Album Review: Alpha Tiger – iDentity

Ironically start with the European anthem Freiberg „Alpha Tiger“ her new album, but anyway, the quintet seems now with „iDentity“ to have its own identity found. The third album is finally want to sound like, otherwise it will always wanted. Goods debut and successor somewhere between „Iron Maiden“ and „Queensryche“ located - which in the fandom arrived extremely well - sound „Alpha Tiger“ on "iDentity" after „Alpha Tiger“. The band is called the self: „the comfort zone leave“ and no better way to describe it hardly, for here is made significantly more right than wrong. „Alpha Tiger“ have their own DNA found.

Alpha Tiger - iDentity

If you really want to draw cross-references in the present case Silberling, you can still include the Queensryche early phase, as the Seattle metallers actually still Metal have played. Also remember the vocals of Stephan Dietrich to Edguy, but this certainly is not the worst criticism. The front man is the one, who has obviously worked most on and so versed sings like never before, despite permanent acting in the highest pitches. Rewrite the whole thing can be cryptic as melodies driven Metal, both technically and compositionally play the limits for Progressive Metal always has sight, but never exceeds. „Alpha Tiger“ Dirk are free (Bass), David Schleif (Drums), Alexander Backasch (Guitar), Peter Langforth (Guitar) and Dietrich Stephan (Singing).

Alpha Tiger

Already at the beginning it shows clearly, that you are not satisfied with half measures are. The opener „Lady Liberty“ was in February 2014 released as separate single and even then it made clear, that is, to develop their own style. A very good start. The following „Scripted Reality“ shines through socially critical text and more complex song structures, but unfortunately lacks something of the liveliness and explosiveness, the one in „Lady Liberty“ has not received, the riffs but the bull's eye. Musically, they found themselves, the boys have matured lyrically and try to show today's ills, instead of clichés.

Video Thumbnail
Alpha Tiger - Lady Liberty (Official)

With more experimental pieces like „Long Way Of Redemption“, that comes with castanets and keyboards and synthesizers, „We Won’t Take It Anymore“, that polyphonic passages and includes „Closer Than Yesterday“, one tries to emancipate themselves. „Shut Up & Think“ with speed metal attitude and „Revolution In Progress“ beginning with his driving are rousing anthems and power „This World Will Burn“ is a mid-tempo as he is in the book. On the strengths of previous publications we have not only retained, has expanded it! The riffs are more playful, the choruses are catchy and yet generously enriched with transition shouts and polyphony and the unique selling proposition, the voice of Stephan Dietrich, even further to the fore.

Alpha Tiger

Compared to the previous sounds „iDentity“ compact and played more to the point. Challenging arranged, but each time the melody as a starting point, provided with socially critical lyrics, the bands of the 80s- and 90s in nothing. „Alpha Tiger“ do it, both rapid, to create flawless metal songs, to shake casual intense mid-tempo hits such as the title track and the catchy "We Will not Take It Anymore" from his sleeve or a band in context rather unusual power ballad arranged („Closer Than Yesterday“) to inspire, before with the nearly seven and a half minutes long and varied „This World Will Burn“ the album is finished.

Alpha Tiger

Was in the albums already released always the biggest criticism, that the origins and influences of the band were apparently formed their own material, it has now, after three years their own style, developed its own identity. „iDentity“ production technology is up to date, Tommy Newton (which already Helloween'S legendary „Keeper“-Produced albums) the disk has a clear, powerful, awarded but also charmingly retro-oriented sound. Compared to naive and charming debut and „Beneath The Surface“ affects the sound a bit more direct and ultimately much more professional and shows, how the band has evolved with incredible panache and quality. You can tell immediately, that, what concerns the writing of songs, A lot has learned.

