A rollerbladers brings in an extinct ghost town a revolutionary message. A sort of creative means, to contribute to the Umbrella Movement, more on that below and I like the cinematic and atmospherically pretty good.

When we stood alongside activists amidst showers of tear gas during Occupy Central 佔領中環, we at HK URBEX wondered how we could best use our skills to contribute to the Umbrella Movement. Some of us were journalists reporting news at the time, some delivered water and supplies, and others helped create art pieces. During those long uncertain days we often wondered what kind of Hong Kong we could wake up to the next morning.
But as filmmakers we also wanted to create something that could manifest our feelings towards the powerful street occupation and its eventual demise. Although it has since ended, the movement still lives on, and a few scattered tents and scribbles poignantly remind us that the war is far from over – even though the battle was unfairly lost. Let us not forget that this was all instigated by a young generation who were, and are, not afraid to stand up for what they believe in – a generation who, it was thought, only cared about smartphones and selfies. Even though they could not persuade the uncompromisingly staunch de facto government to modify the political reform proposal even slightly, the movement has nevertheless galvanised and politicised Hong Kong’s youth, and changed the city for good.
This film seeks to encapsulate the spirit of the movement. Even though the main character witnesses the future downfall of the movement, he discovers that everyone steadfastly fights on until the bitter end.

Video Thumbnail
Hong Kong Sci-Fi short film: 'Miles to Go' by HK URBEX

Ein Rollerblader überbringt in einer ausgestorbenen Geisterstadt eine revolutionäre Botschaft. Une sorte de moyens créatifs, de contribuer au Mouvement Umbrella, mehr dazu unten und mir gefällt das filmisch und stimmungsmässig ziemlich gut.

When we stood alongside activists amidst showers of tear gas during Occupy Central 佔領中環, nous au HK URBEX demandé comment nous pourrions mieux utiliser nos compétences pour contribuer au Mouvement Umbrella. Certains d'entre nous étaient des journalistes ayant déclaré nouvelles au moment, certains livrés approvisionnement en eau et, et d'autres ont aidé à créer des oeuvres d'art. Pendant ces longues journées d'incertitude nous avons souvent demandé que sorte de Hong Kong nous avons pu réveiller le lendemain matin.
Mais en tant que cinéastes, nous avons aussi voulu créer quelque chose qui pourrait manifester notre Sentiments vers l'occupation de la rue puissante et sa disparition éventuelle. Bien qu'il ait pris fin depuis, le mouvement vit toujours, and a few scattered tents and scribbles poignantly remind us that the war is far from over – even though the battle was unfairly lost. Il ne faut pas oublier que ce fut tout initié par une jeune génération qui étaient, et sont, not afraid to stand up for what they believe in – a generation who, on pensait, ne se souciait smartphones et selfies. Même si elles ne pouvaient pas persuader le gouvernement résolument partisan de facto de modifier la proposition de réforme politique, même légèrement, the movement has nevertheless galvanised and politicised Hong Kong’s youth, et changé la ville pour une bonne.
Ce film cherche à encapsuler l'esprit du mouvement. Même si les principaux témoins de moralité la chute future du mouvement, il découvre que tout le monde se bat sans relâche jusqu'à la fin amère.

video Thumbnail
Hong Kong Sci-Fi short film: 'Miles to Go' by HK URBEX