Up Helly Aa“ is a legendary Viking festival and next to the Shetland Folk Festival the annual highlight of traditional customs in the Shetland Islands. always on the last Tuesday in January, a whole day is long the dressing, Fire spectacle, dedicated drinking and partying.

After months of preparation, a grand looking Viking longship is recreated. This is determined from the outset to, the day of „Up Helly Aa“ to be sacrificed following a large reared torchlight procession with atmospheric Schlachtgesang flames. Once it darkens, the lampposts Lerwicks be switched off. After a signal rocket above the town hall lights, the torches are lit. In a slow, from the Music the „Lerwick Brass Band“ and the „Lerwick Pipe Band“ under painted half-hour Prozessionsmarsch the longship with it enthroned Jarl is drawn from a thousand Vikings starring his retinue its destination counter.

The prototype of the Wikingschiffanzündens is the fact, that Viking chiefs were cremated after her death with her longboat, The so-called „Nordic funeral“. The Guizer Jarl performer must naturally climb out at this stoppage, before the flames up beat and by all present the same old song „The Norseman’s Home“ is sung. After the cremation is completed, to disperse the crowds, and into the inns and partly specially set „Dancehalls“, of which aufhaben that day many to eight o'clock in the morning. The nearly thousand „Festive Vikings“ be in 40 shared about 25-member groups, accruing quasi rotation in the banquet halls, contribute to there possible spassige or wild skits or dancing. Central shape throughout the day is the Guizer Jarl – deserved to organize the festival Shetlanders in the role of Viking chief. Together with a 60 Man strong core Entourage, the Jarl Squad, he conducts the Parade and everything related to the bonfire. All around for a day, almost all public life paralyzed on islands. The ensuing Wednesday was officially made a precaution to a non-working holiday.











Nails

(via Bored Panda)

Helly Aa Up“ est un festival légendaire Viking et à côté du Folk Festival Shetland le point culminant annuel des coutumes traditionnelles dans les îles Shetland. toujours le dernier mardi en Janvier, une journée entière est longue le pansement, spectacle de feu, boire et faire la fête dédiée.

Après des mois de préparation, une grande recherche drakkar Viking est recréé. Ceci est déterminé dès le départ,, Le jour de „Helly Aa Up“ être sacrifié suite à une grande procession aux flambeaux élevés avec des flammes Schlachtgesang atmosphériques. Une fois qu'il obscurcit, les lampadaires Lerwicks être éteints. Après une fusée de signal au-dessus des lumières de l'hôtel de ville, les torches sont allumées. Dans une lente, de l' Musique la „Lerwick Brass Band“ et l' „Pipe Band Lerwick“ sous une demi-heure peinte Prozessionsmarsch le drakkar avec elle trônant Jarl est tiré d'un millier de Vikings mettant en vedette sa suite son compteur de destination.

Le prototype des Wikingschiffanzündens est le fait, que les chefs vikings ont été incinérés après sa mort avec son longboat, Le soi-disant „funérailles nordique“. L'artiste Guizer Jarl doit naturellement sortir à cet arrêt, avant que les flammes vers le haut rythme et par tous présenter la même vieille chanson „Home Le Norseman“ est chanté. Après la crémation est terminée, pour disperser la foule, et dans les auberges et en partie spécialement aménagée „dancings“, qui aufhaben ce jour-là beaucoup à huit heures du matin. La presque mille „festive Vikings“ être en 40 partagé sur les groupes de 25 membres, revenant rotation quasi dans les salles de banquet, contribuer à y spassige possible ou sketches sauvages ou la danse. forme centrale tout au long de la journée est le Guizer Jarl – méritait d'organiser les Shetlanders du festival dans le rôle du chef viking. Ensemble avec un 60 Man forte Entourage de base, Jarl Squad, il conduit la Parade et tout ce qui concerne le feu de joie. Tout autour d'un jour, presque toute la vie publique paralysée sur les îles. Le mercredi qui a suivi officiellement faite à titre de précaution à un congé non-travail.











Nails

(Via Bored Panda)