Video Thumbnail
ALPHA TIGER - We Won`t Take It Anymore (official video)

„Alpha Tiger“ are still „Alpha Tiger“, However, the new album seems much more mature and sophisticated. At the points, in which the predecessor still too upset, were too flat and too energetic, sets „iDentity“ an. The band focuses on this album their strengths and shows no discernible weaknesses. „iDentity“ stands for 50 Minuten astreinen Heavy, Power and Speed ​​Metal. The five young Saxons have it (again) managed and throw early in the new year a contender for album of the year on the market. However, unlike for example bands like „Paradise Lost“ or „Metallica“, took the music throughout their careers branches, where they would rather followed the main road, have „Alpha Tiger“ continued to develop positively. „Alpha Tiger“ deserve every encouragement, simply because they are exactly the Music play, they love. This alone should be enough argument, at „iDentity“ his listeners and to give maybe his coal.

The album can you Buy in our shop.


  1. Intro
  2. Lady Liberty
  3. Scripted Reality
  4. Long Way Of Redemption
  5. Identity
  6. We Won’t Take It Anymore
  7. Revolution In Progress
  8. Closer Than Yesterday
  9. Shut Up & Think
  10. This World Will Burn
Album Review: Alpha Tiger - iDentity
8.9 Total
4.9 Visitor rating (1 vote)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Alpha Tiger – iDentity

Ausgerechnet mit der Europahymne beginnen die Freiberger „Alpha Tiger“ ihr neues Album, aber sei’s drum, der Fünfer scheint nun mit „iDentity“ seine eigene Identität gefunden zu haben. Mit dem dritten Album will man endlich so klingen, wie man es schon immer wollte. Waren Debüt und Nachfolger irgendwo zwischen „Iron Maiden“ und „Queensryche“ angesiedelt – was in den Fankreisen äusserst gut ankam – klingen „Alpha Tiger“ auf „iDentity“ nach „Alpha Tiger“. Die Band nennt das selbst: „die Komfortzone verlassen“ und besser kann man es kaum umschreiben, denn hier wird deutlich mehr richtig als falsch gemacht. „Alpha Tiger“ haben ihre eigene DNA gefunden.

Alpha Tiger - iDentity

Wenn man beim vorliegend Silberling unbedingt Querverweise ziehen möchte, kann man noch die Queensryche-Frühphase einbeziehen, als die Seattle-Metaller tatsächlich noch Metal gespielt haben. Auch erinnern die Vocals von Stephan Dietrich an Edguy, was aber sicherlich nicht die schlechteste Kritik ist. Der Frontmann ist derjenige, der offensichtlich am meisten an sich gearbeitet hat und so sattelfest singt wie noch nie, trotz permanentem Agieren in den höchsten Tonlagen. Kryptisch umschreiben lässt sich das Ganze als melodiengetriebener Metal, der sowohl spieltechnisch als auch kompositorisch die Grenzen zum Progressive Metal stets im Blick hat, aber nie überschreitet. „Alpha Tiger“ sind Dirk Frei (Bass), David Schleif (Schlagzeug), Alexander Backasch (Gitarre), Peter Langforth (Gitarre) und Stephan Dietrich (Gesang).

Alpha Tiger

Bereits zum Beginn zeigt man eindeutig, dass man sich nicht mit halben Sachen zufrieden gibt. Der Opener „Lady Liberty“ wurde bereits im Februar 2014 als eigenständige Single veröffentlicht und schon damals machte man deutlich, dass man dabei ist, seinen eigenen Stil zu entwickeln. Ein sehr gelungener Auftakt. Das folgende „Scripted Reality“ glänzt durch sozialkritischen Text und etwas komplexeren Songstrukturen, doch leider fehlt etwas von der Spritzigkeit und Explosivität, die man bei „Lady Liberty“ noch bekommen hat, die Riffs treffen aber voll ins Schwarze. Musikalisch hat man sich gefunden, die Jungs sind textlich gereift und versuchen heutige Missstände aufzuzeigen, statt Klischees zu bedienen.

Video Thumbnail
Alpha Tiger - Lady Liberty (Official)

Mit eher experimentellen Stücken wie „Long Way Of Redemption“, dass mit Kastanietten sowie Keyboards und Synthesizer daher kommt, „We Won’t Take It Anymore“, dass mehrstimmigen Passagen enthält und „Closer Than Yesterday“, versucht man sich zu emanzipieren. „Shut Up & Think“ mit Speed-Metal-Attitüde und „Revolution In Progress“ mit seinem treibenden Anfang sind mitreissende Power-Hymnen und „This World Will Burn“ ist ein Midtempo-Kracher wie er im Buche steht. An den Stärken vergangener Veröffentlichungen hat man nicht nur festgehalten, man hat sie ausgebaut! Die Riffs sind noch verspielter, die Refrains sind noch eingängiger und grosszügig mit Gangshouts und Mehrstimmigkeit angereichert und das Alleinstellungsmerkmal, die Stimme Stephan Dietrichs, rückt noch mehr in den Vordergrund.

