Declared Dead. So it seems to be, at least in the case of „Full Devil Jacket„. After the Americans but the beginning 2000 on several major festivals and tours played with stars like „Nickelback“, „Creed“, „Slayer“ and „Slipknot“ organized, was the band shortly before the big breakthrough. But the drugs crashes singer Josh Brown and the cancer death of guitarist Michael Reaves offset the tape harsh beatings and led to a year-long disappearance. Now Brown and colleagues are back, Drummer Keith Foster from the original line, Bassist Moos Douglass and guitarist Paul Varnick complete the lineup and on energy is not lacking of force. Josh Brown and his colleagues do not consider themselves with trinkets on but start right through.

Album Review: Full Devil Jacket - Valley of Bones

Once lived „Full Devil Jacket“ like in paradise, until it was a nightmare. In its early days, the band toured with giants like Nickelback and Creed, with Slipknot and Slayer, it belonged to the billing of the Woodstock 99 festival, had a video clip on MTV rotation and successful singles in the Hard Rock Charts. In short „FULL Devil Jacket“ stood on the threshold of international rock universe elites. Then lead singer Josh Brown took an overdose of heroin and almost died. This is more than ten years ago, now publish in May 2015 „Full Devil Jacket“ their second album „Valley of Bones“, the Justin Rimer (12 Stones) was produced. at „Full Devil Jacket“ musical you have to mention the straight grooves and addictive hooks their vigorous Hard Rocks and lay their songs all those warmly recommend to define, the bands like „Alice in Chains“, „PANTERA“, „white Zombie“ or „Korn“ stand.

Full Devil Jacket

On „Valley of Bones“ one finds true stories, strong statements and brutally honest observations from life-, by faith, Family and global power structures. Frontman Josh Brown commented important and timeless questions about the state of our world from his own personal perspective and with all his experience. „When we write songs, they have to be absolutely authentic“, he explains, „because I can only sing about something, what I believe in. In today's rock and roll bands can be heard while the same text as in the models of my youth, but I can not see any real conviction in. All topics on the other hand, which I touch, I myself have it- and lived.“ ended with Browns heroin overdose 2002 abruptly the storybook start a rock band, the hit singles „Where Did You Go?“ and „Now You Know“ could place. After a long period of convalescence convalescent Brown returned as a singer / songwriter of the band „Day Of Fire“ the spotlight back. The debut album of the group was nominated for a Grammy and won 2005 the price „Album of the Year“ des GMA Dove Awards, wherein „Day Of Fire“ also in the fields of „New Artist Of The Year“ and „Rock Song Of The Year“ were nominated. After a total of three successful discs retired „Day Of Fire“ Year 2010 back indefinitely from the public.

Nails

Thus the way was clear for a return of „Full Devil Jacket“. The first reunion served, to raise money for guitarist Michael Reaves, the had cancer. As Reaves died yet decided Brown and drummer Keith Foster, to form the band in memory of her deceased friend again. „Mike was the reason, which is why I today Music doing“, sagt Brown, „He built me, He knew all the rules of the game. When we returned after six-year break for the first time on the stage, to raise money for him, you could feel again the spark.“ This also glow in shredding guitarist Paul Varnick and bassist Moose Douglass, which belong to the group 2015er Instrumentation. „Full Devil Jacket“ So are back. They present themselves stronger than ever. With „Valley of Bones“ comes an album in trade, the equally the coolness of Down, combines the powerful dark-tunes of Alice In Chains and the Modern-rock attitude of Stone Sour in itself.

Full Devil Jacket

What album is certainly characterizes the variability, the dynamics of the tracks. Since there is as I said the Metal-Piece with hardcore Inlet as well as the rock ballad, the thread straight rock number or the midtempo Burner. A total of three quarters of an hour sound and more playful rock! Josh Brown sounds a bit like the Canadian Chad Kroeger, only plays his troops to sound, would make the Nickelback, so I could hear the band still, the ballads can namely also like „Paper Crown“ sound. But there on the album some more good tracks. The song „PictureBox Voodoo“ expects scharfzüngig with mainstream media and pop culture today from, while „Seven Times Down“ as aggressive reef-Monster and proves „Paper Crown“ unmasks all those, hide behind their bragging openly ostentatious in fact inferiority complex. Even the title track „Valley of Bones“ one should lead to heart or the two ballads „The Moment“ and „August“. Likewise, stands out „7xDown“ something out, as well as „Blood of the Innocent“, which is my personal favorite.

