Album Review: Amaranthe – Massive Addictive

The Sweden of „Amaranthe“ are known for their mixture of melodic Metal Electronic Dance Music-und elementen. The sound is pretty poppy and Türülü, but I think really, that make, because they simply do feel like it, to create a contrast to their main bands. At least I Olof Mörck (Dragonland) and also Elize not the impression, that they somehow are eager to make money with plastic Mucke. The band obviously has a whole lot of fun on stage and looking a bit the balance between metal and danceable Music. This does not please everyone and is also neatly sticky, but the music's fun and good humor. Enough yet, or rather what more could you want? At the 17. October appears her new album „Massive Addictive“, the successor of „The Nexus“ from the year 2013 and how always submit „Amaranthe“ not any prescribed Genre-Rules.

Amaranthe - Massive Addictive

On „Massive Addictive“ remain the basic characteristics of the band, Bombastic sound decorated with driving riffing, pulsating beats and heavenly melodic choruses available, simultaneously sets the album Amaranthe's continuing tradition, always explore new dynamics and develop their own sound. The songs are so catchy, that they reverberate hours after the hearing in the ear canals. The twelve-song album was of sound magician Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Epica) included as conductive producers and is an immaculate collection of carefully forged European Metal, powered by Olof Mörcks surgically precise riffs and solos cut, supported by Morten Sørensen Løwe rhythmic precision and Johan Andreassen droning low-frequency attacks. Elize Ryds song is so emotional and space-filling as ever, while Jake E's melodic vocals are full of power. Henrik Englund Wilhelmsson, recently responsible for the Screams, pushes the new material as his own stamp on.

Amaranthe Band

The album starts with an explosive shock: „Dynamite“ is peppy with heavy riffs, therefore,. One of the titles, as well as „Unreal“ and „Danger Zone“, when you have to say: „Holy shit, Elize is here“! Your siren-like vocals pulls one from the start in its spell. It follows the lead single „Drop Dead Cynical“ in which the band also like the song „Over and Done“ more sets on the chorus and supplies the existing vocal dynamics with a heaving breath of fresh air. „Drop Dead Cynical“ is a representative for the album Song. The very groovy piece that is clearly distinct from the classical „Amaranthe“ Single releases and transfers the sound in a fresh direction, crowned with an anthemic chorus. „Drop Dead Cynical“ accurately reflects the, Fans were the von „Massive Addictive“ can expect: Powerful melodies and heavy riffs. The associated Video to „Drop Dead Cynical“ is really fat, more than a dozen MMA fighters together with cheerleaders and tons of pyrotechnics make the whole thing into an intense experience Amaranthe.

Video Thumbnail
Amaranthe - Drop Dead Cynical

The title track is perhaps the greatest testament to Jake and Elize's symbiotic synergy. As a contrast to the singers, the blare their individual lines, is the Chorus, which provides the voices for a perfect balance. This musical relationship will continue with „True“, one of two power ballads on the album, underlined. Along with „Exhale“, Jake seems to return with the two songs a little too dualistic incantations of the first album back. „Digital World“ is the album's steam engine, Here explodes Elize voice, as well as „Over and Done“ together with „Danger Zone“ these are also the best showcase for Henrik singing. Is more variation in the musical dynamics and technical precision „Trinity“, „Danger Zone“ and „An Ordinary Abnormality“, in which you Olof and his Love feel to Power Metal. „Skyline“ and „Exhale“ are two completely unique units from Amaranthe discography and ensure a bright light and new sound. „Skyline“ is a swinging roller coaster. „Exhale“ closes the album off nicely, a beautiful, powerful song in mid tempo Symphonic-Gothic Metal-style vaguely reminiscent „Within Temptation“.

