devote Airbourne „It’s All For Rock’n’Roll“ Lemmy Kilmister

Airbourne“ has a new Video to her already 2016 released album „Breakin‘ Out Of Hell“ released. In the clip „It’s All For Rock’n’Roll“ the late Motörhead frontman Lemmy is appreciated - next to a montage of live recordings, the Australian rock group plays among others under the Motörhead Bomber…

Nails
Airbourne - It's All For Rock N' Roll

DBD Breakin‘ Outta Hell – Airbourne

Airbourne präsentieren das Lyric-Video the title track „Breakin‘ Outta Hell“ their studio album of the same. The fourth panel of Australians appear on 16. September, Frontmann Joel O’Keeffe fasst den Inhalt der aktuellen Platte so zusammen: „the ballads, no bullshit. I’m breaking out of hell!“

Nails
Airbourne - Breakin' Outta Hell (Lyric Video)

Ride The Lightning: Flash and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review

In August 1991 honored the elite of hard guitar sounds Basel under the „Monsters of Rock“ and the name was for 50’000 Metal-Disciples to program! METALLICA then swept with (today banned) 110 Decibels through Joggeli, so that the main act AC / DC appeared despite wildly hampel ends Angus Young and a great show as a gentle breeze. Legends say, that Metallica still in 20 Kilometers away Rodersdorf were heard. After about 20 Years Metallica returned on Friday to Basel in Basel St sold out. Jakob-Park back and staggered 40’000 Fans in Euphorie – and conjured up a dramatic change in the weather. So the show started with bright sunshine and ended in the truest sense of the word in a small storm. However, the audience did not seem the storm disturbing the least, On the contrary: Es war, as they sat thunder and lightning even more under current!

Ride The Lightning: Blitz, Thunder and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review

After the absolute mudslinging on Sonisphere 2010 in Jonschwil, the organizational chaos, that finally the organizer bankrupt operation at Sonisphere 2011, also in the Basel Joggeli, and the Sonisphere 2012 In Yverdon-les-bains, finally a thoroughly successful event with Metallica, Motörhead and Slayer, found last Friday so the Sonisphere 2014 im Basler FCB St. Jacob Park, What Kvelertak, Airbourne, Alice in Chains and Metallica place. Metallica St. Jakob im, that a cause with history. The last time entered the American quartet in 1993 here on, the tour to the so-called black album, the catapulted the band from the top of the heavy metal scene in the ranks of the stadium bands and there they hold since then stubbornly – despite weak albums, Line-up changes, Alcohol problems and a documentary film, which showed the band with a therapist during such a dissection of one's own psyche. After the Black Album was for me personally Metallica dead and sold out and the Napster affair confirmed me in this way of thinking. But there was nothing, what the band-fan relationship could permanently damage and also I could forgive the men's and came with St. Anger again on the taste.

Nails
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - Ecstasy of Gold / Battery

In the audience on Friday clearly dominated Black, as befits a Metal(lic)-Concert also heard. But it quickly became clear, here, too much mainstream is on the way: Visitors with plaid shirts and beige shorts, People with Föhnfrisuren and Madam in Germany jerseys – what does not go to a metal concert. Sei’s drum, The main thing is true here and the technique was not spilled, but padded and that really: The stage is 110 Tons, About 14 Kilometers of cable were laid, 1200 People are at the day mentioned in the application and 55 40-Ton trucks carted zoom the material. Two crane lorries containing 60 Tons and seven forklifts were in constant use, 312 Meter trusses were assembled and eleven Nightliner brought musicians and crew on the scene. How could a band, the so hard Music plays, become one of the greatest rock bands ever? Just for comparison: Slayer and ANTHRAX, with since the eighties together Megadeth Metallica and the „Big Four“ Dec Thrash Metal Bilden, occurred a month ago at the Z7 in Pratteln together before 1500 People on. Unlike their contemporaries Metallica wrote early also melodious and ballad-pieces, but that alone can not explain, why tens of thousands flock to Metallica concerts. There must be another reason and called James Hetfield. He is among the few frontmen, which can fill with their aura a stadium. Legs he stands there, pay present and leaves with pals exemplary authority no doubt, Who's in charge.

