Album Review: Abandon Hope – Settle The Score

Bands of America have long since no longer have a monopoly on groovy, dirty Southern rock, denn moderner Heavy Metal, with Southern rock impact, also comes from the German Münster! Of groovende Quartett „Abandon Hope“ but certainly originates from the southern corner of the city. Somewhere between the local whiskey distillery and a campfire site, where you can hang out in the warm summer night into, at, accompanied by the sound of chirping crickets, unpack the guitar. The campfire is then flattened and sometimes fast and smashed the acoustic guitar on the tree. Because „Abandon Hope“ rock and the enormous. Since much of the deep-'s inside gloomy, schwermetallisch-eschatological salvation of whiskey „Black Label Society“. At „Abandon Hope“ already sounds the band name gloomy and so is the atmosphere, what the album „Settle The Score“ common.

Abandon Hope - Settle The Score

Although the band has been active for more than ten years, presents the current work „Settle The Score“ only the second publication of the next EP „Existence“ give. And the debut „The Endless Ride“ has already whopping eight years under his belt. „Settle The Score“ is generally considered a properly produced disc, the number of iterations needed, because you are a little confused at first. You do not get rid of the idea, that here might show off several bands, for influences of Zakk Wylde, Life of Agony, Danzig, Soundgarden, Panther, Alice in Chains, Clutch, Orange Goblin und Co. can not be denied. But these are not the scale, but only the inspiration of the band. For surely reach „Abandon Hope“ not the quality of these quantities, but could not get the special effect on a song to stay and depart, reach them all.

Video Thumbnail
Abandon Hope - Sally (official video)

On „Settle The Score“ tighten the four musicians going, as they would have to foot a bill. In general, the varied guitar work of Waik on this album like it very much. The groaning-roaring riffs sound dirty, but flutschen „oiled“ and whip the tunes forward properly. The skins of drummer Alex are tightly stretched and Hommel singer sings pleasantly rude. Although a little getting used to, as these at first impression „unclean“ acts, as if he would make the sounds not correct. Probably standing here – As with the Music - Probably the transport of emotions and to necessary expression of the voice in the foreground, as always the „right“ To make pitch or keep. But I can understand, when the one or the other might enjoy the music of „Abandon Hope“ diminishes.

Abandon Hope

Schon im Opener „Right Or Not“ lifts off the vocals in the chorus in an upward Schlenker. Also „Catharsis“ starts beguiling dampfwalzig and can later density and pressure vary, if it is melodious singing and also in the solo Lines. Also „Jackyll & Daniels“ goes with a wild start in a supported, atmospheric chorus, and quite solidifies the very end of the song as cold expectant Lava. At the top of the balancing act succeeds in but „The Core“, a highlight of the album: Only neckbreaking head shaker, then halluzinös-quiet, in grungiger, tough gloom. Later you drive a little further down and adds deep piano sounds. Complexity dominate Abandon Hope So. So suppressed „Sweet Surrender“ efficient the pace and „The City“ is really noise and distortion in the chorus-heavy doomy on the voltage curve. Positive striking are the two pieces, to which we also published videos: „Sally“ is a kind of „Powerballade“ and may sometimes have been on a Nevermore disc. And then there's the title track stands „Settle The Score“ out, is unpacked sooooo slow…

Video Thumbnail
Abandon Hope - Settle The Score

The album sounds like the bottom line is still too often to be expected, after you have figured the direction and overall oomph does not serve up bands like Black Label Society said. Nevertheless, a fine thing and you can hear the guys, that this music is exactly, what they want to do. „Abandon Hope“ make here a lot more right than wrong. The music is rocking violently from the speakers, the sound is earthy but not too mushy. The songs are varied to act without any stylistic. The music speaks much more the feeling center in the belly of, as the fine synapses in the brain. But it just feels right and good to. „Settle The Score“ is an album, in which the listening pleasure is paramount.

The album can you Buy in our shop.


  1. Right or Not
  2. Catharsis
  3. Turmoil
  4. The Core
  5. Settle the Score
  6. Jackyl & Daniels
  7. Memories
  8. The City
  9. Sally
  10. Sweet Surrender
Album Review: Abandon Hope - Settle The Score
7.9 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Album Review: Abandon Hope – Settle The Score

Bands aus Amerika haben schon längst kein Monopol mehr auf groovigen, dreckigen Südstaaten-Rock, denn moderner Heavy Metal, mit Southern Rock Einschlag, kommt auch aus dem deutschen Münster! Das groovende Quartett „Abandon Hope“ stammt aber sicherlich aus der südlichsten Ecke der Stadt. Irgendwo zwischen der örtlichen Whiskey-Destillerie und einer Lagerfeuerstätte, wo man in die laue Sommernacht hinein zusammen abhängen kann, um, vom Klang der zirpenden Grillen begleitet, die Gitarre auszupacken. Das Lagerfeuer wird dann auch mal schnell plattgewalzt und die akustische Gitarre am Baum zerschmettert. Denn „Abandon Hope“ rocken und das gewaltig. Da steckt viel drin von der tief-düsteren, schwermetallisch-endzeitlichen Whiskey-Seligkeit der „Black Label Society“. Bei „Abandon Hope“ klingt schon der Bandname düster und so ist auch die Atmosphäre, welche das Album „Settle The Score“ verbreitet.