Amaranthe Band

„Massive Addictive“ is in all respects a step forward for the band Gothenburg, reached but already the last album „The Nexus“ Space 6 in the Swedish, Space 4 in the Finnish and a surprise seat 12 in the US-Charts. From the driving sounds in „Drop Dead Cynical“ on the anthemic title track to opulent stadium atmosphere of „Digital World“ and the emotional, kraftvollen Halbballade „True“ is „Massive Addictive“ a lesson in dynamics, refuses, to submit to any mandatory genre rules. The album is full of energy, bombastic and explosive, just as one would expect from Amaranthe and the forceful implementation of the songs is a real treat for all fans of Melodic Death Power Metal.

The album can you Buy in our shop.


  1. Dynamite
  2. Drop Dead Cynical
  3. Trinity
  4. Massive Addictive
  5. Digital World
  6. True
  7. Unreal
  8. Over and Done
  9. Danger Zone
  10. Skyline
  11. An Ordinary Abnormality
  12. Exhale
Album Review: Amaranthe - Massive Addictive
8.5 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

DBD: Drop Dead Cynical – Amaranthe

Swedish modern metallers „Amaranthe“ be on 17. October her third album now „Massive Addictive“ publish. Now the band has with „Drop Dead Cynical“ unveiled the first single…

Album Review: Amaranthe – Massive Addictive

Die Schweden von „Amaranthe“ sind bekannt für ihre Mischung aus melodischem Metal und Electronic Dance Music-Elementen. Der Sound klingt ziemlich poppig und Türülü, aber ich glaube echt, die machen das, weil sie einfach Bock drauf haben, einen Kontrast zu ihren Hauptbands zu schaffen. Zumindest habe ich von Olof Mörck (Dragonland) und auch Elize nicht den Eindruck, dass sie irgendwie darauf aus sind Geld mit Plastikmucke zu machen. Die Band hat offensichtlich richtig viel Spass auf der Bühne und sucht ein bisschen den Spagat zwischen Metal und tanzbarer Musik. Das muss nicht jedem gefallen und ist auch ordentlich klebrig, aber die Musik macht auch Spass und gute Laune. Reicht doch oder besser gesagt was will man mehr? Am 17. Oktober erscheint ihr neues Album „Massive Addictive“, dem Nachfolger von „The Nexus“ aus dem Jahre 2013 und wie immer unterwerfen sich „Amaranthe“ nicht irgendwelchen vorgeschriebenen Genre-Regeln.

Amaranthe - Massive Addictive

Auf „Massive Addictive“ bleiben die Grundcharakteristika der Band, Bombast-Sound geschmückt mit treibendem Riffing, pulsierenden Beats und himmlisch melodischen Refrains vorhanden, gleichzeitig setzt das Album Amaranthe’s Tradition fort, stets neue Dynamiken auszuloten und den eigenen Sound weiterzuentwickeln. Die Songs sind so eingängig, dass sie selbst Stunden nach dem Hören in den Gehörgängen widerhallen. Das zwölf Songs umfassende Album wurde von Sound-Magier Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Epica) als leitendem Produzenten aufgenommen und ist eine makellose Sammlung von sorgfältig geschmiedetem europäischen Metal, angetrieben von Olof Mörcks chirurgisch präzisen Riffs und schneidenden Soli, unterstützt von Morten Løwe Sørensens rhythmischer Präzision und Johan Andreassen brummenden tieffrequenten Anschlägen. Elize Ryds Gesang ist so emotional und raumfüllend wie eh und je, während Jake E’s melodische Vocals vor Kraft strotzen. Henrik Englund Wilhelmsson, neuerdings zuständig für die Screams, drückt dem neuen Material ebenso seinen eigenen Stempel auf.