Ride The Lightning: Flash and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review

The Vorbands Kvelertak, Airbourne and Alice in Chains were still so flat out: The metal kings were in town and let everything fade other! Until Metallica sound in complete stadium was full and grits was not the bands meet. damage! But then started to play as Metallica after a short construction phase was the sound very fat! Even the well-tried Intro „The Good, the Bad und the Ugly“ brought the crowd to romp more, than any up to this point proffered Song. The large stadium clock was draped with a black cloth and from the stage sounded the high-speed attack „Battery“ from the year 1986. It seemed, as Metallica wanted to stop time. Latest when seamlessly appended „MASTER of Puppets“ from the same year Metallica sounded significantly better than six years ago in Jonschwil. The hands went to the back rows high and the band further out holzte a board after another. For ten years „new here“ ist Bassist Robert Trujillo, who had once fought for its place in the dense frequency spectrum of the band and the metallic rumble of his Fünfsaiters remained even heard, when Hetfield and lead guitarist Kirk Hammett pumped heavy riffs, as in the merciless „Ride The Lightning“.

Nails
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - Master Of Puppets (Sonisphere)

Hungry fever the amount against the titles, which could be selected in advance via online voting. „Metallica by Request“ is the motto of the current tour, which means, that the set list in advance of any gigs by voting of fans via the Internet will be determined and announced. Service to paying customers, for he who has such materials prior to, must be removed no artistic freedom, but has to provide entertainment. The fan wants to hear Hits, for such he is out of money and takes for getting totally overcrowded extra trains, in which there are far too few toilets, in purchasing. Unfortunately, not all of the setlist via online voting was determined: During the concert, the audience was repeatedly urged between three outstanding songs via sms match. Of course, for 80 Rappen pro Stimmabgabe, what let drift off the event times in a really sleazy sales show.

Ride The Lightning: Flash and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review

Thus, the appearance of Metallica between a concert to routine and an absolutely marginal sales show moved. A miracle could not participate even in an SMS sweepstake, with stupid questions in the style of modern TV shows. This superfluous viewer interaction to voting bugged uncommonly, as directed before the actual gig, the band members via video Einspieler to fans, in order to „vote“ call. But there's, so let it be taking James Hetfield, even during the performance always pointing back to this voting option, which he means a chic bar graph presented the very scarce Current score again and invited the fans, ihr „To give best“ - Was probably meant: their money. And even if Metallica played tired in Basel, not as likely every fan have become perfectly happy at this request concert. Given the chumming Sale Show wish you the evil force from the time of the black album back, which had at least an all-black soul.

Nails
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - One

Apart from these annoying interruptions Metallica showed during the two and a half hour show usual routine. Accompanied by successful visuals and Video-Clips, which ran across LED wall, it past the band from the California Bay Area who desire custom setlist almost flawless down to the last corner of the stadium. Metallica played, which wished the audience and delivered solid work without fuss. The four guys from San Francisco played the 16 most requested songs and delivered as „Metallica to order“. The sound was outstanding, set but especially the pieces from the early years primarily on overwhelming sound walls. Over the entire width of the stage hung a more than 360 Quadratmeter large LED-Wand, on not only the images of the musicians were to be seen from four different camera angles, as marching soldiers and skeletons on, it dripped blood, and it was offered a perfectly coordinated production. Die Lightshow war atemberaubend, drew ludicrous pattern on the ranks, sawed the stage with bright laser beams and transformed the crowd into a blood-red sea, from the only James Hetfield white stood out. He repeatedly sought contact with the fans, between his filthy laugh – even if a bit too rehearsed flippant, the master let the puppets dance and again it went from the 56 Meter stage on the catwalk in the masses.

