Album Review: Ace Frehley – Space Invader

Wer Ace Frehley’s Biografie „No compromises“ („No Regrets“ in the original English version) read will be surprised, that the Space Ace yet always among the living. The longtime Kiss guitarist wants it again wissen: After his previous band currently has large clearing up on tours and the younger Tommy Thayer thereby assumed the role and the costume of Frehley, brings the 65-year-old out a new solo album. The „only true“ KISS guitarist has been going on for almost a decade dry and published more or less regularly new solo material. The last heard the name „Anomaly“, appeared in 2009 and was as easy listening as the now Transferred „Space Invader“. The sound of the album you can over long distances as „Classic Kiss“ denote.

Ace Frehley - Space Invader

The Spaceman cultivated on the new record „Space Invader“ be extraterrestrial Image, starting with the nifty artwork and space reference exuding album- and song titles. With the title track „Space Invader“ rocking the plate los equal tidy, also the subsequent „Gimme A Feelin'“ knows how to convince despite its polished on mainstream rock radio facade with a casual catchiness. But who after this opening genuine on a Monster-Plate is hoped, is disappointed in the further course of the album. The total sixth solo studio album by former KISS guitarist never drops in subprime realm, but with few exceptions, not to offer more than solid home cooking. Provided songs like the one with unimpressive chorus „Toys“, the vertonte Belanglosigkeit „What Every Girl Wants“, the tame „I Wanna Hold You“ oder das Steve Miller Cover „The Joker“ indeed provide evidence, the Frehley is still a guitarist in a class – but can not deceive the acting bit old-fashioned songwriting away. Moreover, it has the final (Near-)Instrumental „Starship“ then a real bore to „Space Invader“ ensconced.

Video Thumbnail
Ace Frehley - Gimme A Feelin

Since, however like the refined with slight psychedelic rock-list „Reckless“, which is equipped with a great chorus and also the casual „Immortal Pleasures“ and the spacey „Inside The Vortex“ certainly have their exciting moments – Ace provides both the micro and the bass a decent performance from. High moves „Space Invader“ to approximately the same level as „Monster“, the current disc of his former bandmates KISS. Some Songs, as the brilliant title track, the banal and amusing „Toys“ or the easy breezy „Gimme A Feeling“ would „Monster“ ganz gutgetan. And because „Space Invader“ so retro klingt, Ken Kelly contributed the cover at. The artist was for the design of the packaging of the two popular Kiss albums „Love Gun“ and „Destroyer“ responsible. Ace has in the past repeatedly expressed his displeasure, Kiss that at any other musician in his mask and his costume occurs. As the New York lineup was taken in spring in the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, Although the two were ex-Frehley and Peter Criss founding members (Drums) there, at a joint appearance with Paul Stanley (Singing, Guitar) and Gene Simmons (Bass, Singing) did not it – the two kiss-„Heads“ had vehemently denied the.

Ace Frehley

The guitar work of the man, who was responsible for the really hard tones at KISS, however, is still breathtaking. The guy knows from the beginning unassuming riffs or licks to make something special, Only the compelling songwriting skills, which his groundbreaking solo album of the year 1978 had distinguished, which are the good Ace it swam over the years probably. So the ripples clad in a dress designed by Ken Kelly „Space Invader“ as well as the five years before seem „Anomaly“ more or less unspectacular from the speakers, know hardly excite a song so right and the imperative in the brain firmly milled choruses you look back in this very space-heavy ambience rather with a magnifying glass.

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Ace Frehley - Space Invader


  1. Space Invader
  2. Gimme A Feelin` (Radio Edit)
  3. I Wanna Hold You
  4. Change
  5. Toys
  6. Immortal Pleasures
  7. Inside The Vortex
  8. What Every Girl Wants
  9. Past The Milky Way
  10. Reckless
  11. The Joker
  12. Starship
Album Review: Ace Frehley - Space Invader
6.3 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Ace Frehley – Space Invader

Wer Ace Frehley’s Biografie „Keine Kompromisse“ („No Regrets“ in der englischen Originalfassung) gelesen hat wird sich wundern, dass der Space-Ace noch immer unter den Lebenden weilt. Der langjährige Kiss-Gitarrist will es noch einmal wissen: Nachdem seine frühere Band derzeit bei Tourneen gross abräumt und der jüngere Tommy Thayer dabei die Rolle und das Kostüm von Frehley übernommen hat, bringt der 65-Jährige ein neues Solo-Album heraus. Der „einzig wahre“ KISS-Gitarrist ist nun schon seit fast einer Dekade trocken und veröffentlicht mehr oder weniger regelmässig neues Solo-Material. Das letzte hörte auf den Namen „Anomaly“, erschien im Jahr 2009 und war ebenso Easy Listening wie das nun gereichte „Space Invader“. Den Sound des Albums darf man über weite Strecken als „klassisch Kiss“ bezeichnen.

