Jupiter Auroras

Auroras, on our planet knows this phenomenon of Polar- or northern lights, were on Jupiter for the first time 1979 from the Voyager photographed. Nun hat die NASA new pictures and Videos published by the Hubble Space Telescope. Here the Jupiter auroras in Action:

Jupiter Auroras

Astronomers are using NASA’s Hubble Space Telescope to study auroras — stunning light shows in a planet’s atmosphere — on the poles of the largest planet in the solar system, Jupiter. This observation program is supported by measurements made by NASA’s Juno spacecraft, currently on its way to Jupiter. Jupiter, the largest planet in the solar system, is best known for its colorful storms, the most famous being the Great Red Spot. Now astronomers have focused on another beautiful feature of the planet, using the ultraviolet capabilities of NASA’s Hubble Space Telescope.

The extraordinary vivid glows shown in the new observations are known as auroras. They are created when high-energy particles enter a planet’s atmosphere near its magnetic poles and collide with atoms of gas. As well as producing beautiful images, this program aims to determine how various components of Jupiter’s auroras respond to different conditions in the solar wind, A Stream of charged particles ejected from the sun.

This observation program is perfectly timed as NASA’s Juno spacecraft is currently in the solar wind near Jupiter and will enter the orbit of the planet in early July 2016. While Hubble is observing and measuring the auroras on Jupiter, Juno is measuring the properties of the solar wind itself — a perfect collaboration Between a telescope and a space probe.

„These auroras are very dramatic and among the most active I have ever seen,“ said Jonathan Nichols from the University of Leicester, UK, and principal investigator of the study. „It almost seems as if Jupiter is throwing a fireworks party for the imminent arrival of Juno.“

To highlight changes in the auroras, Hubble is observing Jupiter almost daily for several months. Using this series of far-ultraviolet images from Hubble’s Space Telescope Imaging Spectrograph, it is possible for scientists to create videos that demonstrate the movement of the vivid auroras, which cover areas bigger than the Earth.

Jupiter Auroras

Jupiter Auroras

Auroras, sur notre planète connaît ce phénomène de Polar- ou aurores boréales, étaient sur Jupiter pour la première fois, 1979 de l' Voyageur photographié. Nun hat die NASA de nouvelles images et Vidéos publié par le télescope spatial Hubble. Ici, les aurores de Jupiter en action:

Jupiter Auroras

Les astronomes utilisent le télescope spatial Hubble de la NASA pour étudier les aurores - magnifique lumière montre dans l'atmosphère d'une planète - sur les pôles de la plus grande planète du système solaire, Jupiter. Ce programme d'observation est étayée par des mesures effectuées par la sonde de la NASA Juno, actuellement sur son chemin vers Jupiter. Jupiter, la plus grande planète du système solaire, est surtout connu pour ses tempêtes colorées, le plus célèbre étant la grande tache rouge. les astronomes ont maintenant mis l'accent sur une autre belle caractéristique de la planète, en utilisant les capacités de l'ultraviolet du télescope spatial Hubble de la NASA.

Les lueurs vives extraordinaires figurant dans les nouvelles observations sont connus comme auroras. Ils sont créés lorsque des particules de haute énergie entrent dans l'atmosphère d'une planète à proximité de ses pôles magnétiques et entrent en collision avec des atomes de gaz. En plus de produire de belles images, ce programme vise à déterminer comment les composantes des aurores de Jupiter diverses répondre à des conditions différentes dans le vent solaire, A Ruisseau des particules éjectées du soleil chargée.

Ce programme d'observation est parfaitement chronométré que le vaisseau spatial de la NASA Juno est actuellement dans le vent solaire près de Jupiter et entrera dans l'orbite de la planète au début de Juillet 2016. Alors que Hubble observe et mesurer les aurores sur Jupiter, Juno est la mesure des propriétés du vent solaire lui-même - une collaboration parfaite Entre un télescope et une sonde spatiale.

„Ces aurores sont très dramatique et parmi les plus actifs que j'ai jamais vu,“ a déclaré Jonathan Nichols de l'Université de Leicester, Royaume-Uni, et investigateur principal de l'étude. „Il semble presque comme si Jupiter est une fête de feux d'artifice pour l'arrivée imminente de Juno.“

Pour mettre en évidence les changements dans les aurores, Hubble observe Jupiter presque tous les jours pendant plusieurs mois. Grâce à cette série d'images ultraviolet lointain du télescope spatial de Hubble spectrographe imageur, il est possible pour les scientifiques de créer des vidéos qui démontrent le mouvement des aurores vives, qui couvrent des zones plus grandes que la Terre.

Jupiter Auroras