Ride The Lightning: Flash and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review

When Metallica played the only new song of the night, ging is the: Under cover of darkness, a storm front had pushed over Joggeli, which now opened the floodgates. The first performance of the song, the will may appear on the new album, fell so completely into the water. It is „Lords Of Summer“ not sooo bad. With gallop rhythm and the change in the heavy half-time Metallica are indeed close to the self-plagiarism. All the same, Time, to fetch fresh refills, for the guarantee during the week, some efforts have been made. Three semi-trailer with a total of 400 Pallets liquid stood in the stadium ready. Five refrigerated trucks and five cold rooms chilled drinks on five degrees, were to the existing stalls in the stadium additional 50 Waterchiller - hot as the mobile stalls in the jargon - installed. In addition, it was not without a certain irony, that spilled out just after this battle cry for the summer rain from heaven. After all knew Hetfield to use the sudden change in the weather and adjusts itself for the duration of „Sad But True“ on the ramp in the pouring rain. That's solidarity to the fans, which sang along the catchy verses of massive shuffles of his lungs. And it was not just Hetfield, but also guitarist Kirk Hammett and bassist Robert Trujillo regularly on the web and did not let the fans alone standing in the rain, but stood with them in the rain and gave gas follows, that even the lightning, the above St. Jakob Park zuckten, were part of the production.

Nails
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - Lords Of Summer (Sonisphere)

During her appearance Metallica repeatedly emphasized their proximity to the fans, it as part of the „Metallica-Family“ or. consider fifth band member. This has also be expressed, that some fans were standing on the edge of the stage throughout the show. Somehow I lack the Snotty, everything „love, Peace and Happiness“, the frontman seems tamed. It can not be denied, that because another man is standing on the stage as two decades ago. Went from him at that time a rather threatening, Aura aus Dunkle, Hetfield admits now acts chummy. To some extent, as often as he in the songs „the!“ or „KILL!“ border - and that is no mean exactly rare, so often proclaimed Hetfield in his announcements „Metallica loves you, Basel“. It is difficult for me, is to see no contradiction. Since Hetfield can provide as long demonstratively in the rain. Lightning flashed throughout the presentation about the sky and Hetfield, Hammett and Trujillo mainly flog undeterred an on their instruments. That's why is called this genre Thrash Metal. Thrash mit H. not Trash, because that is not a waste but a shredder, of all the garbage, of a messed up life, chopped and crushed, remains until only a feeling of numbness and redemption. Guter Thrash Metal wirkt wie Meditation, Or something like that…

Ride The Lightning: Flash and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review

Was only towards the end „Nothing Else Matters“ and immediately afterwards „Enter Sandman“. The public was never suspended and these songs hung it again right into it. Hetfield would have the „Sing it!“ can save before the chorus, Metallica-pack made by themselves with and with an enthusiasm, the even that endorphin-addicted FCB Stadium rarely experienced. „St. Anger“ opened the encores, a relatively new piece, that probably one of the harder of the band's history. Then played the men elected by SMS Song, in Basel, the audience for decision „Orion“ until then „Seek & Destroy“ was released. Once again it flashed fiercely in the sky, then passed the tape. The last piece played Metallica shortly after eleven, while the stadium was already burning any available lamp. That probably was not because, that they wanted the musicians show their pflotschnasses audience, But the fact, that the curfew applies in Basel for rock gods.

Nails
Metallica almost gone with the wind - Heavy thunderstorm hitting during "Sad But True"

All in all, it must be noted: Metallica halt. Two and a half hours of world-class. The four exceptional musicians are by now more than 30 Years stage presence not only technically unbeatable, but seemed to have a really good day in Basel. At least they gave the impression, that they had the mood for each song, they played. And how they played this: Hetfield joined his guitars often, as other people have their panties in a week. Added to this was a simply outstanding sound, powerful, cutting, clear, absolutely pure in the ballads, which mixed the band sent between the thrashy songs and so once took the air out, to give immediately the gas again. The fact that the fans the song selection every night of the „By Request“-may redefine Tour, is ultimately not much more than a publicity stunt. Finally, consists in this online voting always the taste of the masses against the insider wishes by. Given the results of voting headlined a big German Metal magazine recently „Your slowpoke!“ , referring to the fans. However, it will be interesting, what the marketing department of the band James Hetfield can still occur all. After Metallica recently been media coverage played a gig in Antarctica (Antarctica), everything seems to be possible in terms of marketing. Here are some suggestions: „Titanica – Drown’em all“ or „Desertica – Meet the Sandman“. It may be gevoted.

