Der Wrestling-Star „Rowdy“ Roddy Piper died of cardiac arrest yesterday, he was only 61 Years old. According to an email the agent of Wrestling Stars, Piper had peacefully passed away in his sleep. He was one of the biggest stars of the wrestling scene and was especially known for his impulsive nature and characteristic Wutattacken, which he nicknamed the „Rowdy“ and „Hot Rod“ earned. He was also seen in its heyday in several films, so, for example, in John Carpenter's cult movie „They Live“ („You live“).

Rest in peace, Rowdy Roddy Piper

„Rowdy“, Roderick George Toombs called the civil, was born in Canada, came in Wrestling Ring but modeled his ancestors in his role as hot-headed Scot with a kilt and bagpipes marched on. In the eighties he became a wrestling legend and was even at the very first wrestling major event, „Wrestlemania I“, in the ring and was a major battle opponents of Hulk Hogan and actor Mr.. T. In the following years he was alongside icons like Hulk Hogan (61), Bret „The Hitman“ Hart, Randy Savage or the „Undertaker“ the absolute workhorses of the scene. 2005 he was even in the „WWE Hall Of Fame“ recorded. Roddy was considered one of the best speakers and villains of Business, its mostly improvised monologues, Interview segments and sayings are legendary among fans.

He has his best-known film role in „You live“ directed by John Carpenter and in the science fiction cult film „The Hunter – A merciless hunter“. He also appeared in the video game „Saints Row IV“ on, where he also himself synchronized. When Piper was 2006 found a cancer, for which he initially made to the Sport had to retire. But he defeated cancer and returned to the ring. Last November, Piper said, yet it, that he is now cancer-free. „Rowdy“ Roddy Piper survived by his wife Kitty, with which it has 1982 was married, and their four common Children, three daughters and son Colton, of how his father seeking a career in wrestling.

Schade Rowdy, Did you already go from us. Your debates were always marked by your impulsive nature and precisely these were, which was able to set the tone in the dispassionate world in which we live. I have your role as a nameless drifter, discovered a ruling class of aliens, which can be seen only through special sunglasses, beloved. I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass… and I’m all out of bubblegum! Take care Rowdy and let the gum up there not go out…

(Image: Chris Koehler)

Der Wrestling-Star „Rowdy“ Roddy Piper ist gestern an Herzstillstand gestorben, er wurde nur 61 Jahre alt. Gemäss einer Email des Agenten des Wrestling-Stars, sei Piper friedlich im Schlaf verstorben. Er gehörte zu den ganz grossen Stars der Wrestling-Szene und wurde vor allem bekannt durch seine impulsive Art und charakteristischen Wutattacken, die ihm die Spitznamen „Rowdy“ und „Hot Rod“ einbrachten. Auch war er in seinen Glanzzeiten in einigen Filmen zu sehen, so zum Beispiel in John Carpenters Kultfilm „They Live“ („Sie leben“).

Rest in peace, Rowdy Roddy Piper

„Rowdy“, der bürgerlich Roderick George Toombs hiess, wurde in Kanada geboren, trat im Wrestlingring aber nach Vorbild seiner Vorfahren in der Rolle als heissblütiger Schotte mit Kilt und Dudelsackeinmarsch auf. In den Achtzigern wurde er zu einer Wrestling-Legende und war sogar beim allerersten Wrestling-Grossereignis, „Wrestlemania I“, im Ring und war Hauptkampfgegner von Hulk Hogan und Schauspieler Mr. T. In den folgenden Jahren gehörte er neben Ikonen wie Hulk Hogan (61), Bret „The Hitman“ Hart, Randy Savage oder dem „Undertaker“ zu den absoluten Zugpferden der Szene. 2005 wurde er sogar in die „WWE Hall Of Fame“ aufgenommen. Roddy galt als einer der besten Redner und Bösewichte des Geschäfts, seine meist improvisierten Monologe, Interview-Segmente und Sprüche sind unter Fans legendär.

Seine bekannteste Filmrolle hat er in „Sie leben“ unter der Regie von John Carpenter und im Science-Fiction Kultfilm „The Hunter – Ein erbarmungsloser Jäger“. Des Weiteren taucht er in dem Videospiel „Saints Row IV“ auf, wo er sich auch selber synchronisierte. Bei Piper wurde 2006 eine Krebserkrankung festgestellt, wegen der er sich zunächst aus dem Sport zurückziehen musste. Doch er besiegte den Krebs und kehrte zurück in den Ring. Im vergangenen November sprach Piper noch davon, dass er nun krebsfrei sei. „Rowdy“ Roddy Piper hinterlässt seine Frau Kitty, mit der er seit 1982 verheiratet war, sowie ihre vier gemeinsamen Kinder, drei Töchter und Sohn Colton, der wie sein Vater eine Karriere im Wrestling anstrebt.

Schade Rowdy, musstest du schon von uns gehen. Deine Auseinandersetzungen waren immer geprägt von deiner impulsiven Art und genau diese waren es, die vermochte Akzente zu setzen in der leidenschaftslose Welt in der wir leben. Ich habe deine Rolle als namenloser Herumtreiber, der eine herrschende Klasse von Aliens entdeckt, die nur durch spezielle Sonnenbrille zu sehen sind, geliebt. I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass… and I’m all out of bubblegum! Machs gut Rowdy und lass den Kaugummi da oben nicht ausgehen…

(Bild: Chris Koehler)