Amaranthe Band

Das Album startet mit einer explosiven Erschütterung: „Dynamite“ kommt schwungvoll mit harten Riffs daher. Einer der Titel, wie auch „Unreal“ und „Danger Zone“, bei der man sagen muss: „Holy shit, Elize is here“! Ihr sirenenhafter Gesang zieht einem von Beginn an in seinen Bann. Es folgt die Singleauskopplung „Drop Dead Cynical“ bei welchem die Band ähnlich wie auch beim Song „Over and Done“ mehr auf den Chorus setzt und die vorhandene Stimmdynamik mit einem wogenden Hauch frischer Luft versorgt. „Drop Dead Cynical“ ist für das Album ein repräsentativer Song. Das sehr groovige Stück unterscheidet sich dabei eindeutig von den klassischen „Amaranthe“ Single-Releases und trägt den Sound in eine frische Richtung, gekrönt mit einem hymnische Chorus. „Drop Dead Cynical“ spiegelt genau das wider, was die Fans von „Massive Addictive“ erwarten können: Wuchtige Melodien und schwere Riffs. Das zugehörigem Video zu „Drop Dead Cynical“ ist richtig fett, mehr als ein Dutzend MMA-Kämpfer im Zusammenspiel mit Cheerleadern und Tonnen von Pyrotechnik machen das Ganze zu einem intensiven Amaranthe-Erlebnis.

Video Thumbnail
Amaranthe - Drop Dead Cynical

Der Titeltrack ist vielleicht der grösste Beweis für Jake und Elize’s symbiotische Synergie. Als Kontrast zu den Sängern, die ihre individuellen Zeilen schmettern, steht der Chorus, welcher mit den Stimmen für ein perfekt ausgewogenes Gleichgewicht sorgt. Diese musikalische Beziehung wird weiter mit „True“, einer von zwei Power-Balladen des Albums, unterstrichen. Zusammen mit „Exhale“, scheint Jake mit den beiden Songs etwas zu den dualistischen Beschwörungen des ersten Albums zurück zu kehren. „Digital World“ ist des Album’s Dampfmaschine, hier explodiert Elize Stimme, wie auch auf „Over and Done“ und zusammen mit „Danger Zone“ sind dies auch die besten Schaufenster für Henrik Gesang. Weitere Variation in der musikalischen Dynamik und technischen Präzision ist „Trinity“, „Danger Zone“ und „An Ordinary Abnormality“, bei welchen man Olof und seine Liebe zu Power Metal spürt. „Skyline“ und „Exhale“ sind zwei völlig einzigartige Einheiten aus der Amaranthe Diskographie und sorgen für ein helles Licht und neuen Sound. „Skyline“ ist eine swingende Achterbahn. „Exhale“ schliesst das Album schön ab, ein schöner, kraftvoller Song im Mid-Tempo-Symphonic-Gothic Metal-Stil und erinnert entfernt an „Within Temptation“.

Amaranthe Band

„Massive Addictive“ ist in jeglicher Hinsicht ein Schritt nach vorn für die Göteborger Band, erreichte doch schon das letzte Album „The Nexus“ Platz 6 in den schwedischen, Platz 4 in den finnischen und einen überraschten Platz 12 in den US-Charts. Von den treibenden Sounds in „Drop Dead Cynical“ über den hymnischen Titeltrack bis zur opulenten Stadion-Atmosphäre von „Digital World“ und der emotionalen, kraftvollen Halbballade „True“ ist „Massive Addictive“ eine Lehrstunde in Sachen Dynamik, die sich weigert, sich irgendwelchen vorgeschriebenen Genre-Regeln zu unterwerfen. Das Album ist energiegeladen, bombastisch und explosiv, genau wie man es von Amaranthe gewohnt ist und die kraftvolle Umsetzung der Songs ist ein wahrer Leckerbissen für alle Freunde des Melodic Death Power Metal.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. Dynamite
  2. Drop Dead Cynical
  3. Trinity
  4. Massive Addictive
  5. Digital World
  6. True
  7. Unreal
  8. Over and Done
  9. Danger Zone
  10. Skyline
  11. An Ordinary Abnormality
  12. Exhale
Album Review: Amaranthe - Massive Addictive
8.5 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität9
Tempo8
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8
Songtexte8
Substanz9
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit8
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

DBD: Drop Dead Cynical – Amaranthe

Die schwedischen Modern Metaller „Amaranthe“ werden am 17. Oktober ihr inzwischen drittes Album „Massive Addictive“ veröffentlichen. Nun hat die Band mit „Drop Dead Cynical“ die erste Single enthüllt…