Setlist:

  1. Battery
  2. Master Of Puppets
  3. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
  4. Ride The Lightning
  5. The Unforgiven
  6. Creeping Death
  7. Lords Of Summer
  8. Sad But True
  9. Fade To Black
  10. …and Justice for all
  11. One
  12. For Whom The Bell Tolls
  13. Whiskey in the Jar
  14. Nothing Else Matters
  15. Enter Sandman
  16. Encore:

  17. St. Anger
  18. Orion
  19. Seek & Destroy

Ride The Lightning: Flash and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review

Ride The Lightning: Flash and Metallica in Basel St. Jakob-Park, The Concert Review
9 Total
0 User Rating (0 votes)
the atmosphere10
Performance10
Acoustics10
visibility10
Vor-Ort-Service10
Sanitary installations10
Parking situation3
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

DBD Breakin‘ Outta Hell – Airbourne

Airbourne präsentieren das Lyric-Video zum Titelsong „Breakin‘ Outta Hell“ ihres gleichnamigen Studioalbums. Die vierte Platte der Australier erscheint am 16. September, Frontmann Joel O’Keeffe fasst den Inhalt der aktuellen Platte so zusammen: „No ballads, no bullshit. I’m breaking out of hell!“

Video Thumbnail
Airbourne - Breakin' Outta Hell (Lyric Video)

Ride the Lightning: Blitz und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review

Im August 1991 beehrte die Elite der harten Gitarrenklänge Basel im Rahmen des „Monsters of Rock“ und der Name wurde für 50’000 Metal-Jünger zum Programm! Metallica fegten damals mit (heute verbotenen) 110 Dezibel durchs Joggeli, so dass der Hauptact AC/DC trotz wild umher hampelnden Angus Young und einer grossartigen Show wie ein laues Lüftchen wirkten. Legenden besagen, dass Metallica noch im 20 Kilometer entfernten Rodersdorf zu hören waren. Nach über 20 Jahren kehrten Metallica am Freitag nach Basel in den ausverkauften Basler St. Jakob-Park zurück und versetzten 40’000 Fans in Euphorie – und beschwor einen dramatischen Wetterwechsel herauf. So begann die Show bei strahlendem Sonnenschein und endete im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes in einem kleinen Sturm. Die Zuschauer schien das Gewitter jedoch nicht im Geringsten zu stören, im Gegenteil: Es war, als setzten sie Blitz und Donner noch mehr unter Strom!

Ride the Lightning: Blitz, Donner und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review

Nach der absoluten Schlammschlacht am Sonisphere 2010 in Jonschwil, dem organisatorischen Chaos, dass schlussendlich den Veranstalter in den Konkurs trieb am Sonisphere 2011, ebenfalls im Basler Joggeli, und dem Sonisphere 2012 in Yverdon-les-Bains, endlich einem rundum gelungenen Anlass mit Metallica, Motörhead und Slayer, fand letzten Freitag also das Sonisphere 2014 im Basler FCB St. Jakobs Park, mit Kvelertak, Airbourne, Alice in Chains und Metallica statt. Metallica im Sankt Jakob, das ist ein Anlass mit Geschichte. Das letzte Mal trat das amerikanische Quartett im Jahre 1993 hier auf, die Tour nach dem sogenannten schwarzen Album, das die Band von der Spitze der Heavy-Metal-Szene in die Riege der Stadionbands katapultierte und dort halten sie sich seither hartnäckig – trotz schwacher Alben, Besetzungswechseln, Alkoholproblemen und einem Dokfilm, der die Band mit einem Therapeuten beim Sezieren der eigenen Psyche zeigte. Nachdem Schwarzen Album war für mich persönlich Metallica tot und ausverkauft und die Napster-Affäre bestätigte mich in diesem Denken. Doch es gab nichts, was die Band-Fan-Beziehung nachhaltig beschädigen konnte und auch ich konnte den Herren verzeihen und kam mit St. Anger wieder auf den Geschmack.

