei hätte das Quartett um Sänger Dave King durchaus das Potential gehabt in grösserem Rahmen bekannt zu werden. Dass das nicht der Fall war, lag wohl unter anderem auch daran, dass das dritte Album der Band („Mean Machine“) 1987 von der Band zwar aufgenommen wurde, aber nie das Licht der Welt erblickte. Seit der Wiederkunft vor knapp vier Jahren ist nun die Comeback-Scheibe von Battleaxe da, nach jahrzehntelangem Winterschlaf sind die Briten wieder erwacht und es stellt sich die Frage, ob das Aufstehen lohnenswert war.

Battleaxe - Heavy Metal Sanctuary

Und das ist es tatsächlich! Denn Originalsänger Dave King besitzt immer noch eine Reibeisenstimme, welche die zwölf knackigen Comeback-Hymnen mit ordentlich Pfeffer veredelt. Musikalisch erinnern Battleaxe an eine Mischung aus Accept und AC/DC gepaart mit Einflüssen aus der NWoBHM. Die Original-Mitglieder Dave King (Vocals) und Brian Smith (Bass) sowie Mick Percy (Guitar) und Paul Atkinson (Drums) liefern mit „Heavy Metal Sanctuary“ wieder einen Meilenstein für das Genre ab. Die letzten 20 Jahre sind natürlich auch an Battleaxe nicht spurlos vorbei gegangen und so gibt es keinen Retro-Sound aus den 80ern, sondern modernen schnellen puren Heavy Metal. Experimente finden sich also keine, was dem Album sowieso nur geschadet hätte.

Battleaxe

Battleaxe bieten dem Hörer vermehrt groovige Stampfer, die von Kings Stimme – die hier und da an Udo Dirkschneider erinnert – genauso leben, wie von den Riffs des Gitarristen Mick Percy. Der Titelgebende Opener gibt dabei ohne Umschweife die Marschrichtung für die folgenden knapp 48 Minuten vor. Ohne technischem Firlefanz, dafür mit hohem Energielevel kommen die Songs auf den Punkt. Leider sind die Songstrukturen ein wenig zu simpel gehalten, so dass man sich manchmal doch eine überraschende Wende in den Stücken wünscht. Handwerklich ist das zwar alles gut gemacht, aber bei „Heavy Metal Sanctuary“ kann man erkennen, warum es zu einer erfolgreichen Karriere nicht gereicht hat. Songs wie „Devil Calls“, „Kingdom Come“, „Hail To The King“ oder „Too Hot To Handle“ fehlt es einfach an Nachhaltigkeit. Das bedeutet nicht, dass das Album ein schlechtes Album ist, es mangelt jedoch an wirklichen Höhepunkten.

Video Thumbnail
BATTLEAXE - "Heavy Metal Sanctuary" (OFFICIAL VIDEO)

Heavy Metal Fans können gerne ein Ohr riskieren und Fans werden mir bestimmt widersprechen, aber unter dem Strich hat „Heavy Metal Sanctuary“ zu wenig zu bieten um Battleaxe aus der Masse hervorstechen zu lassen. Die Konkurrenz ist gerade auf diesem Sektor wieder stärker geworden und so dürfte es für die Briten schwer werden, sich durchzusetzen. Positiv zu vermelden ist zum einen der rohe, aber charmante Sound, mit dem die alten Hasen hier ihr Album präsentieren. Doch der Zwölfteiler ist zu berechenbar, obwohl Dave King und seine Mannen mit allen Mitteln versuchen, Abwechslung mit ins Spiel zu bringen. Trotz leichter Geschwindigkeitsübertritte hier und ruhigeren Tönen dort, präsentieren sich viele Stücke nach altbekanntem Schema, was anfänglich zwar Spass macht, mit der Zeit jedoch etwas unspektakulär erscheint. Wer dennoch charismatischen und bodenständigen Heavy Metal mag und eine Handvoll Hymnen mit stählender Faust und Inbrunst unter der Dusche mitgrölen will, ist bei Battleaxe an der richtigen Adresse. Grundsolides Schwermetall aus Sunderland, bei dem sich Licht und Schatten gegenseitig die Klinke in die Hand drücken. Eine relativ schnörkellose, erdige Produktion irgendwo in der Schnittmenge aus neueren Accept, U.D.O. und auch ein bisschen Hell.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Battleaxe

Trackliste:

  1. Heavy Metal Sanctuary
  2. Shock And Awe
  3. Hail To The King
  4. Rebel With A Cause
  5. Give It More
  6. Too Hot For Hell
  7. Revolution
  8. A Prelude To Battle / The Legions Unite
  9. Spirits Of The Fallen
  10. Devil Calls
  11. Kingdom Come
  12. Romeo
Album Review: Battleaxe - Heavy Metal Sanctuary
7 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität6
Tempo7
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang7
Songtexte7
Substanz7
Produktion7
Langlebigkeit6
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one