The Doom Metallers „Phased“ rock for nearly a decade, the stages of the world. The trio from the beautiful Basel Switzerland, originally founded as a stoner rock band, brings after a creative hiatus her already fourth album „Aeon“ on the market. So the three musicians have turned the screw and the sound known Doom freshened a little. A logical development, Psychedelic Doom, is the name of the band's sound and characterizes the new album.

Phased - Aeon

Imports coming from Basel „Phased“ has made in the course of her career with many live performances in the Doom scene a name. Through countless shows, with appearances at „Stoned From The Underground“, „Up In Smoke“, the „Doom Shall Rise“-Festival and support slots with genre greats such as Orange Goblin, Mastodon and Spirit Caravan, the Swiss were able to say also on the live front and their Music presenting to a broad audience. Once established as a Stoner band, stand Phased nowadays for psychedelic Doom, leaden, hard and yet groovy, „Motor Doom“ as they call their music. After several formations emerged predecessor „Phased“ in its present form in the year 2001. Six years after their last studio album, the band now releases the new and fourth album. The seven tracks of deep tuned guitars, sluggish rhythms and subtly menacing vocals were 2014 by Chris Sigdell, Marko Lehtinen and Michael Greilinger (Gastmusiker am Bass) bei Helium Records included in Basel, mixed by Richard Whittaker in London and mastered by Greg Chandler in Birmingham.

Phased - Aeon

With „Seed of Misery“ and a catchy riff opens the boys album. A fat Doomer, the immediately brought roars the right mood and unequivocally shows, where the heavy "Hammer of Doom" depends. Slow and with sounddienlichem vocals, convinced the solid material, so you can speak without hesitation of a successful debut, also, when the composition has a bit long-winded. The song fits well on a, what you get to hear the rest of the album. If you come in the third track „Eternal Sleep“ an, one wonders at half the songs inevitably, why the track is quieter. Insert This stylistic device which phased, to refresh the songs, can sometimes irritate some, but if you're getting into it,, this is quite refreshing. Strikingly, that besides the rooted in Doom elements, which are really heard everywhere, an associated fraction was processed at Space rock influences.

With „Into the Gravity Well“ then the trio goes into the really fucking deep worlds of Funeral Doom. Plunging one can not descend into the catacombs of the Doom Metal, without self-set goals to lose sight. Now that's not meant negatively, Rather, this description is intended to make clear sound, Phased quite fathom that limits. The following songs are timeless Doom songs, which as already mentioned, always Attending again and again with spacey psychedelic influences. Unfortunately, occurs here in time the dreaded disease in Slow Motion, which one with a little more ingenuity and the resulting change, better in the right perspective could back. Atavism called a regression in the evolution and nothing could be more appropriate here, because the bouncer „The atavistic“ seems to be guided by the Stoner-past of the band. One of the most innovative tracks on the album, but according to the booklet, the only song, of the non- „Phased“ itself was written.

Phased Logo

„Aeon“ is a Doom Album, which can can be heard more than once and has failed soundwise desired brachial. Doom meets Psychedelic! Speed ​​in Doom Metal is known to be as good as non-existent and so set „Phased“ its sluggish march continued through eschatological psychedelic forests, with abysmal guitars and rhythmic arrangements. What the trio missing something is the kick, that certain something, which should not be missed in Sludge and Doom. For predictable are the tracks and somehow there is a lack of „Suspense“, the eventually comes to a climax and wanting more. Seven Tracks, which have ultimately on an enormous amount of potential, but unfortunately not fully savored. „Phased“ put the bar high, but considering Genre giants easy nor too little high, there's more in it! And yet, „Aeon“ is a good album! Who Psychedelic Doom like, will discover many striking passages and finally hang a contented engine Doom face. Thumbs up!


  1. The Seed of Misery
  2. Burning Paradigm
  3. Eternal Sleep
  4. Into the Gravity Well
  5. (Return of the) Son of the Sun
  6. Etched
  7. The atavistic
Album Review: Phased - Aeon
7.9 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
Musical skills9
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one

Die Doom Metaller von „Phased“ rocken seit fast einem Jahrzehnt die Bühnen dieser Welt. Das Trio aus dem schönen Basel in der Schweiz, ursprünglich als Stoner-Rock Band gegründet, bringt nach einer kreativen Schaffenspause ihr bereits viertes Album „Aeon“ auf den Markt. So haben die drei Musiker an der Soundschraube gedreht und den bekannten Doom ein wenig aufgefrischt. Eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung, Psychedelic Doom, so nennt sich der Bandsound und prägt das neue Album.