Video Thumbnail
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - Ecstasy of Gold / Battery

Im Publikum dominierte am Freitag ganz klar Schwarz, wie es sich für ein Metal(lica)-Konzert auch gehört. Doch schnell wurde klar, hier ist auch viel Mainstream unterwegs: Besucher mit karierten Hemden und beigen Shorts, Menschen mit Föhnfrisuren und Damen und Herren in Deutschlandtrikots – was gar nicht geht an einem Metal-Konzert. Sei’s drum, Hauptsache die Technik stimmt und hier wurde nicht gekleckert, sondern geklotzt und dass so richtig: Die Bühne ist 110 Tonnen schwer, rund 14 Kilometer Kabel wurden verlegt, 1200 Menschen sind am Tourtag im Einsatz und 55 40-Tonnen LKW’s karrten das Material heran. Zwei Kranwagen à 60 Tonnen und sieben Gabelstapler waren im Dauereinsatz, 312 Meter Traversen wurden montiert und elf Nightliner brachten Musiker und Crew an den Ort des Geschehens. Wie konnte eine Band, die derart harte Musik spielt, zu einer der grössten Rockbands überhaupt werden? Nur so zum Vergleich: Slayer und Anthrax, die seit den Achtzigerjahren zusammen mit Megadeth und Metallica die „Big Four“ des Thrash Metal bilden, traten vor einem Monat gemeinsam im Z7 in Pratteln vor 1500 Leuten auf. Im Gegensatz zu ihren Weggefährten schrieben Metallica schon früh auch melodiöse und balladeske Stücke, doch das allein kann nicht erklären, wieso Zehntausende an Metallica Konzerte strömen. Dafür muss es noch einen anderen Grund geben und der heisst James Hetfield. Er gehört zu den wenigen Frontmännern, die mit ihrer Aura ein Stadion füllen können. Breitbeinig steht er da, präsent und lässt mit kumpelhafter Autorität keine Zweifel aufkommen, wer hier das Sagen hat.

Ride the Lightning: Blitz und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review

Die Vorbands Kvelertak, Airbourne und Alice in Chains konnten sich noch so ins Zeug legen: Die Metal-Könige waren in der Stadt und liessen alles andere verblassen! Bis Metallica war der Sound im kompletten Stadion völlige Grütze und wurde den Bands nicht gerecht. Schade! Doch als Metallica dann nach kurzer Umbauphase loslegten war der Sound äusserst fett! Bereits das altbewährte Intro von „The Good, the Bad und the Ugly“ brachte die Meute mehr zum Toben, als jeder bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt dargebotene Song. Die grosse Stadion-Uhr war mit einem schwarzen Tuch verhängt und von der Bühne her erschallte der Hochgeschwindigkeitsangriff „Battery“ aus dem Jahre 1986. Es schien, als wollten Metallica die Zeit anhalten. Spätestens beim nahtlos angehängten „Master of Puppets“ aus dem gleichen Jahr klangen Metallica deutlich besser als noch vor sechs Jahren in Jonschwil. Die Hände gingen bis in die hintersten Reihen hoch und die Band holzte weiter ein Brett nach dem anderen raus. Seit zehn Jahren „neu dabei“ ist Bassist Robert Trujillo, der sich sofort seinen Platz im dichten Frequenzspektrum der Band erkämpft hatte und das metallische Grollen seines Fünfsaiters blieb selbst dann hörbar, wenn Hetfield und Lead-Gitarrist Kirk Hammett schwere Riffs pumpten, wie etwa im erbarmungslosen „Ride the Lightning“.