Alpha Tiger

Im Vergleich zum Vorgänger klingt „iDentity“ kompakter und mehr auf den Punkt gespielt. Anspruchsvoll arrangiert, aber jederzeit die Melodie als Ausgangspunkt, versehen mit sozialkritischen Texten, die Bands der 80er- und 90er-Jahre in nichts nachsteht. „Alpha Tiger“ schaffen es, sowohl rasante, lupenreine Metal-Songs zu kreieren, lässig intensive Midtempo-Hits wie den Titeltrack oder den Ohrwurm „We Won’t Take It Anymore“ aus dem Ärmel zu schütteln oder durch eine im Bandkontext eher ungewöhnlich arrangierte Powerballade („Closer Than Yesterday“) zu begeistern, ehe mit dem fast siebeneinhalb Minuten langen und abwechslungsreichen „This World Will Burn“ das Album abgeschlossen wird.

Alpha Tiger

War bei den bereits veröffentlichten Alben immer der grösste Kritikpunkt, dass die Ursprünge und Einflüsse der Band zu offensichtlich das eigene Material formten, hat man nun nach drei Jahren einen eigenen Stil, eine eigene Identität entwickelt. „iDentity“ ist produktionstechnisch auf dem neuesten Stand, Tommy Newton (welcher bereits Helloween’s legendäre „Keeper“-Alben produzierte) hat der Scheibe einen klaren, druckvollen, aber auch charmant-retro-orientierten Sound verliehen. Im Vergleich zum naiv-charmanten Debüt und „Beneath The Surface“ wirkt der Sound ein ganzes Stück direkter und letztendlich auch wesentlich professioneller und zeigt, wie sich die Band mit unglaublicher Rasanz und Qualität weiterentwickelt hat. Man merkt sofort, dass man, was das Schreiben von Songs betrifft, einiges dazugelernt hat.

Video Thumbnail
ALPHA TIGER - We Won`t Take It Anymore (official video)

„Alpha Tiger“ sind immer noch „Alpha Tiger“, jedoch wirkt das neue Album wesentlich reifer und ausgeklügelter. An den Stellen, in welchen die Vorgänger noch zu aufgewühlt, zu unstrukturiert und zu energiegeladen waren, setzt „iDentity“ an. Die Band bündelt auf diesem Album ihre Stärken und zeigt keine erkennbaren Schwächen. „iDentity“ steht für 50 Minuten astreinen Heavy, Power und Speed Metal. Die fünf jungen Sachsen haben es (mal wieder) geschafft und werfen schon früh im neuen Jahr einen Anwärter für das Album des Jahres auf den Markt. Anders aber als beispielsweise Bands wie „Paradise Lost“ oder „Metallica“, die im Laufe ihrer Karriere musikalische Abzweigungen nahmen, an denen sie lieber der Hauptstrasse gefolgt wären, haben sich „Alpha Tiger“ positiv weiterentwickelt. „Alpha Tiger“ verdienen jede nur denkbare Unterstützung, einfach weil sie genau die Musik spielen, die sie lieben. Schon alleine das sollte Argument genug sein, um „iDentity“ seine Lauscher und vielleicht auch seine Kohle zu schenken.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. Intro
  2. Lady Liberty
  3. Scripted Reality
  4. Long Way Of Redemption
  5. Identity
  6. We Won’t Take It Anymore
  7. Revolution In Progress
  8. Closer Than Yesterday
  9. Shut Up & Think
  10. This World Will Burn
Album Review: Alpha Tiger - iDentity
8.9 Total
4.9 Besucherwertung (1 vote)
Originalität9
Tempo9
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8
Songtexte9
Substanz8
Produktion10
Langlebigkeit9
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one