Phased - Aeon

Die aus Basel stammenden „Phased“ hat sich im Laufe ihrer Karriere mit vielen Liveauftritten einen Namen in der Doom Szene gemacht. Durch unzählige Shows, mit Auftritten beim „Stoned From The Underground“, „Up In Smoke“, dem „Doom Shall Rise“-Festival sowie Supportslots mit Genregrössen wie Orange Goblin, Mastodon und Spirit Caravan, konnten sich die Schweizer auch an der Livefront behaupten und ihre Musik einem breitgefächerten Publikum präsentieren. Einst als Stoner-Band gegründet, stehen Phased heutzutage für psychedelischen Doom, bleiern, schwer und doch groovig, „Motor Doom“ wie sie ihre Musik selbst bezeichnen. Nach diversen Vorgängerformationen entstanden „Phased“ in ihrer heutigen Form im Jahr 2001. Sechs Jahre nach ihrem letzten Studioalbum veröffentlicht die Band nun das neue und vierte Werk. Die sieben Tracks aus tiefgestimmten Gitarren, schleppenden Rhythmen und unterschwellig bedrohlichem Gesang wurden 2014 von Chris Sigdell, Marko Lehtinen und Michael Greilinger (Gastmusiker am Bass) bei Helium Records in Basel aufgenommen, von Richard Whittaker in London abgemischt und von Greg Chandler in Birmingham gemastert.

Phased - Aeon

Mit „Seed of Misery“ und eingängigem Riff eröffnen die Jungs das Album. Ein fetter Doomer, der unverzüglich die richtige Stimmung herbeidröhnt und unmissverständlich zeigt, wo der schwere „Hammer of Doom“ hängt. Schleppend und mit sounddienlichem Gesang, überzeugt das solide Material, sodass man ohne Bedenken von einem gelungenen Einstand sprechen kann, auch, wenn die Komposition etwas langatmig wirkt. Der Song stimmt gut darauf ein, was man auf dem Rest des Albums zu hören bekommt. Kommt man beim dritten Track „Eternal Sleep“ an, wundert man sich bei der Hälfte des Songs unweigerlich, warum der Track leiser wird. Diese Stilmittel welche Phased einsetzen, um die Songs aufzufrischen, können manchmal etwas irritieren, doch wenn man sich darauf einlässt, ist dies durchaus erfrischend. Auffallend ist, dass ausser den im Doom verwurzelten Elementen, die wirklich überall zu hören sind, ein gehöriger Anteil an Space Rock-Einflüssen verarbeitet wurde.

Mit „Into the Gravity Well“ begibt sich das Trio dann in die wirklich verdammt tiefen Welten des Funeral Dooms. Tiefer kann man in die Katakomben des Doom Metals nicht absteigen, ohne dabei selbst gesteckte Ziele aus den Augen zu verlieren. Das ist jetzt aber nicht negativ gemeint, vielmehr soll diese Soundbeschreibung klarmachen, dass Phased durchaus Grenzen ausloten. Die folgenden Songs sind allesamt zeitlose Doom Songs, die wie schon erwähnt, immer wieder und wieder mit spacig psychedelischen Einflüsse aufwarten. Leider tritt hier mit der Zeit die gefürchtete Zeitlupenkrankheit auf, welche man mit etwas mehr Einfallsreichtum und der daraus resultierenden Abwechslung, besser in den richtigen Blickwinkel hätte rücken können. Atavismus bezeichnet eine Rückentwicklung in der Evolution und nichts könnte hier passender sein, denn der Rausschmeisser „The Atavistic“ scheint sich an der Stoner-Vergangenheit der Band zu orientieren. Einer der innovativsten Tracks des Albums, doch gemäss Booklet der einzige Song, der nicht von „Phased“ selbst geschrieben wurde.

Phased Logo

„Aeon“ ist ein Doom Album, das sich mehr als nur einmal hören lassen kann und soundtechnisch gewünscht brachial ausgefallen ist. Doom meets Psychedelic! Geschwindigkeit im Doom Metal ist bekanntermassen so gut wie nicht vorhanden und so setzen „Phased“ ihren schleppenden Marsch durch endzeitliche Psychedelic-Wälder fort, mit abgrundtiefen Gitarren und groovigen Arrangements. Was dem Trio etwas fehlt ist der Kick, das gewisse Etwas, welches auch im Sludge und Doom nicht fehlen darf. Zu vorhersehbar sind die Tracks und es fehlt irgendwie der „Spannungsbogen“, der irgendwann zum Höhepunkt kommt und Lust auf mehr macht. Sieben Tracks, die letztendlich über enorm viel Potenzial verfügen, aber leider nicht voll ausgekostet werden. „Phased“ legen die Messlatte hoch, doch gemessen an Genre-Giganten einfach noch zuwenig hoch, da ist noch mehr drin! Und dennoch, „Aeon“ ist ein gutes Album! Wer Psychedelic Doom mag, wird viele markante Passagen entdecken und schlussendlich ein zufriedenes Motor Doom Gesicht auflegen. Daumen hoch!

Tracklist

  1. The Seed of Misery
  2. Burning Paradigm
  3. Eternal Sleep
  4. Into the Gravity Well
  5. (Return of the) Son of the Sun
  6. Etched
  7. The Atavistic
Album Review: Phased - Aeon
7.9 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität8
Tempo6
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8.5
Songtexte8
Substanz8
Produktion8.5
Langlebigkeit7
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one