Video Thumbnail
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - Master of Puppets (Sonisphere)

Hungrig fieberte die Menge den Titeln entgegen, die im Vorfeld via Online-Voting gewählt werden konnten. „Metallica by Request“ lautet das Motto der aktuellen Tour, was bedeutet, dass die Setlist im Vorfeld eines jeden Gigs durch Stimmabgabe der Fans über das Internet festgelegt und veröffentlicht wird. Dienst am zahlenden Kunden, denn wer derartige Massen vor sich hat, darf sich keine künstlerische Freiheit herausnehmen, sondern hat für Unterhaltung zu sorgen. Der Fan will Hits hören, denn dafür gibt er Geld aus und nimmt für die Anreise völlig überfüllte Extrazüge, in denen es viel zu wenig Toiletten gibt, in Kauf. Doch leider wurde nicht die gesamte Setlist per Online Voting bestimmt: Während des Konzerts wurde das Publikum wiederholt aufgefordert zwischen drei noch offenen Songs via SMS abzustimmen. Selbstverständlich für 80 Rappen pro Stimmabgabe, was die Veranstaltung zeitweise in eine richtig schmierige Verkaufsshow abdriften liess.

Ride the Lightning: Blitz und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review

Somit bewegte sich der Auftritt von Metallica zwischen einem routiniertem Konzert und einer absolut grenzwertigen Verkaufsshow. Ein Wunder konnte man nicht noch an einem SMS Gewinnspiel teilnehmen, mit dümmlichen Fragen im Stile moderner TV-Shows. Diese überflüssige Zuschauerinteraktion zum Voting nervte ungemein, so richteten sich bereits vor dem eigentlichen Gig die Bandmitglieder via Videoeinspieler an die Fans, um sie zum „Voten“ aufzufordern. Doch dem nicht genug, so liess es sich James Hetfield nicht nehmen, sogar während des Auftritts immer wieder auf diese Votingmöglichkeit hinzuweisen, wobei er immer wieder mittels eines schicken Balkendiagramms den sehr knappen Zwischenstand präsentierte und die Fans aufforderte, ihr „Bestes zu geben“ – gemeint war wohl: Ihr Geld. Und auch wenn Metallica in Basel satt spielten, so dürfte nicht jeder Fan wunschlos glücklich geworden sein bei diesem Wunschkonzert. Angesichts der anbiedernden Ausverkaufsshow wünschte man sich die böse Truppe aus den Zeiten vor dem schwarzen Album zurück, die hatte immerhin eine tiefschwarze Seele.

Video Thumbnail
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - One

Abgesehen von diesen störenden Unterbrechungen zeigten sich Metallica im Rahmen der zweieinhalbstündigen Show gewohnt routiniert. Untermalt von gelungenen Visuals und Video-Clips, die über die LED-Wand liefen, ballerte die Band aus der kalifornischen Bay Area die Wunsch-Setliste nahezu fehlerfrei bis ins letzte Eck des Stadions. Metallica spielten, was sich das Publikum wünschte und lieferten solide Arbeit ohne Getue. Die vier Jungs aus San Francisco spielten die 16 meistgefragten Songs und lieferten so „Metallica auf Bestellung“. Der Klang war überragend, setzen doch insbesondere die Stücke aus den frühen Jahren vorrangig auf überwältigende Soundwände. Über die gesamte Breite der Bühne hing eine mehr als 360 Quadratmeter grosse LED-Wand, auf der nicht nur Aufnahmen der Musiker aus vier verschiedenen Kameraperspektiven zu sehen waren, da marschierten Soldaten und Skelette auf, es tropfte Blut und es wurde einem eine perfekt abgestimmte Inszenierung geboten. Die Lightshow war atemberaubend, zeichnete aberwitzige Muster auf die Ränge, zersägte die Bühne mit grellen Laserstrahlen und verwandelte die Menschenmenge in ein blutrotes Meer, aus dem lediglich James Hetfield weiss herausragte. Er suchte immer wieder den Kontakt zu den Fans, dazwischen sein dreckiges Lachen – auch wenn das etwas zu einstudiert rüberkam, der Meister liess die Puppen tanzen und immer wieder ging es von der 56 Meter breiten Bühne aus auf den Laufsteg in die Massen.