Full Devil Jacket

„Valley of Bones“ is a truly successful comeback. „Full Devil Jacket“ make the, what they already before 15 Years damn well could: hard, multifaceted rock. Often sounds „Valley of Bones“ like a journey through time, but it is overtaken in any way or boring. Grade the mix of hard rock songs and rather quiet tones as in Song „what If I Say“ make intensive and energetic album. It bears witness to a band, which after a strong start, a disastrous crash and Schickalsschlägen aufrappelt again and reports back with more energy and power. when „Full Devil Jacket“ live only half as much as provide on this disc, then good Night. Stages of the world, be warned! „Valley of Bones“ Of „Full Devil Jacket“ is a surprising and successful comeback, a really good. Let's hope, that we are now no 15 Years have to wait for the next album more.

The album can you Buy in our shop.

Tracklist

  1. Killers
  2. Valley of Bones
  3. 7X Down
  4. The Moment
  5. We Got The Love
  6. What If I Say
  7. Blood of the Innocent
  8. PictureBox Voodoo
  9. Paper Crown
  10. August
  11. Time in The Flames
Album Review: Full Devil Jacket - Valley of Bones
8.1 Total
0 Visitor rating (0 votes)
originality7.5
Time7.5
Musical skills9
Singing8
Lyrics9
Substance7.5
Production9
Longevity7.5
Visitors' How do you rate this?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber + 1 }}
How do you rate this?

Totgesagte leben länger. So scheint es zumindest der Fall zu sein bei „Full Devil Jacket„. Nachdem die Amerikaner doch Anfang 2000 auf diversen grossen Festivals spielten und Touren mit Grössen wie „Nickelback“, „Creed“, „Slayer“ und „Slipknot“ veranstalteten, stand die Band kurz vor dem grossen Durchbruch. Doch der Drogenabsturz von Sänger Josh Brown und der Krebstod von Gitarrist Michael Reaves versetzten der Band herbe Schläge und führten zu einem jahrelangen Verschwinden. Jetzt sind Brown und Kollegen wieder zurück, Schlagzeuger Keith Foster aus der Urformation, Bassist Moos Douglass und Gitarrist Paul Varnick vervollständigen das Lineup und an Energie fehlt es der Truppe nicht. Josh Brown und seine Kollegen halten sich nicht mit Kinkerlitzchen auf sondern starten gleich durch.

Album Review: Full Devil Jacket - Valley of Bones

Einst lebten „Full Devil Jacket“ wie im Paradies, bis daraus ein Albtraum wurde. In ihren Anfangstagen tourte die Band mit Giganten wie Nickelback und Creed, mit Slipknot und Slayer, sie gehörte zum Billing des Woodstock 99-Festivals, hatten einen Videoclip auf MTV-Rotation und erfolgreiche Singles in den Hard Rock-Charts. Kurz um „Full Devil Jacket“ standen an der Schwelle zum Universum internationaler Rockeliten. Dann nahm Leadsänger Josh Brown eine Überdosis Heroin und wäre fast gestorben. Dies ist mehr als zehn Jahre her, nun veröffentlichen im Mai 2015 „Full Devil Jacket“ ihr zweites Album „Valley Of Bones“, das von Justin Rimer (12 Stones) produziert wurde. Um „Full Devil Jacket“ musikalisch zu definieren muss man die geradlinigen Grooves und packenden Hooks ihres kraftstrotzenden Hard Rocks erwähnen und ihre Songs all jenen wärmstens ans Herz legen, die auf Bands wie „Alice In Chains“, „Pantera“, „White Zombie“ oder „Korn“ stehen.

Full Devil Jacket

Auf auf „Valley Of Bones“ findet man wahre Geschichten, starke Statements und brutal-ehrliche Beobachtungen vom Leben, von Glauben, Familie und globalen Machtstrukturen. Frontmann Josh Brown kommentiert wichtige und zeitlose Fragen zum Zustand unserer Welt aus seiner ganz persönlichen Perspektive und mit all seiner Erfahrung. „Wenn wir Songs schreiben müssen sie absolut authentisch sein“, erklärt er, „denn ich kann nur über etwas singen, woran ich glaube. Bei heutigen Rock’n’Roll-Bands hört man zwar die gleichen Texte wie bei den Vorbildern meiner Jugend, aber ich kann keine echte Überzeugung darin entdecken. Alle Themen dagegen, die ich anfasse, habe ich selbst er- und gelebt.“ Mit Browns Heroin-Überdosis endete 2002 abrupt der Bilderbuchstart einer Rockgruppe, die Hitsingles wie „Where Did You Go?“ and „Now You Know“ platzieren konnte. Nach einer langen Phase der Rekonvaleszenz kehrte der genesene Brown als Sänger/Songschreiber der Band „Day Of Fire“ ins Scheinwerferlicht zurück. Das Debütalbum der Gruppe wurde für einen Grammy nominiert und gewann 2005 den Preis „Album Of The Year“ des GMA Dove Awards, bei dem „Day Of Fire“ auch in den Sparten „New Artist Of The Year“ und „Rock Song Of The Year“ nominiert waren. Nach insgesamt drei erfolgreichen Scheiben zogen sich „Day Of Fire“ im Jahr 2010 für unbestimmte Zeit aus der Öffentlichkeit zurück.

