Mr. Schell Gordon Lewis was often „Godfather of Gore“ called and he turned the first splatter film history. Now the US filmmaker is aged 87 Years died. The director of films „Blood Feast“ and „Two Thousand Maniacs!“ died at his home in Pompano Beach, Florida, his spokesman said James Saito.

Splatter / Gore-founder Herschell Gordon Lewis is dead

H.G.Lewis had with his Blood Trilogy (Blood Feast (1963), 2000 Maniacs! (1964) und Color Me Blood Red (1965)) invented the splatter / gore subgenre early 60s. For his first film „The Prime Time“ (1959) Lewis worked as a producer. Then he began, to work as a director. With „Blood Feast“ he turned the first splatter film in history. His films, which originated with low production costs, turned to blood, Violence and nudity. With Blood Feast Lewis attacked the high culture of the cinema at; his film, where an Egyptian caterer Women kill, them for obscure rituals Eating to process, made at the time, almost without exception for outrage. With Herschell Gordon Lewis gentility was over.

Splatter / Gore-founder Herschell Gordon Lewis is dead

Already in the TRAILER to „Blood Feast“ the audience was warned: Who devices easily from the socket or have heart problems, Let now the hall Leave; also for children and pregnant women should, which can be seen now, not suitable. A bumbling affront to the fine spirit was the, in every way an amateur work, to say nothing of the writer quite. Probably all true, but it paved the way for a bubbly before productivity grindhouse scene, without which there would not be someone like Quentin Tarantino today. In H.G.Lewis film it went to the point, not only injected the glowing red fake blood on the canvas, also were fortified- and unsuspecting victims - mostly Boy, pretty, mostly scantily clad women - of a certain Fuad Ramses, the owner of a small Egyptian catering services, except downright with a long butcher knife. Everything was to be seen and the injury and dismemberment of the human body is no longer a taboo in the film.

Video Thumbnail
Blood Feast (1963) Trailer Herschell Gordon Lewis' pioneering gore fest

the 1929 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania-born director was aware of the disturbing effect of the violence and he put them, that was his actual discovery, their Schauwertes because a. Only it came to him, moral doubts about his actions he had not. came to film the trained journalist was rather quiet. After graduation, he taught English literature at the Mississippi State University, but bored quickly with his students, he began to work for radio and television and turned finally some erotic- and softcore movies. He understood, that with low production costs, but huge display values ​​good money was. He finally came to the explicit, certain extent pornografisierten violence of all-show.

Splatter / Gore-founder Herschell Gordon Lewis is dead

on „Blood Feast“ followed other violent excesses, „Scum of the Earth!“ (1963), „A Taste of Blood“ (1966), „The Gruesome Twosome“ (1967), „She-Devils on Wheels“ (1968) and „The Wizard of Gore“ (1970). In the 70s, Lewis worked in the advertising industry, not until the new millennium he turned to filmmaking and turned „Blood Feast 2“ (2002) as well as „The Uh-Oh Show“ (2009). The horror comedy „BloodMania“, where he last worked, could he not unfortunately finish. Although Lewis arrived with its splatter orgies never in mainstream cinema, he influenced but a number of important directors, most notably John Waters, Roberto Rodriguez, Quentin Tarantino and James Gunn. Mach’s gut, Herschell – and thank you for the massive blood!

Video Thumbnail
2000 Maniacs (1964) English Trailer
Video Thumbnail
Color Me Blood Red trailer

Splatter / Gore-founder Herschell Gordon Lewis is dead

Herrschell Gordon Lewis wurde oft „Godfather of Gore“ genannt und er drehte den ersten Splatterfilm der Geschichte. Jetzt ist der US-Filmemacher im Alter von 87 Jahren gestorben. Der Regisseur der Filme „Blood Feast“ und „Two Thousand Maniacs!“ verstarb in seinem Haus in Pompano Beach, Florida, sagte sein Sprecher James Saito.