Abandon Hope - Settle The Score

Obwohl die Band bereits seit mehr als zehn Jahren aktiv ist, stellt das aktuelle Werk „Settle The Score“ erst die zweite Veröffentlichung neben der EP „Existence“ dar. Und das Debüt „The Endless Ride“ hat auch schon satte acht Jahre auf dem Buckel. „Settle The Score“ ist allgemein betrachtet eine ordentlich produzierte Scheibe, die einige Durchläufe benötigt, da man im ersten Augenblick etwas verwirrt ist. Man bekommt den Gedanken nicht los, dass hier vielleicht mehrere Bands auftrumpfen, denn Einflüsse von Zakk Wylde, Life of Agony, Danzig, Soundgarden, Pantera, Alice in Chains, Clutch, Orange Goblin und Co. lassen sich nicht leugnen. Doch diese sind nicht der Massstab, sondern lediglich die Inspirationsquelle der Band. Denn sicherlich erreichen „Abandon Hope“ nicht die Qualität dieser Grössen, aber den besonderen Effekt an einem Song hängen zu bleiben und abzugehen, erreichen sie allemal.

Video Thumbnail
Abandon Hope - Sally (official video)

Auf „Settle The Score“ ziehen die vier Musiker los, als hätten sie noch eine Rechnung zu begleichen. Generell gefällt die abwechslungsreiche Gitarren-Arbeit von Waik auf diesem Album sehr gut. Die stöhnend-röhrenden Riffs klingen schmutzig, flutschen aber „wie geölt“ und peitschen die Mucke ordentlich vorwärts. Die Felle von Drummer Alex sind stramm gespannt und Sänger Hommel singt dazu angenehm unfreundlich. Zwar ein wenig gewöhnungsbedürftig, da diese beim ersten Höreindruck „unsauber“ wirkt, als ob er die Töne nicht richtig treffen würde. Vermutlich stehen hier – wie auch bei der Musik – wohl eher der Transport der Emotionen und der dazu nötige Ausdruck der Stimme im Vordergrund, als immer die „richtige“ Tonlage zu treffen oder zu halten. Aber ich kann verstehen, wenn das dem einen oder anderen vielleicht den Genuss der Musik von „Abandon Hope“ schmälert.

Abandon Hope

Schon im Opener „Right Or Not“ hebt der Gesang im Refrain zu einem Aufwärtsschlenker ab. Auch „Catharsis“ startet betörend dampfwalzig und lässt später Dichte und Druck variieren, wenn es im Gesang und auch in den Solo-Lines melodiös wird. Auch „Jackyll & Daniels“ geht mit wildem Anlauf in einen getragenen, atmosphärisch Chorus und ganz zum Schluss erstarrt der Song wie kalt werdende Lava. Am Besten gelingt der Spagat aber bei „The Core“, einem Highlight des Albums: Erst nackenbrechender Kopfschüttler, dann halluzinös-ruhig, in grungiger, zäher Düsternis. Später fährt man noch ein Stück weiter runter und addiert tiefe Pianoklänge. Vielschichtigkeit beherrschen Abandon Hope also. So drückt „Sweet Surrender“ tüchtig aufs Tempo und „The City“ macht richtig Lärm und zerrt im Refrain heavy-doomig an der Spannungskurve. Positiv auffällig sind die beiden Stücke, zu denen man auch Videos veröffentlichte: „Sally“ ist so eine Art „Powerballade“ und könnte auch mal auf einer Nevermore-Scheibe gewesen sein. Und dann sticht da noch der Titeltrack „Settle The Score“ heraus, der gaaaanz langsam ausgepackt wird…

Video Thumbnail
Abandon Hope - Settle The Score

Das Album klingt unterm Strich noch zu oft zu erwartbar, nachdem man die Richtung kapiert hat und der Gesamt-Wumms kommt nicht an Kapellen wie besagte Black Label Society ran. Dennoch eine feine Sache und man hört den Jungs an, dass diese Musik genau das ist, was sie machen wollen. „Abandon Hope“ machen hier deutlich mehr richtig als falsch. Die Musik rockt heftig aus den Boxen, der Sound ist erdig aber nicht zu matschig. Die Songs sind abwechslungsreich ohne stilistisch beliebig zu wirken. Dabei spricht die Musik deutlich mehr das Gefühlszentrum im Bauch an, als die feinen Synapsen im Gehirn. Aber es fühlt sich einfach richtig und gut an. „Settle The Score“ ist ein Album, bei dem der Hörspass im Vordergrund steht.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist:

  1. Right or Not
  2. Catharsis
  3. Turmoil
  4. The Core
  5. Settle the Score
  6. Jackyl & Daniels
  7. Memories
  8. The City
  9. Sally
  10. Sweet Surrender
Album Review: Abandon Hope - Settle The Score
7.9 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität7
Tempo7
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang7
Songtexte8
Substanz9
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit7
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one