Video Thumbnail
Full Devil Jacket - Valley of Bones

Somit war der Weg frei für eine Rückkehr von „Full Devil Jacket“. Die erste Reunion diente dazu, um Geld für Gitarrist Michael Reaves zu sammeln, der an Krebs erkrankt war. Als Reaves dennoch starb entschieden Brown und Schlagzeuger Keith Foster, die Band in Gedenken an ihren verstorbenen Freund wieder zu formieren. „Mike war der Grund, weshalb ich heute Musik mache“, sagt Brown, „er hat mich aufgebaut, er kannte alle Spielregeln. Als wir nach sechs Jahren Pause zum ersten Mal auf die Bühne zurückkehrten, um für ihn Geld zu sammeln, spürte man wieder den Funken überspringen.“ Dieser glüht auch in Shredding-Gitarrist Paul Varnick und Bassist Moose Douglass, die zur 2015er Besetzung der Gruppe zählen. „Full Devil Jacket“ sind also zurück. Und sie präsentieren sich stärker als jemals zuvor. Mit „Valley Of Bones“ kommt ein Album in den Handel, das gleichermassen die Coolness von Down, die mächtig-dunklen Melodien von Alice In Chains und die Modern-Rock-Attitüde von Stone Sour in sich vereinigt.

Full Devil Jacket

Was das Album sicherlich auszeichnet ist die Variabilität, die Dynamik der Tracks. Da gibt es wie gesagt das Metal-Stück mit Hardcore-Inlet ebenso wie die Rockballade, die fadengerade Rocknummer oder den Midtempo-Burner. Insgesamt dreiviertel Stunden solider und spielfreudiger Rock! Josh Brown klingt ein wenig wie der Kanadier Chad Kroeger, nur spielt seine Truppe den Sound, den Nickelback machen müssten, damit ich die Band auch heute noch hören könnte, den Balladen können nämlich auch wie „Paper Crown“ klingen. Doch gibt es auf dem Album noch einige gute Tracks mehr. Der Song „Picturebox Voodoo“ rechnet scharfzüngig mit Mainstream-Medien und der heutigen Popkultur ab, während sich „Seven Times Down“ als aggressives Riff-Monster erweist und „Paper Crown“ all jene entlarvt, hinter deren offen zur Schau gestellter Grossmäuligkeit sich in Wirklichkeit Minderwertigkeitskomplexe verstecken. Auch den Titeltrack „Valley Of Bones“ sollte man sich zu Gemüte führen oder auch die zwei Balladen „The Moment“ und „August“. Ebenso hebt sich „7xDown“ etwas hervor, genau so wie „Blood of the Innocent“, was mein ganz persönlicher Favorit ist.

Full Devil Jacket

„Valley of Bones“ ist ein echt gelungenes Comeback. „Full Devil Jacket“ machen das, was sie schon vor 15 Jahren verdammt gut konnten: Harten, facettenreichen Rock. Oft klingt „Valley Of Bones“ wie eine Zeitreise, doch es ist in keiner Weise überholt oder langweilig. Grade der Mix aus harten Rocknummern und doch eher ruhigeren Tönen wie im Song „What If I Say“ machen intensive und energiegeladene Album aus. Es legt Zeugnis ab von einer Band, welche sich nach einem fulminanten Start, einem desaströsen Absturz und Schickalsschlägen wieder aufrappelt und mit noch mehr Energie und Power zurückmeldet. Wenn „Full Devil Jacket“ live nur halb soviel bieten wie auf dieser Scheibe, dann gute Nacht. Bühnen dieser Welt, seit gewarnt! „Valley Of Bones“ von „Full Devil Jacket“ ist ein überraschendes sowie gelungenes Comeback, ein so richtig gutes. Hoffen wir, dass wir nun keine 15 Jahre mehr auf das nächste Album warten müssen.

Das Album könnt ihr in unserem Shop kaufen.

Tracklist

  1. Killers
  2. Valley of Bones
  3. 7X Down
  4. The Moment
  5. We Got The Love
  6. What If I Say
  7. Blood of the Innocent
  8. Picturebox Voodoo
  9. Paper Crown
  10. August
  11. Time in The Flames
Album Review: Full Devil Jacket - Valley of Bones
8.1 Total
0 Besucherwertung (0 votes)
Originalität7.5
Tempo7.5
Musikalische Fähigkeiten9
Gesang8
Songtexte9
Substanz7.5
Produktion9
Langlebigkeit7.5
Bewertung der Besucher Wie bewertest Du?
Sort by:

Be the first to leave a review.

User Avatar
Verified

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Wie bewertest Du?

Your browser does not support images upload. Please choose a modern one