Splatter/Gore-Begründer Herschell Gordon Lewis ist tot

H.G.Lewis hatte mit seiner Blood-Trilogie (Blood Feast (1963), 2000 Maniacs! (1964) und Color Me Blood Red (1965)) Anfang der 60er Jahre die Splatter/Gore-Subgenres erfunden. Für seinen ersten Film „The Prime Time“ (1959) war Lewis als Produzent tätig. Daraufhin begann er, als Regisseur zu arbeiten. Mit „Blood Feast“ drehte er den ersten Splatterfilm der Filmgeschichte. Seine Filme, die mit geringen Produktionskosten entstanden, drehten sich um Blut, Gewalt und Nacktheit. Mit Blood Feast griff Lewis die Hochkultur des Kinos an; sein Film, in dem ein ägyptischer Caterer Frauen tötet, um sie für obskure Rituale zu Essen zu verarbeiten, sorgte seinerzeit praktisch ausnahmslos für Empörung. Mit Herschell Gordon Lewis war die Vornehmheit vorbei.

Splatter/Gore-Begründer Herschell Gordon Lewis ist tot

Bereits in dem Trailer zu „Blood Feast“ wurde das Publikum gewarnt: Wer leicht aus der Fassung gerate oder Herzprobleme habe, möge jetzt den Saal verlassen; auch für Kinder und Schwangere sei, was jetzt zu sehen ist, nicht geeignet. Ein stümperhafter Affront gegen den Feingeist sei das, in jeder Hinsicht eine Amateurarbeit, von dem Drehbuch ganz zu schweigen. Das stimmt wahrscheinlich alles, aber es bereitete den Weg für eine vor Produktivität sprudelnde Grindhouse-Szene, ohne die es jemanden wie Quentin Tarantino heute nicht geben würde. In H.G.Lewis Film ging es zur Sache, nicht nur spritzte das rot leuchtende Kunstblut über die Leinwand, auch wurden wehr- und arglose Opfer – meist junge, hübsche, zumeist leicht bekleidete Frauen – von einem gewissen Fuad Ramses, dem Inhaber eines kleinen ägyptischen Catering-Services, mit einem langen Fleischermesser regelrecht ausgenommen. Alles war zu sehen und die Verletzung und Zerstückelung des menschlichen Leibes nicht länger ein Tabu im Film.

Vorschaubild

Der 1929 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania geborene Regisseur wusste um die verstörende Wirkung der Gewalt und er setzte sie, das war seine eigentliche Entdeckung, ihres Schauwertes wegen ein. Nur darauf kam es ihm an, moralische Zweifel an seinem Tun hatte er nicht. Zum Film gekommen war der ausgebildete Journalist eher auf Umwegen. Nach dem Studium lehrte er englische Literatur an der Mississippi State University, langweilte sich aber schnell mit seinen Studenten, er begann für Radio und Fernsehen zu arbeiten und drehte schliesslich einige Erotik- und Softcore-Filme. Dabei verstand er, dass mit geringen Produktionskosten, aber grossen Schauwerten gutes Geld zu verdienen war. So kam er schliesslich zur expliziten, gewissermassen pornografisierten Gewalt des Alles-zeigen.

Splatter/Gore-Begründer Herschell Gordon Lewis ist tot

Auf „Blood Feast“ folgten weitere Gewalt-Exzesse, „Scum of the Earth!“ (1963), „A Taste of Blood“ (1966), „The Gruesome Twosome“ (1967), „She-Devils on Wheels“ (1968) und „The Wizard of Gore“ (1970). In den 70er Jahren arbeitete Lewis in der Werbeindustrie, erst in den Nullerjahren wandte er sich wieder dem Filmemachen zu und drehte „Blood Feast 2“ (2002) sowie „The Uh-Oh Show“ (2009). Die Horrorkomödie „BloodMania“, an der er zuletzt arbeitete, konnte er leider nicht mehr fertigstellen. Auch wenn Lewis mit seinen Splatter-Orgien nie im Mainstream-Kino ankam, beeinflusste er doch eine Reihe von wichtigen Regisseuren, allen voran John Waters, Roberto Rodriguez, Quentin Tarantino und James Gunn. Mach’s gut, Herschell – und danke für das massenhafte Blut!

Vorschaubild

ARVE Fehler:
Thats all folks! - Video not available

Splatter/Gore-Begründer Herschell Gordon Lewis ist tot