Ride the Lightning: Blitz und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review

Als Metallica den einzigen neuen Song des Abends spielten, ging es los: Im Schutze der Dunkelheit hatte sich eine Gewitterfront übers Joggeli geschoben, welche nun die Schleusen öffnete. Die Erstaufführung des Songs, der möglicherweise auf dem neuen Album erscheinen wird, fiel somit komplett ins Wasser. Dabei ist „Lords Of Summer“ nicht mal sooo übel. Mit Galopp-Rhythmus und den Wechseln ins schwere Halftime befinden sich Metallica zwar nahe dem Eigen-Plagiat. Egal, Zeit, um Biernachschub zu holen, für dessen Gewährleistung im Laufe der Woche einige Anstrengungen unternommen wurden. Drei Sattelschlepper mit insgesamt 400 Paletten Flüssigkeit standen im Stadion bereit. Fünf Kühlwagen und weitere fünf Kühlzellen kühlten die Getränke auf fünf Grad, zu den bestehenden Ständen im Stadion wurden zusätzliche 50 Durchlaufkühler – wie die mobilen Stände im Fachjargon heissen – installiert. Zudem entbehrte es nicht einer gewissen Ironie, dass sich ausgerechnet nach diesem Schlachtruf für den Sommer ein Regenschauer vom Himmel ergoss. Immerhin wusste Hetfield den plötzlichen Wetterumschwung zu nutzen und stellt sich für die Gesamtdauer von „Sad but True“ auf die Rampe in den strömenden Regen. Das ist Solidarität zu den Fans, welche die eingängigen Strophen des wuchtigen Shuffles aus voller Kehle mitsangen. Und es stand nicht nur Hetfield, sondern auch Gitarrist Kirk Hammet und Bassist Robert Trujillo regelmässig auf dem Steg und liessen die Fans nicht alleine im Regen stehen, sondern standen mit ihnen im Regen und gaben dermassen Gas, dass selbst die Blitze, die über dem St. Jakob Park zuckten, zum Teil der Inszenierung wurden.

Video Thumbnail
Metallica live in Basel Switzerland July 4 2014 - Lords of Summer (Sonisphere)

Während ihres Auftrittes unterstrichen Metallica immer wieder ihre Nähe zu den Fans, die sie als Teil der „Metallica-Family“ bzw. fünftes Bandmitglied betrachten. Dies wurde auch dadurch zum Ausdruck gebracht, dass einige Fans während der gesamten Show am Bühnenrand stehen durften. Irgendwie fehlt mir das Rotzige, alles „Love, Peace and Happiness“, der Frontmann wirkt gezähmt. Es lässt sich nicht verleugnen, dass da ein anderer Mann auf der Bühne steht als vor zwei Jahrzehnten. Ging von ihm damals eine eher bedrohliche, dunkle Aura aus, so wirkt Hetfield jetzt kumpelhaft. Ansatzweise so oft wie er in den Songs „Die!“ oder „Kill!“ schreit – und das ist beileibe nicht gerade selten, so oft verkündet Hetfield in seinen Ansagen „Metallica loves you, Basel“. Es fällt mir schwer, darin keinen Widerspruch zu sehen. Da kann sich Hetfield noch so lange demonstrativ in den Regen stellen. Blitze zuckten während des gesamten Auftritts über den Himmel und Hetfield, Hammet und vorallem Trujillo prügeln unbeirrt auf ihre Instrumente ein. Darum heisst dieses Genre Thrash Metal. Thrash mit H. Nicht Trash, denn das ist kein Müll sondern ein Shredder, der den ganzen Müll, der einem das Leben versaut, zerkleinert und zermalmt, bis nur noch ein Gefühl von Taubheit und Erlösung übrigbleibt. Guter Thrash Metal wirkt wie Meditation, oder so ähnlich…

