Recently, Samsung introduced its new Galaxy Phone with iris scanners, but much more interesting as new phones is the work of Adam Czajka and Piotr Maciejewicz, which Biometrics dead eyes have explored. They have now found, that eyes still 5 were detected hours after death, in Einzelfällen bis zu 27 Hours.

Biometrics dead eyes

They used both infrared and visible light cameras to collect images, getting the first set at 5 hours after death, and doing two other sessions at about 16 and 27 hours after death. Czajka and PhD student Mateusz Trokielewicz then tested whether several commercial products and one open-source iris matching system worked on the dead eyes.

He found that the dead eyes were easily recognizable in the first session, and some could still be used for identification as late as 27 hours after the person’s demise. While the cornea gradually became cloudy over time as the corneal cells broke down, that opaqueness didn’t interfere with the infrared imaging. Czajka’s now conducting research using eyes that are several days or even weeks past their expiration date.

Biometrics dead eyes

Paper: Post-mortem Human Iris Recognition, Conclusions from the:

This paper presents the only study that we are aware of regarding post-mortem use of human iris as a biometric identifier. Contrary to claims common in the biometric community, our results show that human iris can be successfully employed for biometric authentication for a number of hours after death. Empirical study incorporating four different iris recognition method has shown that a significant portion of irises can be successfully recognized 5-7 hours after a person’s demise (with FNMRs equaling 0% to 8.33% for the best and the worst performing method, respectively).

However, this percentage is expected to decrease significantly as time period since death progresses, reaching FNMRs of 26.67% to as much as 86.67%. Comprehensive medical commentary is also presented to explain the underlying causes of such behavior, with processes assorted with corneal opacification, drying and loss of intraocular pressure recognized as the most probable sources of recognition errors.

récemment, Samsung présenté son nouveau Galaxy Téléphone avec les scanners de l'iris, mais beaucoup plus intéressant que de nouveaux téléphones est l'Å“uvre d'Adam Czajka et Piotr Maciejewicz, qui Biométrie yeux morts ont exploré. Ils ont maintenant trouvé, que les yeux fixes 5 heures ont été détectés après la mort, in Einzelfällen bis zu 27 Heures.

Biométrie yeux morts

Ils ont utilisé à la fois visible et infrarouge lumière caméras pour recueillir des images, obtenir le premier jeu à 5 heures après la mort, et de faire deux autres sessions à environ 16 et 27 heures après la mort. Czajka et doctorant Mateusz Trokielewicz ensuite testé si plusieurs produits commerciaux et un iris open-source du système correspondant a travaillé sur les yeux morts.

Il a constaté que les yeux morts étaient facilement reconnaissables à la première session, et certains pourraient encore être utilisés pour l'identification aussi tard que 27 hours after the person’s demise. Alors que la cornée est devenu trouble progressivement au fil du temps que les cellules de la cornée ont été rompues, that opaqueness didn’t interfere with the infrared imaging. Czajka’s now conducting research using eyes that are several days or even weeks past their expiration date.

Biométrie yeux morts

Papier: Post-mortem Reconnaissance de l'iris humain, Conclusions de la:

Ce document présente la seule étude que nous sommes conscients concernant l'utilisation post-mortem de l'iris de l'homme comme un identifiant biométrique. Contrairement aux affirmations communes dans la communauté biométrique, Nos résultats montrent que les iris de l'homme peuvent être utilisées avec succès pour l'authentification biométrique pour un certain nombre d'heures après la mort,. étude empirique comprenant quatre iris différentes méthode de reconnaissance a montré qu'une partie importante de l'iris peut être reconnue avec succès 5-7 hours after a person’s demise (avec FNMRs égalant 0% à 8.33% pour la méthode d'exécution pire meilleur et, respectivement).

Cependant, ce pourcentage devrait diminuer de manière significative que la période de temps depuis la mort progresse, atteindre FNMRs de 26.67% pour autant que 86.67%. commentaire médicale complète est également présentée pour expliquer les causes sous-jacentes d'un tel comportement, avec des processus assortis avec opacification de la cornée, le séchage et la perte de la pression intraoculaire reconnus comme les sources les plus probables d'erreurs de reconnaissance.