Ace Frehley - Space Invader

Der Spaceman kultiviert auch auf der neuen Platte „Space Invader“ sein extraterrestrisches Image, angefangen beim schnieken Artwork und den Weltraum-Bezug verströmenden Album- und Songtiteln. Mit dem Titeltrack „Space Invader“ rockt die Scheibe gleich ordentlich los, auch das nachfolgende „Gimme A Feelin'“ weiss trotz seiner auf Mainstream-Rock-Radio polierten Fassade mit einer lässigen Eingängigkeit zu überzeugen. Wer aber nach dieser Eröffnung auf eine echte Monster-Platte gehofft hat, wird im weiteren Verlauf des Albums enttäuscht. Das insgesamt sechste Solo-Studio-Album des ehemaligen KISS-Gitarristen fällt nie in zweitklassige Gefilde ab, hat aber mit wenigen Ausnahmen nicht mehr als solide Hausmannskost zu bieten. Songs wie das mit einem unbeeindruckenden Refrain versehene „Toys“, die vertonte Belanglosigkeit „What Every Girl Wants“, das handzahme „I Wanna Hold You“ oder das Steve Miller-Cover „The Joker“ liefern zwar den Beweis, das Frehley immer noch ein Gitarrist der Extraklasse ist – können aber nicht über das etwas altbacken wirkende Songwriting hinweg täuschen. Zudem hat sich mit dem abschliessenden (Beinahe-)Instrumental „Starship“ dann auch ein echter Langweiler auf „Space Invader“ eingenistet.

Video Thumbnail
Ace Frehley - Gimme A Feelin

Da gefallen hingegen das mit leichter Psychedelic-Rock-Schlagseite veredelte „Reckless“, das mit einem tollen Refrain ausgestattet ist und auch das lässige „Immortal Pleasures“ sowie das spacige „Inside The Vortex“ haben durchaus ihre spannenden Momente – Ace liefert sowohl am Mikro als auch am Bass eine ordentliche Leistung ab. Qualitativ bewegt sich „Space Invader“ auf etwa dem selben Niveau wie „Monster“, der aktuellen Scheibe seiner ehemaligen Band-Kollegen KISS. Einige Songs, wie das fulminante Titelstück, das banale wie amüsante „Toys“ oder das locker-flockige „Gimme A Feeling“ hätten „Monster“ ganz gutgetan. Und weil „Space Invader“ so retro klingt, steuerte Ken Kelly das Cover bei. Der Zeichner war für die Gestaltung der Verpackung der beiden beliebten Kiss-Alben „Love Gun“ und „Destroyer“ verantwortlich. Ace hat in der Vergangenheit wiederholt seinen Unmut darüber geäussert, dass bei Kiss ein anderer Musiker in seiner Maske und seinem Kostüm auftritt. Als die New Yorker Formation im Frühjahr in die Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame aufgenommen wurde, waren zwar die beiden Ex-Gründungsmitglieder Frehley und Peter Criss (Drums) dabei, zu einem gemeinsamen Auftritt mit Paul Stanley (Gesang, Gitarre) und Gene Simmons (Bass, Gesang) kam es nicht – die beiden Kiss-„Chefs“ hatten das vehement verweigert.

Ace Frehley

Die Gitarrenarbeit jenes Mannes, der bei KISS für die wirklich harten Töne zuständig war, ist jedoch immer noch atemberaubend. Der Kerl versteht es aus zu Anfang unscheinbaren Riffs oder Licks etwas Besonders zu machen, allein die zwingenden Songwriting-Skills, welche sein bahnbrechendes Solo-Album aus dem Jahr 1978 ausgezeichnet hatten, die sind dem guten Ace über die Jahre wohl davongeschwommen. So plätschert der in ein von Ken Kelly entworfenes Kleid gehüllte „Space Invader“ ebenso wie das vor fünf Jahren erschiene „Anomaly“ mehr oder weniger unspektakulär aus den Boxen, weiss kaum ein Song so richtig aufzuregen und auch die zwingend im Hirn festfräsenden Refrains sucht man in diesem wieder sehr Weltraum-lastigen Ambiente eher mit der Lupe.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Ace Frehley - Space Invader

Tracklist:

  1. Space Invader
  2. Gimme A Feelin` (Radio Edit)
  3. I Wanna Hold You
  4. Change
  5. Toys
  6. Immortal Pleasures
  7. Inside The Vortex
  8. What Every Girl Wants
  9. Past The Milky Way
  10. Reckless
  11. The Joker
  12. Starship
Album Review: Ace Frehley - Space Invader
6.3 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität5
Tempo5
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang7
Songtexte5
Substanz5
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit5
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one