Ride the Lightning: Blitz und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review

Erst gegen Ende kam „Nothing else Matters“ und gleich hinterher „Enter Sandman“. Das Publikum wurde nie abgehängt und zu diesen Songs hing es sich noch mal voll rein. Hetfield hätte sich das „Sing it!“ vor dem Refrain sparen können, die Metallica-Meute machte von sich aus mit und das mit einem Enthusiasmus, den selbst das endorphin-gewöhnte FCB-Stadion nur selten erlebt. „St. Anger“ eröffnete die Zugaben, ein vergleichsweise neues Stück, dass wohl zu den härteren der Bandgeschichte zählt. Anschliessend spielten die Herren den per SMS gewählten Song, in Basel entschied sich das Publikum für „Orion“ bis dann „Seek & Destroy“ losgelassen wurde. Noch einmal blitzte es heftig am Himmel, dann verabschiedete sich die Band. Das letzte Stück spielten Metallica kurz nach elf, während im Stadion schon jede verfügbare Lampe brannte. Das lag wahrscheinlich nicht daran, dass man den Musikern ihr pflotschnasses Publikum zeigen wollte, sondern am Umstand, dass in Basel die Sperrstunde auch für Rockgötter gilt.

Video Thumbnail
Metallica almost gone with the wind - Heavy thunderstorm hitting during "Sad But True"

Alles in Allem bleibt festzuhalten: Metallica halt. Zweieinhalb Stunden Weltklasse. Die vier Ausnahmemusiker sind nach mittlerweile mehr als 30 Jahren Bühnenpräsenz nicht nur technisch unschlagbar, sondern schienen in Basel einen echt guten Tag zu haben. Zumindest vermittelten sie den Eindruck, dass sie Bock auf jeden Song hatten, den sie spielten. Und wie sie diese spielten: Hetfield wechselte seine Gitarren öfter, als andere Leute ihre Unterhosen in der Woche. Hinzu kam ein einfach überragender Sound, wuchtig, schneidend, glasklar, absolut rein bei den Balladen, welche die Band geschickt zwischen die thrashigen Songs mischte und so mal die Luft raus nahm, um sofort wieder Gas zu geben. Dass die Fans die Songauswahl jeden Abend der „By Request“-Tour neu bestimmen dürfen, ist schliesslich auch nicht viel mehr als ein Werbegag. Schliesslich setzt sich bei diesem Online-Voting stets der Massengeschmack gegenüber den Insider-Wünschen durch. Angesichts der Abstimmungsergebnisse titelte ein grosses deutsches Metal-Magazin unlängst „Ihr Langweiler!“ und meinte damit die Fans. Man darf jedoch gespannt sein, was sich die Marketingabteilung der Band um James Hetfield noch alles einfallen lässt. Nachdem Metallica vor kurzem bereits medienwirksam einen Gig in der Antarktis spielten (Antarctica), scheint im Sinne der Vermarktung alles möglich zu sein. Hier einige Vorschläge: „Titanica – Drown’em all“ oder „Desertica – Meet the Sandman“. Es darf gevoted werden.

Setlist:

  1. Battery
  2. Master of Puppets
  3. Welcome home (Sanitarium)
  4. Ride the Lightning
  5. The Unforgiven
  6. Creeping Death
  7. Lords of Summer
  8. Sad but true
  9. Fade to Black
  10. …And Justice for all
  11. One
  12. For whom the Bell tolls
  13. Whiskey in the Jar
  14. Nothing else matters
  15. Enter Sandman
  16. Zugabe:

  17. St. Anger
  18. Orion
  19. Seek & Destroy

Ride the Lightning: Blitz und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review

Ride the Lightning: Blitz und Metallica im Basler St.Jakob-Park, das Konzert Review
9 Total
0 Nutzerwertung (0 votes)
Atmosphäre10
Performance10
Akustik10
Sichtverhältnisse10
Vor-Ort-Service10
Sanitäre Einrichtungen10
Parkplatzsituation3
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one